Private, serene oceanfront setting, just minutes from town
Park Bay House
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Park Bay House - Awesome Views and Memories!!!
Our family loved our 10 day stay at Park Bay House!! What amazing views, hikes, snorkeling, swimming, and sun!! The people of this island are beautiful like the island itself!! The beaches, restaurants, charters are all excellent!!! Our family of (7) will return again soon!!!
It has been two weeks since we left Park Bay House, and the entire family is ready to book again. The house is a little rustic and secluded with beautiful ocean views of Mustique and a constant ocean breeze. It was plenty spacious to accommodate the seven of us and had all the basics for a great Caribbean vacation.
The few negatives were that the adjacent Park Bay Beach is not amenable for swimming and the strong winds prevented us from dining on the patio and using the gas grill (which seemed very under powered). Nevertheless, we thoroughly enjoyed the beaches on Admiralty Bay, a short drive from Park Bay. We dined at several restaurants as well as cooked our own meals, some with locally caught fish.
The entire island was enchanting. We particularly enjoyed our walks back after a delicious dinner and dessert at nearby Sugar Reef. The full moon above the swaying palms was magical. We also had a fun, relatively easy hike from the hill behind the house to Bequia Head, with great views of St. Vincent in the distance. We definitely would return to Park Bay House.
Thanks for your great feedback, we're glad you had such an enjoyable stay! We will make sure the gas grill is thoroughly checked out, and we've added more detail to the description of the bay and beach based on your input. Thanks again and hope to see you back soon!
Lovely getaway beach home
Lovely getaway beach house. Wonderful concierge service and pleasant caretaker. House is very accommodating for large families .
The Internet service was quite poor and
slow .....wireless therefore was not connecting. House is solar powered ... We got to know That at arrival ....iron your clothing during the day. We learned the hard way!!! We were quite disappointed that there was no outdoor furniture and grill to dine outside in the lovely
All in all we had a lovely stay .
Thank you for your feedback Iva-Lisa. I'm sorry you had problems with the internet. Like a lot of connections it is rate-limited, and I can see from the usage report that after several hours of very large downloads in the mornings (probably the kids streaming video) it triggered the rate limits, which really slow it down. I'm sorry you weren't aware of this, I've updated our info so future guests know that it's great for email, browsing, etc. but not for large downloads or prolonged streaming.
You're right that the solar power works very well but that large loads like irons and hair dryers need to be used with care at night.
We always have a propane barbecue grill available. We are currently in the process of replacing the patio furniture.
Charley & Becky, SC
We had an amazing stay at Park Bay House. Having stayed at houses overlooking the water at several different Caribbean islands we were looking for something different and we definitely found it at Park Bay. The house is as advertised, maybe better. It's as close to the water as the pictures indicate, with unbelievable views and the constant sounds of the waves giving it a unique advantage over most properties. We found that "being off the grid" wasn't a bad thing. The ocean breezes blowing trough the house and across the deck kept us comfortable night and day and bugs were not a problem. I was even able to see some great stuff snorkeling right off the property, including lobsters, an eel, octopus, flounder, and a giant crab. The owners were great when responding to any questions or issues we had, always getting back to us in a prompt and friendly manner. The staff was very accommodating as well. The welcome dinner, ride to the house from the ferry dock, help with a rental car, and daily housekeeping service all helped to make the long trip there worth it. The house is only a few minutes from town but it feels like your the only one on the island. Even though Bequia has several good restaurants and beaches we were reluctant to leave the house. I would recommend Park Bay house to anyone looking for a memorable stay at a beautiful Caribbean island.
We had a great time at Park Bay house. It is exactly as it appears in the pics. The staff was great and the location was awesome. It is a few minutes from town which makes it super peaceful. But still very easy to get into town. A car was helpful, though you could walk. The sound of the waves and the ocean breeze were perfect. The breeze kept the bugs way for the most part. You can snorkel from the house and there was lots of hiking. We would go back again.
My wife and I rented the Park Bay House for two weeks in March 2009. The weather was perfect with only occasional brief showers from time to time.
It has a fantastic location over a deserted beach. You can see the sea from most rooms and hear the surf. It is near the end of the road so very quiet but still only maybe ten minutes from town by car. You probably will need a rental car unless you can plan shopping trips very carefully and take taxis.
It has a nice "cozy cottage" feel and is very tastefully decorated. The main living room, dining room, kitchen area is one large room with folding doors that open onto the porch so you feel almost like you are living outside.
We were worried about mosquitoes because the house was so open but we only saw a few and they seemed half dead. There was a steady breeze flowing through the house day and night so that probably helped. Could be more of an issue in the rainy season.
It is "off the grid" so is solar powered for electricity and hot water and that worked very well, surprisingly. The wireless Internet also worked well so I was able to keep in touch and do some work on my laptop computer.
The housekeeper and handyman were great, as were the staff at Grenadine Island Villas who managed the house and answered our many questions about the island.
There is a surprising variety of restaurants and small food stores for such a small island, probably because sailing yachts provision there. The harbor in town was always full of sailboats.
Getting to Bequia is not easy - took us two days each way from the East Coast because of limited flights but once there, we had a fine time.
All in all, it was a great vacation.