check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Penny or Jim

Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Log Home Overlooking Flathead Lake. Overflow cabins available.

21 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Bigfork House Rental Photos and Description

Cherry Creek Retreat in Montana is a 7-acre parcel perched above one of the highest points of Flathead's East Lake Shore. The Bigfork property is near Glacier Park and surrounded by Flathead Valley beauty on all sides. Behind are tall forested mountains. In front is expansive Flathead Lake with excellent fishing. On each side are quaking Aspens. In between are cherry and apple trees, an old red barn, 3 trout ponds and beautiful Cherry Creek. Minutes away is Flathead Lake with boat access at Yellow Bay State Park, Woods Bay and Bigfork. Boat & kayak rentals and guided fly-fishing are available. The 3-story hand crafted post & beam log home has spectacular views from all rooms. Three decks flow from large rooms with french doors. Wood floors, rock work & custom art add further beauty. In addition there are three overflow cabins. This property is perfect for family reunions & weddings. Sleeping capacity is 22.

Pictures and Rental Information: This land has been in our family for 30 years and the small cabins on it have been fun to stay in for our vacations. In 2005, after much planning, we built our dream retirement home but cannot move in it yet so we have put it on the vacation rental market. The experience has been satisfying as we make contact with each family staying and all have been very happy with the place. Each season has its own beauty. Spring time has cherry blossoms and lilacs, Summer the slow, beautiful sunsets and ripe fruit, Fall the golden leaves and Tamarak trees. Winter is blanketed with snow. The scenery is breathtaking, even spiritual. You will love it! To book, check availability on calendar here and send us an email. We will answer all questions and if property is available, send you a rental agreement with details of our rental policy. For summer dates, plan to book 9-12 months ahead as these popular weeks fill early.

News Update: ALLEGIANT AIR FLIES DIRECTLY (& INEXPENSIVELY) FROM LAS VEGAS TO KALISPELL and OAKLAND TO KALISPELL. .

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair accessible
Penny or Jim (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

5
based on 21 traveler reviews

Log Home Overlooking Flathead Lake. Overflow cabins available.
average rating of 4.952381 based on 21 reviews
McLean, VA
5

Great Home

  • 5 of 5

Great home less then 10 miles south of Bigfork, a quaint town on Flathead. Home is relatively new, in very good condition with full amenities as listed. Four bedrooms allow large group to spread out. Wonderful lot proximate to US35, just a few miles to local beach (Yellow Bay) and with its own orchard trees and ponds. No A/C (which is fine in Montana) and no cable, but otherwise everything you'd need.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2007
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. Want to let others know we did break down and get cable TV & wireless internet in 2008 & have had it since. Still, the best part is the great outdoors!
Did you find this review helpful?
18 4
5

Amazing Property!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for a week with family and it was a great holiday. The property is beautiful,very well kept and the view is amazing. The owners and the property manager were helpful. We hope to come back in the future!

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Modesto, California
5

Wedding week September 2015

  • 5 of 5

My family and relatives from England were completely thrilled with our week-long visit to this beautiful and accommodating retreat. The view itself was enough. The kids loved the fish pond, including my "big kid" husband. The facilities were ample for our needs. We even made all the appetizers for my nieces wedding and hosted a family party with all the trimmings. It was truly delightful and we were sad to leave. Highest recommendations!

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Utah, United States
4

Beautiful Flathead Lake View Cabin

  • 4 of 5

This was an amazing cabin! The cherry trees were not only abundant but the fruit was delicious! We loved the creek and ponds and the children especially enjoyed feeding the fish. We even spotted a vole living next to the creek in the bank! There were plenty of beds and the kitchen and gathering areas were great. We found the views to be spectacular from the deck and enjoyed watching the bats fly around at dusk. The only minor drawbacks are that a lot of the bedding is quite worn, the basement has a cat odor that is slightly annoying, and there are only two bathrooms. But that being said, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, even when the skunk surprised us in the garbage can. It was an adventure and we would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very glad you enjoyed your stay! As a follow up to some type of smell in the basement, our property manager did notice a smell and all carpets were then professionally cleaned. We were up there last month and confirmed with her and renters since that all is smelling nice now :)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful Place for a Wedding or Getaway

  • 5 of 5

After living in Montana for 10 years, I moved to Austin, Texas. When I got engaged, I knew I wanted to find the perfect place in Montana for the wedding. It was really important to me to show my husband's family, who is from India, how special Montana is. Friends and relatives from other parts of the country had heard me rave about Montana so expectations were high. Cherry Creek Retreat far surpassed all of our expectations. It had everything we could want and more. What it's hard to get a sense of from the pictures is all the little touches that make this place so special- the bucket of cherries the owner left from us, the custom art work, and the wonderful set of cast iron pans, which we used to cook huckleberry pancakes and trout we caught from the lake. There's also a raspberry patch, an apple tree, fully stocked trout ponds (a little outbuilding has fishing poles and fish food), a fire pit, hiking trails into the mountains from the back of the property and, of course, cherry trees. It was very cool to see my husband's niece, who is a city girl, climb the trees to pick cherries with the Montana kids. Even though it was on and off rainy during the weekend-never what you want for your wedding- having this house made all the difference. Everyone was very content to enjoy this wonderful property and spend time together. After the wedding so many friends and family from both sides had become friends. We would not have had this experience if we had all stayed in hotels. The back yard itself is a very good place for the reception and a tent can easily be set up. It provides a very intimate atmosphere. Penny was also wonderful to work with. She is very responsive and was really invested in making sure we had a great trip. This amount of help she provided was amazing considering how many other guests visit the house in the summer.Her property manager, Heather, is also great to work with. We loved our time at the retreat so much we even decided to stay another night. It was very sad to leave and we hope we can go back some day.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Grimes Family Reunion Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 13 had a wonderful time at Cherry Hill on Flathead Lake. The house meet our needs and then some. We went horse back riding, rented a 30 ft. pontoon boat and saw a lot of the lake, rode the chair lift in Whitefish, toured Glacier Park and saw a car show in Big Fork. Each night we took turns planning and seving the night meal each one so good with decorations no less. Hawaiian, Italian, Mexican, Italian, East Indian and Hobo (stew).Lots of laughs and good eats and then to the outside fire pit with the beautiful surroundings of apple, cherry, and pear trees plus two trout ponds for marshmellows. It was truly a wonderful week.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves at our Flathead Lake home. We love hearing families like yours are having such a great time in beautiful Montana! Jim and Penny
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Kalispell / Glacier Park
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Islands
Nearest Train
43 Miles
Whitefish
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Flathead Brewery & Islands
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Yellow Bay State Park
Car: recommended

Cherry Creek Retreat of Flathead Lake is off Highway 35 in Bigfork, Montana. It sits atop a hill providing spectacular lake and mountain views. A beautiful lake swimming and boat launch area is 3 miles down the highway at Yellow Bay State Park. The fishing on this lake is excellent. Other local attractions include the village of Bigfork, Wayfarer's State Park, Glacier National Park, Bob Marshall Wilderness, Jewell Basin hiking trails, Blacktail and Big Mountain Ski Resorts, Crane Mountain snowmobile trails, Mission Mountain

Winery, Bigfork Summer Playhouse, art galleries and restaurants, Wood's Bay shore front restaurants and brewery, Eagle Bend, Big Mountain & Buffalo Hill golf clubs, Conrad Mansion Museum, University of Montana Biological Station and writer's workshops, Wild Horse Island Boat Trips, Flathead and Glacier Raft companies. Hiking trails abound, including one from our property up the mountain behind!

Other Activities: Big Fork art galleries, picking Flathead cherries and other fruit

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bigfork House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall-Spring 2016-2017
Sep 6 2016 - Jun 10 2017
3 night minimum stay
$280
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 11 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$360
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $140 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 7.0%

House cleaning rates for groups 1-9: $140 10-16: $200, 17-22: $260
For larger groups there are three smaller cabins that sleep 10, making total sleeping capacity 22.

Overflow Cabin Rates: (Rates are based on 1 week or portion thereof): Cedar Cabin that sleeps 4 is $250. Cabin with kitchen, bathroom, living room and bedroom for 2 is $400/week. Loft unit that sleeps 4 is $200/week.

After contacting owner to confirm dates are available, a rental agreement will be mailed to you to fill out and return with 50% payment to secure dates. Balance is due 30 days prior to check in.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Bigfork House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lake View
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - combination tub/shower , Restored old-fashioned tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , outside entrance
  • Bathroom 1 is wheelchair accessible and is closest to Bedroom 2. Bathroom 2 is quaint with hand painted wildflowers on restored cast iron, free standing antique tub. Bathroom 3 is in cabin next to log home and has access from outdoors.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Kids Loft - 1 queen , kid's loft for sleeping only
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double
  • Bedroom 1 looks out onto back of property with view of Cherry Creek, pond, Aspens, fruit trees, barn and mountains. It has a walk-out deck with seating and high open-beamed ceilings. Bedroom 2 has broader view of mountain and is next to bathroom with jacuzzi tub. Bedroom 3 looks out onto back of property with view of mountains. Bedroom 4 is an open loft with spectacular views in all directions, walk out deck and high open beamed ceilings. Bed 5 is a 'kid's loft' with log railing and log ladder. There is also a better quality futon with a Simons queen mattress in the family room. Sleeping in log home is for 12.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Towels
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The living room is part of the Great Room which flows into the dining area and a large wrap around deck. On the deck are two tables including a large hand crafted farm table to sit 12. This table may be moved indoors for large groups. Chairs can be moved about so that seating capacity in any of these areas is expanded. On the first floor is a large room with television, stereo, games, futon-sofa, another sofa and kitchenette. There is also outdoor seating in different locations including at picnic tables and around a fire pit.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties