Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Waterfront Cottage Nestled in a Secluded Wild Horse 4 ~WD~ Area

Bedrooms 6
Half Baths1
Space 3,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights


About the property

Cottage, 6 Bedrooms, 5.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12-16)

This spectacular home will meet every expectation of a relaxing vacation. Located between the ocean and the Knotts island sound, you will have the best of both worlds. Your entire family will have space to move around in this house. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable. One king master is on the top floor with a private bath and deck. There are three bedrooms on the middle floor. One bedroom is a king master with it's own private bath and deck. There is a bedroom with two bunk beds and extra space, perfect for kids to hang out. This room has a sliding glass door which goes out to a shared deck and the kids can go down to the pool and hot tub from this room. The third room on the middle floor is a queen bedroom. This room enjoys a wonderful view of the canal and has a shared deck which goes down to the pool and hot tub. You can curl up with a good book or game in the seat hammock on this deck. The ground floor has a queen master bedroom which give the occupants a bit of peace from the rest of the group. The ground floor also has a bedroom with two bunk beds. This is a great place to have the kids enjoy their own space. The Great room on the top floor, has a flat screen TV with dish satellite, games, puzzles and cards for the family to use. The ground floor also has a flat screen TV with dish satellite, refrigerator, washer and dryer. There is a book shelve available for your reading enjoyment. If you are in the middle of a book, please take it. If you have finished with a book and don't want to take it home, leave it. Nothing better than a great beach book. On the top floor, the gourmet kitchen is ready to go. With granite counter tops, easy-clean smooth cook top stove, dishwasher, refrigerator with ice maker and all the cooking equipment, it is well equipped for the cook in the family. The house has a charcoal grill for the grill master as well. Enjoy the beautiful sunset setting over the sound from the rear deck or the great room. Relax on one of the four decks while watching the horses graze in the yard next to the canal. During the day, pack up the car or truck with all your beach toys and enjoy the unspoiled Carova Beach. The house has many beach chairs for you to bring to the beach. You are welcome to bring your dogs with you to the beach to play in the surf. If going to the beach is not what you had in mind, we provide you with two kayaks with life preservers to explore the sound. The sound is busy with boats coming across the sound to the island. Explore the expansive canal system with the kayaks. Take the binoculars and your camera: the bird watching is wonderful. You may also enjoy fishing in the canal at the house or surf fishing in the ocean. The False Cape Park is a perfect spot to hike with the family. There are many marked trails to enjoy. After a day at the beach, kayaking, fishing or hiking, unwind at the pool/hot tub area overlooking the canal/sound. An outdoor shower is available for your convenience. Linens are included in the rental price. Linens include: flat and fitted sheet, pillow case for each bed, bath towel, hand towel and washcloth.

This home is located approximately 10 miles off the paved roads. It will require 4WD/AWD vehicle. The gorgeous drive down the beach is well worth the commute. It is one of the last secluded beaches on the east coast.

Come relax in this beautiful secluded waterfront home nestled in the 4 wheel drive area of the outer banks.

Keywords: Beach Cottage

More Details

Michael Owen
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2018

About Michael Owen

Michael and I live in a suburb outside the Philadelphia area. We both work in the health care field. We enjoy hiking, kayaking and beach-combing.

Michael Owen purchased this house in 2007

Why Michael Owen chose Corolla

We purchased our canal lot in 2004 after visiting friends in Carova Beach. We fell in love with the area and wanted a bit of paradise. We built the home in 2007 to accommodate our family. We have had many gatherings and good times in the home, celebrating, anniversarys, birthdays and graduations.

What makes this house unique

We love the home because it offers the best of both worlds. We are close to the beach to enjoy the surf. We also enjoy the canal and sound. The home is secluded and in a beautiful natural setting.


Corolla House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Min. age of primary renter: 24 ...
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 7 - outdoor shower
  • 5.5
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 bunk bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 6 - 2 bunk bed
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (2), Bunk Beds (4)
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
Waterfront Cottage Nestled in a Secluded Wild Horse 4 ~WD~ Area
average rating of 4.5263157 based on 19 reviews

Outstanding Vacation

  • 4 of 5

Overall the house was beautiful and we had a great time. Very cool experience driving on the beach and seeing the wild horses. The only thing I would complain about is the road itself, we knew what we were getting into with the 4x4 beach driving but Mobjack Terrace was probably the roughest road in there, we had a little bit of a hard time but understand its out of the home owners control. Access to the water was perfect for our boat. Pool and hot tub were clean and enjoyable. Although we had an issue with the oven not working properly and hoped to have it repaired while we were there, the maintenance people did help us out with a few things and were very nice. We would definitely vacation there again in the future.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review. The sound and canals are really fun, I'm happy the waterfront worked for you. The maintenance crew is super friendly, glad they were able to help.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

The house was beautiful, the water in the house however was horrible.

  • 2 of 5

We were misinformed, we asked for a beach house and the house was not on the beach. We were not told we needed four wheel drive before we rented the house. Overall our stay was not that well.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for letting us know the chlorinator had broken we immediately fixed. The description of the house on VRBO, the directions you were given via email, the map on VRBO and the app that was sent to your phone, all clearly indicate the house is on the sound and you needed 4WD or AWD. This house in Carova Beach is a magical place with the gorgeous, crowd free beaches, beautiful sound views, hiking, peaceful setting and wild horses.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Westfield center ohio

House was wonderful

  • 5 of 5

Had a nice time. Dawson the pool boy was nice and helpful with information. He did a great job. Only complaint has nothing to do with the house The roads were flooded because of the 8 inches of rain but not the home owners fault. They need to flatten out the roads. But they home owners did chip in and did the mobjack road so by the time we left was 100% better

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, so glad you had a great time!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great time had by all. It was wonderful to have the seclusion and easy access to beach.

  • 5 of 5

We all had a fabulous time with 4 kids and 6 adults! Plenty of things to do and the house was the perfect size. Owner was very accommodating when we needed a late check out due to car trouble. Thanks again and maybe we'll see you in the future!

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a super time and the car got fixed! Look forward to having you next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

House very nice inside, however outside there is overgrowth of trees causing a HUGE tick infestation

  • 2 of 5

Our family is from Ohio. We did not know what to expect as far as beach driving. The tides make all the difference as to when you can come and go. Having a 4 x 4 is an understatement, really requires a high profile 4 x 4 and not an SUV. Getting back to the property was somewhat difficult as well. Roads leading to the home are sand as well. Rain floods the sand roads causing you to drive through high water. Roads are not marked very clearly. House is 2 miles from main beach access, so could not walk to beach due to flooded roadways. The house does sit on the sound, but the overgrowth of plant life was a breeding ground for ticks. Every person on vacation with us either had ticks crawling on them or were bitten. Small park size charcoal grill, house accommodates up to 12 people. Overall, we left a day early because we could not tolerate the ticks, the drive, and the need to be back at the house before high tide, usually 600 pm.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry you were concerned about the rural nature of the environment. Most people who rent the home very much enjoy the trees and beauty of the wild life and the surrounding of the area. The environment is unique-- no paved roads or commercial property. What is does offer is beautiful untouched beaches, wild mustangs, great fishing and beautiful sunsets. It really is a great relaxing get-a-away from everyday life and a wonderful place to enjoy your family and friends.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Great Secluded Property

  • 4 of 5

Waterfront Cottage was a great family vacation. Ample space for the entire family. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. With the multiple levels, the pool, waterway, and woods everywhere, there’s plenty to keep the entire family occupied. The kids really enjoyed the beach drive, but it’s important to note that once you are in the house, plan to stay, definitely a challenge driving the area at night. Also, the 4WD vehicle is a MUST! While the kids enjoy driving through the water holes in the road, if you’re not familiar, can be an intimidating experience.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you and your family had a great time. The house and setting truly has something for everyone for a nice relaxing vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0





Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $125
Security Deposit $300
Cleaning fee $210 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%

There is a $125.00 per pet fee added to the total price if you would be bringing a dog(s)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties