check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jody Grimes

Member since: 2003
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Johnson's Bay Getaway-- Waterfront Family Home

15 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Lubec House Rental Photos and Description

3 BR, 2 full and 1 half bath, sleeps 8, private access to shore

The Getaway has private access to the shore, great views and a widow’s watch topping 3 floors of space. The house has all the modern conveniences—dishwasher, washer, dryer, 3 full bath and 1 half baths. Every floor takes in the elevated views of the bay. Special views can be enjoyed either tucked away by yourself up in the widow’s watch, or relaxing with friends and family on the glass sun porch. If you’d like to perch close to the water, walk down to the platform with built in bench seats and stairs at the water’s edge. The main floor has a spacious, modern, well equipped kitchen, cozy living area with dramatic round window and half bath. The ground floor has full bath, sitting area with fold out love seat, a living/bedroom area with comfortable fold out sofa, laundry facilities and separate entrance and large windows looking onto the back yard and the water. The third floor houses two bedrooms and a bath and a half. A spiral staircase winds up to the widow’s watch.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jody Grimes (Property Manager)
Member since: 2003
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.9
based on 15 traveler reviews

Johnson's Bay Getaway-- Waterfront Family Home
average rating of 4.866667 based on 15 reviews
5

Peaceful relaxing vacation home

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent a blissful week at Johnson's Getaway while exploring upper Maine and southern Canada, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island. The tides were phenomenal and the weather perfect! We did get to see the dramatic rise and fall of the tides. Unreal. Also, saw the Milky Way and some northern lights!! Wow! The house itself is gorgeous with plenty of room and comfortable furniture. The kitchen was well stocked and very modern. Would definitely stay there again if we were heading up that way. We did the whale watching boat tour and it was fantastic. So much to do for such a small town. Very close to Campobello Island and that visit should not be missed. So much history of Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt and their family as well as the lighthouses in the area. We hit the galleries, museums and yummy lobster houses. Great trip!

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Grand Rapids
5

Great place to enjoy the beauty of Lubec

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here while he did a week's piano class at Summerkeys. I was free during his class time to explore the area's galleries, shops lighthouses, or just watch the natural world around the property. Sitting up in the 'crow's nest' was great. Saw eagles, ospreys and loons. We brought our kayaks and could paddle there in Johnson's Bay when the tide was in, launching them right from the rocky beach below the cottage. We also enjoyed some delicious lobster dinners (and amazing sunsets) at the Fisherman's Wharf and the Water Street Inn restaurants.

The house is clean, well-stocked and quiet, while being within an easy drive to the village. We went out to Campobello Island a couple of times (bring your passport) to explore FDR's cottage and visit some galleries.

We look forward to coming to Lubec again, perhaps with kids and grandkids, and would happily return to Johnson's Bay Getaway. Jody was easy to work with, responding quickly to questions and keeping in touch during the rental process.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back with your family anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

perfect getaway for a large group

  • 5 of 5

I rented this property because we had a large group - 2 adult women, 4 teenage boys and 1 11 year old girl. My daughter and I shared a bed, but everyone else had their own place to sleep which was perfect. We came to town for the Bay of Fundy International Marathon and could not have been happier with the house, it's location, its size, and its sleeping accommodations. My son, who slept in the top bunk of the bunk beds, ran the marathon and was too sore to climb up to the top bunk after the race so he spent the last 2 nights on the coach in the living room. He said that it was just as comfy as the bed. The house had plenty of sheets and towels for all of us and the kitchen was well stocked. My only complaint would be that it needs a bigger frying pan because when making breakfast for 4 teenage boys cooking on a small frying pan a little at a time just doesnt work. Thankfully they didn't all wake up at the same time!! It also helps to remember that you are at the eastern most point of the US and the sun starts shining through those huge windows at 4:30 in the morning! The widows watch quickly became the kids favorite place to hang out. They happily sat up there in the evenings watching the tide and just unwinding after long days spent outdoors.

If you stay here you need to go a little further down North Lubec Road and stop at Cobscook Pottery, you also need to drive into the town of Lubec and stop at Monicas Chocolate and also visit Love at First Light for some delicious ice cream.

All in all this was the perfect place for us.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful rustic home in a welcoming historic town

  • 5 of 5

The Johnson Bay Getaway is a very comfortable, cozy yet spacious home right on the water. Great views and very bright an airy. We loved in it Lubec - the people were very friendly and it was centrally located to a number of great spots in Canada and on the coast of Maine. Highly reccomend it!

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

a wonderful place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We were very pleased with our first stay at the Johnsons Bay getaway. We (family of four) found it just right -- actually quite spacious -- for us. You could sleep 8 there, but it might be a tad crowded.

Key good points: a very well-stocked kitchen -- we cooked most nights or grilled on the deck. The house also had many books and games, which we did not take advantage of because the weather all week was glorious and we were constantly on the go outdoors. The furnishings are comfortable, and the property manager is accessible, helpful and just plain wonderful.

Some have mentioned the open grates, and yes, it does mean sound carries, etc. It wasn't a huge issue for us.

The house was clean and the photos, descriptions are very accurate. We did not feel misled in any way, as sometimes can happen with rentals. You may book with confidence here. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

A great play to stay

  • 5 of 5

We were very pleased with our first stay at the Johnsons Bay getaway. We (family of four) found it just right -- actually quite spacious -- for us. You could sleep 8 there, but it might be a tad crowded.

Key good points: a very well-stocked kitchen -- we cooked most nights or grilled on the deck. The house also had many books and games, which we did not take advantage of because the weather all week was glorious and we were constantly on the go outdoors. The furnishings are comfortable, and the property manager is accessible, helpful and just plain wonderful.

Some have mentioned the open grates, and yes, it does mean sound carries, etc. It wasn't a huge issue for us.

The house was clean and the photos, descriptions are very accurate. We did not feel misled in any way, as sometimes can happen with rentals. You may book with confidence here. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Bangor International
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Campobello Island
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
Route 1 and Route 189
Car: necessary

Lubec is home to the West Quoddy Head Lighthouse, situated at the easternmost point of land in the U.S. In Lubec, you will find sandy beaches, bold coastal cliffs, coastal rain forest, wildflower meadows and peat bogs. The Lubec area is host to three state parks, a national wildlife refuge and several nature preserves, all of which offer a variety of well maintained hiking trails. Local whale, wildlife and puffin tours offer the chance to observe nature up close from the water as do kayak and canoe rental facilities and many public boat ramps. The area is rich in history—the first naval battle of the Revolutionary War was fought in nearby Machiasport. Maine's own 'Cannery Row' lined the waterfronts of Lubec and Eastport with sardine canning factories and herring smoke houses. You'll find it all here—rich history, spectacular scenery, abundant wildlife and friendly people.

Other Activities: several state parks, lighthouses, nature preserves, spectacular hiking trails

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lubec House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall 2016
Aug 28 2016 - Nov 5 2016
Changeover Day: Sunday
3 night minimum stay
$200
$850
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$850
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 9.0%

Cancellation Policy: If you notify me 12 weeks in advance, I will refund your deposit in full, minus a $25 booking fee. If you give me less than 12 weeks notice, I will make every effort to re-rent your week(s). If I can rent the week(s) you had reserved, I will refund your deposit in full, minus the $25 booking fee. If I am unable to rent the week(s) I held off the market for you, I will have to retain your deposit. If you cancel after you have paid the rent, I will return your refundable damage deposit, but I will have to retain the rent payment, minus as much rent as I am able to recoup by selling the week(s) to someone else and minus the $25 booking fee.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Lubec House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bath - toilet , shower
    Main Floor Bath - toilet
    Ground Floor Bath - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Tub with hand held shower only
  • Bathroom 4 has only a tub with hand held shower spray -- for those who prefer baths to showers.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , bunk beds in open area
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , fold-out sofas in family
  • The master bedroom is a separate bedroom with it's own bath. Bedroom 2 is a large, walk-through area adjacent to the master bedroom. It has a bunk bed with a full bed on the bottom and a single bed on top. There is a separate bathtub room off the open area and a half bath at the foot of the stairs adjacent to this sleeping area. This is a great sleeping area for the kids! Bedroom three is a family room area on the ground floor. It has a bath with shower, laundry facilities, a sitting area with single bed, and living area with fold out queen sofa, TV, and sliding glass doors to the backyard and shore. Bedroom 4 is a small bedroom on the bottom floor with single bed.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Piano
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
Porch is a glassed-in sun porch overlooking the water. There is also an open deck overlooking the water with table and chairs for outdoor dining. Free long distance phone service (to continental US and Canada). Broadband Internet with WiFi. New gas grill.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties