check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Absolutely Oceanfront, Country Simple Home. Air-Conditioned Bed Rooms

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
3 - 5 nights

Description

Hauula House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 2 Full Bathrooms, Sleeps 6 people

Hale Makani Kai, 'Home of the Gentle Ocean Breeze', is located 45 minutes from the airport, away from the busy city of Honolulu. This comfortable upstairs rural home offers you the simplicity of island living. Surrounded by the crystal blue Pacific Ocean and the majestic Ko'olau Mountains, the tranquility removes you from the busy world that will seem far away. In the morning, enjoy the ocean sunrise from the deck. The gentle ocean breeze and the rhythm of the dancing waves will renew your spirit. This home is managed by ourselves, local folks that live on the island. At Hale Makani Kai, we are available to introduce you to our unique island lifestyle. We are committed to sharing the true meaning of Aloha with you so that your Hawaiian vacation will be an unforgettable experience!

Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 5, 2016
Call Manager

About The Owner

I am an owner manager and have lived on the island for over 40 years. Providing personal care to my guests to make sure they have a memorable Hawaiian vacation is my top priority. My two grown children grew up, spending their childhood experience along the ocean at the back yard of this property.

The Owner purchased this house in 1987

Why The Owner chose North Shore Oahu

We are right on the ocean, nothing between the property and the water. There is a reef two hundred yards away, creating a safe spot for swimming & snorkeling. Turtles are seen swimming at the backyard. The mountains in this area are especially lush. My children grew up in this home, thus it means a lot to us. My wish is to extend the aloha to all of my guests who stay at Hale Makani Kai so that their vacation will be full.

Guestbook comments from the manager

The weather was great, the hike was wonderful. Best of all was your hospitality.

Thanks for everything. Mahalo.



Aloha, I had a really fun time. Wish to come back soon!! Best wishes to all of

you! Thank you. Loved it! From Shea
Feb 2006
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(88 traveler reviews)

Absolutely Oceanfront, Country Simple Home. Air-Conditioned Bed Rooms
average rating of 4.8295455 based on 89 reviews
Austin, Texas
5

Beautiful Hawaiian Getaway

  • 5 of 5

The house was truly cozy and comfortable! Tish was waiting for us as soon as we got there (even though we had missed one of our flights due to a delay on a previous connection). She is so warm and friendly! My friends and I could not have asked for a warmer welcoming even though we were exhausted!

The house was spotless and exactly as the photos indicated. The artwork inside the house is beautiful and all by the owners! The house was easy to locate and in a friendly area. It has easy access to all the home amenities but with breathtaking views of Hawaii. You get to see the breathtaking sunrise off over the ocean of the deck each morning and when you go done to your car you see the mountains.

Tish is available for any advice or questions that you may have. She has wonderful advice for food and shopping there on the North Shore. The house has easy access to the beaches, Polynesian Cultural Center and Dole Plantation to name a few. Bus service is close to the house if you would rather take the bus instead of driving.

I would highly recommend this house and the owners for any stay in Oahu! They are truly wonderful and I can't wait to go back!!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sharon, Despite of the missed flight and having no rental car upon arrival, your party of 5 had demonstrated the good spirit which made your vacation complete. Thank you for your kind words. Our goal is always to make sure that our guests have a memorable vacation for a lifetime. Aloha from Tish
Did you find this review helpful?
8 1
bakersfield
5

North Shore Comfortable Beach House

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a fantastic time at this home! We started our vacation with five nights in Waikiki and then came to the North Shore of the island for four nights in a calmer setting. If I had it to do all over again, I wouldn't change a thing. Unless of course I could just stay forever!

As a family of six, this home had plenty of space and easily could have accommodated a few more. Our host, Tish, could not have been more personable and welcoming. She truly shares the gift of Aloha!

If you are looking for the Ritz Carlton this is not your place. If you want a comfortable beach house, literally on the breakwater, that is super clean with all the conveniences of home (except an automatic dishwasher), you have found your place. While others complain that it has road noise (located on Kam Hwy), we turned on the a/c units at night (every bedroom has one) and crashed after full days of island fun in cool comfort. The pictures tell the true story. The first 13 are all on or in the property.

The house is conveniently located near retail shops (pizza, burgers, food trucks, Longs and CVS Drugs) and the Polynesian Cultural Center are 5 minutes away. Within 20 minutes you can be at world famous surf spots or fun snorkeling (we liked Sharks Cove better than Hanauma Bay). We celebrated my daughter's 21st birthday with a zip lining excursion at Climb Works that was a blast! Maybe a 15 minute drive? Or just stay at home and watch turtles swim in the ocean from the back yard.

This place is really located in an idealic setting where you are both on the water and nestled close to the Pali Mountains. Simply paradise.

Thank you Tish and Lance for making your place available and sharing your spirit of Aloha. May God continue to bless you! Mahalo!

The Bank Family

Bakersfield, CA

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha and mahalo to the Bank Family for having stayed with us. We are so glad that you all had a good time. Thank you so much for your kind words and hope that you can come back to visit the island again soon! Tish
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

fantastic vacation

  • 5 of 5

This house had was perfect for our family of 5. Exactly the right amount of the beds! I really appreciated the flooring though out the house. No carpet! We came back sandy and wet many time and were easily able to clean up after ourselves. The kitchen was stocked with all the basics, which was perfect. Plenty of towels for both bathing and the beach. It was really helpful no to have to worry about packing beach towels. If you buy the Go Oahu Card, this house is a great location to visit many of the things the card allows. Having access to a washer and dryer was fantastic. On our last morning, I washed all our clothes. I was able to get home and just put everything away!! Be sure to bring your snorkel gear. While there isn't beach access directly behind the house, you can walk down the street just few houses to sand and water access. We saw lots of really great sea life, box fish, angel fish, some beautiful yellow fish, clown fish, purple coral, on and on! My only complaint has nothing to do with the house, but my own lack of knowledge about the island itself. The house is on the north shore. Apparently, it rains much more there than other places. It rained the entire 5 days we were there. We live in the Northwest, so the rain was a big bummer. We were looking forward to bright sunshine. There was plenty of sun on the south side any time we visited. This house is great for a family looking for some place quieter, less busy. We had the best time! Thank you to Tish and her husband!! Tish was so kind. She even took a bunch of pictures of all of my family together just before we left.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: A big mahalo to the Chamberlains for having stayed with us. We did have an unusual April last year. Thank you for your kind words. Aloha from Tish
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Loved our stay!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you! Our stay in this lovely upstairs unit was perfect for me, my husband and brother. Great location to the North Shore and about 45 minutes from Honolulu. House was clean, beds comfortable and the location was quite and peaceful. We didn't cook any meals while we were there, but the kitchen had everything you needed if you choose to do so. The bedrooms had air conditioning and a ceiling fan for the living room. There are two bathrooms -- one is a nice size with tub/shower. The other one is really small with a shower, but that wasn't a problem for us. The view from the deck was gorgeous and the owner was so friendly and helpful in recommending places to eat and things to do. I would recommend this property to anyone and will plan on staying there again someday (I hope!!)

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Deborah, It was a pleasure to have met you all. Hope to have you back to visit the island again soon! Aloha!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great family home!

  • 4 of 5

My family really enjoyed staying here. We were looking for a waterfront home in a quiet village far from the big city of Honolulu-this was perfect! As with other reviews, yes, you can hear the cars pass on the highway, and yes, this house is on the upper floor, so you do share the common areas with the bottom floor guests...neither of these affected our stay. We were very comfortable here- clean, lots of space and amazing views of both ocean and mountains. This house was an ideal location for us to explore the north shore, and east shore. We woke up every morning and asked one single question: Mountains or Beach? The owners are both very warm and welcoming. Would definitely return here when visiting the island! Thanks for your home :).

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate you so much for having stayed with us. We thank you especially for letting us know that you had a good time. We love the country and have stayed in this area for over 30 years. We ask the same question every day - mountain or ocean? Aloha & Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Affordable Clean Home For Family

  • 5 of 5

We are a family of five first time visiting Oahu. We had visited Kauai and Maui before and found that Oahu has the features of both other two islands combined. I believe because we chose to stay on this side of the island. This home has easy access to the North Shore beaches and a good snorkeling spot, the Sharks Cove. It is a scenic drive to the North Shore. There are food trucks along that offer yummy and affordable plate lunches. It was a good experience to visit the Polynesian Cultural Center which was only a few minutes drive.The children did enjoy the cultural aspect of the place. Because of the high tides, there was not much of a beach here. But it was not too hard to find beaches around. We wanted to stay away from Waikiki and were happy that we stayed here. The home is clean, comfortable and fits our budget. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and had a good time in Hawaii. Take good care in the new year and looking forward to having you back! Tish
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Car: recommended

Hauula was a small fishing village on the northeastern coast of Oahu, with most homes designed and used as beach houses. Today, it is known as a weekend hideaway for city folks as well as a local artists' community. Since we are located at the coastal area, all sorts of ocean activities such as swimming, diving, snorkeling, fishing and surfing make your stay filled with fun. You may also want to take a scenic drive up the North along Kamehameha Hwy. The Polynesian Cultural Center, Turtle Bay Resort and Golf Course, Sunset Beach, Waimea Beach, and historic Haleiwa Town are within 5 to 30 minutes drive. Grocery stores are 2-4 miles away. Hauula Loop Trail is a little known yet excellent hiking spot nearby.

Other Activities: hiking

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hauula House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Christmas
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 8 2017
5 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$225
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $185
Tax Rate 13.96%

TA #018-249-9382-01

Accept Visa, Mastercard & personal checks.
30% is required to confirm a booking. Balance is due 60 days prior to arrival.
Cancellation policy is stated on rental agreement which will be sent when guest is ready to book.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hauula House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Air-conditioned bedrooms. Private entrance to home which is 20 steps upstairs.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties