check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Private Beach Lakehouse on Lake Champlain

11 Reviews
Bedrooms 6
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights


Malletts Bay House Rental Photos and Description

6 Bedrooms, 4 full bathrooms, + W/D, 3,900 square feet

Cedar side, two-story, post & beam, lakefront summer house overlooking quiet cove in Mallets Bay (Lake Champlain). Total privacy in deep woods, miles from civilization. Tennis & private beach in secluded cove with dock. Enjoy Vermont the way it was 200 years ago or go out for a night on the town. Downtown Burlington is just 20 minutes away...or visit Montreal (90 minutes). The house has a completely modern granite/stainless kitchen open to 25' vaulted great room opens seamlessly to a 300 SF screen porch with terrific breezes. Dueling master bedrooms (2), each with French doors open onto 60' X 20' Brazilian wood sun decks. Clawfoot slipper tub. Enclosed shower room. Great for families, completely safe and natural. Easily accessible from NY or New England. BTV International Air is a 50 minute flight from NYC (Jet Blue).

Tennis Courts: A community hardcourt tennis court is available for your enjoyment. We supply a few rackets and

Waterfront: Perfect for swimming, kayaks, paddle boards, and day sailing. Fishing is also very good. Nearby power boat rentals located approximately 20 mins away. Swimming is accessible directly from the house and the water is very warm and clean in the summer months.

Other Amenities: Open air hot tub overlooking the water. Wood-burning cast-iron stove in living room is great to heat up a cold night. Full swing-away Nano-wall doors completely open the outer screened deck to the living room and kitchen creating a monstrous Great Room that truly lives up to its name and cools off the entire house. Outdoor hot tub overlooks the lake.

We keep this listing as up to date as possible, but please note that details about the house and the landscape are subject to change at any time. Likewise, photos are illustrative and although amenities remain constant, the house may not look exactly as depicted as items are often upgraded, replaced, etc.

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Property Manager
Rachel Pilcher
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 5, 2016

About Rachel Pilcher

John & Rachel Pilcher with their sons Lewis and Ryan own the house with John's brother Brian Pilcher and his wife Becky and their three children Eli, Finlay, and Natalie Pilcher. Together they built this house on their grandfather's favorite lot known as 'Pebble Beach'.

Both John and Brian are originally from Los Angeles California but spent many summers at Braeloch. Most of the houses at Braeloch remain in family hands as the more than 500 acres had been passed down from their great great grandfather George Dick Finlay who bought Braeloch when he immigrated to VT from Glasgow, Scotland.

Rachel Pilcher purchased this house in 1895

What makes this house unique

Natural beauty, far away from everything yet close enough to enjoy one of the great small college cities around. The best of the old and the new.


based on 11 traveler reviews

Private Beach Lakehouse on Lake Champlain
average rating of 4.181818 based on 11 reviews

Beautiful property in need of significant maintenance and cleaning

  • 2 of 5

Overall, we were disappointed in this rental unit. To summarize, this property has 5-star potential, but 1-star maintenance and ownership attention to detail. The unit is on a beautiful lakeside property, and the home is large and spacious. Cell coverage for Verizon and AT&T was excellent. Internet and TV were functional. However, there were several disappointments. First, for unclear reasons the address in the arrival packet is wrong - the listed address is actually the home next door - this led to some confusion on arrival. The unit was of marginal cleanliness that was not enough to contact the owners - floors were a little dirty, particularly in the closets, furniture was worn and stained in places, the kitchen utensils weren’t uniformly cleaned, and the outdoor grill was absolutely filthy. The home was somewhat dimly lit, which was further compounded by the fact that several light bulbs were out - including the entire fixture in one of the master bedrooms and the attached closet. I contacted the owner, who stated that it was the fault of prior renters, and unfortunately the housekeeper was on vacation, and that they had placed a lamp in the bedroom to compensate (note - the small bedside lamp didn’t illuminate the room particularly well). The propane tank was nearly empty, and the spare tank was completely empty. I was told this was because it was “late in the season” and instructed to fill myself when it ran out and the owner would reimburse. The kitchen was in the greatest need of maintenance - the dishwasher door was bent and had to be pushed sideways to properly close, many drawer knobs were missing, and the utensils and cookware were of generally low quality, not organized (ie., spread over many drawers and cabinets) and variably clean. We’ve stayed in many VRBO units across the US and this unit unfortunately was one of our bigger disappointments.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Off the beaten path spacious piece of serenity.

  • 5 of 5

This is a very roomy home nestled between rock on either side. Plenty of parking, if your looking for peace and quite this is it. The geese flying over at midnight were the only sounds I heard. Every year for the past ten my family and I rent a home on Lake Champlain. This one has been the nicest. Kids are welcome here by the looks of the closets full of toys.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Slice of heaven!

  • 5 of 5

I could have stayed here for ever! My extended family visited from England to celebrate my 50th birthday. They loved the house, but were ecstatic about having a lake for a backyard. Our group totaled fourteen, but the house never seemed overcrowded.

We did send some suggested improvements and repairs to the owners, but nothing that should stop anyone from making a reservation.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Haddonfield, NJ

Beautiful house...marginal maintenance

  • 2 of 5

Short Version: This is an amazingly located house that is in desperate need of a thorough cleaning.

Long Version: We visited the Lake House at Braeloch for one week with six adults (ages 27-60) and four children (ages 16 mos.-5 years). PROS: When we arrived, the first and most obvious thing is that the property is BEAUTIFUL. It is right on a cove off Malletts Bay with a beautiful view and amazing grounds. There is a nice pebble/rocky beach to play on and a dock. In terms of layout, the house is perfect for a family vacation. The house is child-friendly, with great toys and games for the kids to play as well as child-size PFDs. The house is also great for any older vacationers, as the driveway goes right to the first floor, which has bedrooms, the main kitchen, and a deck (screened in) leading to two porches replete with seating options. We were provided with a kayak and canoe. Also, we they have DIRECTV, a beautiful downstairs seating area, and a beautiful 8 person table for meals. The house is secluded, yet convenient to all that NW Vermont has to offer--Lake Champlain, Burlington, Shelburne, Vermont Teddy Bear Co. CONS: Saying the house was filthy would be an understatement. There was a visible layer of dust and pollen on all surfaces when we walked through the door. The bathrooms had not been cleaned, beds had obviously been slept in, and the windowsills were home to several dead insects. Lastly, there was a dead mouse sitting in the doorway by the children's room and he was not recently deceased. The walls need cleaning, the porch needs a good scrub, and the downstairs shower is not properly ventilated (even with the fan), leaving it feeling dank after use. Also, when we arrived the refrigerator did not work because the coils had frozen over. Owners were contacted during the stay regarding the cleanliness. I hope this is not a recurring issue because it is such an amazing space.

NOTE: There are two dining tables in the pictures, one inside and one outside. When we arrived, there was only one table and it was outside.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you enjoyed your stay at our home, but to say we are disappointed that you experienced a less than clean house when you arrived would be an understatement. We had just hired a new housekeeper for the season and they clearly did not meet our expectations. We're so sorry that you had to experience that. Please know that the issue has been resolved and we have had no further complaints about cleanliness since then.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Lake beautiful, house poorly maintained

  • 3 of 5

Lake was beautiful, however house appears to be neglected. Very dark in house with burnt out lights, a shortage of hangers, and we had to buy our own toaster. Appliances need to be replaced.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Steve, So sorry to read about your issues with our house. I wish you had voiced them directly to us while you were there so we could have addressed them in real time. In any case we welcome you to voice all of your concerns and, in fact, we replaced our property manager independent of this response but for reasons that are not unrelated. In addition, we took the house off of the market in 2015 to address much broader issues there but specifically to do a lot of work to it and the grounds. As a consequence, I can assure you the house is now in tip top shape with wooden hangers, functioning light bulbs, and top of the line appliances.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A great place to spend a week away

  • 5 of 5

We loved our experience at Brae Loch. The house had everything we needed to relax and keep the kids entertained. Some of the most comfortable beds of any rental we had. Also very welcoming of our dog. The spot is beautiful and secluded and yet not so remote that you feel isolated.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Burlington Intl VT (BTV)
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Plattsburgh NY to Grand Isle
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Essex Junction (Amtrak)
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Exit 17 at I-89
Car: recommended

The house is located in Northern Vermont, 15 miles north of Burlington VT, 5 miles off of Interstate 89 via exit 17. It can be reached by driving 2 miles on a state road that connects Grand Isle to the mainland, then turning left on a residential road 'Clay Point' for 3/4 mile. That is followed by 3 miles on a private dirt road until you reach Braeloch. Braeloch was an old 500 acre farm run by my great great grandfather who immigrated from Scotland. The house is nestled in a valley flanked by small stone cliffs and set back 100 feet from the lakefront. It gets great afternoon and morning sun. The lot has been known as Pebble Beach for the small rounded pebbles that adorn the 150 feet of beachfront. Behind the house and over a small rounded hill, away from the water, lies a 10 acre open meadow with a small island of trees and Braelochs' hardcourt tennis court which is owned by a handful of houses at Braeloch. The quiet cove is very calm and great for swimming.


Rates & Availability

Malletts Bay House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Off-Season 2016
Sep 10 2016 - May 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
Summer 2017
May 20 2017 - Sep 15 2017
7 night minimum stay
Off-Season 2017
Sep 16 2017 - May 18 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $200 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $99
Tax Rate 10.0%

Thanksgiving and Christmas are available but minimum stay is 5 days and pricing may be adjusted slightly higher per night. Discount applied for more than minimum stay.

Once you make your final payment we email you or call you with a door code that opens a lockbox with a key to the front door. The house will be in perfect condition with all beds made and clean dishes, etc. The fridge is empty however and you should plan to shop on your way up.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Malletts Bay House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Senior Master
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Junior Master
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Common
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , Downstairs Master
  • The senior master bathroom includes a built-in tub and shower with a curtain, a Kohler pedestal sink and matching toilet. There is also a fully stocked linen closet. The floors are bamboo and there is a small window. The junior master bathroom includes a cast-iron claw foot slipper tub with an excellent over sized shower. In addition there is a large well-stocked linen closet and a walnut and marble bathroom cabinet with brass sink. The floors are made of hardwood bamboo. The common bathroom is in the hallway just off of the Great Room and includes a stand up shower enclosure, a pedestal sink and matching white toilet. The downstairs bathroom includes an enclosed marble tiled shower room.
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master1
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Master2
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , Guest
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Guest - Office
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , Bunk Bed - Kids
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Large Queen Downstairs
  • All new furniture. Both master bedrooms are of the same dimensions and layout. The Master bedroom includes a large dresser and has access to the private bathroom. Both rooms include a nightstand and ceiling fan with remote control. Both have large French doors that open directly onto opposite sides of the 60 foot wide sunny-portion of the deck which gets fantastic morning sun. There is a large, oversized closet in both and the junior master bath opens directly to the bedroom. Both the guest room and the convertible office are identical in size. The guest room includes a full sized bed, dresser, nightstand and a large double-door closet. The convertible office has a queen sized futon that is brand new and a table, desk, and chair with lamp. There is also a small closet in the convertible office. In addition, the front screened in porch includes a queen sized futon that is superb for sleeping on when the weather is warm because of the forest sounds and wonderful breezes.
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Games
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Raft
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis
  • Tennis Court
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • forests
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties