House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 12 (10 adults)
- english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, italian
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Not a Happy Family!
The amenities of the house were horrific! The oven was broken, and the A/C in the kitchen was dripping on our food. The drains in the showers were clogged and did not drain the hairs of whomever had previously stayed nor the sand from when we visited the beach. With several guests, showering proved to be an issue with the drains, since it took about 10-15 minutes for the water to drain and the water started to rise as soon as it was turned on. We had to bathe in stocked up water , because the water did not drain while the shower was running. The rugs of the house were dirty and old. When we arrived, the kids wanted to go to the pool, but were disappointed due to the feathers, leaves, and dead insects that riddled the pool, which was not filled up all the way. We called Customer Service and the woman (Cat) stated a ticket would be opened for the pool to be cleaned, the oven to be fixed, and the TV to be fixed (which was fixed later by a family member.) She also stated they would send pool cleaners on the night of our arrival. We eventually had to clean it ourselves. The grass was not mowed, and there were pieces of gum stuck between the planks of the deck. Old pants were left in the front yard by a bush. On the night before our departure, two men without uniform showed up in the backyard (without our knowledge) and scared us. They claimed to be pool cleaners and said they lived two houses down. I asked them why it took them so long to come and clean the pool if they only lived two houses down. They proceeded to fill the pool with hose water (as it was not filled up all the way before.) On the second floor deck, one chair was broken and several were unstable (which could have resulted in the injury of our elderly family members.) Furthermore, there were stains on the bed sheets and shower curtain. The only thing enjoyable about the trip was the presence of my family. We will never be staying here again and will not recommend to anyone.
We are sorry to see you did not enjoy your stay, Lisa. We checked the oven and found it operational and did not experience any issues with the air conditioner when we inspected it. The grass is mowed regularly, the shower liners have been replaced, and our property manager will be looking into your other concerns. Thank you!
Nice House, Close to EVERYTHING!
Older house, lots of room and close to everything! Nice pool and lots of towels, soap and shampoo in case you forget some!
Close to everything
The house is literally a block away from the pleasure pier entrance and the beach. Everything was so close and I loved that idea! Until it came time to sleep!! The upstairs bedrooms seem not so insulated and you could hear music, laughing, talking and just anything. Went downstairs and it was so quiet, it was such a huge difference it was funny. Needless to say I slept downstairs for the entire stay which wasn’t a big deal for me, just a warning for some others if you like to sleep then bring some ear plugs or something lol. Enjoyed the pool in the backyard!! It is an older house so if you get up in the middle night everyone else will know due to creaking wood floors lol. We had a great time with friends from out of state. All in all, the house served its purpose and was clean and very friendly for all. I would recommend.
Nice Weekend Getaway
It was very enjoyable and the location was great. It’s even better if you book it for more than a weekend.
All I can say is that the location is great but overall really bad. First night they had to totally replace one TV. The kitchen had a single cup coffee maker so we had to go buy a coffee pot. There were only 4 towels for 10 people. It had one trash bag and only one laundry pod to do one load for 5 days for everyone. The worst is the tub would not drain, sent someone to fix it but still wouldn't drain, stood in high water to shower, they told us we could buy draino and see if that would help, they never came back. The backyard was a mess and the grill was dirty. Then upon pulling the sheets off the matress pads were disgusting. This place needs a total overhaul they have not updated anything, the bath rugs and all the rugs are so old and worn and dirty, you cannot walk barefoot in that house. The blinds are falling apart everywhere. I have never written a bad review like this one before, but I think everyone should know the truth. I think for the amount you pay they should be able to get new sheets, rugs, coffee maker, blinds, clean it better. and do the yard work. I think in all fairness, I deserve something in return from the owners.
Location, Location, Location
This home was a great location to enjoy a vacation with our family whom we traveled to see in the Houston Area. Walk to Pier and Restaurants easy as well us bus to Downtown and Galveston Highlights. The pool was thoroughly enjoyed by all. Lots of room to spread out. Two separate living rooms and separate dinning area gave us space to spread out. Two bathrooms and washer machine very convent, especially with kids. I throughly enjoyed my stay here and would stay again. Highly recommend staying at Tales of the Sea. Very good for large groups and children.