Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Seafront,the Blue House, Russell Island, Spanish Wells, Eleut'

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
4 nights

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 2.25 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

Ocean front house with stunning all round views of the turquoise waters of the Bahamas, from front and back balconies.

4. Bedrooms and 2 Bathrooms - With the beds arranged as detailed means we really can sleep 12 people. open plan kitchen and dining area will accommodate everyone. If you want to dine outside then the Deck area has a large table able to seat 8.

House is set in mature orchards with ocean to the back and a secluded sandy beach to the front ( 50yds away ) The ocean side is deep enough to swim/snorkel and keep a boat close during your stay.

We have small coral reefs in the front with resident Octopus, Puffer fish and the usual brightly coloured reef fish. Rays and Turtles cruising past , there is always something to see. Dip your rod in the water and pretty sure you would get enough for grilled fish for supper.

House is secluded but not remote, and is just a short golf cart ride ( 10 Minutes ) from all the facilities in Spanish Wells Town, Bars, Restaurants, Shops, Supermarkets, Clinic, Doctors and a stunning crescent beach with warm turquoise waters and silky white sand. Beach is great for Adults and children as the water starts very shallow and is protected by an offshore reef.

Our nearest Bar and Restaurant is " The Sandbar " opposite the house on the beach. Food is good and staff friendly, also a 1 minute walk from the front door, 30 Seconds if you are desperate.

Spanish Wells is also where the 'Bo Hengy II' fast ferry from Nassau arrives at 10:00 every morning and then travels on to Harbour Island 30mins away returning in the afternoon. Government ferries to Eleuthera leave and arrive every few minutes servicing clients to North Eleuthera Airport which is about 25 Minutes away.

The view is stunning and the house is part of it, from sunrise to sunset on the veranda I never tire of staring out to sea, with a drink in one hand and Fresh lobster cooking on the Grill.

Keywords: House

More Details

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 2, 2016

Why The Owner chose Eleuthera

We chose to build here because it truly is one of the most stunning area's of the world, the beaches are amazing, The people friendly and quite un spoilt at the moment. Don't tell your friends about it.

What makes this house unique

Seafront, Boating Fishing, Sun, Warm Water, Warm People, Snorkeling, Diving, Fishing,Good food,tranquil.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

Seafront,the Blue House, Russell Island, Spanish Wells, Eleut'
average rating of 4.642857 based on 14 reviews

Great place! Would rent again.

  • 4 of 5

I saw a recent poor review that was posted after I booked but before we departed. In response to that review:

1)We had no issues with the water.

2)I have no idea if the cable worked as I never turned on the TV.

3)I slept in the upstairs bedroom and the bed isn't great and probably should be replaced. That said I slept in the bed every night and I would sleep in it again.

4)The washing machine was quirky but worked fine.

Overall the house, in my experience, is fairly typical of rentals available in the area. It could probably use some maintenance here and there but that could be said of a brand new house in a tropical island climate. The location is quiet but not secluded. There is good beach access either in front of the restaurant across the street, on the west end of the island or anywhere in Spanish Wells.

This house is a really great place for a group. 6 adults and 4-6 kids could comfortably be accommodated.

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Will not rent again- no water!

  • 1 of 5

The island is amazing and we have stayed there before. This house is not! We spent 14 days at the property over christmas and new years. I had confirmed there would be internet at the house. I needed it due to work. There was no internet service at the house and it took 5 days to get it turned on. There is also no phone so no way to contact anyone or them to contact you. We sat and waited for 2 days for the cable guy then finally had to enjoy our vacation and risked leaving the door unlocked. There is not cable tv. He does not pay for that. I never asked before going so that is my fault and we can survive with out it.

The washer and dryer were broken and did not work. They said there was a trick and you have to turn it through the cycles. I tried several times but still could not get it to work.

The king size bed upstairs looks like a camel due to sagging spots in the bed. I woke up every morning with my arms asleep due to the bed.

WE RAN OUR OF WATER!! The water tank that collects rain water ran out and I guess they don't have city water. No water to flush toilet or bath. No water to due dishes. I sent a message but no response. I also sent the owner a message prior to this review about our stay to give him the opportunity to correct it. Again, I have not heard form him.

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Jessica, So sorry it has taken so long to reply. My father was taken very ill and it has taken all of my time to try and get him the proper treatment. I'm so sorry that you had a less than brilliant time and thank you for pointing out the issues you had with the bed upstairs. If I had known of these problems we would of sorted them out before, We were all there in August for a month and no one said anything, neither did the guests we had in October. If they had I certainly would of had it replaced. There is one on its way now. I was also unaware of the issues with the washing machine as no one told me. I used it in September and all was fine. Ben is now replacing the Controller Switch. As to the water, we have a 7500 gallon cistern and 650 gallon reserve tank. Talking to Ben from the maintenance company he came out and replaced a bladder in the Pressure Vessel as it had split causing the lack of pressure , Hence no water coming through. If it had just been a matter of running out of water then we would of bought some and had it filled as we had to once before. Internet Issues, As far as I was aware the Broadband service was up and working prior to your arrival and I was straight on to cable Bahamas when you reported the problem, 3 times I called them holding on the phone for well over 20 minutes each time for them to tell me all was OK. I am very disappointed that you had such a miserable time these problems were unforeseen and we did all put a lot of time and effort trying to rectify them for you even on Xmas Eve, when trying to get Cable Bahamas to respond was tedious in the extreme. You only have to see from the other reviews that we care about guests experiences and I can well understand your frustration. If you would like to come back at anytime I would be willing to let you have the house at a severely reduced weekly rate. Kind regards.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loved it, Loved it, Loved it !!!!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the Blue house as the base for our honey moon in May 2014. It was perfect. The house is stunning with views to match. Anything you may need, be it a BBQ, fishing equipment, snorkelling equipment etc is provided and if you need something else, say a boat, a water taxi, a deep sea fishing trip or some scuba diving, the owner seems to know everyone on the island, so can be easily sourced. Nothing seems too much here.

The garden is well appointed and literally runs down into the sea, so perfect for a cooling dip or other adventures. We found there was nothing better than harvesting a coconut from the garden (there are hundreds), chilling the bounty and having a freezing cold gin and coconut water as a sundowner followed by BBQ'd lobster and reef fish on the deck. Pure bliss!!!!

The island is stunning with a number of bars and restaurants to while away an evening and chat to the locals, but perfectly situated if you fancy exploring the surrounding islands, which are superb.

A beautiful house on a beautiful island.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Family traveller

  • 5 of 5

The Blue house was a perfect place for our family and friends to be able to relax, let the kids run and play, cook the fresh catch of the day, and visit after the kids went to bed. Lots of room, perfect for 2 families! Can't begin to describe the view of both the Atlantic and Carribean waters. We loved the safe, friendly feeling at every moment of our trip. James and Chantel are amazing, taking care of us from the minute we landed in Eleuthera. Most definitely a relaxing holiday, not for someone looking to party or be entertained other than by nature and paradise itself. Thank you Justin for sharing your piece of heaven.

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great house and wonderful location

  • 5 of 5

The house was awesome great rooms and view. The island is so relaxing and the locals were very nice. This is a laid back island wonderful island great for snorkeling and fishing. The food is good but not to many places to go out to eat but overall very friendly. We would definitely go back and stay here if it was available

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place , wonderful location, very relaxlng.

  • 5 of 5

The view from the house were amazing our family and friends had more than enough room to stay. Great location very nice rooms and kitchen. The locals were helpful and the best vacation we have had so far.

We would definitely go back and the owner was very easy to contact and quick replies to our questions

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Fishing/Day Boat hire available, leave in front of property during your stay, Pro Snokelling equipment in the house, Fishing rods / Tackle


Rates & Availability

Spanish Wells House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning 5 and Above $150
Cleaning for up to 5 $100

Cash, Cheque, PayPal, Credit Card.

25% on Booking - Balance 30 Days Prior to Arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.


Spanish Wells House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king
  • King size beds (1) This Bed is a Superking. Loads of space can accommodate our children too., Queen size Beds (1) Second Bedroom - this is a King Size. Ground Floor, Double Beds (1) Double is bottom bed of a bunk Full adult single above and pull out Adult Single underneath - Ground Floor, Twin or Single Beds (1) Two Adult Singles in Upstairs South Bedroom with full adult pull out singles underneath each. We usually put the children in here, because of the beds, not because there is a lock on the door.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties