Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury Log Home - 'Serenity' in Vancouver

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Space 5,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

- 6 bedrooms, 4 1/2 bathrooms, sleeps 10-12

A Vacation Home Like No Other...Nestled in the serene village of Lions Bay, British Columbia, a grand, rustic home awaits it’s guests with a view of majestic beauty. A custom log home sits perched above the natural grace and tranquility of Howe Sound, yet only minutes away from the sights and sounds of Vancouver, and a short drive to the world class resort of Whistler. You quickly consider whether it is time to unwind or time to get busy living. You soon discover that there is time for both. A beautiful home. A setting above the sky. You have arrived. Welcome to Serenity.


Owner
Wayne Chan
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 27, 2017

About Wayne Chan

Our family stays in 'Serenity' every year as our vacation home. We both have our own businesses and with triplets, we stay busy. So when we decide to take a break, just knowing that we have the home in Lions Bay is amazing. We absolutely love staying there. I've never seen a view as spectacular as the one that we have right on our deck. It's just a terrific place.

Why Wayne Chan chose Vancouver Coast

Several years ago, I had come to Vancouver just to look at some properties with the possibility of finding a place a year or so down the road. We already knew that we loved Vancouver but we weren't quite ready to get a place.

But when we saw this home, we just couldn't pass it up. As I said before, I had never seen a view as spectacular as the one at this home. So, we decided to just go ahead and do it!

Amenities

Lions Bay House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master - 1 king , Plasma Television
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Full Bath
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 6 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Master Bedroom has adjoining master bathroom with separate shower and jacuzzi tub. The bedroom has a hi-definition plasma television mounted across from the bed and a terrace with sweeping views of Howe Sound. Most bedrooms have direct views of Howe Sound with views of the surrounding islands.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Terrace
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

Luxury Log Home - 'Serenity' in Vancouver
average rating of 4.5675673 based on 37 reviews
1

Great view but very dirty!

  • 1 of 5

The few things we did like was the view and the size of the house. Lots of room for our party of seven. Overall, however, the place was in disrepair. Cobwebs hanging everywhere, at least 10 pet stains on the carpet in the master bedroom, greasy broken pots, pans and dishes, musty, mouldy smell throughout, wobbly chairs that we were afraid to sit on, stained couches, stained towels, old tattered bedding, stains and splash marks all over the walls, and the list goes on. Would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always want every one of our guests to enjoy their stay at our home. And on the few occasions where we haven't met expectations, we do everything we can to make it right. On this occasion, my concern is that the first time I heard of any complaint from the guest was when our cleaning crew went into the house after this guest had checked out and noticed that the walls in the dining area were painted over in spots, either from damage or from being marked up. Only after I asked the tenant about this did she tell me of all the problems she had with the home and her request to get a refund for her stay. We are thankful and gratified that the majority of our guests have had a great time and have left very positive reviews. On the few occasions where we have fallen short, we've made efforts to fix it even during a guest's stay. But we felt it was important to provide some context to this review so people could judge it fairly.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Great stay at Serenity!

  • 4 of 5

I recently celebrated a great 50th birthday party with close friends at Serenity - it was perfect. It is a rare and difficult thing to find a place with lots of rooms for 10 -12 people to stay comfortably, with a killer view, a great kitchen, and close to Vancouver.

Wayne the owner is really nice and professional, and was always very prompt and helpful with his responses.

FYI.. Hot tub is in an awkward spot under the balcony and down a flight of stairs, so we never used it, but the view is so amazing we didn't need it.

I'd definitely go back again!

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5

Huge Lodge with lots of space for 7 people. Everything we needed was provided at the lodge. Loved the view!

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Overall nice place but has some issues

  • 3 of 5

While there is a tonne of room, the walls are paper thin and everyone can hear everyone else, especially master bedroom which is adjecent to main living room.

We were mostly dissapointed in the hot tub. Not only did it take 30 hours to warm up, it was in a TERRIBLE location under a short deck. Had to crouch to even get to it. It was downright dangerous (giant holes next to tub where a member of our group fell into and hurt his knee) and the neighbors could watch the tub from their window which was 15 feet away. Terrible instructions for operating it and it was filthy.

The mountain of a driveway was difficult to climb for some in our group, and some vehicles had serious issues even getting half way up the huge winding hill of a driveway.

Overall we mostly enjoyed it, especially rhe giant main room and kitchen but we're rather dissapointed in the hot tub and the condition of the house (mold, old flooring in spots).

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at our home. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. I'm sorry about your experiences with the hot tub. I haven't received any other complaints but I will pass it along to our pool service. We do have the hot tub cleaned and services every week. I'm not aware of any holes by the hot tub, but seeing as it is on the edge of an embankment overlooking the view of the water, stepping on the embankment side could be an issue. As far as the steepness of the driveway, unfortunately, there's not much I can do about that but in fairness, I wish you could have mentioned the view from the home, which for most people usually more than makes up for the driveway! Thank you for staying with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

An AMAZING weekend away

  • 5 of 5

A group of friends and I traveled to Vancouver from Seattle for a short weekend away. We happened to pick an incredibly stormy weekend, which you'd think would've "dampened" our experience, but not at all! Serenity was PERFECT. The views are ten times better than can be pictured, and the house is really set up to accommodate your needs. We ended up staying in most of the weekend to avoid the wind and rain, and we had such an amazing time. Lions Bay is beautiful, the house is lovely, and we already can't wait to plan another trip here! Thank you for everything, Wayne!

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vancouver
5

Absolutely amazing and breathtaking

  • 5 of 5

The pictures for this house definately do not do it justice at all. The place was absolutely breathtaking. Easy to find everything in the house and plenty of sleeping areas. We had a group of 9 people and everyone got a bed. Definately a relaxing weekend, waking up to the amazing views and quiet neighbourhood.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Twenty minutes north of downtown Vancouver and less than an hour from the world famous resort of Whistler. Lions Bay is a beautiful community overlooking breathtaking views of Howe Sound. Relax and enjoy the beauty of the community's own private beach club, or take a short drive to Stanley Park and bike along the seawall.

Whether you decide to shop at the upscale shops along Robson Street, take a picturesque ride up a sky tram to Grouse Mountain, lounge in the hot tub overlooking the ocean, or play a game of pool in the game room, Vancouver has something for everyone, and 'Serenity' in Lions Bay is the perfect place to stay no matter how busy or relaxed your stay will be.

Other Activities: boating

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lions Bay House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer Peak
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$526
$3,024
 
 
Holiday Peak
Dec 23 2017 - Jan 6 2018
4 night minimum stay
$526
$3,024
$7,487
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$300
$1,806
$7,073
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Cleaning Fee $240

We definitely want all our guests to have a great time when they stay with Serenity. The only thing we ask is that all guests treat the home with the respect they would have for their own. 99% of all our guests have been wonderful, but on a couple of occasions, guests decided to have blow out parties into the night, damaging the home and disturbing our nice neighbors. No wild parties!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send Email Send Email
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties