check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Linda

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english

Lake Jocassee Mountain Lakefront Home -- Directly on Lake Jocassee!

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Salem House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 9)

EMAIL DIRECTLY or CALL 864-710-4917 FOR SPECIAL PRICING ON PARTIAL WEEKS!

Newly remodeled kitchen as of June 29, 2014!! African granite and new stainless steel appliances.

This cozy 2000 square foot cottage, is located directly on Lake Jocassee with a lovely view of the lake and the mountains. This 4BR, 3BA house sleeps 9 people comfortably without feeling crowded, and is perfect for 2 families to share! There are 2 main levels to the house. The house is furnished with unique, handcrafted mountain furniture, and a warm mountain atmosphere is what you experience when you walk through the front door. There is an extra large dock which is always on deep water, and can fit up to 3 boats. Even if you don't bring a boat, the house is located in Fisher Knob, and with the classic Grumman canoe provided with your rental, you can still easily canoe to some of the best waterfalls on the lake.

All linens are provided and for the low price of $2275/week in the summer, this is the best value on the lake! Month of July is $2400/week. Please bring your own towels.

You can either pay a cleaning fee of $150 or just clean up when you leave.

Please Email for off season pricing. 2-7 nights available off-season. Approximate off-season nightly rates are as follows: 2nights, $780. 3 nights, $900. 4 nights, $1000, etc.

Please Email for pricing over holidays and Clemson games. Generally holidays are $200 per week more. 7% tax added to all rates. Canoe is included.

People come from all over the world to experience Lake Jocassee and all it has to offer. Activities in the area include: spectacular waterfalls, kayaking, golfing, horseback riding, world class fishing, motor boating and hiking. Watch the stars at night. See deer and plenty of wildlife. If you want to get away from it all, this is the place for you!

Very quiet and serene! Seasonal snow skiing. Food, shopping, and entertainment at local restaurants can be found in the little mountain village of Cashiers, only a scenic 25 minute drive away. Canoe is provided.

Absolutely no pets allowed. Fine of $500 for any pet on premises.

This house is directly on Lake Jocassee and is located in the Fisher Knob/Badcreek area, close to the base of Whitewater Falls.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Linda (Property Manager)
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)
Lake Jocassee Mountain Lakefront Home -- Directly on Lake Jocassee!
average rating of 4.111111 based on 9 reviews
3

Dock corners, cell service, and code

  • 3 of 5

Let me start by saying I had the best week of my life with my family on the lake, but that would have been the case with any house on the lake. The pros well outweigh the cons, but s few cons are significant and worth noting. Take care when docking your boat. There is exposed angle iron on all 4 of the forward edges. A little wood would go a long way to protect the boats. Also, there are no cleats to tie off to. Second, there is no wifi....even in 2016. If you have a job like mine where you can't check out for an entire week, know you will have to travel to get a signal. The entire staircase, all 177 steps, are in need of serious attention. A member of our group is a contractor and at least half the footers are not up to code. Also, plan on taking your trash with you. That can be an issue if you have a weeks worth of garbage from 2 families. The cabin is poorly lit in key areas like the bathrooms. No biggy for me, but the ladies didn't appreciate it. Some of the furniture is rustic mountain, but much of it is just old to include the mattresses. Don't pass on a chance to spend some time at this awesome vacation spot, but the experience could be greatly enhanced if the owners would make the dock a little more safe for boats, add wifi, upgrade the mattresses, and include trash disposal in the price. A significant part of my job is being fit and the stairs are no joke, but hands down, my biggest complaint is the hazards the exposed angle iron posed to my boat every time I docked. I have a nice scar on my boat as a result from docking while a thunderstorm was blowing in.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad to hear you had the best week of your life on Lake Jocassee and it is feedback like yours that helps us make improvements to make the experience even better!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Lake House

  • 5 of 5

This is a Great Lake House! My family has visited this location twice. Once in 2004 and again this year in 2016! It is great for multiple families... Which makes it great to get the siblings together for a week or weekend gateway. Super simple, rustic and natural to its core :0) A lovely place to explore the great outdoors and gather together for dinner on the back porch while overlooking the lake! We have 3 boys-- from 3yrs to 9yrs... That loved the exploring. From playing in the sand, jumping off the dock, fishing, hiking the stairs, and canoeing to the falls-- they wore themselves slap out in great way! I will add that our visit in 2004 was in fall (for thanksgiving) and although we didn't get to enjoy the swimming our time hiking and exploring the area and surrounding areas (waterfalls, state parks, cashiers and highlands) was a blast! We spent time cozied up to the fire place and enjoying all the beauty of the fall. This year (Spring) we spent time soaking up the sun from the breathtaking view of the dock, canoeing and splashing around. So whatever season this is a great place to spend it--with friends or family of course :0)

  • Submitted: May 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for visiting. Glad you had a great time. Please come back!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5

Two years ago I rented this cabin for my baby brothers bachelor weekend. My dad, two brothers, brother in law and two friends stayed the weekend. We brought three boats, two kayaks a lot of food and maybe an adult beverage or two. We left left two trucks and all the boat trailers at the boat ramp as parking is limited at the house. It was the best weekend I have had in a long time. Awesome memories were made that will last until I pass. Before we left the family sat on the deck and took a photo that quickly became a favorite for all of us. To top the weekend off, my baby brother caught a big bass that he brought home and had mounted. So, whenever some asks about that fish, he has an awesome story to tell! I liked the lake and cabin so much that I came back today to see about renting it again! Be warned, the steps arent for the weak. No complaints at all!

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind review. We are glad you had a great time and we love to have people return!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5

The house was beautiful and very comfy. The steps were challenging being that I had to carry my 2 year old the entire time. The soft spots in a few steps and the lack of railing concerned me. I had a huge case of tram envy after realizing all of the other homes in the cove had a tram system and we were the only ones "roughing it!" The motivational signs did make me giggle! I was not pleased with the trash rule, especially since we didn't learn of it until our arrival. All trash must be removed or you pay $ 75-$100 fine, depending on which notice you read. The closest trash facilities were 30 mins away either direction. The one we chose to utilize due to the direction of our travels ended up being closed on the day of our departure. We were not happy!! A trash service should be included due to the check out time and the trash facility locations. Otherwise, this was the most relaxing vacation I have ever taken!

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed the house and had the most relaxing vacation ever!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
Florida
5

Had a great time and wanted to stay longer!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time during our recent stay here. The house was comfortable, the kitchen well equipped, and the price was reasonable. We enjoyed the beautiful view of the lake from the porch, and we had absolutely no problem with the steps. Also, there are no steps from your car to the house, so it was easy to load and unload all the stuff we brought. We love the location of the house because there are 2 really great waterfalls that are about a 30 minute paddle away by canoe, and the house is only a 25 minute drive to Cashiers. This is a very healing place. The house has a relaxing mountain feel with all the handcrafted mountain furniture, and you just feel great after being here. We've stayed here several times and will continue coming back!

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and we are glad you had a great time at Lake Jocassee. We appreciate you visiting us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Raleigh, NC
3

Great Lake - Repairs Needed!

  • 3 of 5

Let me start by saying that we had a wonderful family vacation. The cabin was rustic and the stairs were just as described. The lake was beautiful and my family had a great time discovering all of the waterfalls. My only negative is the stairs and the dock are in extremely poor condition. I would not stay at this property until they were all replaced, many were cracked and rotting. My son was walking on the dock and a board broke, luckily he was not injured. I contacted the number provided, NO ONE has even acknowledged my phone call. I also left a note regarding the situation when we left. Again, no response.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad that you had a great family vacation at the house! We are one of the closest houses to the best waterfalls on the lake, and that is the main reason people come to Jocassee --- to discover the beautiful waterfalls. The house is managed by a professional management company. After each vacationer, the property, including the steps and the dock, is inspected by a maintenace person. Maintenance people are also available for emergency repairs during your stay. Although we never received your call about your son breaking the step, the step was fixed anyway because the maintenace person discovered the broken board during his walkthrough that is always done after every vacationer leaves. It is important to us that everyone has a fun and safe time during their stay, and we make every effort we can to ensure that. We appreciate when someone lets us know when there is a problem with something, so that we can promply take care of it.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 3

Map

For 2015, we are including linens, but we are asking people to bring their own towels!!

Steps from house to the water.

Not suitable for small children, elderly or infirmed.

$500 fine for any pet brought on the premises or smoking inside the house.

To reserve the house, we require half the rental amount. 30 days prior to your arrival, the remaining half of the rental amount is due along with a separate check of $250 for the damage deposit.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Salem House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer2
Jul 31 2016 - Sep 3 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,275
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$370
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 7.0%

Linens included in the price. Please bring your own towels.
You can either pay a cleaning fee of $150 or just clean up when you leave.
Please Email for off season pricing. 2-7 nights available off-season. Approximate off-season nightly rates are as follows: 2nights, $780. 3 nights, $900. 4 nights, $1000, etc.
Please Email for pricing over holidays and Clemson games. Generally holidays are $200 per week more.
Canoe included.
Absolutely no pets allowed. Fine of $500 for any pet on premises.

Half of the rental amount and tax is required to reserve the house. The remaining half of the rental amount and $250 damage deposit is due 30 days prior to your arrival. If you want to use Paypal, we charge an extra 3%.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Salem House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (3)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • shopping
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • swimming
Notes:
Please be aware, this is a mountain home and there are steps from the house to the water. This property is not suitable for small children, the elderly or infirmed. $500 fine for any pet brought on the premises or smoking inside the house. To reserve the house, we require half the rental amount. 30 days prior to arrival we require the remaining half along with a damage deposit of $250. 7% tax added to rental amount.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties