check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Sue W. Brown

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english

Walk to Beach. Orchid studio. Nice Relaxing

13 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type studio

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kuulei Tract Studio Rental Photos and Description

Comfy Studio, 1 Bath, small meal prep area. Private entry. Max 2.

Nice, comfortable, cozy studio suite with queen bed and a full private entry & private bathroom for 1-2 quiet, laidback, non-smoking people like ourselves. There is free parking for 1 car, free WIFI, free bike use and a pay washer and dryer avail in this home. There is an air conditioner and a ceiling fan.

Walk to Kailua Beach and you'll love swimming or sunbathing at the beautiful, white, sandy Kailua beach with it's incredible blue and turquoise colors.

This is a family, monogamous home and prefer similar guests. No single's parties or guests.

Kitchenette for light meal prep, with microwave, small refrig, toaster, coffee maker, rice cooker/steamer, hotplate. Dinnerware, utensils, pots and pans, glasses and cups. Free parking on property. Coin washer/dryer on prem.

Fully equipped with soap, shampoo, blow dryer, towels,beach towels,linens, iron; alarm clock, ceiling fan, shared bikes.

Rates: add taxes and cleaning fee.

Surfing, windsurfing, kite surfing, snorkeling, scuba diving, kayaking equipment is available for rent at shops right on the way to the beach. cr

You'll enjoy each fabulous day in paradise, Kailua, the best place to live or vacation in Hawaii. Walk to beach, restaurants, shopping, public tennis courts, public Olympic size pool, activities and the bus. CR

Walking distance to famous World top 10 Beach, 5 min. walk or 1 min. drive. 3 miles of beautiful white sand of Kailua Beach. Beautiful blue water of different hues. 3 min. drive to famous Lanikai beach & offshore islands. Upscale neighborhood.

CR

Near shops, supermarket, Starbucks, Jamba Juice, restaurants, bus stop, public tennis courts, olympic public pool, and library.

Lic.#004940064

I am out a lot so, the best way to reach me is by email.

Keywords: Studio, rental, near beach, mellow, relaxing, convenient location, walk to beach, walk to town

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Sue W. Brown (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english

About Sue W. Brown

We've lived here happily for 30 years. After our children left for college, we decided to offer our space to nice people who want to vacation in Kailua to enjoy themselves and life.It'ts fun at the Mokes (mountains) off Lanikai Beach, a 5 min. drive from Kailua Beach. Kailua beach is three blocks from our home. Kayak rentals and Island Snow shaved ice is 2.5 blocks from our home on the way to the beach.

Sue W. Brown purchased this studio in 2000

Why Sue W. Brown chose Kailua

This is a convenient location, near the beach, tennis courts, public olympic-size pool, shops, schools, restaurants, basketball courts....close to just about everything. You can cruise at the beach, swim, sunbathe, look for sea turtles.... or walk around Kawainui Marsh, a nature preserve and look for fresh water turtles and native birds....We are active with art & dance classes, so we aren't home too much. But since we are both born and raised in Hawaii, we would be happy to help travelers with any information they need.

What makes this studio unique

This is a great location halfway between the beach and Kailua town for restaurants and shopping. You can just cruise and walk around Kailua if you wish. We're just 3 blocks from Starbucks, Cold Stone Creamery, Fat Boy's (reasonable gourmet, local fast food, Maui Tacos, Teddy's Burgers, and the supermarket. If you wanted to be relaxed and not drive, we are 1/2 block to theBus, where for $2.50 you may catch theBus anywhere, to downtown Honolulu to visit the State capitol, etc, to SeaLife Park and it's giant sea tank of fishes and sharks, to the big waves on the North Shore, or even to Waikiki to avoid having to find parking there. You're even free to borrow our bikes, they're old but they'll get you around Kailua. Life is short, be mellow, be happy and our home is a great launching ground for that.

Reviews

4.5
based on 13 traveler reviews

Walk to Beach. Orchid studio. Nice Relaxing
average rating of 4.5384617 based on 13 reviews
Chestermere
5

Overall good experience

  • 5 of 5

This place was just as advertised. No complaints. You can hear the neighbors beside you but it didn't bother me. Would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Could be better, overall.

  • 3 of 5

Communication was limited before arrival, I had to send a reminder to the owner requesting check-in information (including property address), and reminding owner of the arrival. On arrival, the keys were not available as indicated in the written instructions, and the a call was needed to be made to the property manager, who initially did not know of my sister's arrival.

The apartment was not as pictured, and not within easy walking distance to the beach, but inexpensive compared to other rentals in the area (a positive).

There was an issues with the power, as indicated in the instructions, so not all appliances in the apt could be run at the same time.

The security deposit refund took a long time to be made because the owner was on vacation. Received after multiple emails to the owner, over a month after the rental.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Loved it!!!

  • 5 of 5

It exceeded our expectations! It was exactly what we were looking for and it was so nice to have the use of the bicycles and boogie boards! The beach was awesome! The room was clean, quiet, and well stocked with everything we needed! So many little extra things that I had forgotten to pack on previous trips were thoughtfully provided there. When we left I forgot my rings but Sue was so kind to send them back to me and I had them just a few days later! Thank you Sue!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent for the budget traveler

  • 5 of 5

On the verge of a nervous breakdown, I escaped here a few days. It was the best thing I could have possibly done for myself. I didn't need fancy, just the basics. That's what I found here.

Above all, location-location-location! I didn't bother with a car. I didn't need one. Everything was walking friendly from coffee shops, all sorts of restaurants, boutiques, beautiful grocery stores and Island Snow in either direction :)

To arrive from the airport I used Uber for the first time. The car was beautiful, pickup convenient, driver friendly, but the $80 price tag was a little much for me. I resolved to take the bus back to the airport and that is the best $2.50 I spent the whole vacation.

Can't say enough about these beaches, they are paradise. Life changing.

I felt safe as a single woman on this property. That's important.

Yes, you can hear the neighbors. But if I wanted perfect I would have to pay for it, wouldn't I?

As it is, the Orchid room fit my needs perfectly. The owners are gracious and accommodating.

  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha! I'm so happy you were able to relax and get away from your stressful life at home. The great beaches in Kailua is enough to cure any verge of a nervous breakdown!!! It is so calm and soothing. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our wonderful location near and walking distance to Kailua town in Kailua Beach. Thank you very much for the information on Uber. A previous renter said they used it and it was fine, I didn't realize it was so expensive! That's more than a cab which is about $70. A shadow is cheaper at about $55. But yes, nothing can beat the bus for only $2.50 although it could take you an hour and a half to get to and from the airport. But very luckily and happily, we're only one block away from the bus stop. And it's very high-tech, you can use theBus app and your smart phone at the bus stop to find out when the bus is coming! Thank you very much for your nice visit and thank your dad too! Happy holidays!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
San Diego
5

Comfortable & budget friendly.

  • 5 of 5

Hello, my review is late coming. I stayed here in the summer of 2010, but better late than never. I stayed in conjunction with a military PCS move to Hawaii. I came ahead of my Navy husband with my two children. The owner was extremely accommodating and allowed the additional guest, which was very helpful to my situation. We stayed several weeks. The owner moved us to the larger room when it became available at no additional cost. The location was great and I would stay there again in a heart beat. The owners are very, very kind and I remember our stay fondly.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much. We certainly enjoyed having you visit. I hope you will be fortunate enough to visit us again in the future. We've made some nice changes and updates to the unit! We've now added a little covered patio to this unit too, with a table and 2 chairs so you can enjoy the outdoors a little bit, although we know everyone prefers staying at the beach! :-) much Aloha !
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

Convenient location, great value, friendly owner.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this location before but the larger unit we loved was booked . This place is so convenient and owners so friendly , we decided to stay in this smaller unit altho we prefer the king bed. But the queen bed actually was sufficient for us. We're usually out all day anyway enjoying the beach, shops and restaurants in Kailua. We just love this place. Thank you Ron for your advice on more things to do. It's the first time we went to the Bishop Museum and it was fascinating.

  • Submitted: May 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you stayed with us, although the larger (2x) upstairs unit with the beautiful mountain view, and cal king was unavailable. This is the smaller, budget unit but I'm glad you appreciated the convenience of our location, half way between the beach and Kailua town shopping and restaurants! We enjoyed having such happy pleasant guests!! :-) Mahalo and Aloha !
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
18 Miles
Honolulu International
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
The Shack
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Olomana
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
61
Nearest Restaurant
0.6 Miles
Fat boys
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Kailua
Nearest Point of Interest
island snow
Nearest Point of Interest
Our home
Nearest Point of Interest
Kailua Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Starbucks, Jamba Juice
Nearest Point of Interest
Public olympic size swimming pool
Nearest Point of Interest
Assaggio's Italian Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
Thurs.9-10am Farmers Market
Nearest Point of Interest
Times Supermarket
Nearest Point of Interest
Kawainui Marsh walk or bike

Many features of the big city are available in Honolulu, Pearl Harbor, Punchbowl - a 30 minute drive. Also, Waikiki, Diamond Head,Honolulu zoo and Honolulu aquarium - 45 minute drive. Surfing in Waikiki. Concerts, theatre, opera in Honolulu, in season. Great public bus system, $2.50. goes around the island.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kuulei Tract Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
High season
Nov 22 2016 - Jan 4 2017
1 night minimum stay
$73
$500
$2,050
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$69
From
$72
Fri,Sat,Sun
$473
$1,960
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
Cleaning $100
Tax Rate 13.96%

Rates to subject to change until payment is made. $637 weekly rate is the total, incl. taxes and cleaning fee. Due to our intimate size, there are no refunds within 60 days of check in. We strongly recommend purchasing travel insurance if there's a possibility of cancellation.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kuulei Tract Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Nice neighborhood to walk and stroll. Kawainui Marsh, nearby, a bird preserve has a nice path. May use functional bikes for free. Public olympic size pool, free, 5 blocks away. Farmers Market, Thurs 9-10am at Kailua Middle School, Thurs 5-7pm at Longs/CVS parking lot. There is a small meal prep area for light cooking, small 4 cu.ft. refrigerator, microwave, toaster, rice cooker/steamer, coffee maker, hotplate.Dishes, glasses, utensils, pots and pans avail. Small fee for washer/dryer ($2 total to wash and dry 1 batch)

Partner Offers