check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Merry Lee

Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

18 Private Acres. Spectacular Views. Relax, unwind, breathe deeply.

25 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Wells Chalet Rental Photos and Description

3BR/3BA/Sleeps 2 to 10

The perfect country retreat. Vermont's famous fresh air from the 18 acres of tranquil woodlands and trails surrounding this spacious, comfortable, cheery country house. Picture windows and a wrap-around deck look over Hidden Valley's miles of hills, fields and streams into the next state. With 3600 square feet of living space, the house offers several gathering areas, including two separate living rooms, a game table area, a dining area and a sociable kitchen. Marvelous for retreats, reunions, family gatherings, writers and artists. Great for three couples, one per floor. Furnished down to the cookbooks. There are games galore, hundreds of well-chosen books and over 200 movies on video. Artisan stonemason Simon Shultz created magnificent two-story stone columns that support the outside deck and, at the heart of the chalet, a spectacular three-story stone core with two fireplaces. A charming spiral staircase connects all three floors.

Sleeping accommodations: The total number of beds in the chalet are: two twin beds, two queen beds, two queen sofa beds. The two twin beds are in the ground floor bedroom, the main floor bedroom has one queen bed, the third floor bedroom has a queen bed. The chalet has two livings rooms, one on the ground floor and one on the main floor. The ground floor living room has a queen sofa bed that can sleep two persons. The main floor living room also has a queen sofa bed that can sleep two people.

All within an hour: learn Fly Fishing at the Orvis Fly Fishing School or visit the American Museum of Fly Fishing in historic Manchester village: the Norman Rockwell Exhibition, where Norman Rockwell's models are your tour guides, at the Arlington Gallery in Arlington, hometown of Norman Rockwell 1939-53, on historic Route 7A; the world- famous Simon Pearce Glass-Blowing workshop and restaurant in Quechee, VT and the noted Billings Farm Museum in Woodstock, VT.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Merry Lee (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Merry Lee

For more details, call Dave (808-227-9189) or Merry Lee (808-227-9188).

Merry Lee purchased this chalet in 2005

Why Merry Lee chose Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas

Tremendous view. Marvelous artisan stonework throughout the chalet. Lifelong friends with original builders Olie and Jinny Rye.

What makes this chalet unique

Fresh, fresh air. Relax. Wind down. Escape. Tremendous view.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had an absolutely wonderful time. It's really magical here!
Aug 2016
  • 1 of 6

Reviews

4.6
based on 25 traveler reviews

18 Private Acres. Spectacular Views. Relax, unwind, breathe deeply.
average rating of 4.64 based on 31 reviews
5

Family and Pet friendly chalet

  • 5 of 5

This was our second stay at the chalet and we enjoyed it tremendously! I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing, peaceful getaway.

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank YOU. Return guests are The Best. And we know you all enjoyed the yummy fresh muffins at the Wells Country Store.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
2

Potentially a great place to stay

  • 2 of 5

We enjoyed how close this property is to Lake St. Catherine, Dorset ( fun marble quarry to swim in), and the beautifully placed Lakeside Pub & Grill in a nearby town. The chalet's fireplaces, spiral stairs and hardwood floors are just beautiful. It was also very quiet, which we enjoyed. The chalet is quite close to the road, not as nestled in as expected. There is a large deck which could offer a beautiful view but the growing trees across the road blocked it. The deck boards are splintery dry and unsteady and in need of replacement, as are the rusting deck chairs.The couches in the living room and foot stools are extremely worn, very old and also need to be replaced, as does the long somewhat gooey wooden kitchen table, pots and pans, many of which had not been cleaned well. The new fridge worked very well, however. But the dishwasher door is finicky. Two windows had to be closed from the outside to shut. Hearing movement during the nights kept me wondering (and awake), but then we saw a cute field mouse the next day in the house along with and it's droppings on the kitchen counter--this mouse needs a new home. Being 6'3, the solely queen size bed options were too small for my husband and I, so we did not sleep as well as we hoped. The back door is home to large biting flies (clags) that greated us upon arrival. The patio on the ground floor was full of weeds in between the stone. The directions binder for guests also needs to be updated and cleaned. The bathrooms were well kept, and pleasant. The movie and book selection was very good, but the small box TV is from the late 1980s/early 90s. The communication with the owner via email was good.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: When we ask guests if they would be willing to pay higher rent rates so we can afford new furnishings, they always say no, they are more appreciative of our moderate rates. The main road is a quarter of a mile away from the chalet; the smaller logging road below the chalet property is accessed only by the owners who come up one weekend a month. Its "traffic" usually consists of 1-2 vehicles per day -- mostly the mail carrier. I'm afraid the "somewhat gooey" table, though always cleaned by our great cleaning crew (thanks for complimenting their work), is the varnish softening in the summer. We're sorry the window fixtures we ordered arrived after your check-in, so we were unable to install them for your stay. Sorry, also, that you or your husband did not read our Homeaway listing, which clearly lists the bed sizes at the chalet. We're working on a new Guest Manual. Thanks for your constructive criticism.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great home, we had a great time!

  • 5 of 5

I rented this home for my 7 person bridal party getaway. We all had a great time and want to visit again together next year. The only downside was that one of the pull out couches is really uncomfortable. But the beds are very comfortable. We plan to bring a blow up mattress next time to avoid that pull out. The home has so much character and we spent so much time out on the great balcony porch. There is also a cool old bell that you ring by a pulley system out on the porch. So fun. We all would Highly recommend this home for a relaxing, comfortable time away in nature.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank YOU, Rachael! Your idea for a bridal getaway is terrific. We hope it catches on. We hope that having two separate living rooms was helpful. Come back any time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A quiet place to get away!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I had a great time here on our honeymoon! We both love being outdoors and scenery and the chalet catered to that. We enjoyed going to ottos quite a few times for soft serve maple syrup ice cream and also spent a day at Lake George. There were several cool places to go within reasonable distance yet we were at a quiet location. We had a great time!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love honeymooners and are delighted to know they appreciate the Rye Chalet's privacy, magnificent views and Vermont's famous maple syrup sundaes. We'd love to have you come back for your second honeymoon, too.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Beautiful views, large rustic home

  • 4 of 5

My family and I recently stayed at the Rye Chalet. We found the home to spacious and relaxing. The bedroom linens were clean and the home was beautifully decorated in true rustic fashion. During our stay the weather was abnormally warm so we spent many days out on the lake. My only recommendation would be to fix the windows on the back side of the home so that the windows open and screens can be put in, this would allow a nice cross breeze through the home on hot days since the home isn’t equipped with air conditioning. We would definitely recommend this home and we look forward to staying here again. The views were spectacular!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, we want those cross breezes to feed cooler air into that big overhead fan and into the huge fan in the attic. The contractor is fixing those windows now. Thanks for letting us know.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect space for a large gathering

  • 4 of 5

Rye Chalet works well for large gatherings. The view from the deck is spectacular.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wish we could take credit for the view, but it all belongs to Mother Nature's magnicent work in Vermont.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Albany, NY
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Granville, NY
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Lake St. Catherine Country Club
Nearest Train
18 Miles
Rutland, VT
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
US Route 149 and Vermont Route 30
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
The Barn, in Pawlet, Vermont
Nearest Ski
25 Miles
Bromley, Pico, Killington, Stratton
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Lake St. Catherine State Park
Car: necessary

Visit charming Manchester, the original outlet town, the charismatic Northshire Bookstore, Orvis' glorious flagship store and great restaurants. Browse picturesque Vermont towns, antique, craft and art shops, the Vermont Country Store. Professional summer theater at Dorset Playhouse. Fly fish at Orvis Fly Fishing School or local lakes and rivers. History at President Lincoln's son's estate, Hildene, or Fort Ticonderoga. Lake St. Catherine (right in Wells) and Bomoseen Lake (in Castleton) offer canoe and kayak rentals. The private Lake St. Catherine Country Club in Wells has an 18-hole golf course open to the public. Miniature golf in Wells. Hike the Long Trail and Appalachian Trail. Ski resorts Killington, Pico, Bromley and Stratton offer summer alpine slides and scenic chair lifts. Drive to Shelburne Museum, Calvin Coolidge's home in Plymouth, the Robert Frost Trail in Middlebury, the Grandma Moses Museum in Bennington, tour Ben & Jerry's factory in Waterbury.

Other Activities: Shopping in Manchester, VT, the original outlet town.

Golf: The Rye Chalet has it's own golf pitching area. The Lake St. Catherine Country Club, right in Wells, offers an 18-hole golf course and club house. There are numerous other golf courses within driving distance, such as Castleton, Vermont and Whitehall, NY, both about a 20 minute drive. Two PGA 18-hole championship courses are under an hour's drive: Killington's Geoffrey Cornish-designed par 72 course and the Golf Digest award-winning Green Mountain National Golf Course. Most courses are open mid-May through October.

Ski: The Rye Chalet in Wells, Vermont is central to all the major Western Vermont skiing areas -- Bromley, Killington, Stratton, Pico, Magic and Okemo. All are about 30-50 minutes away. The nearest is Bromley at about 25 minutes. Killington is about a 45 minute drive. Those skiing Killington or Pico often stop in Rutland for dinner at a wide variety of available restaurants en-route back to the chalet. Those skiing Bromley or Stratton often choose to have dinner at one of the many excellent restaurants in Manchester en-route back to Wells.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Wells Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter 2016-2017
Dec 20 2016 - Mar 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$270
$1,418
$4,050
 
 
Spring Special 2017
Mar 16 2017 - May 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$190
$998
$2,850
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$235
$1,234
$3,525
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 9.0%

You may choose either a $200 refundable damage deposit, or a $59 non-refundable insurance policy. Just let us know if you want to change your option.

We give a $100 discount for your second rental week.

10% Friends & Family discount for your second visit and all visits thereafter.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Wells Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Ground floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Main floor
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Third floor
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • The Green Room - 2 twin/ single , Ground floor
    The Beige Room - 1 queen , Main floor
    The Blue Room - 1 queen , Third floor
    Living Room/Library - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Ground floor
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Main floor
  • One bedroom and one full bath on each of three floors.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
The chalet has Wi-Fi and satellite TV. Delicious take-out or catered meals are available from Kathryn Vanderminden, a first-rate chef in Wells (villageroots@gmail.com), who emphasizes local, fresh ingredients. Full meals, picnics, soups, appetizers and desserts for take-out or serving...or for catering weddings and other events at the Rye Chalet. Second living room seats seven. Washing machine, clothes dryer, iron and ironing board are in the laundry room. Guided hiking, hunting and/or fishing tours with a Certified Hunter-Safety and 'Let's Go Fishing' Instructor can be arranged for an additional fee -- for all levels from child to expert.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties