Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Laid back, fun getaway cabin! Read the guest reviews!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,800 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms

Why Acorn Ridge Cabin? There are many beautiful cabins in North Georgia but only Acorn Ridge Cabin will help make your getaway exactly like you envisioned it!! Acorn Ridge Cabin gives the special touches to make sure your getaway will be exactly like you envisioned it, including personal recommendations for area activities and restaurants, based on your group size (couples, kids, etc) and requirements. You won't get this level of service from other owners. Acorn Ridge has two bedrooms (queen-size beds in each) plus a giant loft with king-size bed (our favorite room), two baths, a bonus room with pool table and a covered wrap around two level porch. Cabin sleeps six comfortably in beds. Our cabin is situated on a 2+ acre wooded lot, with the privacy you want but the convenience of being just outside of Blue Ridge.

Why Acorn Ridge Cabin?: There are many beautiful cabins in North Georgia but only Acorn Ridge Cabin will help make your getaway exactly like you envisioned it. If you want to just relax at the house, I'll give recommendations on how to best do it. For dining, I'll give my favorite restaurants. For shopping and antiquing, just let me know what you're hunting for and I'll point you in the right direction. No other cabin in North Georgia provides the same level of service.

We invite you to call us (Ken or Amy) to ask questions about cabin, availability, rates, or just about the Blue Ridge area. We know there are many beautiful cabins but few compare to our level of service and responsiveness.

More Details

Owner
Amy Crowell
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, danish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 18, 2018

About Amy Crowell

We have 3 kids and wanted to buy a cabin that we could enjoy a lot and then rent when we're not using it. As you can see from our reviews, we take great care of our guests and are very responsive to their questions.

Ken owns a business in Atlanta and Amy works for a non-profit. Our boys (Sam, Nick, in the photo) are now 15 and 15 yrs, along with year old Julianna.

Amy Crowell purchased this cabin in 2005

Why Amy Crowell chose Blue Ridge

Blue Ridge is the best little town in North Georgia. It doesn't have the "fake-ish" tourist feel like Helen (not to disrespect Helen). Blue Ridge is a classy little town and the area provides a lot to do for different types of people. If you want to shop and eat, just spend the day in Blue Ridge. If you want to play in the water, hit the lake or go rafting/tubing. If you want to hike, there's plenty of National Forest land to do it. Plus it's an easy 90 minutes from ATL. So you can pop up on a Friday night and stay 2 days without being exhausted from the drive. Our cabin is just east of Blue Ridge in Morganton, about 5 minutes from the lake.

Our cabin's size and layout is perfect. If it's just two people, you'll feel right and home and not lost in a cavernous place. If it's two families, each family can stay on a separate floor so the kids can sleep as (if?) needed.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks for a great time at your cabin. We were thrilled with the privacy and weather. We ate in every meal, used the grill and stove. I think my Son and I played about 50 games of pool. I was a hero for leading my family to Acorn Ridge.
Jul 2010
  • 1 of 5

Amenities

Blue Ridge Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Main Floor Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Downstairs Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Includes giant towels, washcloths and hand towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Giant sleeping loft above great room is the location of King Bed. Loft overlooks fireplace. One bedroom with queen bed is on main floor. There's also a bedroom on lowest floor with a queen bed. Each bedroom has a closet and a chest of drawers or dresser so you can unpack and not have to live from a suitcase. Sleeper sofa is downstairs in game room. Like most sleeper sofas, it's best to let the kids sleep on it. Adults won't sleep well there. We also have a Graco Pack N Play for tiny ones, including the bassinet insert.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Your young children are extremely welcome (we have little ones ourselves). We have games, puzzles and movies for them. The older kids (ie: teens) will be pleased with the internet access and the fact that we get good cell phone reception at the cabin. Older kids also like the pool table. Watching the stars is always a fun activity and you can do it well from our deck. Our guests tells us that no other cabin they've stayed in previously has the level of service that we do. Of course we provide fine linens and towels but also the smaller things, like coffee and paper towels, garbage bags.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(70 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
8% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Laid back, fun getaway cabin! Read the guest reviews!
average rating of 4.8285713 based on 75 reviews
5

Beautiful and fun!!!

  • 5 of 5

The home and property were beautiful nestled away in the woods. The owners were easy to contact and prompt with their responses. The only issue we had was (if you can call it an issue) was the Wi-Fi kept kicking you out after only a few minutes of being online.. The little towns near by were fun to walk around in. Definitely would stay again. Thanks for the good time..😊

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks David for your feedback. Glad to hear all went well. We'll check with the local internet provider to see if there are any issues with internet. We get good cell reception there too (AT&T). --K&A
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Terrific!

  • 5 of 5

We just got back from our 4 day, 3 night stay. My whole family was impressed. This was our first VRBO, and it was awesome! It was worth every penny. It was so beautiful and comfortable! Wish we didn't have to leave.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Pretty on the outside dirty on the inside!

  • 1 of 5

The location of where the cabin is located is nice. The only issue is that for the cleaning fees that are being charged of its customers, is not being utilized to fumigate the property both inside and out. We had to kill roaches in the lower and upper levels, plus the cabin is infested with ticks of which we then lost power due to a storm which was out for 6+ hours and decided it was to hot and called the owner to let them know we can't stay in these conditions and without any power or lighting aside from the insect issues.indoors.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We worked tirelessly, before the stay and during, via texts and phone calls to make it a happy stay for this guest. Unfortunately, we have no control over power outages. It’s a mountain environment and when power goes out (usually due to trees during a storm), all we can do is call the power company to report and hope for a quick restoration of power. Ticks live outside near their food source (animals). They do not live inside or infest cabins, without a food source. This guest had a dog and had spent time outside so this must be the source of ticks he saw. 2018 is a bad year for ticks (google it) and unfortunately we cannot change that. Finally, if there was a bug issue, recent guests would have immediately reported it. I stayed there a week in June and saw nothing like this. We hear nothing but good reviews and never anything like this (13 yrs of rentals). This guest did have particular personal issues but we did our best to help with them and thought we had resolved them satisfactorily. We sent our housecleaner crew over immediately when he reported this but they couldn’t find evidence of his issues (we also shared this review with them). That said, we wish him the best and hope that he is able to find a suitable place for his needs in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very Nice Place

  • 4 of 5

This cabin was laid out well and had everything needed to have an enjoyable stay. Proximity to Blue Ridge was great and we had no problem finding plenty of stuff to do. The owner was responsive, helpful, and provided an easy check in/out plan. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming cabin in the woods

  • 5 of 5

Our family enjoyed a 3 night stay here recently. The cabin was a perfect size for our family of four. Our kids liked having a room to themselves. The hot tub and game room area were a big hit. The location worked well about 10 minutes from downtown Blue Ridge. We loved the area and plan on returning.

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your time @ Acorn Ridge. Yes, it's only a short distance from Blue Ridge, yet still private. Please come back again. -Amy & Ken
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best Cabin I Have Stayed In By Far!

  • 5 of 5

Me and my crew love the mountains and have stayed at dozens of cabins, however this one is one of favorites now! Very home feeling! Very comforting and cozy! Not near a lot of other cabins! Definitely will be staying here again in the future!

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear you had a great time. Thanks for the comments and we hope you can return again soon. -Amy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Acorn Ridge Cabin is perfectly situated right outside of historic Blue Ridge, Georgia. Known for its quaint downtown area and Scenic Railroad, Blue Ridge is the ideal combination of mountain living and recreation. Fannin County has the 2nd highest amount of National Park acreage in the state, with endless hiking opportunities, particularly if you like waterfalls. White water rafting at the Olympic venue Ocoee River is nearly and Lake Blue is 5 minutes from the cabin, where you can to rent boats or jet skis.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $80 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Pet Fee $50 + Tax

Holiday periods (Easter, Memorial Day, July 4, Labor Day or Oct weekends require a 3+ night (or longer) minimum stay. Thanksgiving and Christmas will usually be a week. Must be 25 to rent. We'll confirm it. Nightly rate is based on 4 people.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund