Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Waterfront, Amazing Sunsets, Dock, Fishing and Small Beach, 2 bedrooms sleeps 4

Bedrooms 2
Space 980 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

1 queen bed+ac and 2 twin beds+ac, full bath, gas fireplaced LR , full kitchen

This cottage is located on Bass River in Grand Cove. Just steps to the waters edge. A wonderful location in the Historic District of South Dennis with it's church bells bellowing across the water, beautiful homes and historic buildings. The cottage was built in the early 1950's. As you enter the cottage the knotty pine walls and hard wood floors welcome you. The living room looks over the Bass River and has amazing sunsets every night. The glass sliding doors bring you to the patio, hot outdoor shower, grill and entrance to the 185' pier and dock. There is a small beach for launching canoes, kayaks and small fishing boats about 100' away. The living room has a gas fire place, a/c, flat screen tv w cable and internet. The kitchen has everything you should need for preparing meals for your stay. The dining nook has

a view of the Bass River. Upstairs, there is a full bathroom w a tub/shower combo. All ceramic tile, floor to wall, was done in 2000. The small bedroom w 2 twin beds and an ac is next to the bathroom. The second bedroom has a queen pillow top mattress, a/c, electric fireplace, flat panel tv, dvd, cable and a view of the water from the picture window above the fireplace. The mattresses were purchased in 2015.

The large beach is just a quick 5 minutes to the West Dennis Beach. This beach has the warm Nantucket Sound water, some waves and soft white sand. The Lighthouse Inn has a great menu on the beach. From the cottage, take a walk to the Breakfast Room for breakfast, Steamer Trunk's surf stuff shop, and the Christmas Tree Shop. An antique shop on the way is always fun to pop into. Location is central to all cape cod has to offer. This property has the use of all amenities at the Yarmouth Country Cabins just 8 minutes away. There is a heated pool, laundry room and bikes to borrow at the cabins. Kayak rentals are nearby the Tom Thumb. The Tom Thumb Cottage is a quaint waterfront cottage with an amazing view and sunsets on the patio every night. Convenient to shopping on Rt.134 at Patriots Square. Cape Cod Rail Trail is one mile from the cottage. There are bikes to rent, parking and one of our favorite restaurants, Morrelle's. The cottage has a dock and beach for fishing and swimming. A 185' dock and boat slip was built Sept '09. Boat slip available with rental. This cottage has 3 a/c units. Each bedroom has a/c and the living room has an a/c.

Grand Cove is a Cape Cod Treasure! It is an amazing fishing spot. When the birds come flyin' in..the fish just start jumping! Sit back and enjoy the views of Bass River. This is a no wake zone. Very quiet. Mussels in the sea grass or fresh fish for dinner? Sail, kayak, and swim! Sit back and enjoy the sunset over the water every night from the patio. Light up the Weber grill for an evening fire or BBQ. The gas fireplace in the living room will keep you warm on a chilly Spring or Fall evening. The location of this rental is set in the heart of all that Cape Cod has to offer yet it is quiet and secluded. This is a Cape Cod treasure. A kayak rental (with delivery) of a kayak can make your vacation complete. Walk to the Breakfast Room for Breakfast or Lunch. We hope you will love it here as much as we do!

The Bass River Marina is just a few minutes away if you would like to rent a boat/boat slip for your week.

Grand Cove is a No Wake Zone. Photos of the waterfront are taken from the back door.

Grand Cove is ocean fed salt water. This cove is located on Bass River. Bass River connects to the Nantucket Sound. The water is the temperature of the ocean or a bit warmer and the fishing is bountiful. There is a boat ramp located on Great Wastern Road in Dennis. The ramp is about 8 minutes from the cottage and parking is free. Beaches: Chapin Beach/Mayflower Beach on the Bay side off Rt. 6a is so beautiful at sunset. Pack a picnic dinner. During the day, bring the kids at low tide...the beach goes out for miles with an abundance of tide pools. West Dennis Beach is just 2 miles from the cottage. It has just enough waves. Coastguard Beach: A 40 minute drive, big waves and nature. Seagull Beach in Yarmouth is calm and warm. Only 10 minutes away. Chapin Beach and Mayflower Beach are best experienced w a low tide that leaves a beach of about 3 miles out and tide pools for toddlers to play in.

Resturants everywhere and shopping. Be sure to catch a whale watch. Cape Cod is a whales destination to feed before they make the trip down the east coast for the winter. Call or email us to reserve your family vacation at Tom Thumb Cottage.

More Details

Property Manager
Audrey at Yarmouth Country Cabins
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 24, 2017

What makes this cottage unique

This location is so rich in nature.

Sunsets, sea life, beach, central location and great owners that will help you if you need anything during your stay.


Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Hyannis Airport or logan airport in Boston
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Hyannis Marina
Nearest Golf
1.5 Miles
Blue Rock
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Hyannis Center
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Route 6 exit 9
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
The Breakfast Room
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
West Dennis Beach
Car: recommended

New Address: 25 Old Main St, Dennis

Nearest boat ramps: Highland Rd, Dennis Dennis Marina rt 28 Dennis.

Nearest beaches: Heckmann Rd Beach, Dennis 100 feet from cottage West Dennis Beach 2 miles from cottage

Nearest resturants: Breakfast Room 2/10 mile rt 28, O'shea's Olde Inn 1/2 mile rt 28

nearest shopping: Christmas Tree Shop 3/10 mile rt 28, Super Stop and Shop & Roche Bros on rt 134 is 3 miles

Golf: Dennis Golf Coarse

Blue Rock Golf Coarse

Yarmouth Golf Coarse

Jr. Golf camps available at all Golf Courses


West Dennis Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 980 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , new bathroom
    Exterior - outdoor shower , hot water shower
  • Renovated. Tiled bathroom brand new in 2001. Located on the second floor at the top of the stairs. Tub/Shower fiberglass unit replaced in 2001. First aid supplies under the sink for your use. Enclosed hot/cold shower outside on the patio.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , a/c+cable
  • Queen bedroom has a TV/VCR/Cable. Air conditioned and fans. Down duvet and country decor. There is an electric fireplace in the master bedroom. View of the Water from the dormer window.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Beach Chairs
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Sand Box
  • Walkway to Water
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Towels can be rented by the basket (10 bath towels,10 face cloths, 5 hand towels 3 kitchen towels) for $25 a week. The heated pool and laundry are at the Yarmouth Country Cabins that is only 8 minutes away by car. Kayaks/canoes can be rented just a short walk away at The Steamer Trunk in Dennis. I believe they deliver. Also, just a short walk away is The Breakfast Room for a great morning breakfast or lunch. Contact me anytime with questions about Cape Cod or the area. I am happy to help make your visit on cape cod enjoyable.


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
Waterfront, Amazing Sunsets, Dock, Fishing and Small Beach, 2 bedrooms sleeps 4
average rating of 4.3 based on 10 reviews
Westbrook, CT, USA


  • 5 of 5

My husband & I own 2 B&B's & as our 1st cottage experience we were delighted to find it clean, comfortable & private. It was perfect! We enjoyed the peaceful view, the outside shower and anything you might have forgotten to bring was thoughtfully tucked away in the cottage. We highly recommend this destination to all & hope too be back next year ourselves.

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2007
  • Stayed: Sep 2006
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
27 0

Cape Cod Quaint

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at the "Tom Thumb" cottage. The sunsets, watching the fish jump from the couch. So much to do and all so close by.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

100% accuracy in description. Cottage had anything you could think of for the stay.

  • 4 of 5

Owners understand they are in the hospitality industry... Fairly busy location but some of that has to do with nearby construction ...

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
West Haven

Nice enough

  • 3 of 5

I've stayed at a number of rentals using VRBO, airbnb and homeaway. So far, this rental experience was my most lukewarm. The house was nice but if you're looking for some kind of "hosted feeling," it's probably not going to happen. Contrary to the reservation details here, you must pay 100% of the rental up front. There are no cancellation exceptions, so even if there's a hurricane, you are expected to show up or forfeit your entire rental amount. Comparative to other properties, the cleaning fee is a bit over-priced unless you plan on being a slob. The place is small and there are plenty of cleaning supplies. I think we left this space cleaner than we found it. I'm not saying that it wasn't already clean. The pet fee was a bit over priced also. I don't think our short-haired dog who doesn't go on furniture even left evidence of her stay. Enough of my criticisms, now for some helpful observations. There are no hooks to hang/dry towels in/near the bathroom. We used the clip-hangers from the closet for this purpose & hung bath towels in various places. Plan on no counter space in the bathroom. There is no DVD player that I could locate. The 2nd BR is very small. Best suited for small children, not adults as the ceiling pitch is such that an adult would be unable to sit up normally in bed w/o hitting one's head. Kitchen is well-equipped. Off-season, this is a quiet place & we had a lovely time.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

A great place to stay, to recommend it to all!!!

  • 5 of 5

We love The Tom Thumb!!! We have stayed in these cottages for years and would highly recommend them! The owners were wonderful and were there if we needed anything! They created a great atmosphere, and the cottage was clean. We arrived alittle early, but they were VERY accommodating! I would highly recommend this rental to anyone who asked. We were made to feel at home! It was great to be back at Grand Cove, great to be back "home"! Deb King

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0


  • 1 of 5

The most terrifying, dirty place on Earth. This cabin was dirty inside out, manager was very unprofessional. She destroyed our vacation. Stay away from it! We should know it was a dump by the way the cabin was kept. The other surrounded cabins have been recently renovated ( nice landscape, windows, floors, furniture, electronics, and so clean inside out). This cabin was filthy dirty, exterior peeling paint, rotted wood, horrible landscaping, cigarettes buts left in the so called "grill". We found dog hair in refrigerator, human hair in the " clean unpressed sheets", food crumbs in the sofa...what

a nightmare! And to make our vacation over the top, my dog got flees just for spending a night there.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is a heart breaking review of our Tom Thumb Cottage. We open it to families and loved ones to enjoy. This traveler notified us 4 days into her vacation week that she had left the cottage for personal reasons. The person she was vacationing with decided to leave. She asked me to refund her money because she had not stayed there since sunday after arriving on Saturday. I told her I could not refund her money. She said I would regret that decision. To address issues she pointed out: flees on her dog; We ask that all travelers apply frontline or other flee and tick repellent. There are flees in the sand beaches. There is a beach 100 feet from the cottage. We do regular insect spraying of the cottage. We provide fresh washed + dried linens to our guests. Upon arrival, the beds are made for you by the cleaning staff. The cleaners are available if you see something you would like to have cleaned again. They are courteous and helpful. The grill is a Weber Charcoal Grill. Nothing fancy. It works great as a fire pit at night to keep the chill away. The cottage does need to be resided. There is some peeling paint and the doors are old. The landscaping is nothing fancy. The cottage is a sweet wonderful place that we have loved with our family and open it to other families to enjoy. The dock, the beach, the sunsets and awesome fishing had made many families very happy over the years. I am sorry this person had a terrible week but we have had far more happy memories made than what this person experienced. If you rent one of our rentals, we are all too happy to fix anything broken, clean anything that was missed, work around any temporary issue, but you need to give me the opportunity to do so. This traveler called us after she left on the fourth day of her 7 night stay. I was not given an opportunity to help with any of the issues she has stated.
Did you find this review helpful?
17 20


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Pet Fee $75
Damage Insurance $99
Damage Deposit $99

All payments are made directly to the owner. We accept personal checks, visa, mate card.
Call owner at 6176403054 to reserve and pay.
We accept personal checks up to 30 days prior to arrival.
Visa and master card welcome.
All nightly and weekly rentals a cleaning fee applies to all rentals.
A good family pet is considered.
A $75 charge for each pet and a cleaning fee of $125
This rental does not have a room tax or sales tax.
Boat Slip + Dock box rental fee: $200.00 per week
Pets are leashed, frontline applied one week prior to arrival, pets are allowed on the beach and the water.
Manager near by to help with any issues that may arise during your stay.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties