check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Colleen

Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, All non-english inquiries by EMAIL only

Fabulous Views, Hot Tub, Deck, Grill, WiFi, in the middle of everything

13 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

West Virginia Cottage Rental Photos and Description

-4 BR, 2 full BA, sleeps up to 10

This cottage-cabin is a unique, charming getaway. You are not likely to find a similar one for rent in Canaan Valley with the combination of view, amenities, and easy location to everything. Our mountain retreat is centrally located to area attractions. Just 5 minutes south to Timberline and Canaan Valley State Park, or eight minutes north to the quaint town of Davis and Blackwater Falls State Park. Special Features of include:

1. Great views of Canaan Valley from cottage-cabin's great room, deck and hot tub area.

2. Home is uniquely decorated with comfortable country and rustic furniture handmade by local artisans.

3. Upgraded kitchen appliances.

4. Upgraded hot tub.

5. Large charcoal grill.

6. Near two quaint towns Davis (8 minutes drive) and Thomas (15 minutes drive).

7. The cabin abuts the Canaan Valley National Wildlife Refuge and is in the middle of the Valley.

Hike, bike, swim or kayak your Heart Out!: Most guests say, ''it's even better than the pictures!' Great to just get away and relax, have fun with all sorts of out-door adventures in warm and cold weather. Ski in winter, hike, bike and kayak in warm weather. Horseback riding minutes away, world-class rock climbing about 1/2 hour away. Many, many local activities. Located in the beautiful Allegheny Mountains.

Great Family Summer Vacation in Canaan Valley or Cozy Romantic Getaway in West Virginia. Excellent spot to explore various day-hikes and mountain bike.

Nearby Davis West Virginia was voted by Men's Health as one of the coolest little mountain towns in the country.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Colleen (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, All non-english inquiries by EMAIL only

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a great vacation. Your cottage was clean and nicely decorated, with all the basics in the kitchen. The view is great, and we cooked on the grill a lot. We especially had fun hiking Dolly Sods and using the hot tub in the evening after wards, and the kids enjoyed the mountain biking in Canaan Valley. Nice to have the pool nearby there, too. I'd highly recommend your place for a family vacation, and for affordability. With the four bedrooms and rec room, you can definitely fit two families that aren't too big. We'll be coming back!
Aug 2009
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.2
based on 13 traveler reviews

Fabulous Views, Hot Tub, Deck, Grill, WiFi, in the middle of everything
average rating of 4.230769 based on 14 reviews
McLean, VA
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

My family found this place charming, clean and well-kept. The kitchen is well-equipped, the decorations appropriate for the mountain setting, and the view very beautiful. The property is centrally located -- to the north are the towns of Davis and Thomas, as well as Blackwater Falls State Park, and to the south are Canaan Valley State Park and Dolly Sods, as well as Timberline, for those skiiing in the winter. The place is small enough for one family to feel cozy, yet large enough for two families to comfortably fit. I definitely recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0
3

Loved a lot but needs some cleaning

  • 3 of 5

Loved the cabin view, the area, the cabin itself and the décor. The owners were wonderful to deal with as well. My only caution would be the cleanliness of the home. We found it needs a deep cleaning and should then be maintained regularly. When we arrived some of the bunk beds were undone (we also found dirty sheets under the bed), dirty wash was in the machine waiting to be done & clean wash in the dryer waiting to be attended to , dirty coffee filter was in the pot and the floors were dirty (all kinds of stuff stuck to our socks, ugh!!). If these issues would ruin your stay then you should know of same. I really liked the house, hope they will be able to police the cleaning more successfully as I would love to return one day.

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were extremely sorry that the renters entered the home in this manner, and I think they would agree that we handled the situation fairly upon learning the home was not property cleaned for their arrival. We do not clean the property ourselves but coordinate this through a management company and housekeeping staff, and there was an unfortunate lack of communication which lead to the house not being cleaned before these renters arrived. We spoke to both the management company and the housekeeping staff, and expect that there will be no more missed cleanings. Be assured that we are aware of the importance of a clean home upon your arrival.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

A Great Place for Family of 10

  • 5 of 5

We were happy we chose this place for a family vacation. 6 adults and 4 children ages 6 to 13. It was large enough to hold all of us and we didn't feel cramped. All the necessities were there and even though most of the time we were out going horseback riding, going thru Seneca Caves, zip lining, petting farms, shopping and of course hiking. We always had a comfortable place to come back to. Played some board games with the kids and card games with the adults. We stocked the fridge and had most of our meals at the cottage. Saved some money that way so we could spend it doing the fun things. We weren't expecting neighbors to be so close by, and hopefully we weren't too noisy for them. But it was fun and would stay there again.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great Summer Getaway

  • 4 of 5

The cabin was very comfortable and well laid out for our family of 7 (and our dogs) and had everything we needed. Very convenient for our day trips and hiking in some very scenic parks. Blackwater falls was beautiful!!!!

The cabin was clean and had all the basic necessities.

We got good coverage for our ATT phone but not so much for Verizon.

After a chilly day horseback riding, we lit the stove and it REALLY warmed up the cabin. The hot tub was clean and worked well.

Advice for coming to this area, there are plenty of places to eat but if you're planning on shopping for food locally, there's only one small grocery store with a limited selection so I would bring any specialty items with you!!! Not another store for miles.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review! While it is true there is but one Shop N Save, there is one specialty market, Highland Market, in Davis. They carry organic, local, etc.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Silver Spring
5

Ideal place to stay for Ski/snowboarding/XC skiing & the Super Bowl

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I stayed their the last weekend of January through Super Bowl weekend to celebrate my birthday. Location is great as its between the ski area and the town of Davis, WV.

There was plenty of firewood to keep the living area very warm and cozy and the hot-tub was awesome. That hot-tub comfortably sits 6 people. We thought the ideal temperature for the hot-tub was between 95-100F, even when the air temperature was I its teens. The fire-place there is very efficient, so use wood sparingly. 6-8 pieces of wood per day is plenty and this was during temperatures in the teens.

During the day, if the weather is clear, you can see Timberline Resort and Canaan Ski area from the patio. For XC skiing, we went to the state park where there are plenty well marked trails and rentals for $20/person.

With all the people in our party, 2 bathrooms was plenty enough. The kitchen area and dining area is all one big area, very open and comfortable with plenty of natural lighting during the day, even during overcast conditions.

The bedrooms were clean and the beds had clean fitted sheets and blankets. So no need to bring your own. There were plenty of towels and also a laundry room to wash your cloths during your stay.

One thing to mention, and I assume most would already know this, is that during snowy and icey conditions its recommended that you use a vehicle with either 4wd or AWD as the road leading to the rental is slopped off of the main highway and 2wd vehicles may find it a challenge to go up it, but this us not a fault of the rental itself, this is actually MOST of the rentals in the area.

There was also a daily snow-plower to clear the drive-way. Which is nice cause it's a long driveway to have to shovel snow by hand.

Enjoy your stay there, I know we did.

John

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thnx for the nice review. We strive to provide a comfortable stay for our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Charleston, WV
5

Worderful Winter Experience

  • 5 of 5

We were overwhelmed with the views and the level of comfort we found in this property. The owner was wonderful when we had some small issues and she helped us correct them very quickly.

I would recommend this cottage for anyone who wants privacy, convenience to all Canaan Valley and Davis facilities, and the VIEW! BTW -- the color scheme and decorations are most relaxing and are a cut above what I have experienced in other Canaan properties.

We hope to return this summer or next winter to once again enjoy Colleen's little hideaway.

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review. I do think our place has a superior view, and our furnishings and decorations are generally much nicer than one will find in a rental property.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Golf
1.2 Miles
Canaan Valley State Park - five minutes
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Timberline and Canaan Valley - five minutes
Car: necessary

Canaan Valley is a unique ecosystem. It's like a piece of Vermont was plunked down into West Virginia. Excellent hiking and leaf peeping. It's the highest elevation valley of its size, east of Denver. There are a great variety of birds all-year round in the Valley, and a great variety of unique flora and fauna. The Canaan Valley Wildlife Refuge is habitat to over 150 bird species, a major flyover in Spring and Fall. The night sky has little light pollution. Popular attractions include Blackwater Falls State Park, the historic towns of Davis and Thomas featuring Mountainmade with its fine arts & crafts , the Purple Fiddle with its unique American roots-new grass -country music scene. Also nearby: Dolly Sods, Monaghahela National Forest, Cathedral State Park (old growth forest), Spruce Knob, and world-class rock climbing at Seneca Rocks.

Other Activities: canoeing, kayaking, live-music listening, snow sports in winter

Golf: Canaan State Park, five minutes away, has a wonderful course. There is always lots of wildlife nearby, including deer near the green.

Ski: Downhill skiing only 5 minutes away at Timberline and Canaan Valley Resort. Canaan Valley Resort also has fun tubing for the kiddies. White Grass, with its great cafe and friendly Chipper (you have to ask), as well as Blackwater Falls, for Nordic skiing, are about 10 minutes away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Canaan Valley Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 17 2016 - Sep 1 2016
3 night minimum stay
$200
$900
 
 
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 2 2016 - Sep 5 2016
4 night minimum stay
$800
Flat fee
 
 
Fall Shoulder
Sep 6 2016 - Sep 22 2016
3 night minimum stay
$167
$675
 
 
Leaf Peeper
Sep 23 2016 - Oct 24 2016
3 night minimum stay
$266
$1,175
 
 
Columbus Day
Oct 7 2016 - Oct 9 2016
3 night minimum stay
$800
Flat fee
 
 
Winter Shoulder
Oct 25 2016 - Dec 15 2016
3 night minimum stay
$167
$675
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 25 2016
3 night minimum stay
$800
Flat fee
 
 
Winter holidays
Dec 16 2016 - Dec 29 2016
3 night minimum stay
$500
$1,850
 
 
New Year's Eve
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$534
 
 
Winter
Jan 2 2017 - Mar 13 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
From
$300
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,175
 
 
MLK Weekend
Jan 13 2017 - Jan 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$1,500
Flat fee
 
 
President's Weekend
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
$1,500
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Pet Fee $100

Tax, hot tub use, and cleaning included. No cats allowed.
Winter holidays: $1,500 for three nights; $1,850 six nights; $1,600 NYE
Summer holidays and Thanksgiving: $800 three nights

Hot tub use, taxes and cleaning included; ask about fees for well-behaved dog.
Repeat guests: ask if discounts available for time of year/length of stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

West Virginia Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Upstairs - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Downstairs - toilet , shower
  • Bathrooms are basic, but nice, and clean.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Mountain-theme - 1 queen
    White-theme - 1 queen
    Quilt-theme - 1 queen
    Bunk-twin room - 3 twin/ single , There is one twin bed and a bunk bed in this room.
  • Each bedroom has a 'theme:' mountain room, white room, country charm and twin-bunk/animals-states. Two bedrooms upstairs, off the Great Room, and two (including room with one twin and one bunk bed) below, off the rec-room. Plus, folks can use their own air mattresses or sleeping bags in the rec room. So, all in all, nine people can sleep in the bedrooms, plus three people/kids could sleep in the carpeted rec-room downstairs, if you bring sleeping bags or air mattresses.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 3 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Place has a hot tub with natural cedar surround. Sit in tub, turn on jets and festival lights in tub. Take in view of Canaan Valley and mountains.Property also has heavy duty, very large charcoal grill.Please put 'skier's view' into yahoo or google search engine, and you will find property's website with more info.Note that wireless internet access is available, but sporadic, like all wireless access in the Valley.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...