check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

VIlla Kai - Ocean Front, Spacious Island Home in Gated Kona Bay Estates

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 14 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
3
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
5 - 14 nights

Description

Kailua-Kona House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, Sleeps 8

This impressive Villa, located in the secluded, gated community of Kona Bay, is designed to showcase the majestic Pacific Ocean with the sense of bringing the outdoor sights and sounds indoors to you. In Hawaii, water is the theme. So, relax, pamper yourself and escape into the luxury of this expansive estate. Whether indoors or outdoors, water surrounds you and invites you to indulge in your choice of water activity, a dip in the pool or a dip in the ocean. A small, private, sandy beach (locally referred to as Keiki Beach, known for being child friendly) is located just steps outside your door or just a short walk away is a larger, sandy beach. Choose what suits you.

Explore the meticulously maintained gardens, the breathtaking views and feel the ocean spray on your face. Enjoy our unique island plants and exotic flowers and meet our indigenous creatures. Keep an eye open for the humpback whales or spinner dolphins you may see from the lanai. In fact, with the ability to completely open the lanai doors you can enjoy the sights of the ocean including spectacular Kona sunsets from the main living area or outside on the lanai.

The Villa features popular, island comfort, furnishings. The latest and best in design, style and fixtures are found throughout the villa including the thoroughly modern 3-1/2 baths and kitchen. Our concierge service can deliver fresh island produce and seafood directly to your well stocked gourmet kitchen. Choose indoor dining, with a view, or keep mealtime casual and fire up the poolside grill.

The Villa consists of two separate structures connected by a breezeway: Makai and Mauka. The main living area and the master bedroom are located Makai (closest to the ocean) and take advantage of the ocean views and breezes. The Mauka (located towards the mountain) structure is located behind the main living area and boasts an air conditioned master suite, along with two other air conditioned bedrooms that share a Jack and Jill bathroom. The separation of the two structures allows for a quiet sleeping area that is ready when you are, to provide quiet, undisturbed zzz's for sleepy heads.

Spacious 'Villa Kai' offers opportunity for memorable private moments with loved ones, friends or colleagues in its many comfortable settings throughout the estate. Priced right, the villa is a comfortable experience for up to 8 adult guests. Whether romance, business, reunions, or just great fun, 'Villa Kai' has everything you want for that perfect Hawaiian experience.

This island paradise is all about: water, privacy, spaciousness and luxurious comfort. And, 'Villa Kai' is all about you.

Walk, run, bike or drive to discover all our island has to offer you. See our complete list of amenities. There is air conditioning in the 3 back bedrooms.

There is a 5 night minimum stay/10 during Ironman & Christmas season. This is a non-smoking, no pets property. Hawaii Tax ID: 133-833-1136-01

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Property Manager
Kona Coast Vacations
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
December 3, 2016
Call Manager

Guestbook comments from the manager

WE CAME WITH THRE OTHER COUPLES WHO HAD NEVER BEEN TO HAWAII BEFORE.

WE WOULD LIKE TO THANK THE OWNERS FOR ALLOWING STANGERS TO RENT THIS BEAUTIFUL PROPERTY.. THIS IS A WONDERFULAND RELAXING HOME TO COME HOME TO ATER A DAY OF EXPLORING. WE TREATED THE HOME WITH LOVING CARE AND HOPE OTHERS DO AS WELL.WE HAD A GREAT TIME HERE WITH OUR FAMILY.

MAHALO,

GRANT, FLORIDA
Feb 2010
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(63 traveler reviews)

VIlla Kai - Ocean Front, Spacious Island Home in Gated Kona Bay Estates
average rating of 4.84127 based on 67 reviews
5

Heaven!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This property was perfect for our group of three couples. It was a short walk to downtown and a great central location for trips to many beach or snorkeling locations. The large main house was a wonderful gathering place with the smaller air-conditioned back house great for sleeping. The kitchen appliances and ammenities could be a little better but is expected in a home rental. We can't wait to visit again.

  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Palmer Family at Villa Kai

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Loved this house! It accommodated our entire family for meals, visiting, etc. The layout is fabulous!! Roomy but comfortable. We were VERY disappointed that the front bedroom wasn't air conditioned. Weather was very warm and humid and, even with fans, sleeping was not comfortable. Also, no fan in the bathroom... The washing machine smelled TERRIBLY of mold as did the chest of drawers in the front bedroom. We tried cleaning the washing machine 3 times to no avail. The back three bedrooms were great and our son and his family were very happy with them. FYI...coffee pot could use a vinegar rinse as it was VERY slow and one of the burners didn't work well.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: Kona Coast Vacations
Owner's Response: Aloha and mahalo for the comments. The owner and KCV are very dedicated to guest satisfaction, and our office is open seven days a week. A quick call to the office and we would have had someone over to address these issues. Due to the high humidity, being that close to the ocean, washing machines will smell like mildew if you close the lid. We leave our washer and dryer lids open at all times to let them air out. We will complete a bleach and vinegar rinse through the machine and it will solve that issue. We will also check the drawers, as this is sometimes due to clothing or linens placed in the drawers without being completely dry. A complete drying of the drawers normally takes care of that as well. We will replace the coffee pot and the owner has been getting quotes on adding AC to the front bedroom. The entire room will require a renovation to add insulation, and seal the doors and windows. Unfortunately, it is not as simple as adding an AC unit. We hope to see you again next year. Mahalo Kona Coast Vacations
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We just loved this home. Loved the layout, pool and gorgeous views. We would definitely recommend and stay at this home again.

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This was the second time we stayed at Villa Kai and it was just as wonderful as the first time! The views from the Lanai are amazing. We literally ate dinner here every night as nothing else beats the sunset views. The location is perfect to be close enough to the downtown area with shops and restaurants (5 mins) but far enough away to feel like you are in in a secluded resort. We will come back again and again!!

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: Kona Coast Vacations
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Hot Property

  • 2 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The good news,.. This is a beautiful home on a street with other luxury custom homes right on the coast. The home was bigger than we expected. And though darker than the pictures online, the home generally lived up to those photos. Here's the problem, there's no A/C in the front i.e, the luxurious (and largest) part of the house. And if you've never been to Hawaii, it can be HOT and HUMID in Hawaii during the low season. And so it was for us... Consequently, we were all relegated to sleeping in the air conditioned guest house behind the main house. There is no way you could sleep in the one BR in the main house. During the day, the sounds of the waves outside were drowned out by the sounds of floor fans and people saying, "Don't touch me!" We were there in the low season Jul-Nov. I can understand a rating of a 4 or even a 5 from guests who stayed here in the high season when I understand the weather is glorious. But for us it was generally less than a luxurious experience. I've seen other reviews complaining about the A/C. I hope my 2 star rating will act as a wake up call to the owner to fix this problem once and for all and make this property the luxury property it could be. In addition, besides the A/C, another much smaller issue worth pointing out to prospective renters is that this small gated community is located a short drive outside the village of Kona. But it's right behind a commercial property area full of car washes and big box stores. So, a stroll into the village for a cocktail would be less than, well, let's say, delightful. In summary, for us, because of the discomfort in the house, we really feel like we didn't get our money's worth. If you choose to rent this property during the low season and you don't like heat and humidity then you, too, are really rolling the dice.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha and Mahalo for the comments. It is unfortunate that your stay on the island coinciding with some tropical storms churning out in the ocean. These weather disturbances, will sometimes stop our regular trade winds which is our natural cooling. Most homes on the island, were designed to take advantage of these winds and the ocean breezes and do not have AC. When they are not blowing, we do experience some hot weather. Of course we are in the tropics and the summer season is hotter than the winter season. The owner has been exploring the addition of AC for the master bedroom and it should be installed shortly. Please feel free to take a look on google earth, you will see the coast line follows from the pier, to a Marriott hotel, then Paul Allen's estate which is also inside this gated guarded community, called Kona Bay Estates. The area outside of this includes a community pool, ball diamonds and the north end flows into a popular beach and surfing area. It is a three block walk to the pier and the shopping area of Kailua which has restaurants, bars and small shops.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Not so Great Vacation Rental

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The pictures of the property look better then they really are. It was listed as 2 master suits. It was a very far cry for the master suite in the main house. It was a small room with little ventalitation. We used 6 fans 24/7 for air circulation. There was not even a ceiling shower fan for exhaust. It was like living in a sweat lodge in that room. No air conditioning in that bedroom. Plus the sliding door from the bedroom opened up directly into the living room. No privacy! The refrigerator did not keep food very cold. We had to throw many food items away. Even the water we kept in the frig was not cold. The house was hot and stuffy at all times. The second house with the 3 bedrooms had air conditioning. But zero view of the ocean. We would not rent this location again in the summer months.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

SCUBA DIVING

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Discounts offered for booking less than 30 days and/or 60 days from arrival . For Last Minutes Offers and Coupon Codes:
    Please email KCV at reservations@konacoastvacations.com or call 1-877-322-2407

    Please add 13.416% Hawaii taxes.Choice between a Security deposit protection plan 49.00 or an equivalent security deposit.
    Booking fee and Departure Cleaning Fee Vary (please place an inquiry for amount).

    Deposit is equivalent to the 3 nights rent; balance due 90 days prior to arrival, travel insurance is available.

    Rates are subject to verification at time of booking. To book direct and save go to www.konacoastvacations.com
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua-Kona House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 2848 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • 3.5
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • 2 King beds, 1 Queen bed, 2 Twin beds, 1 Sofa Bed bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Notes:
KONA BAY ESTATES IS A GATED OCEAN FRONT COMMUNITY WITH SECURITY GUARDS 24/7. SO CLOSE TO KONA VILLAGE YOU CAN WALK THERE. TENNIS COURTS, HORSE SHOES, WALKING TRAILS ARE A FEW MINUTE WALK ALSO. SO MUCH TO DO HERE.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties