Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

'Hazeldene' Country Retreat In Ditchling In The South Downs National Park

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

'Hazeldene' Country Retreat In Ditchling In The South Downs National Park

This luxurious & spacious 4 bedroom modern detached property is situated in the rural Sussex village of Ditchling, at the end of a country lane, just 15 minutes from the city of Brighton & Hove, 6 minutes from Ditchling Beacon, with glorious views and rambling country walks, 10 minutes drive from the Amex Football and exhibition Stadium, Sussex University, Plumpton Racecourse, 5 minutes from Hickstead and a 5 minute walk from Ditchling Village itself. The Bull Pub is famous for its scrumptious pub food and roaring open fires. The property is immaculately presented with all new furniture, fixtures, fittings and appliances, ideal for a visit all year round. This house offers you a superb country retreat, spacious enough for all the family or a large group of friends wanting to get together for a weekend or family holiday accommodation - plenty of parking and arranged all on one level so great for all the family!

The beautiful village of Ditchling is in walking distance down a lovely rural country lane and lies at the foot of the South Downs. The settlement stands around a crossroads with Brighton to the south, Burgess Hill and Haywards Heath to the north, Keymer and Hassocks to the west, and Lewes to the east. Ditchling Beacon, one of the highest points on the South Downs, has glorious panoramic country views overlooking the village, which oozes traditional English character & charm.

Enjoy a superb pub meal or drink at the The Bull, a 500 year old inn located in the High Street, or relax with refreshments at Ditchling Tea Rooms in West Street.

This high spec house is brought to you by the owners of Dyke Road Avenue & Sackville House and presented to the same high standard, with the owner's signature red accessories. These popular holiday let properties all have solid oak flooring, luxury appliances and kitchens, comfortable furnishings and large open plan kitchen/ living /dining /conservatory ideal for large group gatherings room for all the family to get together and celebrate a land mark special occasion.

Parking Information

There is off road parking for 3 to 4 cars.

This Property has;

Family Quad Bedroom with en-suite

1 Quad room with 1 Double Bed & 2 Single Beds, En-suite shower room with WC and wash basin. Cupboards & hanging space making it an ideal family room located just off the hallway and to the front of the house.

Twin bedroom with en-suite

Opposite the family bedroom is another twin or double room with en-suite shower room with WC wash basin and single shower cubicle. Sleeps 2. Located at the front.

2 further bedrooms are located off the very spacious hallway that leads to the kitchen living dining room, sleeping 2 each with 'Zip and link' beds that can be set as doubles or 2 singles (Please specify at time of booking)

3 x Sofa Beds in the living room which sleep 1 adult each comfortably or 2 small adults or children.

Family Bathroom with walk in shower room and bath with WC and wash basin.

Utility Room

Useful utility room with sink and washing machine and work top

Open plan kitchen / living room leading to spacious conservatory via 2 double doors leading to garden terrace.

More Details

Property Manager
Andrew Herrington
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2017

Amenities

Ditchling Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
  • Village
General:
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

'Hazeldene' Country Retreat In Ditchling In The South Downs National Park
average rating of 4.642857 based on 14 reviews
5

Perfect for Brighton..

  • 5 of 5

My son ran the Brighton marathon on Sunday. Supported by all his family we stayed at this spacious, comfortable and relaxing house. A short drive to Hassock station and then 9mins into centre of Brighton. Very well stocked kitchen. Fab TV. Outside space for dog and taking in the sunshine. Two generous ensuite bedrooms and good family bathroom with big shower.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Anne for your lovely review and well done to your son and a great time on his first marathon Hope to see you next year Andrew
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing family Christmas spent at Hazeldene

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here for Christmas 2016 as a group of 13 (from a toddler to great grandparents and a dog!) and we all had an amazing time. From the outside the house doesn't look huge but we were very impressed with the spaciousness of the rooms especially the large family living area and conservatory space. The house had everything we needed for our stay including enough plates, bowls, cutlery and pots and pans to cater for us all for a large Christmas dinner! The dining table was perfect, comfortably seating the whole family. The beds were comfy and had enough hanging space for clothes and the ensuite bathrooms both with showers were a bonus. We managed to fit 4 cars and a van onto the off road drive which was helpful when it came to unloading and packing up. The living space was amazing for all the family to be together but also have the option to sit up at the breakfast bar or in the conservatory. The local village is very close to the property and has a few shops and pubs. We visited Brighton during our stay which was only around a 20 minute drive and the fields around the house were great for walking the dog. Andrew was very helpful throughout the booking process and to answer any questions as well as being there on arrival to show us around. Thankyou so much for making our family Christmas the best yet.

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words , glad you jab had a great, Christmas, hope to see you again at our holiday home Best regards Andrew
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely, spacious, clean and well equipped home.

  • 5 of 5

We rented the house for a group of 10 ladies for my hen weekend. Everything from check in to enjoying food and games in the large conservatory, a walk to the Bull for a delicious meal and the comfortable accommodation was just perfect. A fab time was had by all. Thanks Andrew.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words Julie and hope to see you ladies again All the best Andrew
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect venue for our group - spacious, modern and clean!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay here. The house was amazing - very spacious, modern and clean. There are great living spaces - both the sitting room and the dining room conservatory which made it perfect for our large group. The rooms were also lovely - spacious and very good showers. Andrew was very friendly and helpful from start to finish. Would definitely recommend. We used it for a group of 10 ladies on a laid back hen weekend and we had a wonderful time. Would definitely recommend!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Big thanks for your kind words Freya, hope to see you again at our holiday home All the best Andrew
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

House did exactly as said on the tin. However landlord pretty inflexible and generally rude

  • 1 of 5

House fine. Landlord not

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Matthew Im glad you thought our house was fine, Im sorry you felt i was inflexable and rude. You booked the house for 2 nights which has a check in at 2.30pm with a check out at 11.00am, we had another family checking the same day at 3.00pm and need at least 4 hours to turn the house around for our new guests. When you called at 10.00am on the morning of check out to request a later check out it was impossible for me to accommodate your last minute request as my cleaning staff were due to start work at 11.10am to get the house ready for our incoming guests. I have never had a bad review before and feel you are being very unfair as I always try to make sure all my guests in my 5 holiday homes have a great time. Sorry you had to check out at 11.00am but that was agreed at check in Andrew
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Spacious, comfortable, well-equipped.

  • 5 of 5

The house doesn't look much from the outside, but it's like a Tardis inside, with plenty of room for sitting inside, a long table in the conservatory for eating and chairs and tables outside. The kichen is well-equipped and the whole place was fresh and clean. We had a very enjoyable weekend there.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words, hope to see you again, Andrew
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ditchling Bungalow Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring 17
Mar 2 2017 - May 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$451
From
$612
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $39 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 17
May 2 2017 - Sep 12 2017
2 night minimum stay
$677
From
$806
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $45 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall 17
Sep 13 2017 - Nov 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$483
From
$599
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $32 per night, per additional guest
 
winter 17
Nov 2 2017 - Dec 20 2017
2 night minimum stay
$458
From
$574
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $32 per night, per additional guest
 
Festive
Dec 21 2017 - Jan 3 2018
2 night minimum stay
$773
$2,578
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $39 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $515.55
Pet Fee $38.67

FOR RESERVATION CONTACT THE OWNER

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send Email Send Email
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties