check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Heather

Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Beautiful Lakefront Home with Spectacular Views

16 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

South Hero House Rental Photos and Description

- 3 BR, 2 BA, Sleeps 6

Beautiful home directly on Lake Champlain with private beach and dock. Sleeps 6.. 3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, one with jacuzzi. 25 minutes to Burlington, 90 minutes to Montreal. Walls of windows open onto amazing views. Unforgettable sunsets over the lake and Adirondacks! Well furnished deck and ample lawn furniture for outdoor dining, TV with VCR/DVD, pool table, washer/dryer. Gas heat and fireplace. Large (1 acre plus) flat yard for lawn games. Set far back from road for quiet and privacy. No smoking, pets negotiable with surcharge.

Available for multi-month lease until May 15 @ $1,200/month plus utilities.Saturday to Saturday rentals.

If you want me to call you please email first. Thanks!

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Heather (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.4
based on 16 traveler reviews

Beautiful Lakefront Home with Spectacular Views
average rating of 4.375 based on 16 reviews
Westchester, NY
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at the lakehouse on South Hero for my honeymoon in September. It is a beautiful property in a beautiful location, right on the water.

The house has 3 bedrooms, including a phenomenal master bedroom with a deck, and is located in a perfect spot. Away from it all, yet easily accessible are Burlington VT and Montreal if you want more excitement.

There are plentiful farms and grocers that carry locally grown produce, and it is 1/2 hour drive to dozens of attractions.

This is the most peaceful place I've ever stayed and I was heartbroken to leave. In fact, I'm almost afraid to review it and let the secret out!

The owner is responsive and friendly and maintains the place beautifully.

I recommend it highly!

  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2007
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
22 1
Rochester N.Y
5

Great Location!!! Very Homey!!!

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a great time. Home was in a great location. Very convenient to the ferry. Beautiful scenic view of Lake Champlain. Great work space in the kitchen. Very comfortable dining and sitting area. Beautiful flowers in vases when we arrived. We had everything we needed. Owner was very prompt in answering any questions I had. Hope to stay again at this property in the future.

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Week of Sunsets

  • 4 of 5

We loved the Lakefront home. My "tree house" master bedroom as we referred to it was incredible. The kitchen was so lovely to work in. The pool table offered a great retreat for a rainy day. The major seller though is the fire pit and the sunsets. Now don't expect a five star resort, but trust me Vermont isn't about that anyway. The neighbors were wonderful and even shared their garden veggies. Thanks for a great week!

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5

Great location with a beautiful deck and a great dock. Water access was awkward for our sailboards, but fine for swimming or kayaking. Lots of great places to sit outside, and a generous collection of beach chairs you can carry out to the dock. Heck, there were even life jackets hanging in the closet for our use. We will definitely be packing less stuff next time we come.

The neighbors are friendly, and we were allowed to harvest vegetables from the shared garden. The house itself was a bit worn around the edges, but nothing to prevent us from having a great vacation. We really especially enjoyed the pool table. If you plan to use it, you might want to bring a cue stick, since there is only one there that has a tip attached, but the table itself is in good condition.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: New pool cues are now on the shopping list! :)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Elmira NY
5

Wonderful time

  • 5 of 5

A very pleasant week spent here. The weather wasn't all that great but the house is very comfortable and has some spectacular views of the lake. The first impression I had walking into this home was of space--lots of it. The ceilings are very high. 3 steps down into kind of an Arizona room that looks straight out onto the lake. 3 steps up to a large pool table (I used that quite a bit) surrounded by two bedrooms--a television room, a bathroom with a very large jacuzzi and a laundry room. Off the kitchen and up a flight of stairs is the master bedroom overlooking the lake--you can see a lot from there--a really really great view. Another bathroom to the left of that. The kitchen has just about everything you could ask for. For pet owner's--our dog Roscoe--a 25 lb. Bichon mix had a great time. Lots of squirrels bouncing around outside and when the weather was nice we went into the lake now and again.

It's a very nice area--not far from Burlington--the people are very friendly and there are several pet friendly restaurants in Burlington and a few in Stowe. For beer lovers Vermont has some top notch micro-breweries as well.

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Comfortable house in a beautiful location

  • 5 of 5

We first visited this house several years ago after running in a local race -- our friends were renting it and invited us for dinner. We sat out by the lakefront in the afternoon, then had a terrific dinner as the sun set over Lake Champlain.

We then rented it for a week early this autumn. The house is quite large and very comfortable, with a generous kitchen and lots of west-facing windows. We spent the days hiking in VT and the ADKs, cycling, sight-seeing in Montreal, and sampling the microbreweries in Burlington. I can't wait to make it back there next year!

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Burlington VT
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Grand Isle
Car: necessary

The Lake Champlain Islands are a summer vacation paradise. Swimming, fishing, boating, biking, golf, peace and quiet, but only 25 minutes to Burlington for great nightlife and shopping. Many excellent restaurants nearby, theater, music. Ride your bike to outdoor concerts at the local winery! Less than an hour to several ski resorts for mountain biking and hiking. Also a perfect base for foliage touring in our legendary fall!

Photos

Rates & Availability

South Hero House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall 2016
Sep 16 2016 - Oct 29 2016
4 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Pet Fee $100
Tax Rate 9.0%

50% of rental due at booking. Balance due 30 days prior to arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

South Hero House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Binoculars
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
  • Spa Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers