Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Summer Getaway Close to Beaches, Shopping!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,200 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

- 3 BR, 2 BA, sleeps 6

This year-round house is perched on four acres of privacy, offering a breathtaking water view of the Kennebec. This vacation retreat is minutes to the quaint city of Bath, home of the Maine Maritime Museum and historic downtown boasting several fine restaurants and great shopping! Bath is also home to the Bath Iron Works (BIW), where you can view advanced naval ships being designed and built in the Harbor. Just minutes to Fort Popham, Reid State Park, and Popham Beach State Park. Popham Beach State Park is one of the finest and longest sandy beaches in Maine. 35 minutes from Freeport, LL Bean and the Outlet Stores. Outdoor activities abound including fishing, golfing, bird watching, biking, and nature trails. Take a ride north to Boothbay and enjoy a day whale watching. Complete your day with a lobster meal in town or purchase local fresh lobsters to take home.


Owner
Jonathan & Michelle Helitzer
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, german
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 15, 2018

Amenities

West Bath House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • River
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Opens onto deck
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

44% Complete
22% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
22% Complete
Summer Getaway Close to Beaches, Shopping!
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 9 reviews
Sierra Vista .Az.
1

Seek accomodations elsewhere!

  • 1 of 5

I would advise fellow Maine tourists to seek accomodations elsewhere.The first night there was no electricity in the downstairs bathroom.That got corrected after an electrician visit.

The master bedroom had a broken bed-there was dirt and clutter behind the bed-a fan clogged with dirt and gunk and the door handle on the sliding glass door was broken and mended with duct

tape. We found 3 clothes hangers in the entire house .Also one washcloth, handtowel and bath towel per person -all rather raggedy and old. There were one set of sheets per bed. The linen closet had blankets and beach towels piled on the floor.Downstairs in the great room, we found mouse droppings on the

counter and in drawers. One drawer had a mouse nest made up of chewed paper napkins.We bought mouse traps and caught one nice fat mouse.

The carpet on the stairway was stained and dirty and smelly.

There were no towel bars in the upstairs bath.

The downstairs bath had a toilet running almost constantly-using up the water in the pressure tank. We were gone for several days and noticed it upon our return. We e -mailed the owner and he did send a plumber replace the toilet "innards".

One of the mattress pads on the twin beds (Mine!) was old and raggedy and should have been thrown out, as was the rug in the downtstairs bathroom.

One on the great room windows would not open. The electric can-opener did not work.

We left a week early-we had "Had It" and sought refuge in a motel in Portland.

We asked for a card table and the owners provided a nice new one.

There is only one sofa on the great room and no easy chairs. We found 2 fold -up beach chairs and used them to sit on.

All told it was an unsatisfactory rental .It was my fourth VRBO rental-the first 3 had been wonderful.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great location, Needs Care

  • 3 of 5

Our initial impression was that the home really needed some care. I wiped off as many surfaces as I could before the rest of my family arrived. To be honest, it was embarrassing to have to clean at the start of our stay. I was not expecting that. I agree with another guest's comment that if the house was cared for, it would demand more respect from guests and would be overall in better shape. We did enjoy our stay in Bath...especially the maritime museum and beach and the size of the house and quiet suited us well. Nice decks and well stocked kitchen too.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're sorry you were disappointed in your stay. We do not charge a customary cleaning fee of up to $250 in order to keep costs down and rely on our guests to clean up after themselves. From your feedback, we will re-evaluate our cleaning fee stance and add that to our rental prices in order to cover the costs for professional cleaning between guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful setting with privacy. Very nice front and rear deck area. Quick ride into downtown Bath .

  • 5 of 5

We just arrived home from an eight day stay at the property for our daughters wedding in Bath and a week long vacation with our youngest daughter and her family. The home was exactly what we needed for a great stay. Johnathan and Michelle had everything there you could possibly need for a vacation get away. Two of the three bedrooms had ceiling fans as well as the kitchen and living room areas. Possibly bring a box fan for the third bedroom if you like. Overall, we loved it and will be returning again for a Maine vacation. Reasonable cost and short rides to Reid State Park beach and Popham Beach.

Richard and Tammy Bohr Sr

(Pennsylvania)

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

very nice cottage

  • 4 of 5

enjoyed our trip Maine is absolutely beautiful needed more time though. We will definitely be back. The house was just what we needed. julie

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2012
  • Stayed: July 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston, Texas
4

Vacation Getaway

  • 4 of 5

This will be our third time staying at this place, and we are looking forward to it!

One of the many features we like about this property, is its proximity to so much; ie, lovely Popham Beach, quaint Bath, wonderful museums nearby, Brunswick, Reid State Park and oh, so much more!

The kitchen area makes it so easy to cook and enjoy wonderful meals! Another great feature we love are the views from all the rooms and having coffee in the mornings in the master suite deck is a great way to start the day.

Owners are most accommodating! Would recommend this property any time.

Elsa

Elsa & Tony

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2010
  • Stayed: June 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Tariffville, CT
5

Perfect Family Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We spent Labor day Weekend at this home and found it ideal for our family. The beds were very comfortable and the place was perfectly clean. The house is family friendly with simple, tasteful contemporary decor. The best part of the home was its location, close enough to the beach and town, but far enough to avoid all the noise of vacationers and tourists. The kitchen was nice (lots of counter space) with a large fridge and had a good sized table to eat around. The kitchen opened up to the living room and included a beautiful vaulted celings and a large leather sofa. A big plus was the stunning expansive view from the large bay window (in the living room) and bay doors leading to the master suite deck down the mountain which includes a gorgeous morning sunrise that illuminated the river below. The deck on the front of the home was a great place to relax with the kids while hubby grilled burgers and dogs. Overall the house felt comfortable and inviting; allowing us to settle in and have some much needed family time. Thank you for having us, we hope to stay again soon.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2009
  • Stayed: September 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Portland International
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Route 1 in Bath
Car: recommended

All sorts of activities are close by including antiquing, tennis, mountain biking, fishing, golf, surfing, swimming, beachcombing, bird watching, and sight seeing.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $250 + Tax

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties