check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Mark

Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Chesapeake Bay, Sandy Beach, Beachfront, Peach Cottage

4 Reviews
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

Cape Charles Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3 Bdrms, 2 baths, Sleeps 5-8

On the Chesapeake Bay, Smith Beach is a small, private, bayfront, family-oriented community on Virginia's eastern shore. Only 10 miles from historic Cape Charles, home to the new signature Palmer & Nicklaus Golf Courses, Smith Beach is 'away from it all,' while still allowing easy access to the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel, Kiptopeke State Park's beaches & hiking trails + nature walks & bird-watching. Ours is a unique property with a bay view and a sandy beach. Kayaking is a favorite pastime along with fishing and all types of boating. Fine dining is available at the nearby Eastville Inn, or travel 30 miles north & visit historic Onancock with its old-timey movie theatre & live theatre, North St Playhouse. A bit further north, visit Chincoteague Island's famous ponies.

Peaceful, Private Sandy Beach: Perfect family beach for families with young children as water stays shallow for a good distance. Build your sand castles in peace and quiet listening to the lapping of gentle waves.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Mark (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Mark

I live in southern Delaware and fell in love with Smith Beach when I first discovered it in 2008.

Mark purchased this cottage in 2008

Why Mark chose Eastern Shore Virginia

We also own the two cottages next door, properties 164039 and 164040 if this cottage does not suit your needs.

What makes this cottage unique

We can accomodate family gatherings up to 14 using all three cottages.

Reviews

4.5
based on 4 traveler reviews

Chesapeake Bay, Sandy Beach, Beachfront, Peach Cottage
average rating of 4.5 based on 4 reviews
5

Great time.

  • 5 of 5

We spent a week in the cottage. It was great for kids (twin 7 years) and even better for the baby (1 years old). Very quite and calm place ! Beautiful sunsets! The Shore is a little bit too shallow. We drove to Cape Charles for swimming, the water there is wonderful and there is a great park with trails, etc... Summarizing, we had what we wanted and it was perfect.

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you and hope you can return and vacation with us in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great for Family Vacation

  • 4 of 5

Our family really enjoyed the peace and quiet! The water is great for small children, this is the first vacation that i was able to really relax! We explored the sand dunes and the kids loved all of the different sea creatures that we found. The people in the community are very friendly.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Very relaxing vacation!

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time!! It's very beautiful and the sand dunes down the road are amazing! The water is perfect for small children and there are plenty of sea creatures to keep them occupied! This is the first year i was able to have some "mommytime"! The people in the community are very friendly too.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad to hear you had a great time, Nicole! Just wish we could spend more time there this summer, but both our cottages rented out thru August 25! Thanks & come back and stay with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Peach Cottage Vacations

  • 5 of 5

GRAET place for family vacations. If you are looking for quite and relaxing time, Peach Cottage is the place. Nice and clean, far away with everything you need. Lots of living space. Me and my son loved the outdoor shower!!! We spend whole week barefoot, since the almost private beach is just across the street. Water is shallow enough, so if you have a small children, no need to be worry of some 50 feet drop in the water. We had bonfires at the beach which the children loved!!!

The place was everything that I was looking for. I would definitely go back and recommend the place to my friends.

Thanks Guys!!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Norfolk International Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Yuk Yuk & Joes Bar & Grille
Nearest Ferry
70 Miles
Cape May/Lewes Ferry
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Bay Creek, Cape Charles
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Rte 13 (Lankford Hwy)
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
Cape Charles
Nearest Beach
40 Metres
Smith Beach
Car: necessary

Smith Beach is on the southern end of Virginia's pristine Eastern Shore, the peninsula of land 10 miles wide & 70 miles long between the Chesapeake Bay & the Atlantic; Cape Charles is nearby as is the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel to VA Bch. Nature abounds & city life is a distant memory yet not that far away. Kayaking, boating, relaxing, all eastern shore style. Come, relax, enjoy. Sunbathe; swim.

Other Activities: Sunbathing

Photos

Rates & Availability

Cape Charles Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
School Season 2016-2017
Sep 4 2016 - May 27 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
$150
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$850
$850
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$225
$1,500
$5,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Summer rate $1,500 weekly + $400 refundable security deposit.
Winter rate $850 MO + utilities, 1 month security deposit, 3 month minimum stay required. No pets, no smoking. Winter weekly rate based on availability is $850 WK + $400 refundable security deposit.

We prefer payment by check but also accept payments by PayPal and credit cards.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Cape Charles Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Outdoor shower for use on returning from beach!!
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Linens available for additional $50 fee.
  • The peach house has 3 bedrooms, 2 full baths. One of the corner bedrooms has a queen bed and the other corner bedroom has a king bed. The 3rd bedroom has a queen bed and another twin bed. Family room has a twin day bed; LR has a sleeper sofa (also for very short-term only). There is a lot of living space in the peach cottage, with LR, DR, Family room + another sitting area. So the house can accommodate an extended family gathering. There is a large wrap-around deck on rear and side of house with views of the Chesapeake. Sliders from sitting/dining area to deck make cooking on the gas grill a breeze.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Boat Dock
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Small Cooler
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 7 garden chairs
  • 3 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Please see owner for additional accommodations. Linens are available for an additional $50 fee.

Partner Offers