check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Property Manager

Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks: english

*August Special* $1900/week or $275/night (3 night minimum) in August!

6 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay nights


Traverse City Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7)

--Excellent Location--

Spring and Fall are beautiful seasons to vacation in Traverse City. Many who frequent the Traverse City area prefer spring and fall vacations to the late June thru August 'high season'.

Save significantly on rental cost and discover the quiet natural beauty that TC offers in the spring and fall.**

Looking for the perfect rental for your family vacation? You may have found it. But in your search don't forget about mom and dad -they deserve a great vacation too. This cabin's layout actually allows mom and dad to enjoy time together on their family vacation (continue reading for more information).

For your consideration:

A refined and spacious 4 bedroom cabin on beautiful Island Lake. This well appointed and thoroughly updated cabin comes fully equipped and will exceed your expectations.

At approx 2300 square feet the cabin will comfortably accomodate your family. The floorplan is family-friendly with two large common areas. Mom and dad also have space of their own in the private beach-facing master bedroom with an attached bath. This master bedroom is approx 40 feet away from the other group of bedrooms. This allows mom and dad the ability to wake early and enjoy coffee alone in the beautiful kitchen while watching the sun rise over Island Lake. I feel that this parent-friendly cabin layout really allows mom and dad to relax on their vacation (something that I value as a father of 4 young kids :) )

The cabin is located less than 30 feet from the beautiful and private Island Lake (with no steps to walk down to get to the water). Enjoy 100 feet of your own sandy beach. Two new kayaks and a 14' row boat are included for your use. Island Lake does not have public access - this means the people who use the lake are also homeowners on the lake. This results in a quiet, peaceful and safe lake for you to enjoy on your vacation.

Some more info about Island Lake:

Island Lake is very clean lake approx 120 acres in size.

One thing to note is that , due to shallow depth of water, some of Island Lake is not well suited to adult swimming, this includes the area in front of cabin. For vacationing families with younger children this shallow water (approx 3 feet deep at end of dock) is a big benefit and adds a margin of safety for your kids.

There are large areas of the lake (inc an area to the left of the island) that are quite deep (approx 60 feet) and great for adult swiming - just not right in front of the cabin. As far as sand quality the beach area is top notch with a large amount of quality beach sand just brought in. Lake sand quality is good (not mucky) to the end of the dock (about 25 feet out). Past the end of the dock the lake floor condition gets soft.

The location of this cabin is ideal for your vacation enjoyment - approx 11 miles from downtown Traverse City yet it lies in the Traverse City wilderness and borders Pere Marquette State Forest. Cabin is very near the VASA Pathway. See listed websites that offer information on area activities.

**This Cabin is located on a very nice private lake. The area is kept nice by owners who care and are considerate of others. Noise restrictions are in effect on Island Lake after 9pm and before 10am. This ensures a positive, enjoyable, AND PEACEFUL vacation experience for you and your family.

:)Besides a great vacation here is something else you can be happy about: 10% of all rental proceeds are donated to three Christian charities: Teen Challenge USA, Shared Hope International and International Justice Mission.

I feel you will be hard pressed to find a cleaner, better appointed, more ideally located Traverse City rental.

Here is a email quote from a recent guest 'Do you rent in the Winter? What does the summer schedule look like? We stayed a week in Aug and loved it!'

A couple of rules and guidelines:

- Please don't use any outside boats/watercraft in Island Lake other than those I provide for your use. (The lake is very clean and one of the few in the state that is free of the dreaded 'Zebra Mussel'.)

- No use of motorcycles/ATVs directly around the lake. ATVs can be easily trailered to one of the great trails in the area.

- Please no parties

- Please no smoking anywhere on property, inside or outside the cabin.

- Please no pets on property, inside or outside

The Grand Traverse region of Michigan is a fantastic place to vacation. I feel the cabin's location is ideal. This Cabin is in a quiet forested location that provides the full 'up north' feel of northern Michigan. Yet, the many activities of downtown Traverse City are only minutes away.

Call me with questions. I look forward to hearing from you.


More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Property Manager
Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About The Owner

Married with 4 young children. Live in Midland, MI

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2006

Why The Owner chose Northern Michigan

We had looked at many places before deciding on this Cabin.

We knew we wanted a well-taken-care-of place proximal to Traverse City with major updates completed. Also preferred 4 bedrooms. Last, we wanted a lakefront location in an area that maintains the true 'up-north' northern Michigan feel. We didn't expect that it would be difficult to locate such a place. It was :).

Most all of the three to four bedroom places that were in the condition we were looking for were very 'residential' in feel and did not convey the up north feeling at all.

Some places were reasonably close to what we were looking for but the areas had a number of ramshakled places nearby.

The peaceful lake we sought was nowhere in sight. Instead we found early morning competitive jetskiers, profanity shouting drunken boaters and the like - behavior that is common on lakes that have public access (many people have no reservations about behaving badly in someone elses backyard). We also have four young kids and didn't want them subject to that type of role modeling.

What we were looking for seemed reasonable enough at the start, but after many months we came to the conclusion that what we were looking for didn't exist.

When we were made aware of this Cabin on Island Lake I fully expected to again encounter some fundamental issue in one of the common themes detailed above. Total surprise - it was exactly what we were looking for!

I am very confident that you will be very happy if you choose this Cabin on Island Lake for your Traverse City vacation.


based on 6 traveler reviews

*August Special* $1900/week or $275/night (3 night minimum) in August!
average rating of 4.0 based on 6 reviews
Grand Rapids, MI

Best Vacation Ever

  • 5 of 5

What more could I ask for, an updated four bedroom home right on the lake, minutes from downtown Traverse City. What really made this work for our large family was the fully updated kitchen that was even larger than ours at home, the formal dining area overlooking the lake and the sandy beach area for the kids. The location was perfect, very quiet with easy access to miles of hiking and biking trails. Thank you to the owners and to Cottages North for letting us visit this terrific lakefront home on Island Lake.

  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for visiting and we hope to have you back next year. Let us know anytime if you have questions or need any assistance. Cottages North
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Can't wait for next summer!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I just booked our 3rd summer at this house! Great house and great lake! What a wonderful place to stay in Michigan! We will continue to book as long as they will have us!

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Liz, thank you and your family for visiting us these years. We really appreciate your visits and hope you make it back for many years. We look forward to your 2014 trip and hope it is sunny and warm the entire stay. Thanks again Ken Weaver Cottages North LLC
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 2 of 5

My family rented the Island Lake property 8/17-8/24 this summer. The lake is beautiful and quiet, and the location is very good. Unfortunately we overpaid considerably for this rental - the problems we encountered are more expected / somewhat acceptable for a place in the lower price range, however we paid too much and got no help from the owners/management company. Since they did not respond to my several calls and emails I feel my only recourse is to warn others about it. The MB toilet was leaking, forcing us to change a disgusting sopping wet towel on bathroom floor every day to prevent the nasty smell that greeted us on arrival.

The kids bathtub/shower was out of order because it had a clogged drain and the drain plug was broken. The fire pit was overflowing with ash and fire pit area filthy with ash and debris/garbage that we had to clean up and I had to evacuate loads of ash before being able to have our own fire. No firewood available. This has always been included at rentals we've stayed at where there was a fire pit. The back patio/beach entrance lock was out of order so we could not lock it during our stay. This was pretty unsettling both at night and when we left because we had to gather up all of our valuables and take them with us every time out. The sliding patio door was broken, again I had to fix it. The dishwasher was falling out of the frame and we could not load or unload it without having to prop something under the door while it was open. The dish scrubbers were filthy and old with no new ones available and only 2 dish rags available. A rental in this price range needs to furnish a new dish scrubber for every owner - this is really unpleasant. The cleaning staff left several perishable and opened food items in the refrigerator, including some meat that was gray and smelly, an opened yogurt container, and a few other produce / fruit items that were well past their prime. We had to deal with disposing of this. This was pretty disgusting and we had to wipe down the inside of the fridge before being able to use it. The row boat had no oars that worked. There are a pair of aluminum oars that have no connectors/anchors, and then the wooden oars are too short and one of them had no connector/anchor, so I had to fix it to use it. Again the oars are too short for that row boat.

-There is no window shade on the kids / bunkbed room.

The mgr email replied on Tuesday of our stay and then never fixed any of the problems. Sad.

  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: There are no issues or concerns with this home. All but this guest were very happy and content. We have had no issues or concerns in the past two years. Regarding our rate, it is very fair and we get significant repeat renters. This renter did call afterwards wanting a refund. Unless there is a specific problem during a rental (loss of power, etc) we do not refund just because someone did not like the rate they contractually agreed to. That is our policy and it has worked well for guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Chicago, IL.

The pictures don't do it justice!

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I rented this lovely home to have a getaway from our hectic lives in Chicago. The home itself is much larger than the pictures indicate. The kitchen is amazing, quite spacious, and stocked with all the basic dishes, utensils, and cookware. The lake is small and quiet with very still water. It is very shallow for a good distance, so probably good for kids. The sand doesn't extend out too far though.

Cottages North, which manages the property, was easy to work with and their employees are responsive and polite.

We will likely rent this home again next time we head to Traverse City.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Royal Oak

Posting response

  • 4 of 5

I thought the cabin was very nice and the size was great for our group. My complaint would be the same about the beach as far as the beach not being what we expected. There was also sand in the bathtub in the second bathroom so that might be something that needs to be checked into after the cleaning crew leaves. As far as posting a message about our group being a bunch of drunks who spent our entire vacation drunk that is both inaccurate as well as uncalled for. I am an adult well over the legal limit to drink alcohol and if I want to sit on a beach chair and drink a cocktail on my vacation then that is my business. I was not getting in a vehicle and putting anyone else in harms way, we were not running up and down the beach like a bunch of hooligans and were respectful of those around us. It seems as if there was some defensiveness to the post and that the comment posted by no means warranted such a nasty response. It simply stated that as renters we were unhappy with the beach and that we paid quite a bit to stay at the cabin and we had different expectations.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
22 3
Clinton Township

Nice house, beach is unswimmable

  • 3 of 5

We just stayed in this cabin the week of July 9th. I feel that this ad was a bit misleading, the beach is sandy and shallow yes, but under all of the muck. My three year old would not swim in the water (he kept saying there was poop in the water) and I didn't want to either because it was so mucky!

I have no complaints about the house, it is big, love the kitchen, nice views. We went over to the island on the kayaks a few times because there was one area that we could swim where there was sand. There is an eagles nest in the tree's on the island, it was cool to see the eagle flying around. Overall, I feel for the price we paid, we should have been able to swim in the water, that was the whole purpose of getting a house on the lake! One more thing, you pay a cleaning fee (for what I don't know) when we got there, the floor was covered with sand so it wasn't swept much less washed. So we had to clean when we got there at 5:00 of course because that is what time we had to check in because it had to be "cleaned".

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This place was left very clean by our cleaning crew. I personally review it after each cleaning and there were no issues. Also, I stopped by the day after check in and they had no complaints and were happy. They spend most their vacation drunk and drinking and left hundreds of beer cans everywhere. This is the first complaint in many years and it is not factual. I do not take people serious that drink that much, then do not have the curtsey to clean up after themselves. If you want an extremely nice, clean home on a beautiful beach near Traverse City, this one works. If you want to drink all day and leave it messy, then please go somewhere else, as you are not welcome here. We have high standards for this home and it's cleanliness, and try to have high standards for renters.
Did you find this review helpful?
17 6


VASA Trail, a beautiful 13 mile mountainbike loop, is very close to the cabin. If you enjoy mountainbiking be sure to bring your MTB.


Rates & Availability

Traverse City Cabin Rental Rates

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 6.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.


Traverse City Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lakefront
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • King size beds (2) Two King Full Log Beds, Bunk Beds (2) One twin over full Cedar Log bunkbed - Sleeps 3 One twin over twin Cedar Log bunkbed - Sleeps 2
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Includes use of 2 new kayaks and 14' Polar Kraft Rowboat Attn: Parents of young children - the following is available for your use at the Cabin: a good selection of young childs beachtoys, childs toys and games for inside, two strollers, Kelty Kid Backpack (young child is carried in it:)

Partner Offers