check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

END OF SEASON SPECIAL!! Waterfront, private, stairs to beach in the backyard

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
10
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
4 - 7 nights

Description

Cutler House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms sleeps 6-10

Enjoy the best that Coastal Maine living has to offer! This 3BR, 2BA was built in 2005 and has over 2400 sq ft of open living space, situated on 7 acres of wooded land overlooking 650 feet of shoreline on Holmes Bay. Minutes from both Cutler and Machias, this secluded home has a large deck that offers quiet yet stunning views of sunsets, migratory birds, and beautiful ocean waves. The home is right on the coast, with direct access to the shores for beach combing. With the natural beauty of the surrounding area, you will be able to stay connected to the rest of the world (if you so choose!) with cable TV and DVD in every bedroom. The house is state of the art with WiFi Internet for laptops. There is a master bedroom on the first floor connected to a full bath, and both bedrooms on the second floor (one king bed, one queen bed) have daybeds for children and a bathroom complete with Jacuzzi hot tub and dual vanities. With a sofa bed in the living room, this home can happily sleep 10 people.

Beach Access: As depicted in the photos, this property has its own private staircase to the beach. The stairs are located in the backyard just yards away from the back porch of the house.

Thanks for looking and we hope to hear from you soon!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Angela
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 3, 2016
Call Owner

Guestbook comments from the owner

The house is ideal for relaxing and we had a good time. The area wasn't exactly what I had expected but we learned a lot about the neighboring villages and countryside. The weather was almost perfect and the sweatshirt and jacket never came out of the suitcase. The Property Manager was very helpful and friendly. In fact, everyone we met was friendly. The Riverside Inn serves a delicious dinner. It was great to get away and experience a different pace for a week.
May 2012
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

END OF SEASON SPECIAL!! Waterfront, private, stairs to beach in the backyard
average rating of 4.6 based on 11 reviews
5

A lovely property in a great private and peaceful location with incredible views

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking for a quiet getaway in an amazing location and s lovely property then this is for you. The house is spacious, very well laid out and well equipped. The views from the rear are breathtaking and change constantly with the tide. Sunsets by the fire are a treat not to be missed.

There's a number of local hiking opportunities and it's well within range to visit Bar Harbour to the south and venture into New Brunswick, St Andrews by the Sea is worth a visit as is Lubec.

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Delightful, Quiet Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5

We chose this home because of its location down the coast, away from the crowds, and because the photos of it appealed to us. We were pleased with our decision on both counts.

Although there were only two of us, the house would easily accommodate many more comfortably. The downstairs is totally open except for one bedroom which can be closed off. There are effectively two living rooms which flow into one another. Each has two good sized couches to lounge in. The kitchen is well equipped and the first floor bath is small but adequate. We really had no need to use the upstairs rooms but they looked nice. The entire place is fairly sparsely furnished but that's not necessarily bad; it allows the renters to add their own things. There is a good supply of puzzles and games available to renters for rainy days, but we had none.

By chance, our rental week included the weekend of the Machias Wild Blueberry Festival. If you've never had Maine wild blueberries, you're in for a treat. They're quite different from the ones that grow on bushes. These grow on the ground and are raked up. They are small and yummy.

We also enjoyed rides to see lighthouses, a trip to Campobello and simply relaxing in the house. One afternoon, two red foxes ran right across the driveway.

Then there was Helen's restaurant also in Machias. It's open all day and it's reasonable. The meals offered are very good, including but not limited to the lobster. The only difficulty is that they don't take reservations although you can call in ahead of time and put your name on the list. We'd recommend that.

There were two things that disappointed us. The first was the laundry situation. The washer and dryer were in the basement, That's okay but there was no hand rail which made the navigation of the stairs a bit of a challenge, especially when carrying things. Once downstairs, while the machines were good sized and worked well, there was nowhere to put the laundry. Even a laundry basket would have helped.

The second disappointment was the access to the beach. There is a very long set of stairs which was a bit scary to us older folks. We are not beach folks, but if we had been, I would have been sad.

If we were young and spry, probably neither of those two situations would have bothered us. This is just a warning for others who, like us, might be intimidated by such things.

All in all, it was a memorable week in an easy-to-live-in home.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you had a great visit but do regret you had some frustrations. We can certainly work on the handrail downstairs in the future and can make sure we have replaced the laundry baskets immediately.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Stay!

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at vacation homes before and this was a great one! It was relaxing, clean, and the location was beautiful! The management was also very helpful.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Super comfortable home in a tranquil seetting

  • 5 of 5

We loved our vacation in your lovely home. It was modern, comfortable, beautifully decorated and fully equipped with everything a family could need. We cooked in everyday and enjoyed the beach and the fire pit. We loved the privacy of the location and the ability to just relax and enjoy the scenery. We also really enjoyed the impeccable wi-fi that worked even better than we have at home. We read books, did puzzles, and enjoyed each others' company. Overall a wonderful week enjoyed by the whole family! We hope to be able to come back again!

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful home in a beautiful area

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful time at this home. The accommodations were very good. The home is in a beautiful setting right next to the bay - with its amazing tidal changes. Many great lakes in the area and streams - good fishing; and great places to hike and view the beautiful scenery. We had a wonderful time.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful, Private Downeast Waterfront

  • 5 of 5

This is truly the perfect place to stay to explore the coast of Washington County from Jonesboro to Lubec. Coming from a rural area, we appreciated the private setting. Because of the Maine Coast Heritage Trust preserved lands , there are too many nearby trails along the shore in Cutler and Trescott to explore in just one week, so we hope to return.

  • Submitted: May 24, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Discover Downeast Maine from this beautiful, brand new home. Enjoy glacial erratics on the coast of Holmes Bay as well as the dramatic tides and beautiful sunsets. There is plenty to explore in nearby Cutler and Machias, and the area is filled with America’s history, and FDR’s summer home right next door on Campobello Island, Canada. Natural wonders, lighthouses, shopping, and a medley of dining choices await you. And did someone say lobster? It’s fresh off the boat and prepared to your liking. The coast offers whale watching, puffin watching and sea kayaking, while the many lakes boast exceptional canoeing, fishing and hunting opportunities. Hike, bike, climb, relax by the water’s edge or explore the nooks and crannies of the shoreline. It's an area filled with possibilities, seen and enjoyed by a large, comfortable new home strategically placed right in the middle of it all!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Cutler House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
May
May 1 2017 - May 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
From
$280
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,120
$3,900
 
 
June
Jun 1 2017 - Jun 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
From
$365
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,470
$5,700
 
 
Summer 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,820
$6,900
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
From
$190
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$770
$2,700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99
Tax Rate 9.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation confirmed. The rental period is Saturday to Saturday, however, we will try to accommodate other requests when possible. ***In order to allow guests the most flexibility in receiving quotes the minimal rental for the summer period states four nights, however owners minimum is SEVEN NIGHTS and will be enforced unless specifically excepted by owner.***

We accept credit card and e-check. We use Property Damage Protection offered by HomeAway and the cost is a one-time fee of $99 for $5000 worth of coverage.

You will also be charged the 9.0% Maine Sales Tax.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Cutler House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • First Floor Master - toilet , combination tub/shower , Can be accessed from kitchen
    Second Floor Master - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Twin Vanity Sinks
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • First Floor Master - 1 queen , Sleeps 2
    Second Floor Guest - 1 king , 1 twin/ single , Sleeps 3
    Second Floor Guest - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Sleeps 3
    Sofa Bed - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Living Room - Sleeps 2
  • Each second floor guest room has a twin daybed and can therefore sleep a total of three people. We also have a queen air mattress with linens for accommodating an additional two people.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
There is a washing machine and clothes dryer located in the basement. Iron and ironing board are located in the hall closet. House will come stocked with toilet paper, paper towels, dish soap, laundry detergent and hand soap, but renters may need to replenish as they exhaust the quantity provided.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers