Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Mountain Chalet with Amazing Views in quiet setting

Sleeps20
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
chalet
Sleeps
20
Bedrooms
6
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

About the property

- 6 bedrooms with loft, 3 bathrooms, sleeps 11-24

If privacy and a spectacular view are what you’re looking for then 'Chalet Wood Haven' is for you! This home has large picture windows and views of the beautiful mountains. It sits only 6 miles from downtown Black Mountain and 10 miles from downtown Asheville.

Please plan your stay at this custom home with tongue and groove ceilings, post and beam construction, hardwoods, and an impressive double-sided floor to ceiling stone fireplace. It has a screen porch, hot tub and two kitchens. There are 6 bedrooms and a 7th sleeping area (loft) . It is away from it all nestled in a private natural setting. It is comfortable and accommodating for larger groups.

*** Please email owner for additional details

More Details

Owner
Kelley Hagerty
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
February 24, 2017

About Kelley Hagerty

Hi - My husband and I, our twins Jack and Bobby (pictured) and our two furry four legged kids Nikki and Rocco love to go hiking and fishing. The private and quiet location of this house is perfect for relaxing but still close to outdoor activities. We hope you can enjoy the house and area as much as we do!

Kelley Hagerty purchased this chalet in 2005

Why Kelley Hagerty chose Black Mountain

My husband I and purchsed this home with hopes of retireing there one day. It's peaceful and natural setting make the perfect 'get away' spot.

What makes this chalet unique

The interior of this home gives a true 'chalet' feel. We love the huge double sided fireplace and comfortable aspects of the home.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(105 traveler reviews)

Mountain Chalet with Amazing Views in quiet setting
average rating of 4.752381 based on 105 reviews
5

Awesome for family trips!!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had a great time staying here...every couple years my family does a mountain trip and I was in charge this year, and needless to say my family loved this house the most out of all the past cabins we stayed at. The house has lots of room and is comfortable. The 3 bedrooms upstairs are nice and so are the bottom 3 bedrooms. There is a room that has bunk beds and a king so that's a great room for a family with children to stay in. The town of Black Mountain is super close and has all the essentials, and it was about a 25 minute drive to Asheville which was great. Seriously everything about the house was great! The only possible con would be the very steep driveway, but if you have 4wd you're good to go! And even if you don't have 4wd, there's other options on where to park. I truly recommend staying here--and on top of the house being great, the owner Kelly is fabulous. She kept in contact with me, sent me A LOT of information regarding the house and the area, checked in to see how we were doing...truly an ideal person to rent an awesome house from.

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing cabin

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing trip to the Mountain Chalet! The cabin was perfect for our family and the views were breath taking. Thank you Kelley for being so great to deal with and for sharing your beautiful home with us. We will definitely call on you again.

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Spacious, clean and very private

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at the Chalet. It is so spacious and fit our big family of 6 adults and 6 kids. We went right after Christmas and there was a Christmas tree left up for us, which was so lovely. The fireplace was wonderful and there was plenty of wood there. With some many young kids it was wonderful to have kid items like a pac-n-play, high chair and etc already there.

It is in a nice neighborhood but secluded, we couldn't see our neighbors.

The view was amazing! Great cabin for anyone looking to visit Asheville or the Polar Express in Byrson City(thats what we did.)

Hoping to go back one day!

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Harvest, Alabama
5

Great Family Christmas in January

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful home! Our families from NC and AL met at this lovely home the first weekend in January. I told Kelley we were celebrating our combined family's late Christmas together. They left the tree up for us! How awesome is that?!!! We had a great big snow fall, which made things even better. The home was spacious but felt warm and cozy. It was perfect. Thank you again for a great stay. We hope to plan our next family Christmas with you again next year. The Conner/Newsome/James family

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great experience

  • 5 of 5

Great property with lots of beds for a large group of people. Owner is responsive and accommendating

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

The worst mistake we've ever made...

  • 1 of 5

Renting this house was a nightmare. Twice a year I rent houses from VRBO, and this is the only time we hav had this kind of experience. It was horrible. The drive up the mountain takes forever, and the driveway is so steep, my Jeep Cherokee actually began to slide backwards. there's no parking on the street and hardly any parking in the driveway. There is no property to speak of but the house itself which sits precariously below a steep range, creating a dark feeling in the house at all times. The picture you are viewing is a very narrow side deck, there is almost no room to sit outside and the deck overlooks the driveway. Everything in this house was problematic. We didn't have hot water for the first 48 hours we were there, so couldn't take showers or wash our dishes. The owner told us to do all sorts of things to make it work. Finally, on the day before we were told to leave, the plumbers came, they said the filters hadn't been changed in a very long time. One person put her suitcase in her room the morning we were coming in because she didn't understand she couldn't do that, and the owner went bezerk, even after we apologized profusely. The bottom floor is unusable, very moldy, the windows open to the dirt outside and the ceilings are very low. Everything smells down there, and it is dirty and very close. There's a bee infestation problem and the screens don't work on the sliders in the great room, which is the only way to get fresh air in there, and many windows don't open to screens. She told us to put on the a.c. instead of opening the doors. It was October, we had wanted to come enjoy the fall air. It takes almost an hour to get to Asheville from this house, and you can not walk from the property, the roads are too narrow. It is very cramped inside and generally one of the worst places I have ever stayed. Kelley is a complete nightmare to deal with. Not only did we have a terrible stay, and she double booked on the last day we were there. I had paid until Monday and on Sunday at 2;15 she wrote this email: "Why are you still there? My cleaning crew needs to come in. We have people coming at 4!" In ONE HOUR we had to get all of our things packed, clean the kitchen, hightail it out of there and find places to stay during the busiest tourist season in the area. We did the laundry, made the kitchen spic and span and did everything on the extensive list for packing up the house. And after all that she gave us a bad review.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yeah, not a surprise by this review even though it was posted months after the guests departed. I did give her a one star review as a renter, so her turning around to give us a bad review isn’t really a surprise. I rated her one star because I wanted to forewarn future vacation rental owners. While her review is fairly articulate (aside from the grammatical errors), I did not experience the same clarity. I cannot explain the communication issues, but it made this rental extremely challenging. Regardless, I attempted to work with the guest, and in the end (even after sending three services to the home) I ended up refunding 80% of their stay. I try very hard to be responsive to guests and to ensure our property is accurately described, maintained, clean and ready at arrival time. Most of the review is exaggerated and written by someone clearly wishing to harm me as retribution for my one star review of her. She brings up 8 main points: 1) Yes the driveway is long and steep as described 2) We are a mountain chalet located in a wooded lot and very private. 3) There are two decks pictured online. Be forewarned, the house is in a forest so trees will surround you. 4) The hot water issue reported at 7:41pm via email was corrected by 1:30 pm the next day. 5) A member of the group arrived 6.5 hours early and frightened the female cleaner. 6) The bottom floor has 10 foot ceiling and yes 2 of the 14 windows on this level are egress and on the side or back of the house. 7) Yes a sliding door screen was off track, but the service was there next day. 8) If guests follow the suggested routes/maps emailed its 20-25 min to Asheville. 9) I did not double book the house – she was actually the “next” arriving guest that caused confusion. With Homeaway/Vrbo sites the system does not allow double bookings. She was booked in for the Sunday night stay separately and it was only hours after leaving the house that she emailed letting me know that SHE was the one who had booked the house for the extra night. Anyway, I am sad that this guest has posted a negative review as an attempt at retribution, but I am equally sad that there were any issues with her stay (no matter how minor) - which is why I refunded almost all of her payment. I wish her good luck with future vacation rentals. My suggestion is that in the future she actually take the time to read and understand all the materials provided either online, at the house or emailed.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Asheville
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Downtown Black Mountain
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Black Mountain Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
Exit 59 or Exit 64 off of I-40
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Downtown Black Mountain
Nearest Ski
25 Miles
Catachoochie
Car: necessary

House is 6 north miles of Black Mountain and 10 miles East of Asheville.

Other Activities: Hiking Trails near by - email for maps and information

Photos

Rates & Availability

Laurel Ridge Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Jan and Feb
Jan 2 2017 - Mar 6 2017
2 night minimum stay
$155
From
$350
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 13 guests; add $3 per night, per additional guest
 
April
Mar 7 2017 - Jun 9 2017
2 night minimum stay
$140
From
$395
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 13 guests; add $3 per night, per additional guest
 
Memorial Day
May 26 2017 - May 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$1,750
Flat fee
 
 
summer 2016
Jun 10 2017 - Aug 26 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,750
 
Notes: Rates are based on 14 guests; add $4 per night, per additional guest
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$1,650
Flat fee
 
 
columbus weekend
Oct 6 2017 - Oct 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
$1,675
Flat fee
 
 
Leaf Season
Oct 9 2017 - Nov 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$270
From
$450
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 13 guests; add $3 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving Week
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 25 2017
4 night minimum stay
$2,600
Flat fee
 
 
christmas
Dec 14 2017 - Dec 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
From
$575
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
 
Christmas
Dec 24 2017 - Dec 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$2,475
Flat fee
 
 
New Years
Dec 30 2017 - Dec 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$1,075
 
 
MLK Weekend
Jan 12 2018 - Jan 14 2018
3 night minimum stay
$1,675
Flat fee
 
 
Presidents Weekend
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 18 2018
3 night minimum stay
$1,650
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$399
Fri,Sat
$1,650
 
Notes: Rates are based on 13 guests; add $3 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Optional Hot Tub Service $90
Pet Fee $45
cleaning $140
linens $50
Tax Rate 12.0%

Please email owner for exact rates as they vary by day of the week, season, holiday. Deep discounts are given two to three weeks out for any un-rented times.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Laurel Ridge Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Filtered Water
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • fax
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 16 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • #1 Master - 1 king
    # 2 upstairs - 1 queen
    # 3 upstairs - 1 queen
    #4 downstairs - 1 queen
    Loft - 2 twin/ single , Loft space
    Den - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen sized sofa bed
    #5 downstairs - 1 queen
    Living room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , pull out queen sofa bed along with large couch
    #6 family room - 1 king , 2 double , 2 twin/ single , king bed and 2 bunk bed sets (twin top, double bottom)
  • 12 beds and 2 pull outs
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 15 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • forests
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Comfortable vacation rental great for multi family vacations!!.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers