check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Modern Studio, North Beach/Telegraph Hill

Bedrooms Studio
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights


Minimum Stay
1 - 2 nights

About the property


Modest and cozy basement studio apartment, in a fantastic North Beach/Telegraph Hill location. It sleeps up to three people, with kitchenette, bathroom, and wifi Internet.


However we accept shorter reservations that completely fill a shorter empty slot.


The studio is perfect for visitors who want to be in the very center of San Francisco, with most things in easy walking distance. You're on elegant and quiet Telegraph Hill, yet the lively restaurants, cafes and bars of North Beach are just two blocks away, teeming with life day and night. Coit Tower, Greenwich Steps, Fishermen's Wharf, Chinatown, Nob Hill, the Financial District, Russian Hill and the shops of Union Square are all a very short and very pleasant stroll. For major sports events, AT&T Park is is also a delightful walk, either through Chinatown or the Financial District, or even better along the coastline ("The Embarcadero") of the San Francisco Bay.

San Francisco is one of the world's gastronomic capitals. You are surrounded by Italian, Chinese, French and Vietnamese restaurants, fitting every pocket. My personal favorites, all two blocks away: Ideale (bustling Roman trattoria), The House (Asian fusion), and Caffe Trieste (literary/intellectual hangout, the most famous cafe in the US).

Feel like a splurge? Many of San Francisco's finest restaurants are within half a mile, such as Kokkari Estiatorio, Gary Danko's, Sotto Mare, and The House. Feel like a non-splurge? There are many excellent restaurants where you can eat for under $10, especially in and around Chinatown.

For shopping the location is hard to beat. The charming and sometimes quirky clothing shops of Upper Grant street are two blocks away. Four blocks takes you to the bargain shops of Chinatown. Within a 15 minute easy stroll you are at the large department stores of Union Square, and the trendy boutiques of Union Street.

There is a good quality organic grocery store within two blocks of the apartment. In addition, San Francisco is home to numerous neighborhood farmers' markets and the apartment is a short walk to the largest one, The Saturday Ferry Building Farmer's Market.

So without exaggeration, it really is a fantastic location.

If you don’t feel like walking, public transportation is very easy. In fact, San Francisco is one of those very few US cities where you don't need a car. Cabs are everywhere, and if you order one, they normally show up within five minutes. Public transport from the airport is also easy:

--20 minute cab ride from SFO assuming no congestion.

--Take the BART subway from the airport to Montgomery Street station, then walk or take a bus or cab for the last mile.

--If you have a car, you can either park on the streets, or in the parking lots two and three blocks away.


There’s a 33" flat screen monitor with free Netflix offering a very large selection of movies and TV shows. Free wifi (up to 20Mbit/sec down, 3Mbit/sec up) keeps you in contact with the outside world. Several local terrestrial TV channels are available, although the signal is not very strong and if you're unlucky, the stations won't be picked up.

The bed is double/full size (54" × 75", or 137cm × 191cm).

The kitchenette has a microwave/toaster, hotplate, and a mini-refrigerator, and good quality dishes, glassware, and cutlery. So it's fine for light cooking, but you'll want to use local restaurants for more ambitious culinary adventures.

The bathroom has a sink, tub, and shower. There's a bureau with four drawers to store clothes.

Despite being in the heart of things, the apartment is quiet. The street outside doesn’t have a lot of traffic. All but the lightest of sleepers will sleep soundly, because the bedroom is away from the road.

The roof has beautiful views over San Francisco, and a BBQ and table and chairs.

A parking spot is available for an additional fee. It's half a block from the apartment, far more convenient than public parking. Street parking is scarce and limited to 2 hours during the day. Let us know when you book if this is of interest.


The studio is in the basement of the building, and there aren't a lot of windows nor is there much sunlight. It should be fine if, like most guests, you're mainly using the studio to sleep in. If you want to spend a lot of time in the studio and are given to claustrophobia, you should probably stay elsewhere.

It's a bit crowded with three guests.

As the photographs indicate, there is limited garment hanging space.

Babies, even if you bring a crib, count as an additional person.

We provide the flat in good order, with clean linen and towels, and basic supplies including several toilet rolls and some soap and shampoo. For longer stays, we change linen and towels every five days.

Garbage collection comes once a week, and sometimes from 5am onwards. The noise is brief, and if the collection is early, it may disturb your sleep.

As noted above, local TV stations may not be accessible, due to a poor signal.


A modest and cozy studio apartment, in a fantastic North Beach/Telegraph Hill location.

More Details

Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 19, 2017

About David

Londoner, went to the US to grad school at Stanford in philosophy. California girls are beautiful, they offered me a scholarship, plus had fantasies of being a philosopher, so decided to try out the place.

Instead discovered computers and mathematical logic so got diverted into research in artificial intelligence. Which people say describes me perfickly. Met some Extremely Rich and Famous people, sadly their defining qualities didn't rub off on me. Founded and ran an IT research company in Silicon Valley. Recently founded and established a technology museum.

Then started this holiday rental business to provide for ill-deserved retirement, assisted by friend Sara (met her in Eritrea, lovely but very poorly-governed country). And Jason, Angelica, and Magally, who help with meeting guests and cleaning.

Next project is to write essays on how technology affects humanity. After that, am evaluating oblivion.

David purchased this apartment in 2013

Why David chose San Francisco

Purchased because fantastic location for tourists, purchase price although high allows me to offer good quality accommodation at reasonable rates.

What makes this apartment unique

Most things you want to see are just a short and very pleasant stroll away. North Beach is delightful and picturesque area full of cafes and restaurants, and retains its strong sense of community.

Attractive, clean, modern decor.

Reasonable price.

Can accommodate larger groups of family and friends, further reducing per person price.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

Modern Studio, North Beach/Telegraph Hill
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 42 reviews

clean and well priced

  • 4 of 5

Pleasant stay during the JPM meeting

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks. The price is competitive because, while the contents are clean and modern and comfortable, the apartment is modest and in the basement. Fine for guests who are out and about most of the time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place to stay in San Francisco!

  • 5 of 5

What a treat! The location was perfect and the rental was clean and very comfortable. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quaint and Comfortable Quarters; Great Location!

  • 5 of 5

Overall we had a great experience and enjoyed our stay in this place! It's comfortable, crisp, and had all we needed for our stay. We were happy to see a coffee maker and electric kettle for our morning coffee and tea, as well as a hot plate for making breakfast before we ventured out on the town. The bed was comfy and the place just had a nice feel to it. A couple of suggestions for improvements for future guests - the bathroom could use some updating and refreshing, and the fold-up cot could be taken out of the room for guests that aren't using it as it would free up some space to move around and enjoy the comforts a bit better.

The location can't be beat! Just a phenomenal location in North Beach. Easy to get to the bus lines and out to wherever we wanted to go in the city. Also an easy walk to the Embarcadero and also Market Street. We enjoyed going up to the roof for some afternoon beverages and enjoying the view! It was just fantastic. Be prepared for some hill walking to get to the place though!

All in all we very much enjoyed our stay. One final note of caution and maybe something for the owner/manager to think about - Tuesday morning is trash day and at about 5:20am somebody came through like a rabid bull in a china shop to get the trash carts outside. Fortunately we were already up and getting ready to go to the airport, but it definitely would have been a rude awakening! Maybe consider having somebody take them out the night before?

Thanks so much for the great place and the detailed write-up. David seems like a really nice and interesting guy based on his write-up and commentary. We'll definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling to San Francisco!

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the detailed comments. Regarding the noisy trash collection at 5.20am. Most unpleasant. Hitherto, we haven't had complaints about this, so maybe the garbage men have started a new schedule. If other guests have the same problem, I'll add a warning about noisy trash pickups to the posting. Glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope you'll come again. --David
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good value. TV is a problem. Substantial hallway noise.

  • 4 of 5

Properly advertised, and representative of what it is. Some observations: TV is not very important to us, but it's nice to be able to turn it on when you want it. The TV is confusing, but it could be because we are not users of non cable TV. But this is a very affordable rental so maybe we shouldn't expect cable? This was a system based on the obscure Amazon TV platform, with a "fire stick" controller, and there is no access to broadcast TV/cable etc. We had great difficulty accessing Netflix. It was not an easy system to navigate, it had significant long pauses that were confusing, quick sleep modes/ backouts that interrupted trying to solve the problem, and what might be a poor connection with the HDMI cable. With my wife operating the buttons and me holding the cable tight to the back of the TV we were finally able to sort thought the unfamiliar maze of Amazon and Netflix. I strongly recommend providing a more familiar system. While sleeping there was occasional loud buzzing of the front door security system and the there was a monumentally loud garbage/ recycling experience very early in the morning. Sounded like an elephant going down the hall. We read some of this in previous reviews but did not think they would matter. This is a basement apartment with very little natural light so there was never much inclination to hang around. To get to the roof after dark you must switch on your flashlight on your smart phone to see to get there. This is a location that is high on a hill and one must be able to walk steep grades to get home! My wife did not appreciate the fake plants... OK, that's about all there was to complain about. We appreciated the access to an affordable rental in an otherwise more expensive area. It appears that we were able to get a few nights that must have been due to a cancellation. We determined that later we would be more inclined to get an area hotel room and feel a little more privileged for just a little more money. It's not that there was anything really wrong with the rental, just our needs have changed and we didn't really realize what we would be bothered by the funky character and compromised TV system and late night and early morning noises. So this is not a negative review, just a coming of age as we realize we need to move on.

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to make your helpful observations. Regarding the issues you raise: * One other guest complained recently about the noisy trash pickups. It seems the garbage men have changed their schedule. I'll flag this in the posting. * The TV should have been working, we don't know why it wasn't. * Yes, the Netflix/cable/TV use is a bit complicated, with its two remotes. But looking on the bright side, all the mucking about is a fun add-on for guests who love fiddling with user interfaces and exploring the behaviour of buttons with many symbols or words. .... :) * Sorry about the fake plants, but they do look pretty good. Er, well, at least to me. It's a modest apartment, and savings like that help to keep the price down.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful location!

  • 4 of 5

This place was near perfect. I surprised my fiancé for a weekend trip to San Francisco and stumbled upon this place. It was kept super clean. It was easy enough to access. However, make sure you catch an Uber there. We made the mistake of walking there with our bags from Fishermans Warf thinking it was close enough to not matter. It's on the top of some extremely steep hills! You won't miss leg day that's for sure! The only complaint about this place was the neighbors. They got into some loud argument about trust and was yelling at each other for quite some time. All we wanted was a quick nap after our climb to the room and they made it absolutely impossible. On a more positive note, the place is perfectly located. It truly is close to fishermans warf. You can see Coit Tower from the rooftop balcony. There were tons of bars and restaurants right around the corner. I would 100% stay here again if I knew the neighbors were on vacation somewhere else lol.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good point about the steep hills. This, plus the difficulty of parking, is one of the reasons we encourage guests with cars to use our parking. Extra $30/day which hurts a bit, but that's the going rate round here and it's massively convenient. Sorry about the disturbance from internecine struggle in adjacent apartment, I have asked Sara to investigate and we'll try to stop others having the same bother. Thanks for staying, hope you come back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

My wife and I, on our honeymoon, chose to stay in Sara and David's flat based on its location. Perfectly situated in the best part of San Fran, we were able to walk to almost every attraction, bar and restaurant we wanted. The description on VRBO was exactly as we found it when we arrived. Our favorite part of the flat was the incredible view of the city and the bay from the roof! A bottle of wine and the setting sun....simply didn't get any better than this! I'd encourage the rental of the parking space if you have a car to park, as parking around the city is as challenging as the stories you've heard. We would stay in this flat on our next trip to SF. Thanks for providing a great place to stay!

Jake and Amber

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay! We agree that guests with cars should probably rent our space, it costs $30/day which is the standard rate and it's so much more convenient than other lots, plus parking on the streets is usually hard to come by.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

North Beach Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Jan 15-31 2017
Jan 15 2017 - Jan 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
Feb 2017
Feb 1 2017 - Feb 28 2017
1 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
Mar 2017
Mar 1 2017 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
Apr 2017
Apr 1 2017 - Apr 30 2017
1 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
May 2017
May 1 2017 - May 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
Jun 2017
Jun 1 2017 - Jun 30 2017
1 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
Aug 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
1 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
Oct 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
Nov 1 2017 - Nov 30 2017
1 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
Dec 1 2017 - Dec 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $44

Check In: from 3 PM
Check Out: by 11 AM
Initial payment:
* 25% of total lodging [GR1 or GRA: and parking] fees if booking made >14 days before arrival; otherwise 100%
* Plus full security deposit if booking not made >14 days before arrival
* Must be made within 24 hours of initial booking. Reservations not made within 24 hours of initial booking will be cancelled.
Second payment (if booking made >14 days of arrival):
* 75% of total lodging and parking fees, plus 100% of security deposit
* If second payment not made prior to 14 days before arrival, it will be assumed that guest wishes to cancel and 1) the reservation will be cancelled and 2) any lodging and parking fees in excess of 25% of the total lodging and parking fees will be refunded
Cancellation fees. Notification received:
* >14 days before arrival: 70% refund of total lodging and parking fees, except fees levied by HomeAway network and any financial services intermediaries
* 8-14 days before arrival: 50% refund of total lodging and parking fees, except fees levied by HomeAway network and any financial services intermediaries
* 0-7 days before arrival: 0% refund of total lodging and parking fees, except fees levied by HomeAway network and any financial services intermediaries
Early checkin, if available:
* Noon to 2pm, $25; 9am to noon, $37.50; 7am to 9am, $50
Late checkout, if available:
* Noon to 3pm, $25; 3pm to 6pm, $37.50; 6pm to 9pm, $50

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


North Beach Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 0
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 350 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Studio, Sleeps 3
  • Studio - 1 double , + one airbed
  • Up to one additional guest can be accommodated on a comfortable foldup bed (39' x 75”, or 99cm × 191cm) which is put on the floor. It quickly gets crowded if you have the foldup bed (see photographs), so during the day, expect to put it aside.
  • DVD Player
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • swimming

Partner Offers