check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Marilee

Member since: 2006
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Charming Cottage for Two Near Ocean and Lakes

5 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Somesville Cottage Rental Photos and Description

1BR/1BA, Sleeps 2

For 50 years Hawthorn Cottage has welcomed couples to historic Somesville and Acadia National Park. Hawthorn Cottage shares two beautifully landscaped acres fringed with wild blueberry bushes. The lawn is open and sunny, with gardens and shade trees near the cottage and a deck with Adirondack chairs for sunning and observing Somesville's resident eagles and ospreys. You can walk to our library, repertory theater, museum, to the ocean or Somes Pond for a swim.

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Marilee (Property Manager)
Member since: 2006
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

"A lovely peaceful spot. Coming home to a soft bed each night, having all the comforts of home and none of the hassles of camping... I LOVE Hawthorn Cottage and plan to return next year."
Jul 2015
  • 1 of 16

Reviews

4.8
based on 5 traveler reviews

Charming Cottage for Two Near Ocean and Lakes
average rating of 4.8 based on 21 reviews
5

A sweet, sweet cottage!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in charming Hawthorne Cottage. Very comfortable bed, cute, cottage decor, wonderful grounds to walk and explore. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you found Hawthorn Cottage so welcoming, especially during this glorious foliage-peaking week. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Nashville
4

Hawthorn and Juniper Cottages are the best.

  • 4 of 5

Great location, clean, and everything you need for a two-person stay. The hosts are wonderful to work with.

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. So glad you enjoyed your stay. We are continuing our explorations in Acadia right through the winter so we can make new suggestions when you return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet spot, beautiful surroundings.

  • 5 of 5

Centrally located on the island, walk to the library or to watch the bald eagle fishing for dinner, quiet nights. Sommesville allows us to sample Bar Harbor but focus our stay on the quiet side of the island with hiking and rocky shores. Perfect cottage for two and pleasant host live on the grounds.

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay. Even in winter here the sky is busy with birds and we walk down to the Library bench to watch. Happy to share with you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We stayed at Hawthorne Cottage Aug 9-15, 2014.

  • 5 of 5

A lovely, park-like surrounding, well off the road, where deer sometimes appear. It is well off the road, and within walking distance of attractions like Somesville's repertory theater, and just minutes drive from Southwest Harbor. The cottage is beautifully maintained with bouquets of flowers everywhere, and a well equipped kitchen. Homelike and comfortable, it has outdoor space for relaxing. This is a perfect spot for a couple who want quiet and proximity to the attractions of the area.

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're delighted that you have come to Hawthorn Cottage as a new guest. I enjoy preparing those little bouquets and appreciate that you noticed! We'll see you again next summer. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
springfield ma us
5

slice of heaven

  • 5 of 5

This cottage is loaded with charm, close to everything you'd want to do on the Island, and is a real home-away-from-home. We've been coming to this beautiful slice of heaven for years and will continue to come back! A little advice- book early. They have lots of return visitors!

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We've found offering our cottages so rewarding over the years, in terms of friendships made and the pleasure of sharing this beautiful island. Some of our summer guests have even ended up buying property here and become our year-round neighbors! More than glad to share our "slice".
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Bar Harbor
Nearest Beach
1 Miles

Somesville was the first village settled on Mt. Desert Island in the 18th century by Abraham Somes. It is virtually surrounded by Acadia National Park and sits at the head of Somes Sound, the only fjord on the east coast of the United States. The best thing about Somesville is its central location on the island, allowing equidistant drives to Bar Harbor's shops and restaurants, Northeast Harbor's historic summer homes and village, and the rustic charms of Southwest Harbor and the 'Quietside'. The island is alive with music, art, lobster and blueberry festivals, and friendly helpful people.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Somesville Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Sept 3 - Oct 8 2016
Sep 3 2016 - Oct 8 2016
7 night minimum stay
$800
 
 
JUNE 2017
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$800
 
 
JULY/AUG 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$900
 
 
SEPT 2017
Sep 2 2017 - Oct 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 9.0%

DEPOSIT: $400
BALANCE due 30 days prior to arrival
CANCELLATION: full refund of deposit when canceled week is re-booked. Balance is non-refundable within 30 days of arrival date if cottage is not re-booked

Please see also Juniper Cottage, property #139866; and Franklin Cottage, #285373
Add 9% Maine Lodging Tax. Deposit 400/wk; balance due one month prior to arrival.
Cancellation Policy: full refund of deposit when canceled week is re-booked. Balance is non-refundable within one month of arrival date if cottage is not re-booked

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Somesville Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Small Cooler
  • Wood Deck
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
To the side of the cottage we have a small shed for bicycles you might bring and for the charcoal and gas grills. We highly recommend the use of our wonderful Free island-wide bus system, the Island Explorer. These environmentally friendly new buses run all over the island and into the national park and you can even take your bicycles! There is a stop right by the beautiful white arched Somesville bridge, a five minute walk from our property.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties