Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Oceanview Hanalei Bay Resort 4222

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

If you are looking for the perfect tropical destination on the North Shore of Kauai, this is it. Overlooking Hanalei Bay with views of Bali Hai (Mt Makana), Hanalei Bay Resort 4222 is special! Hanalei Bay Resort has always been regarded as one of the top condo complexes to stay on the North Shore of Kauai (RANKED #1 ON A POPULAR TRAVEL SITE) and in 2014-2016 it got even better with an entirely new award winning lobby, artificial grass tennis courts, fitness center, swim up bar (the only one on Kauai), conference center and a fire pit area for sunset viewing. Stroll along 22 acres of tropical landscaping and quiet orchid lined paths and enjoy a mai tai every Monday by the pool ar 4pm (free). Sit on the lanai of 4222 and witness some of the most beautiful sunsets you'll ever see. Play tennis on the resurfaced courts including 4 artificial turf courts. Our tennis resort was named one of the top 50 tennis facilities in the WORLD and we have pros on site and clinics to enjoy. Bali Hai views are from every room in 4222 not just your lanai like so many other units. When you first walk in you will be wowed, I promise. After a light rain in the morning, the rainbows will dance off the bay. The mountains will glow red with the morning light.

This sought after and popular condo which is recommended frequently on travel review sites (just seek out Hanalei Bay Resort 4222 and you will find it), can be rented as a ONE BEDROOM that sleeps 2-3 (4222) or TWO BEDROOM that sleeps 4-6 (4221 and 4222 combined). Please let me know if you are interested in the larger unit and I can send you more information and a quote. 4221's VRBO page is 283525 to see more pictures. This unit has a king bed and single sofa sleeper that sleeps 3 max.

ONE OF THE FEW CONDOS AT HBR WITH AIR CONDITIONING IN THE MASTER BEDROOM as well as the living area and a new system is in the living room which is extra quiet and extra cool. Most of the time my ceilings fans are all you need. Beautifully remodeled kitchen with exotic green granite from Brazil (hand selected) and bamboo soft close cabinets. New stainless steel appliances and everything you need in a fully stocked kitchen (if you WANT to cook). The bathroom was completely remodeled with a walk in/glass enclosed shower, travertine tile floors, granite counter top and spa like vessel sink. New bedding and artwork was also added to give it that colorful tropical feel everyone desires when traveling to Hawaii. Enjoy the lanai with the new eucalyptus wood furniture including a rocking chair and lounger.

Pu'u Poa Beach and The St Regis Hotel are below via a paved path near the lower tennis courts. Bell service can drive you down and back up after an afternoon of snorkeling or kayaking or just enjoying a drink at the St Regis poolside bar. Its a quick walk down too.

Other top beaches like Anini, Ke'e and Tunnels are within a 10-25 minute drive along with many activities (zipline, golf, horseback riding, surfing, SUP, kayaking, hiking, garden tours, farmer's markets and mini golf), and dining in the towns of Hanalei and Princeville are so convenient. My favorite restaurants are BarAcuda in Hanalei for tapas and cocktails (and Hollywood star sightings) and Kauai Grill at The St Regis for that extra special dining experience. In the Princeville Shopping Center I enjoy Piazza and Tiki Iniki owned by a rock star. Happy Talk Bar is on site and open evenings for drinks and music.

Activity discounts and restaurant suggestions are offered through our onsite concierge (visit them at the island orientation and try to win 2 for 1 activities or ask about their $50 off deal for a North Shore helicopter tour). There is golf cart transportation to your room if needed, around the resort and to the beach below.

HBR is a top wedding location. We have our own personal wedding planner so please inquire if you need her information. (Weddings or vow renewal up to 40 people).

Please ask if you see a day or two open in between another reservation and that is all you need. Call me if you have problems inputting your request @ 925-872-0253

You'll find condos for less, but its not the best!

VRBO's quotes are not always accurate or confirmed until owner and guest have had direct contact via email or phone and quotes have been updated for any added discounts and tax.

ALSO we DO NOT ask you to wire money, so if you are asked to wire money to anyone it is more than likely a scam! I TAKE MOST MAJOR CREDIT CARDS AT NO ADDITIONAL CHARGE and I will call you for details AS I DO THE CC PROCESSING. Book with me with the confidence you are staying with an owner who cares and will take good care of you. No added booking fees like a property manager.

I recommend purchasing your own trip insurance.

Resort fee 2017: $20/day to be paid by guests at checkout. This covers parking, wifi, tennis court usage, fitness center access, local calls and all resort amenities.

PLEASE CHECK CALENDAR ONLINE FOR AVAILABILITY BEFORE INQUIRING!!!

The calendar below is for 4222 only

For a larger condo I have HBR 4221-2 that sleeps 4-6 max. Its a combo of 4221 and 4222 and starts at $425/nt

Rates subject to increase in 4222 after December 2017 for all open dates in 2018.

HI tax is 14.42% in 2018

Contact me for questions and emergencies at 925-872-0253 and follow me at Hanalei Bay Resort 4222 on social media (F)

Review

-----------------

Besides saying that we will never regret choosing Kauai as our Hawaiian island of choice for our (hopefully not) once-in-a-lifetime vacation...my husband both agree that this condo unit 4222 under Joan Bettencourt's ownership was a wise gamble.

From the moment we stepped into the beautiful open-air lobby we just felt like we were dreaming and this whole vacation had to be too good to be true! It wasn't. The condo was beyond our expectations. It not only had updated furniture, but it was SO clean. Not just surface clean, but the comforters were clean...which is always a huge indicator for me of a quality vacation rental. The bed was very comfortable, our sleep was so solid.

Something that stood out as well was the fact she made sure there were AC units in both the bedroom and living room. We are AC dependent, living in a tropical area ourselves, so when most rental companies told us in Kauai the ocean breezes are so strong you don't need it, we went back and forth in deciding. We went in May and let me tell you, it does make a difference. We didn't know how good we had it until we left. We had a vacation rental directly on the ocean in Poipu and were miserable as far as the heat goes with no AC. So if you are a little more sensitive to heat it may be something to consider.

The grounds were perfect, the beach you can walk to was gorgeous and the pool area was fantastic!

Joan was easy to work with and she was extremely helpful in every way.

Elizabeth from FL

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Top wedding location on the North Shore

free wifi resort wide

More Details

Owner
Joan Bettencourt
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 15, 2017

About Joan Bettencourt

My husbands dad was born and raised on Kauai. We wanted our family to share in his love of the island so yy dreams came true when we bought our paradise home in 2005. I truly want you to love Kauai and the North Shore as much as I do and will do all I can to make your vacation extra special.

Joan Bettencourt purchased this condo in 2005

Why Joan Bettencourt chose Kauai

Kauai is magical. You will never want to return time and time again. When I walked in 4221/2 for the first time 37 years ago on my honeymoon and saw Bali Hai in front of me and I knew this was paradise. We even renewed our vows at HBR for our 25th anniversary.

If you think the pictures online are beautiful, just wait until you arrive on the North Shore of Kauai.

What makes this condo unique

The sunsets from the lanai will take your breath away. The lagoon style pool with the only swim up bar on Kauai overlooks Bali Hai.

Our staff knows what aloha means. We have many employees what have been a part of our Oahana for over 30 years.

This is an owner managed unit and you will get special attention.

Remember no rain no rainbows!!!

Guestbook comments from the owner

My family of 4 (two teen age sons) stayed in unit #4222 & #4221 at the end of May, 2015. We ended up arriving early and the front desk was very helpful. Our unit was not quite ready (since we were very early) but the #4221 was ready, so they let us store our luggage in the room. Their shuttle service took all of our luggage and the 4 of us to our unit (no cars are allowed on the property). Once the bell service got everything unloaded, the main part of our room was clean and ready, several hours early. The maid service left us with extra coffee pods for the Keurig in #4221. They were very nice! I wanted to unpack but also wanted a cold beverage. My husband ran up to the sundries shop (next to the front desk) and bought a couple of cold beers.



After we relaxed and enjoyed the amazing view from ALL of the rooms, we decided to walk down to the St. Regis. Loved that we were close enough to walk down and enjoy the beach. Their is shuttle service up and down to the beach but we preferred to walk. We ended up walking over to Hideaways Pizza and then walked back to HBR after dinner.



The kitchen and both bathrooms have recently been remodeled and are lovely! The kitchen had everything we could possible need (AND THEN SOME) and the unit was super comfortable. My boys loved having #4221 all to themselves. It's open to the rest of the unit but is also rented as a stand alone hotel room. They loved having their "own space" including a microwave, mini-frig (which I stocked with cold drinks for them) and coffee maker (yes, they drink coffee). There is A/C in both bedrooms and the living room and though we did not need it for most of our stay, there was one day we were really glad we had it. There is a nice built-in desk in the living room where my husband could set up easily (he travels to Kauai on business). The front closet has a bunch of toys including boogie boards, beach chairs, ice chest and snorkel gear. There is a TV in each room which was great for us since 3 of us wanted to watch a movie while my older son worked on school work in the living room. We ended up using the flat screen TV in #4221 to watch a movie and it was quite comfortable for the 3 of us and we could close off the door to not disturb my older son.



The views from every room were amazing but waking up to that view was perfect. #4221 also has a great view and nice lanai. We ended up cooking breakfasts in, packing a picnic lunch and eating dinners out. The pool is super nice and we enjoyed hangin
May 2015
  • 1 of 73

Map

Nearest Barpub
Happy Talk
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Makai Course
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Kuhio Highway
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Kauai Grill @ The St Regis
Car: necessary

Wedding planner upon request and on site ceremony locations, beach equipment rental, surf lessons, concierge services, 5 bbqs. Bar now open.

Amenities

Princeville Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • separate shower/toilet area 2 closets
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Convertible bed(s) - 1 child bed , 1 baby crib , child's cot, porta crib offered
  • King size bed (1) (1) porta crib upon request, queen sofa sleeper in 4222 living room that is fine for one additional person. I don't like my guests to be uncomfortable in a sofa sleeper if they are adults. A/C
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
THIS IS A NON SMOKING CONDO and NO PETS ALLOWED Not all HBR private rentals have a/c in the master bedroom and none of the timeshare rentals do. I do! On island contact: Grand Pacific Resorts. In case of emergency call 925-872-0253 It is customary in Hawaii to leave one's shoes outside the front door. Therefore it is advisable to bring a pair of indoor shoes, thongs, or slippers to wear exclusively inside the condo.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(39 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Oceanview Hanalei Bay Resort 4222
average rating of 4.923077 based on 112 reviews
5

This place is amazing!

  • 5 of 5

Honestly one of the nicest places! It had everything you could ask for. The best view, clean, close to the pool, parking lot and beach! My husband and I had the best time on the island and this was an extra treat to stay here. I sometimes had to force myself to get out of the place because I couldn't get over the view. Also after exploring the island it was so nice to come back to one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. I may ask Joan where she got the mattress from because now that I'm back home, I think it is more comfortable than my own bed!! Mahalo for the stay!

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lynda, A big mahalo for your sweet comments. I am so happy you and your husband enjoyed beautiful Kauai and my home away from home. Thank you for taking the time to review HBR 4222 and I look forward to having you back for more restful sleeps. Joan Bettencourt
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Spacious, fully stocked unit!

  • 5 of 5

We had the pleasure of staying in this unit (as well as her adjoining suite, 4221) for a short stay in October. Joan was very helpful and made the booking process easy and secure. The unit is well situated on the resort grounds; far enough away from the main pool/reception/lounge/bar building to enjoy quiet but still very close to an under-used freshwater pool, tennis courts, bbq, and beach access path. Transportation service via golf cart is available for a quick trip to the parking lot, reception, or beach; very helpful in the rain! The open-concept living area with separate bedroom provided us with both comfort and space during the day and privacy at night. A nearby grocery store and fully stocked kitchen allowed us to prepare breakfast and dinner daily. We appreciated the use of beach gear (complete with beach umbrella, chairs, snorkels, masks, fins, boogie boards) to enjoy our days outside the unit. The sunset ocean view in the evening from the large private balcony puts the cherry on top of this already perfect unit. Joan has thought of every thing any type of occupant could possibly require in this unit; from toiletries and cooking spices to rain umbrellas, hiking poles, comfortable furniture, and a rocking chair! I think I saw a waffle maker too; unbelievable. We have no complaints or suggestions for improvement. We would stay here again. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Derek for your review and I am so glad you loved your stay. We agree those sunsets from the lanai are pretty special. It makes it hard to want to leave. I look forward to your return. Joan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Simply the BEST!!

  • 5 of 5

This was my second stay in this unit (Hanalei Bay Resort 4222), and I could not find a better place to stay on the North Shore! The unit has everything you need to be considered a "home away from home", including beach chairs, cooler, snorkel and tennis gear, even a crib, etc. The kitchen is second to none in any condo I've ever stayed in, and contains anything you need to cook, as well as all of the plates, bowls, cups, silverware, and pretty much anything you would need in a kitchen. The dining and living room areas have very nice furniture, with a tropical theme and very comfortable. The bedroom is awesome, with a very comfortable king-size bed. Finally, the view is to die for!! Waking up to the sound of the birds and the beautiful emerald mountains and blue ocean in the distance is absolutely one of the best ways to wake up when on Kauai. The sunsets are truly spectacular as well. The very spacious lanai spans the living room and bedroom space, and you can relax in a nice lounge chair or regular comfortable chairs. Some of my best moments - having breakfast on the lanai with that spectacular view, and of course watching the gorgeous sunsets from the lanai. If you are looking for a spacious, comfortable, spotless, beautiful vacation home to stay in when visiting this beautiful part of the world, you will find it at this unit!

  • Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for writing such a lovely review and thank you for your continued support of visiting my island home. I know the views keep you coming back and I look forward to your next return. Bali Hai will be waiting for you in a few years.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Round Rock, TX
5

Hanalei Bay Resort

  • 5 of 5

This unit is fantastic. Pictures don't really show the true beauty of this place. Very clean and spacious. 2 AC units, which is very nice. Everything you could possibly need during your stay, from small cooler to chairs and snorkel gear. Kitchen is fully stocked with all your cooking needs. Don't want to cook---walk over to Happy Talk and grab a bite/brew with live music nightly. Nice pool with a tropical feel. Can't wait till we can schedule another trip. Thanks Joan for sharing your little piece of paradise with us.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Deborah, for sharing your experience of staying in HBR 4222 with others. Happy Talk Lounge has been a nice addition to our resort. I will look forward to your return to Kauai and my island home. Joan
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Munich, Germanx
5

Awesome condo!

  • 5 of 5

We where in awe from the moment we entered the condo. Not only the views are awesome, the condo is as well. It is so tastefully furnished, that even my husband noticed it. Not to belittle him, but he usually does not notice things like this unless it really stands out. We both loved this condo.

The condo is spotlessly clean, the bathroom is beautiful, the bed is super comfy and Joan put a folder with great informstion for her guests together.

While I did not intend to do a lot of cooking besides breakfast, this condos kitchen is a dream. It comes with every single item one might need and sharp knives. If you ever tried to cut up a pineapple with a regular "condo knife", ie something not sharp at all, you know what I mean. Not here, which put a big smile on my face when I cut up fruit for breakfast each morning.

And there is plenty of stuff for the beach: comfy tommy bahama beach chairs, boogie boards and even snorkel equipment.

It is really hard to tear yourself away from the spectacular view. We loved our breakfasts with the Mount Makana view ("Bali Hai") in the morning and usually got lunch or dinner to go, as no restaurant (except the Happy Talk Lounge) could offer such an exceptional view with our meals.

We also made good use of the rocking chair and lounge chair on the lanai, especially on a day with passing showers and sunshine. The lanai is huge, with a dining table on one side and a lounge area on the other side.

The condo has two quiet air conditioning units: one in the bedroom and one in the living room. We really did not need any air condition during our stay, so the first thing we did was to shut it off. We only frequently used the fans, as there almost always was a nice breeze. We left the doors open during the night and while there are roosters on the property, we where lucky they did not crow in the middle of the night. I am a very light sleeper and was astonished how quiet this resort is.

The grounds of the Hanalei Bay Resort are so beautiful and the staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful.

There is a golf cart service to the unit and throughout the property and down to and up from the beautiful beach if required.

We loved our stay at Hanaley Bay Resort and especially in this wonderful unit. Joan, the owner, is so nice and easy to work with. We hope to be back one day and to stay in this exceptional condo again.

Mahalo Joan for renting out this jewel to guests!

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for taking the time to let other travelers know how pleased you were with both my island home and the resort staff and grounds. I look forward to having you back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

This was a getaway for an overdue 20th anniversary to Hawaii and we could not have chosen a better place. The condo was fantastic and the location could not have been better. The place has everything you'll need. At this location you can choose as much adventure or relaxation as you want. We hiked almost every other day, and spent the off day's by the pool or down by the beach. This VRBO property and the North Shore did not disappoint. We are already trying to plan when we will be back. Thanks Joan for such a great place and hospitality.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Steve for your kind words and I too can't wait for you to return. Bali Hai will be waiting???? Joan
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning charge $170

Cleaning fee and tax extra. I will put a total together for you
I accept Visa, Mastercard, or Discover and personal checks w/cc on file
*$20/Resort fee
covers parking, tennis court time, wifi, long distance and local calls, fitness center, free mai tais on Monday afternoons

Ask about last minute discounts within 30 days of arrival and if you see a few days open in between other reservations, those WILL be discounted
CONTACT ME FOR MORE INFORMATION

20% deposit due at booking. Balance due 45 days before arrival.
I take most major credit cards

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.