Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

West Arm Tracadie - Waterfront Cottage, Antigonish County

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome


About the property

2 bedroom, 1 bathroom, sleeps 4

Serene, private, 2.2 acre waterfront property located on Benoit Island. Fully accessible by car. Close to the Town of Antigonish - “The Highland Heart of Nova Scotia” - and a great base to explore Cape Breton Island and P.E.I. Two and a half hours from Halifax. Nearby golfing, fine dining, hiking, birding or just relax and enjoy the tranquility.,+Afton+Station,+NS+B0H+1A0/@45.632548,-61.682457,2578m/data=!3m1!1e3!4m2!3m1!1s0x4b5c561746981287:0xeca216179c1e1415

*Please note. Our tap water has a high mineral content. As such, we provide bottled water for drinking purposes.

** Please click on 'About Paul' for additional guest reviews.

More Details

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 17, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our week in Nova Scotia started wet and ended hot! Beautiful location - scenic and serene!

This was our first visit to N.S. We managed to focus on the Northumberland Shore and Cape Breton. Louisbourg was worth the drive and the Cabot Trail was all everyone said it would be. Thanks to Paul, Anthony, Barbara and Shawn!
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 24


Afton Station Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Main Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Barbecue
  • Boat Dock
  • Canoe
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Small Cooler
  • Wood Deck
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • tennis


3.7/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

West Arm Tracadie - Waterfront Cottage, Antigonish County
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 27 reviews
Denver, CO USA


  • 1 of 5

This is a small cottage located on a very scenic small body of water - not the ocean - although the Gulf of St. Lawrence is nearby. The two bedrooms are very small and relatively airless. The one bathroom has a small vanity and a poor shower. The water is not drinkable due to exceedingly high mineral content which I assume to be mostly iron. The water in the sink stained 2 of my wife's white T-shirts a sickly orange! The owner provides bottled water which we ran out of.

The owner and his local representative were quite nice, but I certainly would not recommend this property to anyone.

I think that leaving out the fact that tap water is non-potable is inexcusable.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were sorry to hear that our guests did not enjoy their 4 day stay at our cottage. We only wish that they would have contacted us during their stay. We would have responded to their concerns to the best of our ability. With regard to the actual review, I would like to respond to a few points. First, we never represent our cottage as being a 5 Star Property. I had several conversations by phone with our guests before they booked their stay, and I did explain to them that the the main bedroom had a double bed, a closet, night table, etc - and that it was not an overly spacious room. It does have a window and, fans are provided, so I am not sure that relatively airless is a fair comment - although it can get warm in Nova Scotia during the summer. In terms of overall size, although the cottage is not huge, I would like to point out that it is still around 1000 square feet. Yes, it is true that our cottage has one bathroom. It is also true that the vanity is rather modest, - it is basically a sink with a mirror and drawers underneath. Again, I think this goes back to the cottage not being a 5 Star Property. The comment on the water is fair and I will include it in the property description moving forward. This has never been an issue before, but I agree with the general point. Our guests note that they ran out of the provided supply of water bottles. If there are ever any issues with supplies, we respond quickly - but if we are not made aware of any issues, there is not much that we can do. Again, If we would have had some indication of our guests unhappiness during their stay, we would have done our best to resolve any issues as best we could.
Did you find this review helpful?
13 8


  • 5 of 5

Wir (2 Erw., 2 Kinder) verbrachten 1 Woche in diesem wunderschönen, gemütlichen Cottage.Die Lage ist einmalig: Direkt am Meeresarm, ruhig, idyllisch - Natur pur! Wir gingen täglich mit dem Kanu auf Tour, was für unsere Kinder ein einmaliges Erlebnis war. Sie konnten im Sand buddeln, Volleyball spielen oder auf der riesigen Wiese toben. Auch an eine tolle Feuerstelle hat der Besitzer gedacht. Tagsüber waren wir oft unterwegs und haben kleine Ausflüge und Wanderungen in der schönen Umgebung gemacht. Die Ausstattung des Hauses ist super. Uns fehlte es an nichts. Viele Zutaten für die Zubereitung von Speisen waren vorhanden, was sehr angenehm war. Auch die Betreuung vor Ort war klasse. Der Vater des Vermieters kümmerte sich sehr nett - aber unaufdringlich - um uns.

Naturliebhaber werden sich hier wohlfühlen. Wer allerdings Luxus sucht, ist hier sicherlich am falschen Ort.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2

Immer wieder !

  • 5 of 5

Wir, 2 Erwachsene, 2 Hunde, haben dort im Juni/Juli 2009 5 Wochen gewohnt-und wollten nicht mehr zurück nach Deutschland ;-). Grosszügiges Grundstück in herrlicher Alleinlage, cottage eher Haus als "Hütte", alles sehr sauber und komplett ausgestattet. Ankommen und Kaffee trinken-der steht nämlich im Regal ! Barbara u. Anthony leben in Pomquet um die Ecke und sind stets zur Stelle, wenn ´mal etwas sein sollte. Sehr herzliche Menschen überall, jederzeit hilfsbereit. Alle Einkaufsmöglichkeiten in Antigonish (WalMart,Surbey´s,etc.), ca. 20 Autominuten. Tolle Landschaft, viel Wasser, sehr naturbelassen bis wild. Wir hatten Canada-Software für unser Navi mitgebracht, was sehr zu empfehlen ist. Jeder,der einmal dort war, wird wiederkommen, versprochen !

Michael & Conny

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
14 4


Nearest Airport
225 Kilometres
Nearest Ferry
100 Kilometres
Prince Edward Island
Car: necessary

Known as the Heart of the Highlands. Antigonish the town (population +/- 4,800) and the county services approximately 20,000. It sits on the northeastern shore of the province, bordered by the Northumberland Strait, St. George’s Bay and the Strait of Canso.

Halfway between Halifax and Sydney, Antigonish is a gateway to Cape Breton Island. Antigonish is home to St. Francis Xavier University, founded in 1855 and once famed for its Antigonish Movement (Cody International Institute), a program of adult education and self-help. Antigonish is also home to the Highland Games, the oldest celebration of Scottish sport and dance in North America.


Rates & Availability

Afton Station Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Spring 2017
May 1 2017 - Jun 23 2017
3 night minimum stay
Summer 2017
Jun 24 2017 - Sep 8 2017
5 night minimum stay
Fall 2017
Sep 9 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties