Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Leelanau Peninsula Architect-Designed Lake Home

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 12-14)


Our charming lake house sits on an acre of land on Little Traverse Lake in the heart of Sleeping Bear National Lakeshore, named by Good Morning America in 2011 as the most beautiful place in the U.S. In the summer, the lake, with its private, sandy beach is great for kids, perfect for all water sports or just sunning on the dock. Just across our designated 'Scenic Winding Road' is the national lakeshore with wooded dunes through which hiking and cross-country ski trails take you three-quarters of a mile to the nearly secluded Good Harbor Bay on Lake Michigan. The interior of the Leelanau Peninsula has well-paved roads with little traffic which makes them perfect for road biking. The bike routes are moderately challenging for the novice to very hilly for the experienced road bikers.

You will enter our home through a custom designed round-topped 'Hobbit' white oak door. Our 2002 architect-renovated, art-filled home has two charming bedrooms on the main floor, one with a king size bed and a private patio, the other with twin beds. There is a full bath with tub and shower nearby and a half bath in the tile-floored vestibule near the front door. As you step down from the vestibule, you will enter a large living room with a 1904 'found' antique mantle surrounding a tiled fireplace. The white oak floor covered by an oriental rug in the center continues into the modern kitchen and into the dining room surrounded by windows on three sides with a view of the lake. A large stone terrace with a dining table, chairs and a lounge facing the lake can be reached through French doors from the dining room as well as from the living room. Also on the main floor looking out to the lake is a two-storey library/ music/ TV room with a large, field stone fireplace. French doors next to the fireplace lead out to the terrace as well. There is a second entrance under a breezeway from the mudroom which has sinks and a wine cooler. An outside shower is in the breezeway for washing off sandy feet and bodies.

The second floor can be reached by an open stairway in the vestibule which leads up to a window overlooking the library. To the right is the master suite with a king size bed, built-in bookcase/headboard. And French doors which open to a private balcony looking out to the lake. The suite has a large bathroom with a glass-surrounded shower and three shower heads, a Jacuzzi-style tub with water jets, a bidet and separate sinks for him and her. Across the hall is a small laundry room with washer, drier and ironing board. At the end of the hall is an office with computer and a fax machine/copier. There is a large walk-in closet off of the office.

At the other end of the second floor is an open play area which leads to the 'carriage house' over the two-car garage. The 'carriage house' consists of a small sitting room large enough to hold a crib or a “play and pack.” Next to the sitting room is a bedroom with a king size bed and French doors opening out to a private balcony with a view of the lake. Down the hall is the “bunk room” which can sleep four in two sets of bunk beds. The room is built into a hill and has its own private deck in the woods. At the end of the hall is a full bath with a stand-up shower.

The Amenities of the Area:

The Leelanau Peninsula is made up of rolling hills and valleys with charming towns and inland lakes surrounded by beautiful Lake Michigan and Grand Traverse Bay beaches which are seldom crowded. This rural area is occupied by farmers growing fresh Michigan produce, fishermen who catch whitefish from Lake Michigan every day of the year, cherry farmers who produce cherries for the country, vintners who produce wine that competes with the best in the US, restauranteurs who offer everything from family meals to fine dining, shop owners who sell fine antiques and fine art as well as souvenirs, vacationers who dream of retiring on the peninsula and those retirees whose dream came true. Many artists, writers and musicians have moved to the area because of its natural beauty. The roads and towns display the names of

the early Czech, Bohemian and Polish settlers of the peninsula.

Some of the Special Events:

In the summer, there are the Cherry Festival, the Dune Grass Music Festival, Suttons Bay Art Fair, Food and Wine Festival, Interlochen Music Festival, Michael Moore's Film Festival, fireworks and parades on the Fourth of July and torch lighting ceremonies on Labor Day when cottagers prepare to return home at the end of the summer. In the fall, there are color tours, vineyard tour weekends, a culinary arts weekend, a long-distance road bike race and the Iceman, a thirty mile off-road bike race, in November. The Vasa, a cross-country ski race in the winter is world famous.

Wine tasting is offered by the many wineries on the Leelanau and Old Mission Peninsulas. There are antique shops as well as fine art galleries in most of Leelanau's towns and in Traverse City. Nationally known musicians perform at Interlochen and there are a number of small venues where you can hear fine, local musicians. The area has a number of good bookstores as well as many fine restaurants. There are two excellent public radio stations, WNMC and Interlochen, on which independent music, classical music and live concerts can be heard.

Keywords: Lake House

More Details

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 6, 2017

About The Owner

In 2002, what was once a small 'cottage' became a completely remodeled home built on the footprint of the original building with the addition of a great room and an attached carriage house. Our lake house is where we have enjoyed family reunions, celebrated weddings, birthdays, dinner parties,weekend get-togethers with friends and the Christmas holidays.

The Owner purchased this house in 1977

Why The Owner chose Sleeping Bear Dunes

Although we have traveled throughout Europe and the United States, we have discovered that the unspoiled Leelanau Peninsula, with its rolling hills, vinyards and orchards, uncrowded sandy Lake Michigan and inland lake beaches and charming villages, is one of the lovliest spots on earth.

What makes this house unique

While at the lake house, we enjoy biking on the nearly traffic-free roads, kayaking on Little Traverse Lake or Victoria Creek, hiking and cross-country skiing the trails across the road in the national seashore and, of course, swimming in Little Traverse Lake and in nearby Lake Michigan.


Cedar House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3.5+
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • King size beds (3) There are three king beds, one in the master bedroom, one in the carriage house and one in one of the two main floor bedrooms., Twin or Single Beds (2) There are two twin beds in one of the two main floor bedrooms., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) The couch opens up to a double bed in the office just off of the master bedroom., Bunk Beds (2) The bunk room has two bunk beds which sleep four people.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
4 of the 5 bedrooms have walk-outs to balcony or terrace; screen porch facing lake; fireplaces in living room and library (antique and field stone); unique tiles in bathrooms; French doors in the living room, dining room and two-story library leading to a stone terrace; oriental rugs; white oak wood floors; stainless steel kitchen; gas stove; art on walls.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

Beautiful Leelanau Peninsula Architect-Designed Lake Home
average rating of 4.611111 based on 18 reviews

Beware with your security deposit

  • 1 of 5

My family stayed at this house and unfortunately it ended on a bad note. Upon arrival the house was in fine condition. Some things didn't work but this was no problem for us. We spent most of our time exploring the area, on the water or at the second house we rented. Little Lake Traverse is a wonderful spot. Upon check out, we made the owners aware of some of the items that were not working. Included was a screen door that broke during our stay and a boat that we rented from them at an additional fee. The boat had a cracked hull when we put it in the water. More that 30 days later, we received part of the security deposit along with a long itemized list of "damage" to the house. Money was taken out for the broken screen door for which we were at fault. We accepted this. Additionally, they kept a few hundred dollars for very minor wear and tear type items. This damage did not happen during our stay. Examples include, a small tear in the seam of a pillow, a fingernail size paint chip off the wall and a broken clock that we never saw during our stay. The owners had not been at the house prior to our stay and the cleaners that came after our stay were new to the house. There was no baseline prior to our arrival. If you stay here, make sure the take lots of notes and photos of anything that is wrong when you check in. Check EVERY nook and cranny and there are a lot in the house. Additionally, I would not rent a boat from them. The boat was in poor condition and we were not refunded the $400 we paid for it.

I have used VRBO all over the world for more than 10 years and have never been treated the way the owners of this house treated us. If you have a choice, stay elsewhere. If you are set on this property, insist on booking and paying through VRBO.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love our lake house very much and enjoy sharing it with guests, most of whom are very respectful of our property. It is very difficult for us when our guests such as these refuse to take responsibility for damage they have caused during their stay. In fact, I have only had to deduct money from the security deposit once before. The cleaning drew was new at the beginning of the rental season but were very familiar with the house by the time these renters were there. When they arrived at the house, they had to wait for a half hour before cleaning because the people had not yet vacated despite the provision in the contract stating that the house had to be empty no later than 10:00. We had to pay the cleaning crew for the time they waited. When they finally got in, the crew texted me that the house was really dirty and they would need an extra 1 1/2 hours to clean. (Usually, it takes two cleaners 4 1/2 hours. I charge our guests for that time, but had to pay ourselves for the additional hour and a half.) One of the crew members texted me that there was quite a bit of damage to the house. She then texted me 18 pictures as follows: a broken light shade, three broken door screens, one screen lying on the ground, a torn pillow, decorative mardi gras masks with some of the feathers pulled out, a broken ceramic soap dish, a broken silver clock, three walls with paint chipped out and one with cracks as if someone had been thrown against it, a floor tile that had been broken from the wall in the master bath, nail polish on a mirror and two trash cans with broken pedals. This type of damage can hardly be described as wear and tear. I sent them a copy of the bill for the screen repair and deducted that and the cost of repairing other damage from their security deposit as provided by our rental agreement. I returned what remained of their security deposit. Yes, we rented them the sunfish, which had previously been in good repair, and, because of all the damage to the house, are suspcious that they caused the damage to the boat, although the cleaning crew had no way of knowing if they did. I did not charge them for the damage to the boat. It is very upsetting to have renters disrespect our house, which we love, and refuse to take responsibility for the damage they caused.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

50th anniversary

  • 5 of 5

This home on Little Traverse Lake was a perfect place for us to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary with our kids, their spouses, and 6 grands. The well supplied kitchen made shared cooking for 12 a breeze and the close proximity to trails, Lake Michigan beaches, and Sleeping Bear gave us many opportunities for family fun.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Spring Lake

7 Perfect Days on Little Traverse Lake

  • 5 of 5

This was our first trip to Little Traverse Lake and the Leelanau Peninsula. Our group was composed of three families including six adults and 8 children (between 5 and 10 yrs old) from Southern Michigan and Washington D.C. In short, the week was just perfect.

The house was just as advertised on VRBO. Pictures were accurate and correctly portray the house and property. The house was clean and ready upon arrival with no issues. While we were at the listed capacity for the house, there was ample room for all of us to spread out and enjoy group or alone time. The kitchen was well appointed and had all the gear we needed for cooking. There was also a wine fridge in the mud room. Nice touch.

The lake front property was perfect for our family and the kids. There is a small and somewhat sandy beachfront followed by probably 50 feet of water that is no more than 2 feet deep. Then the bottom drops off quickly to nearly 30 feet. The water was clean, clear, and 77 degrees. There is also a little dock (quite rickety really) that did not extend to deep water. There is also a swim platform about 50 feet further offshore for swimming and diving. The bottom by the dock was sandy with a little bit of squish but not too bad. We trailered our 25' bow rider boat up to the house and put it in on Little Traverse lake about a mile from the house -- a shallow put in but no real issues there. I moored the boat on the mooring buoy at the house next to the swim platform. I used a stern anchor to keep the boat from porpoising into the wind. The lake was great for tubing, skiing, and kneeboarding. We had the lake nearly to ourselves for the entire week. We also rented two kayaks for exploring and were glad we did.

The owners were easy to work with and checked in with me a few times during the week. They were helpful and friendly.

For activities away from the lake we headed to the big dunes of Sleeping Bear south of Glen Arbor and the beach on the Big Lake (Michigan) at Good Harbor Bay (also inside Sleeping Bear Dunes). The water was cool, but still nice -- crystal clear and nearly perfectly calm for the kids. We did a few dinners out in nearby Leeland (Fishtown) and Glen Arbor. Be sure not to skip the Cherry Republic store in Glen Arbor. The kids loved the Cherry Pit spitting contest!

All in all everyone of us left Little Traverse Lake saying "Northern Michigan -- Who knew?" It was nothing short of amazing.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Chicago, IL

Review of Property 1348093

  • 5 of 5

Our family of nine, (two grandparents, three children, two sons-in-law and two grandchildren) stayed for a delightful fun-filled week. The description of the property, its location and amenities, is accurately presented. The design of the home allows for open space, excellent traffic patterns, yet concurrently offers seating for intimate conversations. The quality of construction and the selection of finishes are top of the line. It has been well maintained, consistent with the ownership's standards of expectation. The home is replete with the many personal effects throughout the house that ownership has left for guests to enjoy. We found the owner to be helpful and responsive on the few occasions we had need to contact them. We are pleased to highly recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Fantastic Lake House

  • 5 of 5

My family of seven adults and four children had a wonderful time at this house last week. The layout is perfect for large groups, with a number of living areas and well equipped bedrooms and bathrooms. The kitchen was very well stocked and had great appliances, and the patio with chairs, dining table and gas grill was very nice. The shallow, sandy lakefront was great for swimming and boat access. The owners were very pleasant to work with as well. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Mchenry, IL

Simply Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

This vacation rental exceeded our expectations and then some!! We would go back in a heartbeat! The house was plenty big enough for the 10 adults and 4 children. We never felt on top of each other and definitely had our own personal space. The house came fully loaded with all the utensils for cooking, and other amenities that a typical rental house wouldn’t have such as a towels and sheets. The house was extremely welcoming and made you feel as if you were at a special place. You could just tell that memories were made there and you will make some of your own as well. The owners went above and beyond to make sure we knew about the surrounding areas and well as checking to make sure everything was going well. After spending a week here, we were so thankful to have made our own memories and blessed to have found such a great rental.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Cherry Capitol Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Nearest Ski
35 Miles
Crystal Mountain
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Cedar House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Early Summer
May 1 2017 - May 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
July and August
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
Late Summer
Sep 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $550

Seasonal rates: May through October $750.00 a night. (7 day minimum stay in July and August.) Ski season: $650.00 a night. $600.00 the rest of the time.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Ask a Question Ask a Question

You might like these similar properties