check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Lahiki O Ka Hale (House of the Rising Sun) Close to Ocean!

Sleeps15
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
15
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Keaau House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Welcome to Paradise!

Come to Lahiki O Ka Hale (house of the rising sun) and enjoy your vacation in this spacious, comfortable and colorfully decorated home. Our home is located in the highly desirable Hawaiian Paradise Park neighborhood on the east side of the Big Island. The entire home, upstairs and down, has ceramic tile floors. The huge screened lanai is a great place to dine and relax after a long day of sightseeing. Lahiki O Ka Hale will sleep up to 10. Two queen beds are upstairs. One queen, two twins are in bedrooms and two futon style couches that fold into twin beds are located in the main living area, DOWNSTAIRS ! Holiday stays per holiday day will be $50.

Centrally located on the east side of the Big Island, Lahiki O Ka Hale is only a 20 minute drive to Hilo town or a 10 minute drive to the quaint old village of Pahoa. This home is located within blocks of the Pacific Ocean is the perfect location to set off from for all the sights and sounds of the last of the old Hawaii, Hilo and the Puna district. You’re only a 40 minute drive to the Volcano's National Park. The Kapoho area, with its wonderful swimming and snorkeling spots, is only a 25 minute drive. The Waiopae tide pools have some of the best snorkeling on the Big Island.

Keywords: sleeps 10,blue house,near ocean,

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Property Manager
ANNA
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 3, 2016
Call Manager

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

Lahiki O Ka Hale (House of the Rising Sun) Close to Ocean!
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 18 reviews
5

Wonderful large home near Hilo.

  • 5 of 5

This is a very nice large home a couple of blocks away from the beach. It has two bedrooms, two baths, kitchen and living room upstairs, and three bedrooms, one bath, living room and laundry downstairs. The upstairs also has a very large screened in lanai that is very useful and enjoyable. The home is fully stocked. We stayed here for 10 days. It was great for visiting Volcano National Park, Black Sand Beach, waterfalls north of HIlo, and Hilo itself. Kona was a two hour drive...not bad at all. I would definitely stay here again. Very Nice.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! So glad you enjoyed our home! Mahalo!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Livin' Like the Locals in Paradise (Park)

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed the experience of staying at this property - definitely not your sterile small condo or bland hotel! There was plenty of space in the open architecture upstairs grand room for the 7 of us. The screened lanai was cooler than inside (no AC) so it was nice to have the dinner table out there along with the daybed. My mom wanted to sleep there and she liked it, roosters crowing, frogs and birds calling and all! The place was well kept and clean inside. Some spices in the kitchen, enough cookware, dishes, flatware, and glasses. There was a resident hen complete with eggs she was incubating in the screened garage area where the washer and dryer are. The place can get a bit hot inside in the mid afternoon, I think there was a bit of a heat wave when we were there, but there are a number of fans in the house that we arranged to get the air flowing through. The downstairs unit was a bit musty smelling at first, but we aired it out with the fans. The two stairs are outside the units, not the most convenient, but not a problem. The drive to/from the main road is a little long, but you are within walking distance to the shore (though there isn't really access until you walk along the houses for a couple hundred yards). The drive to Hilo took 15-20 min, we went to the farmers market a couple times and got killer deals on papaya - 4 big ones for a dollar! She even gave us an extra! The place is ~25min drive to where you can hike in to see the oozing lava, which we did one evening. Despite the 11 miles of walking, it was worth it! We had a little hiccup when we arrived because the lockbox code we were given didn't work (and cell coverage is a little spotty there for AT&T), but overall a very nice stay. If you don't mind not having AC, it's a great place to stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Lakeside, California
5

Girl Scout Getaway

  • 5 of 5

This was our first vacation rental, so we didn't really know what to expect. Full-disclosure, we had a Negative Nancy as a chaperone and the water pressure was a point of contention for her. I probably should have remembered all the reviews and better briefed our group before we got there! That being said, the majority of our group thought the house was lovely, and we didn't want to leave. The location was remote enough to make us feel like we were truly getting away from everything, and forced our girls to think about what the needed to do/get in town each day (7-11 isn't right around the corner like it is at home), but still reasonable to get out and see the island. A few of our activities were out of Keauhou Bay, making for some early mornings to get over there, but it was nice to have such a serene location to come back to each night. We had a group of 7, and there was ample room for all of us and if I were travelling to the Big Island with a group of 5+, I would stay here again. One of our chaperones left a detailed list of our activities in the journal, but be sure to head the 2 blocks down for a sunrise--the view from the master bedroom balcony, while lovely, does not do it justice. Our troop made some great memories on this trip and it was delightful to have them all in one place enjoying each other's company.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great Place, Very Spacious

  • 4 of 5

We just checked out a couple of days ago and I have to say this place was great. It was very spacious, great area, and beautiful view. The downstairs was a bit warm but was very well equipped with enough fans to make it cool. The kitchen was very large and the patio balcony was BEAUTIFUL, you could sit out there on the table and just stare out in to the "trees" lol but still beautiful. Some of us ended up sleeping out there because it was so serene and had a great breeze that blew threw. Privacy was great as you have about a half acre before the next house behind. A lot of parking space. GREAT for families with children. My kids had a blast. I loved that there is a laundry room on site. I would definitely come back again with my family and stay here.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much!! Glad you enjoyed it!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Very big home, loved the space

  • 4 of 5

The house was very spacious with a lot of room for my entire family to stay and enjoy. We really loved the enclosed patio area. We spent a lot of time on the patio. All 15 of us were able to stay together with a lot of beds for everyone to sleep comfortably. We would definitely stay there again. Mahalo for sharing your home with us.

  • Submitted: May 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much!! Glad you enjoyed it!!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

In Hilo for a church conference.

  • 4 of 5

This was our 2nd time staying here n again we enjoyed it. Close to the property our event was located at and fit our group of 10 perfectly with lots of space. I love that there is a washer and dryer and the house is clean...I love this property n will probably stay here again in about 3yrs if I'm quick enough to get it. Thanks Anna

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: THANK YOU !!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Lava Tube Cave
Hulihe'e Palace
Hiilawe Falls
Punalu'u Black Sand Beach Park
"there have ALWAYS been turtles beached here.....very cool sand!"
Volcano Winery
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Lava Ocean Adventures
"Lava viewing from the ocean. The ONLY company rated by the Coast Guard"
Ahalanui Hot Pond
Hamakua Sports Bar
South Point
"Green sand beach is about a mile south of this point...."
Lava Tree State Monument
Mauna Kea Summit Adventures
Hapuna Beach State Park
"go past the entrance to this park, for the BEST beach on the island. BEACH 69"
Kona Coast State Park
"A small hike....deserted beaches...FANTASTIC"
Kolekole Beach Park
"the river meets the ocean...."
Kehena Beach
"Perfect spot...medium/dangerous hike down to it....mostly nude beach, hippies, gays....very ..."
Kapoho Tide Pools
"great for snorkeling"
Pu‘uhonua o Hōnaunau National Historical Park
"Best snorkeling around"
Hilo Farmers Market
Keaukaha Beach Park
Laupahoehoe Beach Park
"Beautiful, wiped out by a tsunami in the 40's....beautiful place for a picnic."
Ken's House of Pancakes
"MUST GO!!!!!!!"
Cronies
"Delicious pizza"
Hilo Town Tavern
"so friendly!"
Hilo Bay Cafe
Island Lava Java
Laverne's Sports Bar
Huggo's Restaurant
"live music, great food, feet in the sand."
Big Island Grill
Kona Town Tavern
Kona Joe Coffee
"yum"
Kona Blue Sky Coffee Visitor Center
Nearest Airport
19 Miles
Hilo
Car: necessary

Rates & Availability

Keaau House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$130
$860
$2,395
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $175 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 13.41%

A $200 damage deposit is required at time of booking, and refunded after check out inspection, or left up to owner's discretion of any quantity to be returned, minus fees and or troubles. Any people over the age of TWO (2) years old, that exceeds the limit of EIGHT (8) renters for whole house will be charged a per person/ per day fee of $15.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Keaau House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , downstairs bath
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Master bedroom - 1 queen
    Orange Master - 1 queen
    downstairs queen - 1 queen
    twin walk through - 1 twin/ single
    downstairs livingroom - 2 sleep sofa /futon
    downstairs tiny bedroom - 1 twin/ single
    Livingroom pullout - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Lanai - 1 sleep sofa /futon , large daybed on lanai
  • Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) couch pullout (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
GPS is available for use with additional $100 deposit

Partner Offers