Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Fabulous Views, Centrally-located chalet-cottage w/ hot tub, wood stove, grill

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

-4 BR, 2 full BA, sleeps up to 10

This cottage-chalet home is a unique, charming getaway. You are not likely to find a similar one for rent in Canaan Valley with the combination of view, amenities, and easy location to everything. Our mountain retreat is centrally located to area attractions. Just 5 minutes south to Timberline and Canaan Valley State Park, or eight minutes north to the quaint town of Davis and Blackwater Falls State Park. Special Features of include:

1. Great views of Canaan Valley from cottage-cabin's great room, deck and hot tub area.

2. Home is uniquely decorated with comfortable country and rustic furniture handmade by local artisans.

3. Upgraded kitchen appliances.

4. Upgraded hot tub.

5. Large charcoal grill.

6. Near two quaint towns Davis (8 minutes drive) and Thomas (15 minutes drive).

7. The cabin abuts the Canaan Valley National Wildlife Refuge and is in the middle of the Valley.

Leaf peeping!

Hike, bike, swim or kayak your Heart Out!: Most guests say, ''it's even better than the pictures!' Great to just get away and relax, have fun with all sorts of out-door adventures in warm and cold weather. Ski in winter, hike, bike and kayak in warm weather. Horseback riding minutes away, world-class rock climbing about 1/2 hour away. Many, many local activities. Located in the beautiful Allegheny Mountains.

Great Family Summer Vacation in Canaan Valley or Cozy Romantic Getaway in West Virginia. Excellent spot to explore various day-hikes and mountain bike.

Nearby Davis West Virginia was voted by Men's Health as one of the coolest little mountain towns in the country.

More Details

Owner
Colleen
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, All non-english inquiries by EMAIL only
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2017

What makes this house unique

Fabulous views, central location to Valley fun.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a great vacation. Your cottage was clean and nicely decorated, with all the basics in the kitchen. The view is great, and we cooked on the grill a lot. We especially had fun hiking Dolly Sods and using the hot tub in the evening after wards, and the kids enjoyed the mountain biking in Canaan Valley. Nice to have the pool nearby there, too. I'd highly recommend your place for a family vacation, and for affordability. With the four bedrooms and rec room, you can definitely fit two families that aren't too big. We'll be coming back!
Aug 2009
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Davis House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:30 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Upstairs - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Downstairs - toilet , shower
  • Bathrooms are basic, but nice, and clean.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Mountain-theme - 1 queen
    White-theme - 1 queen
    Quilt-theme - 1 queen
    Bunk-twin room - 3 twin/ single , There is one twin bed and a bunk bed in this room.
  • Each bedroom has a 'theme:' mountain room, white room, country charm and twin-bunk/animals-states. Two bedrooms upstairs, off the Great Room, and two (including room with one twin and one bunk bed) below, off the rec-room. Plus, folks can use their own air mattresses or sleeping bags in the rec room. So, all in all, nine people can sleep in the bedrooms, plus three people/kids could sleep in the carpeted rec-room downstairs, if you bring sleeping bags or air mattresses.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 3 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • limited accessibility ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Place has a hot tub with natural cedar surround. Sit in tub, turn on jets and festival lights in tub. Take in view of Canaan Valley and mountains.Property also has heavy duty, very large charcoal grill.Please put 'skier's view' into yahoo or google search engine, and you will find property's website with more info.Note that wireless internet access is available, but sporadic, like all wireless access in the Valley.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

64% Complete
14% Complete
7% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
Fabulous Views, Centrally-located chalet-cottage w/ hot tub, wood stove, grill
average rating of 4.285714 based on 15 reviews
McLean, VA
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

My family found this place charming, clean and well-kept. The kitchen is well-equipped, the decorations appropriate for the mountain setting, and the view very beautiful. The property is centrally located -- to the north are the towns of Davis and Thomas, as well as Blackwater Falls State Park, and to the south are Canaan Valley State Park and Dolly Sods, as well as Timberline, for those skiiing in the winter. The place is small enough for one family to feel cozy, yet large enough for two families to comfortably fit. I definitely recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
16 0
5

Beautiful home with awesome views. Love the rustic character of the home. Very spacious.

  • 5 of 5

Worked out great.

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to write a nice review. Hope to see you again. If you book again, remind me you are a repeat renter. Take care.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Loved a lot but needs some cleaning

  • 3 of 5

Loved the cabin view, the area, the cabin itself and the décor. The owners were wonderful to deal with as well. My only caution would be the cleanliness of the home. We found it needs a deep cleaning and should then be maintained regularly. When we arrived some of the bunk beds were undone (we also found dirty sheets under the bed), dirty wash was in the machine waiting to be done & clean wash in the dryer waiting to be attended to , dirty coffee filter was in the pot and the floors were dirty (all kinds of stuff stuck to our socks, ugh!!). If these issues would ruin your stay then you should know of same. I really liked the house, hope they will be able to police the cleaning more successfully as I would love to return one day.

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were extremely sorry that the renters entered the home in this manner, and I think they would agree that we handled the situation fairly upon learning the home was not property cleaned for their arrival. We do not clean the property ourselves but coordinate this through a management company and housekeeping staff, and there was an unfortunate lack of communication which lead to the house not being cleaned before these renters arrived. We spoke to both the management company and the housekeeping staff, and expect that there will be no more missed cleanings. Be assured that we are aware of the importance of a clean home upon your arrival.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
5

A Great Place for Family of 10

  • 5 of 5

We were happy we chose this place for a family vacation. 6 adults and 4 children ages 6 to 13. It was large enough to hold all of us and we didn't feel cramped. All the necessities were there and even though most of the time we were out going horseback riding, going thru Seneca Caves, zip lining, petting farms, shopping and of course hiking. We always had a comfortable place to come back to. Played some board games with the kids and card games with the adults. We stocked the fridge and had most of our meals at the cottage. Saved some money that way so we could spend it doing the fun things. We weren't expecting neighbors to be so close by, and hopefully we weren't too noisy for them. But it was fun and would stay there again.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great Summer Getaway

  • 4 of 5

The cabin was very comfortable and well laid out for our family of 7 (and our dogs) and had everything we needed. Very convenient for our day trips and hiking in some very scenic parks. Blackwater falls was beautiful!!!!

The cabin was clean and had all the basic necessities.

We got good coverage for our ATT phone but not so much for Verizon.

After a chilly day horseback riding, we lit the stove and it REALLY warmed up the cabin. The hot tub was clean and worked well.

Advice for coming to this area, there are plenty of places to eat but if you're planning on shopping for food locally, there's only one small grocery store with a limited selection so I would bring any specialty items with you!!! Not another store for miles.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review! While it is true there is but one Shop N Save, there is one specialty market, Highland Market, in Davis. They carry organic, local, etc.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Silver Spring
5

Ideal place to stay for Ski/snowboarding/XC skiing & the Super Bowl

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I stayed their the last weekend of January through Super Bowl weekend to celebrate my birthday. Location is great as its between the ski area and the town of Davis, WV.

There was plenty of firewood to keep the living area very warm and cozy and the hot-tub was awesome. That hot-tub comfortably sits 6 people. We thought the ideal temperature for the hot-tub was between 95-100F, even when the air temperature was I its teens. The fire-place there is very efficient, so use wood sparingly. 6-8 pieces of wood per day is plenty and this was during temperatures in the teens.

During the day, if the weather is clear, you can see Timberline Resort and Canaan Ski area from the patio. For XC skiing, we went to the state park where there are plenty well marked trails and rentals for $20/person.

With all the people in our party, 2 bathrooms was plenty enough. The kitchen area and dining area is all one big area, very open and comfortable with plenty of natural lighting during the day, even during overcast conditions.

The bedrooms were clean and the beds had clean fitted sheets and blankets. So no need to bring your own. There were plenty of towels and also a laundry room to wash your cloths during your stay.

One thing to mention, and I assume most would already know this, is that during snowy and icey conditions its recommended that you use a vehicle with either 4wd or AWD as the road leading to the rental is slopped off of the main highway and 2wd vehicles may find it a challenge to go up it, but this us not a fault of the rental itself, this is actually MOST of the rentals in the area.

There was also a daily snow-plower to clear the drive-way. Which is nice cause it's a long driveway to have to shovel snow by hand.

Enjoy your stay there, I know we did.

John

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thnx for the nice review. We strive to provide a comfortable stay for our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Sirianni's Cafe
White Grass Touring Center
Canaan Valley National Wildlife Refuge
Blackwater Falls
Timberline Four Seasons Resort
The Purple Fiddle Coffeehouse and Mountain Market
Nearest Golf
1.2 Miles
Canaan Valley State Park - five minutes
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Timberline and Canaan Valley - five minutes
Car: necessary

Canaan Valley is a unique ecosystem. It's like a piece of Vermont was plunked down into West Virginia. Excellent hiking and leaf peeping. It's the highest elevation valley of its size, east of Denver. There are a great variety of birds all-year round in the Valley, and a great variety of unique flora and fauna. The Canaan Valley Wildlife Refuge is habitat to over 150 bird species, a major flyover in Spring and Fall. The night sky has little light pollution. Popular attractions include Blackwater Falls State Park, the historic towns of Davis and Thomas featuring Mountainmade with its fine arts & crafts , the Purple Fiddle with its unique American roots-new grass -country music scene. Also nearby: Dolly Sods, Monaghahela National Forest, Cathedral State Park (old growth forest), Spruce Knob, and world-class rock climbing at Seneca Rocks.

Other Activities: canoeing, kayaking, live-music listening, snow sports in winter

Golf: Canaan State Park, five minutes away, has a wonderful course. There is always lots of wildlife nearby, including deer near the green.

Ski: Downhill skiing only 5 minutes away at Timberline and Canaan Valley Resort. Canaan Valley Resort also has fun tubing for the kiddies. White Grass, with its great cafe and friendly Chipper (you have to ask), as well as Blackwater Falls, for Nordic skiing, are about 10 minutes away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $130
Pet Fee $100
Damage Insurance $59
Damage Deposit $300

Hot tub use, and cleaning included. No cats allowed.
Winter holidays: $1,500 for three nights; $1,850 six nights; $1,600 NYE
Summer holidays and Thanksgiving: $800 three nights

Repeat guests: ask if discounts available for time of year/length of stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.