Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Private Beach Lakehouse on Lake Champlain

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Space 3,900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

6 Bedrooms, 4 full bathrooms, Hot Tub, Tennis w 3,900 square feet

Cedar side, two-story, post & beam, lakefront year round house with 6 zone central heat overlooking private cove in Mallets Bay (Lake Champlain). Visit our information website (http://pilche7.wixsite.com/braeloch) to learn more. Total privacy in deep ancient forest, miles from civilization. Tennis & private beach in secluded cove with dock. Enjoy Vermont the way it was 200 years ago or go out for a night on the town. Downtown Burlington is just 20 minutes away...or visit Montreal (90 minutes). The house has a completely modern granite/stainless kitchen open to 25' vaulted great room opens seamlessly to a 300 SF screen porch with terrific breezes. Dueling master bedrooms (2), each with French doors open onto 60' X 20' Brazilian wood sun decks. Clawfoot slipper tub, enclosed shower room, outdoor hot tub, huge entertainment room, and many extras. Great for families, completely safe and natural. Easily accessible from NY or New England. BTV International Air is a 50 minute flight from NYC (Jet Blue).

Tennis Courts: A community hardcourt tennis court is available for your enjoyment. We supply a few rackets and balls but bring your own just in case.

Waterfront: Perfect for swimming, kayaks, paddle boards, and day sailing. Fishing is also very good. Nearby power boat rentals located approximately 20 mins away. Swimming is accessible directly from the house and the water is very warm and clean in the summer months. We provide a canoe and at least one kayak with loads of beach chairs and water floats.

Other Amenities: Open air hot tub overlooking the water. Wood-burning cast-iron stove in living room is great to heat up a cold night. Full swing-away Nano-wall doors completely open the outer screened deck to the living room and kitchen creating a monstrous Great Room that truly lives up to its name and cools off the entire house.

We keep this listing as up to date as possible, but please note that details about the house and the landscape are subject to change at any time. Likewise, photos are illustrative and although amenities remain constant, the house may not look exactly as depicted as items are often upgraded, replaced, etc. Contact John Pilcher if you need any assistance.

More Details

Property Manager
John Walker
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 19, 2017

About John Walker

John and Rachel with their sons Lewis and Ryan own the house with John's brother Brian and his wife Becky and their three children Eli, Finlay, and Natalie. Together they built this house on their grandfather's favorite lot known as 'Pebble Beach'.

Both John and Brian are originally from Los Angeles California but spent many summers at Braeloch. Most of the houses at Braeloch remain in family hands as the more than 500 acres had been passed down from their great great grandfather George Dick Finlay who bought Braeloch when he immigrated to VT from Glasgow, Scotland.

John Walker purchased this house in 1895

Why John Walker chose Malletts Bay

Perfect for two families who want a house big enough to handle kids and dogs. The place is totally safe, free from any traffic on a closed road and completely private. It is ideal for those who want to reconnect to nature and treat their kids to an unplugged vacation.

What makes this house unique

Natural beauty, far away from everything yet close enough to enjoy one of the great small college cities around. The best of the old and the new.

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Burlington Intl VT (BTV)
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Plattsburgh NY to Grand Isle
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Essex Junction (Amtrak)
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Exit 17 at I-89
Car: recommended

The house is located in Northern Vermont, 15 miles north of Burlington VT, 5 miles off of Interstate 89 via exit 17. It can be reached by driving 2 miles on a state road that connects Grand Isle to the mainland, then turning left on a residential road 'Clay Point' for 3/4 mile. That is followed by 3 miles on a private dirt road until you reach Braeloch. Braeloch was an old 500 acre farm run by my great great grandfather who immigrated from Scotland. The house is nestled in a valley flanked by small stone cliffs and set back 100 feet from the lakefront. It gets great afternoon and morning sun. The lot has been known as Pebble Beach for the small rounded pebbles that adorn the 150 feet of beachfront. Behind the house and over a small rounded hill, away from the water, lies a 10 acre open meadow with a small island of trees and Braelochs' hardcourt tennis court which is owned by a handful of houses at Braeloch. The quiet cove is very calm and great for swimming.

Amenities

Malletts Bay House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 3900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 4 ...
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • No food or drinks anywhere near the hot tub. Period. We test it each week and will bill you $500 if we have to empty/clean it.
  • Dogs are welcome but not on the furniture. Ever. Screen replacement is $100 per panel.
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Senior Master
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Junior Master
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Common
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , Downstairs Master
  • The senior master bathroom includes a built-in tub and shower with a curtain, a Kohler pedestal sink and matching toilet. There is also a fully stocked linen closet. The floors are bamboo and there is a small window. The junior master bathroom includes a cast-iron claw foot slipper tub with an excellent over sized shower. In addition there is a large well-stocked linen closet and a walnut and marble bathroom cabinet with brass sink. The floors are made of hardwood bamboo. The common bathroom is in the hallway just off of the Great Room and includes a stand up shower enclosure, a pedestal sink and matching white toilet. The downstairs bathroom includes an enclosed marble tiled shower room.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master1
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Master2
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , Guest
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Guest - Office
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , Bunk Bed - Kids
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Large Queen Downstairs
  • All new furniture. Both master bedrooms are of the same dimensions and layout. The Master bedroom includes a large dresser and has access to the private bathroom. Both rooms include a nightstand and ceiling fan with remote control. Both have large French doors that open directly onto opposite sides of the 60 foot wide sunny-portion of the deck which gets fantastic morning sun. There is a large, oversized closet in both and the junior master bath opens directly to the bedroom. Both the guest room and the convertible office are identical in size. The guest room includes a full sized bed, dresser, nightstand and a large double-door closet. The convertible office has a queen sized futon that is brand new and a table, desk, and chair with lamp. There is also a small closet in the convertible office. In addition, the front screened in porch includes a queen sized futon that is superb for sleeping on when the weather is warm because of the forest sounds and wonderful breezes.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Raft
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • forests
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

63% Complete
15% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
Private Beach Lakehouse on Lake Champlain
average rating of 4.3157897 based on 19 reviews
5

Ridiculously Gorgeous House Located on a Ridiculously Gorgeous Beach

  • 5 of 5

Friends, readers, fellow travelers - I believe in being upfront and to-the-point: stay at this house. Book the place out for a long weekend, bring your family and friends, have them bring THEIR family and friends, and blissfully lose yourself in the absolute serenity of the location. It's 100% worth it.

First, the house itself is freakin' sweet. I'd gladly pay just to stay in the screened-in porch area, and the open living/dining room combo is excellent. The wood burning stove was a nightly thing for us. All of the rooms were in tip-top shape, and the suites were particularly impressive. The downstairs living room is huge and very comfortable, deep couches. We did have a bit of an issue with the coffee maker (might be time for a new one), but the kitchen itself was well stocked and organized - we easily grilled/cooked most nights, and that was for 9 people. The outdoor deck is a thing of beauty.

The house is situated on a perfect piece of land. Complete seclusion, except for the occasional boat or jet ski moving out on the lake in front of you. You want utter privacy and a complete detachment from the trials/tribulations of your daily life? Head down to the "pebble" beach, sit on one of the logs or bring a chair, crack open a beer (canned, of course), and literally sit in solitude. Total peace.

I think it's important to remember that a rental like this isn't a hotel room - you're not paying for that experience. What's clear about this place is that the owners care about the ambiance and look, the design, the way it makes you feel. It's a home you're staying in, not a cookie-cutter motel chain - some of the more negative reviewers seem to have forgotten that. This house has everything you need to turn a great vacation into something really memorable. I say without reservation that I'd rent here again.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: [Speechless]. [Big pause] Thank you!!! So happy you had a great weekend. Knowing that friends and families, like you and yours, are making memories at Braeloch and at our house this thrills us beyond words. The house and the place was built to create such memories but sadly much of our family has either passed away or grown apart. So when we read a review like this about a group of friends who had a truly remarkable time there and experienced it the way we always had hoped to it makes us particularly happy. Thank you again for sharing (and for using canned beer on the beach!! Ha!) ;{)}
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing house for a family and friend get together!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this lovely house with family and close friends for my 30th birthday party, and it did not disappoint! It left a very nice impression the moment we walked inside the house. The kitchen and main hang out area connected to the front door and porch, with the tall ceilings, give off an inviting and communal atmosphere great for a get together, and the wooden interior exudes a lovely wood smell throughout the house. The house has a very "Vermont" and rustic feel to it. The rooms are big and comfortable, the master bedrooms have very nice walk-in closets, there is plenty of space for seating and hanging out, the kitchen is fully equipped (we were able to cook for our party there with no problems), they even provided k-cups for the coffee machine which was a bonus. The amenities are also great- the hot tub was a lot of fun for everyone and we took advantage of the canoe and small sail boat there. We also used the grill, and there were no problems with not having enough propane. The house was very clean, well cared for, and all that we could have asked for. This is a great house for having a family or friend (or both) reunion or get together. The location is very pretty and peaceful, and the lake there is very pretty. There is really nothing we could complain about, other than that next time we would want to stay longer!! John the owner and his wife Rachel were really helpful and responsive to any questions I had throughout the booking process.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So sweet! Thanks to you and your family.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great week at Braeloch!

  • 5 of 5

With a significant improvement in the weather to sunny and in the 80's made the week at the cottage superb. We took advantage of all the offerings of the house and location. Paddle boards were a big hit and had some good canoe trips out to the mouth of the bay and over to the marina. Biked - hit the tennis courts and getting into the water was a bit more welcoming at the temperatures increased. The house was well cleaned well and the cleaning folks gave us a tour of the house and instructions on the use of the hot tub and pointed out where everything was (lifejackets/games for the kids, etc.). Nice to have everything provided (sheets, towels, paper goods, etc.) will know on the next trip not to bring back-up supplies. Location was great for off-site activities - high on our list were in Burlington Farmers Market, Oyster happy hour at Hen of the Woods, sunset drinks at Splash, Von Trapp brew pub, dinner at Radio Bean. On the islands frequented Wally's almost daily which was great for bagels (and some store baked "temptations") and breakfast sandwiches and a big hit for lunch, Also good dinner at Blue Paddle and drinks in the chairs overlooking the water in North Hero at Shore Acres. For dining at the house the dining table on the porch overlooking the water was a big hit and perfect for entertaining. All in all the house was set up well for multiple families. Can't wait to return!

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the great feedback! So glad you had a wonderful time and, boy, did you get amazing weather (jealous!).
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect lakehouse

  • 5 of 5

Lovely property in a very secluded lakefront setting

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We enjoyed having you and you left the house in great shape. See you next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Privacy at its best!

  • 4 of 5

Loved the house and privacy and would probably stay there again. We brought our boat and found it convenient to launch near by and finding the house was not a problem. The beds were very comfortable and the linens on them were of good quality. We did not have a problem running out of towels and they too were good quality. Fishing was great, along with swimming and the hot tub was also enjoyable. The large screened in porch was a pleasure to eat in and play board games especially in the evening when the misquotes were out.

There were plenty of paper towels and toilet paper for our needs. Bathrooms were clean!

How ever, We did have a few issues, the first was the cable was not working and it took the owner a few days to get it going since it was a holiday weekend, thankfully "I" was not there to watch TV, but after that repair the internet was a problem. I survived! What did bother me was once we arrived and settled in I had to dry up a few spots from leaky coolers when unpacking. I was surprised I found the floor to be very dirty, as if it was not cleaned in awhile, the screens on the windows were also pretty dirty, as if they were not ready for the summer season yet ( I rented the first week of July)

The kitchen was not furnished properly, I need to run out and purchase a few serving utensils along with a few corningware dishes, (Naturally I did take what I purchased home) Dishes and eating utensils were of good quality.. I must say we all survived and had a great, great time! Hope to be back again soon.

Only advise for the homeowner is maybe an additional freezer/Refrigerator for ice. We needed to run out a few times.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for great review Mary Beth. Yes our lawn people ran over the Directv cord on the 3rd of July yet we had it fixed by noon on the 5th if you remember! I didn't know about the Internet but will check on that. Haven't had any other complaints. HOWEVER the floors comment is a real issue we take seriously - VERY upset - and we have since doubled our cleaners and re-trained them. I think we should be done with that issue as with the screens but stay tuned and please continue to give us feedback. Thanks again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Williston
3

Great house but dirty

  • 3 of 5

This home is a really awesome place for multiple families. The location is also fabulous. I was extremely disappointed in how dirty the house was and that the hot tub was broken. I had looked forward to using the hot tub! The floors in the house were so dirty! The screens in the beautiful screened in porch were filthy too. It really was unfortunate especially since we had little kids with us.

The positives were that the open concept was great for entertaining, the home itself was beautiful, and they had toys, cards, boats, and paddle boards. If they spent a little more time on this property, it could be the perfect place for families. However, for the price we paid for the week, I expected it to be clean and the amenities to be as described.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: While we appreciate all reviews, this one is neither accurate nor representative of the house as it was left for this guest. The floors were immaculately clean, they were mopped, as they always are, within an hour of check-in; I inspected them personally. They are however wide-board pine and as soft woods are prone to do they absorb scratches and wear particularly in high traffic areas. Pretty sure that is what is going on here. The pollen on the screens is a constant fight and we fight it but nature always wins. We do a GREAT job on them but if you could see what she is referring to it is laughable; however "no" they are not glass, they are screens. The hot tub did suffer a necessary repair and was out of action for a few days as I stated when you arrived and apologized profusely for it. That said, you have every right to have the house in a clean condition and for that I apologize. I will take your comments to our housecleaners and we will double and triple down. It is a constant effort but we will get there. Apologies again for your dissatisfaction but we do appreciate your feedback and will use it to better everyone else's future stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Property Damage Protection $79
Pet Fee $150
Cleaning $300
Tax Rate 10.0%

Homeaway includes a fee to you directly and I cannot do anything about that however if you would prefer to book with a check you may do so by contacting John Pilcher directly. Thank you.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.