check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Ken & Sandy Edelson

Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

AMAZING River Views: Tranquility at River's Bend: HotTub, Sauna, FirePit

66 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Ellijay Cabin Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 3 full baths, Sleeps 8-10

Receive DISCOUNT of one FREE NIGHT when staying 7 or more non-holiday nights (equal to base rate of $155)...

Tranquility at River's Bend... Fish, tube, kayak, ride horses, hike or just take in views & sounds of the rushing river from our beautiful cabin nestled within woods & hills fronted by the Coosawattee River in the lush Coosawattee River Resort. Spread over 8,500+ acres, it's not the typical resort. Guests have access to free or low cost amenities including 1 indoor and 2 outdoor pools, miniature golf, fish pond, trails, tubing (tubes/life vests in cabin), volleyball, basketball, weight room, +more. Tranquility sits on 200' of the river's bend with astonishing views. Rustic, yet upscale & comfortable interior includes high end linens, wood floors, tongue & groove walls, huge vaulted ceilings, incredible loft, game room & more amenities than home. Wood-burning fireplace, Sauna, 7-8 person Hot Tub, 8' pool table, board games, puzzles & TVs/DVDs/VCRs w/movie collection give you many things to do without ever leaving the cabin. Further Details & Link To See More Photos Below.

Relax, Relax, Relax!! : If it's relaxation you seek... Tranquility at River's Bend has everything you need to de-stress, get tranquil, & just unwind! Webster's definition of tranquil: free from agitation of mind or spirit... free from disturbance or turmoil. Come, experience the definition. Spend some time in the outdoor hot tub, watching the river & stars as pulsating jets massage away your cares. Feel tension-relieving warmth in your private sauna as it soothes & relaxes. Take time out to just gaze at thickly woven trees & the river's bend as you sit back in your deliciously comfy rocking chair. Kick back & feel life's stresses melt away as you relax in cozy, river-side Adirondack chairs while nearby river otters play. Bask in privacy with sounds of breezes in the trees & rushing water passing by. Let your eyes glaze over as you snuggle in a blanket by the fire pit's dancing flames, listening to nature's peace & tranquility. Treat yourself to a moonlight massage on your private deck. Ahhhhh... the life!

Get up and Go!! : If you prefer a little more activity... Kayak, Tube & Fish in the Coosawattee River (tubes, life jackets, fishing poles (not tackle) provided). Hike trails in the Coosawattee River Resort (CRR) or one of many other nearby trails, including the southern start of the Appalachian Trail (GA has nearly 80 miles of the AT running from Springer Mountain to Bly Gap, where the trail enters NC). Boat on several nearby lakes including Carters Lake, 10 mins. away, & Blue Ridge Lake, 20 mins. away. Sightsee practically everywhere (as one naturalist said of N. GA, 'Scenic touring is about any road you want to travel'), including Amicalola & Ruby Falls, Vogel State Park, Cloudland Canyon, mountain vistas (1k to 5k feet) & more. Venture around CRR & enjoy miniature golf, indoor exercise equipment, pond fishing, ball sports, indoor/outdoor pools, & more or just play in the cabin's game room. If visiting in the Fall, be sure to attend the Apple Festival (Ellijay is known as the Apple Capital of Georgia).

Shop till you drop (and maybe eat a little, too).: While experiencing Tranquility, visit the quaint downtown area of old Ellijay - along with a vintage 'round-about' town square & Town Hall, you'll find: wonderful restaurants / antique stores... a fantastic boutique/bakery/wine shop (Corks & Crumbs)... a magical place called Christmas House where you'll find treasures for the holidays & many other delightful items at great prices... plus many more unique shops where works of local artists are highlighted. Close by in East Ellijay, you'll find many more restaurants & stores, including: Italian, Oriental, Mexican restaurants; a steak house; several fast food chains; specialty shops, log furniture stores, & more. North of CRR's main entrance on 382 is the Corner Cafe where you'll find awesome home-cooked meals & great people. A hop, skip, & jump away are the towns of Blue Ridge (north) & Jasper (south) where you'll find many more shops & restaurants to enjoy. Be sure to see our Welcome & Guest Books in the cabin for much more info.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Ken & Sandy Edelson (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Why Ken & Sandy Edelson chose North Georgia Mountains

This place engulfed us in it's peace and tranquility from the moment we first stepped inside... The river view and sounds are just mesmerizing and spectacular. So many of our guests have reported back to us how they felt the peace so profoundly and how their cares just seemed to melt away. We still feel that ourselves every time we visit Tranquility.

What makes this cabin unique

Fantastic river frontage, with incredible views

Guestbook comments from the owner

"For the space to indulge in great girl talk, the serene setting to free our minds from the demands of the city and the exercise afforded from climbing the hill and decks :), we thank you. Tranquility at River's Bend was truly our home away from home for the weekend and we appreciate your kind consideration for sharing your cabin w/our group of friends. Thanks!!"
Nov 2012
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

4.9
based on 66 traveler reviews

AMAZING River Views: Tranquility at River's Bend: HotTub, Sauna, FirePit
average rating of 4.8636365 based on 70 reviews
5

Just wonderful!!

  • 5 of 5

Tranquility is the perfect name for this place!! Arrived late at night and thought the place was gorgeous and comfortably furnished (loved the soft, soft sheets!!), but it was nothing compared to seeing it in the daylight. The cabin sits high up on a hill with wonderful views of the beautiful river and countryside... which is what I saw when I awoke with such a sweet, sweet feeling of peace and "tranquility". I actually didn't leave the place though I planned to visit the shops in "Old Elljay", the nearby maze, apple orchards and some of the other things in and around the Coosawatee River Resort on the owner's "Things to Do" list (thanks for the list, will have to go out next time). Instead, I basically hung out in the hot tub, the decks and enjoyed nature at its finest. You never know when you rent something site unseen what you might end up with, so it's always with some hesitation that I make a reservation, but this time I was unequivocably and delightfully surprised! Everything I read about it and what the owners said was spot on. They were fun to work with and the days of simple relaxation, sitting on the different decks, sipping my coffee, were some of the best I've had in a very long time. What a beautiful piece of country that I'm so glad I was able to experience. I plan to return to at least see the spring flowers and for sure - to go tubing on the river. Thank you Ken & Sandy for sharing your piece of paradise!! (By the way, totally enjoyed your sense of humor!!)

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your time in Tranquility! We appreciate the feedback and are glad to hear you enjoyed our cabin in the woods. Springtime is a spectacular time with all the trees bright green and flowers in bloom and, of course, tubing is great fun in the summer! Thanks again, we look forward to working with you in the future. Ken & Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
13 0
Bush, LA
4

Beautiful home in a beautiful setting with great views of the river

  • 4 of 5

This is a great property, lots of sleeping options, beautifully decorated. The steps all the way down to the river were destroyed in a winter flood but you can still go down to the second lowest level where you can sit by the fire pit and watch the river. We were there in mid-July and it was too warm for a fire. We did enjoy the hot tub, though. LOTS of stairs! Master bedroom is above the main floor so we had to keep our door open to get AC circulation up there. Beds were comfy. Ken was wonderful to work with and was available for all questions. The contract specifies that "Guest(s) are to clean and put away all used dishes and dispose of all bagged garbage"

I have 2 suggestions:

1) While we did start the dishwasher the morning of our departure, we had to wait till it was done to be able to put them away....before the 10:30am deadline for the keylock. We had 2 grandkids to get up and moving that morning as well. Additionally, when we arrived, several dishes had dried food on them. I'd guess that the previous guests chose to 'hand wash' their dishes.

**Have the maid service put away all dishes in the dishwasher that is started by the guests when they leave the property that morning. This would assure clean dishes for all guests and allow for a more leisurely morning to pack and leave.

2) We understand that there are critters in the area and that the outside garbage can must be kept locked and emptied. But what we didn't expect is that we had to take 3 big bags of stinky garbage to the dumpsite that is about a mile out of the huge subdivision, making it almost a 6 mile ride from the property with 3 of us carrying a garbage bag in our laps! The car was packed with our things so we had no choice. We had many activities planned each day that kept us away from the property most of each day. The last thing we wanted to do was to make a trash dump 6 miles away at the end of every day.

**Provide a garbage pickup at least weekly. I would think that a service like that would be very much appreciated by most guests.

I realize that those two services, especially the trash pick up, would necessitate a small upcharge but when you're vacationing and need to leave by a certain time, it would be a worthwhile cost.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Judy, Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and had a great vacation. I would like to briefly comment on the points that you made, which you felt warranted a 20% reduction of your review rating. If I understand correctly, we are being held accountable and penalized for: 1) a natural weather disaster (The river flooded as a result of extremely heavy rainfall last January), which caused the river to rise about 6-8 feet, which in turn tore out the lowest 10-15 steps closest to the water's edge. Please rest assured that we do have plans to replace them as soon as we can, which will cost approximately $10,000. We apologize for the inconvenience. 2) We do not provide trash pick up service. The community (Coosawattee River Resort) provides a "Convenience Center" (trash dump) for residents to use to dispose of their trash, at a cost of $1 per three tall kitchen bags. It is located approximately 1.5 miles outside the main gate (We are located exactly 2 miles from the main gate, for a total distance of around 3.5 miles). Most of our guests over the past ten years have not had an issue with disposing of their own trash. When we are there, we have to do the same. Sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you. 3) You had to put away your own dishes prior to checking out. The housekeeping staff is charged mainly with cleaning and preparing the cabin for the next incoming guests. Putting away dishes for the prior guests is not one of their responsibilities. Again, sorry for the inconvenience. While we understand your points, we do try to contain costs for the benefit of all of our guests. Also, these items are in line with what most cabin rental owners provide. We will certainly take your suggestions into consideration. Kind regards, Ken & Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5

This home far exceeded our expectations. There was plenty of room for our family of 5, and the views were phenomenal. We went tubing down the river, and when we came upon the house, we were amazed at how high up it was. We thoroughly enjoyed playing pool at night after using the hot tub. The kitchen was fully equipped, which was great for cooking in. Downtown Ellijay was nice for shopping, and it was a short drive to Nantahala Outdoor Center, which was our next destination. Wonderful experience working with Ken.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

So beautiful and calming is a great description for this home on the river.

  • 5 of 5

Just driving into the resort is the beginning of a peaceful feeling. Tha trees, bridges and water are wonderful. I loved sitting on the porch drinking my coffee and staring at the river while the birds werer chirping.

Every amenity is provided so there is never a dull moment. It is also close to shopping and restaurants. We loved it!

The owners were helpful and provided all of the information for everything inside and outside of their home. Would have loved to stay longer.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

True Tranquility!

  • 5 of 5

This was my 2nd stay at Tranquility at River's Bend and let me say that I have never had such a relaxing time. The cabin is beautifully decorated and spotless. The master bedroom has the most comfortable mattress and sheets. There are 4 decks to look out at the river and view all the wonderful wildlife. The master bedroom deck has a new awesome suspension hammock...great!!! Bird feeders on the main floor deck provide an array of beautiful birds to watch and the squirrels are hilarious. We come in with our groceries and never leave. The resort provides a lot of activities but we just hiked and stayed around the cabin. Everything you need is provided to make it a home away from home. It was so nice that I called and begged to stay an additional night. Ken is so very easy to work with. This has become our retreat. Can't wait to come back in the summer to go tubing on the river!

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It makes our hearts smile when we read that our guests love our cabin as much as we do... It certainly can be a magical place for us as well as many others. Please come back any time, as wonderful guests like you guys are such a joy to deal with. We love and welcome you making Tranquility your little respite in the mountains... And BTW... Tubing is such a blast ! 😊👍. Warm regards...
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

This is a very beautiful cabin and property on a river. Deer are everywhere. Very peaceful.

  • 5 of 5

I immediately was impressed walking up to the cabin. Then when you walk in its even bigger than it looks. Three stories with balconies on every floor. Jacuzzi, gameroom with a pool table, and even a sauna on one floor. Kitchen has everything you need. The new bbq grill worked great also. The wife and i wanted somewhere quiet to relax for a week and this place does not disappoint. Wildlife is abundant. I've never seen so many deer walking around. Having a river in the back yard makes it even better. Plenty of stores and restuarants around. The beautiful fireplace got alot of use. We were very pleased with our stay. Would love to come back. The owner Ken is very nice and a pleasure to deal with. It made for a perfect getaway. Would recommend to everyone. Wish we could stay longer.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review... We are so glad you got to enjoy the wonderful peace and tranquility that we always experience when we are there. Glad you liked the grill, we just got it ! And the wildlife are so much fun to see everywhere. Did you happen to see any river otters or beaver ? They are so cool to watch... Please come back and stay again any time you feel the need to get some 'Tranquility' in your life ! Ken & Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Car: necessary

Tranquility at River's Bend... This wonderful retreat sits on a large expanse of the Coosawattee River front where the river bends to form what looks like two rivers heading to and away from the cabin. **Incredible, One-Of-A-Kind Views**! From the waterside fire pit, cabin decks and windows, you hear rushing water as it travels over rocks forming the whitewater effect. These navigable waters lead to nearby Carters Lake (the deepest lake in GA) in one direction & the meeting of the Ellijay & Cartecay Rivers in the other. Mountains, waterfalls, scenic highways, lakes, rivers all abound in the Ellijay area of the gorgeous north Georgia mountains. Great day trips... approx. 15 mi. to Blue Ridge, GA; 38 mi. to Blairsville, GA, Dahlonega, GA, and the Appalachian Trail head; 60 mi. to Murphy, NC & Chattanooga, TN; 65 mi. to Helen, GA; 75 mi. to Atlanta, GA. Take a drive and enjoy the lush greenery, mountainous terrain, winding rivers, and waterfalls of Ellijay and its surrounding areas!

Other Activities: Fishing & tubing (poles - but not tackle -, tubes, & life vests included).

Golf: If you can pull yourself away from Tranquility at River's Bend... challenge yourself to some north Georgia Mountain golf. Check out the public 4.5 star White Path Golf Course, with 18 holes over 6,139 yards and a par of 72, only minutes away...

Ski: Water skiing on pristine Carters Lake, only a few minutes from Tranquility at River's Bend... also, Lake Blue Ridge, a bit further.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ellijay Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$155
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cabin Cleaning Fee $110
CRR Rental Guest Fee $26
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 12.0%

Receive one night FREE when staying 7 or more non-holiday nights (equal to base rate of $155)

Base rate is for the first two guests only...
$15 add'l per nt, per guest over first two
$110 Cleaning Fee
$26 Coosawattee River Resort - Rental Guest Fee

May - Sep & all Holiday stays require min of 7 nights unless exception approved by owners
Sep - Apr stays require min of 3 nights

NO SMOKING & NO PETS - sorry, due to past damages & subsequent expenses involved, can't do either

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Ellijay Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2708 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • River
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Firewood
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • fax
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Main floor bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Master bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bottom floor bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • One full bathroom on each of the cabin's three floors. Linens provided in each. Complimentary shampoo, creme rinse, lotion, and soap provided. Enjoy the peaceful and relaxing, spa-like atmosphere of the sauna room complete with stress-reducing spa accessories (eye mask, neck and back rolls that are microwavable and freezable) and slippers!
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • 1. The Bird's Nest - 1 king , luxurious with a nature theme, private deck, river views
    2. Angler's Paradise - 1 queen , large room, angler motif, river views, sitting area, deck
    3. Extra Large Loft - 2 sleep sofa /futon , (2 Queen size futons), office area, DSL wireless access
    5. Lower Level Game Room - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Twin over Full Bunk Beds
  • Sleeps 8-10 maximum (though the cabin can accommodate more, we usually keep the maximum to 8 guests)... 3 well-appointed private bedrooms (one with 5-star hotel quality king mattress, one with 5-star hotel quality queen mattress, and one with twin over full bunk beds, 2 queen futons with Comfort Coil mattresses in extra large loft. Plenty of extra pillows, including ultra soft, down-filled, plush pillows. Complete linens/bedding and velvety soft Vellux blankets provided for all beds and futons. Plush robes and slippers for the cabin's dry infrared sauna provided. Additional maid service available (inquire with owners to arrange for this and other Concierge services to pamper yourself). NO SMOKING / NO PETS. Evidence of either results in loss of entire security deposit. See Additional Photos via the link below, 'Please click here for more photos' to view our 10 minute SLIDE SHOW with about 100 pictures ! Takes you on a tour of the propert
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • 16 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Sauna ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Coosawattee River Resort, unlike other resorts. Nestled in woods of the N. GA mountains with 8,500 acres, it's easy to forget it's a resort. With vast amenities conveniently spread out in a forested gated community. Service is key as the cabin's owners offer Concierge services to assist you with everything from stocking groceries, to providing local information, to arranging for a Massage or private Chef, to setting up a Wine Tour, to arranging daily maid service, and just about anything to help make this your vacation of a lifetime. Swim, kayak, canoe, tube & fish right off the property's 200' river frontage. Gorgeous location. Fantastic views of the rushing river from all 4 decks & most rooms! The cabin has a luxurious yet rustic & comfy feel with amenities galore, including your own Sauna, 7-8 person Hot Tub, pool table, electronic dart board, games, puzzles, private master deck, 2nd master with deck, comfortable mattresses/linens and more.

Partner Offers