check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

David

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Misty Chalet at Big Sky MT and Yellowstone NP - Sleeps 16-20, Hot Tub, 2 Kitchen

44 Reviews
Sleeps20
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Big Sky House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 3 full baths, sleeps 16, Spa, 2 Full Kitchens - Garage apt sleeps 4

Welcome to Misty Chalet, our elegant Big Sky Montana vacation home which offers something for everyone. Tucked deeply within the fragrance, freshness and beauty of 3 acres of majestic pines, it offers solitude of the soul. But past the gorgeous mountain views of the heart of Montana, adventure beckons. Misty Chalet is a newly constructed vacation home positioned on a mountain overlooking Big Sky Meadow. Located just 10 minutes from famous Big Sky Resort, 5 minutes from Gallatin River, and only 18 miles from Yellowstone National Park, Misty Chalet offers year round access to winter and summer activities including skiing, snowmobiling, kayaking, rafting, fly-fishing, horseback riding and hiking. Whether you are seeking peaceful rejuvenation or exciting exhilaration experience, it can be found during a Misty Chalet stay. Main house sleeps 16 and apartment in separate building sleeps 4. To see our website for additional photos and information see link in contact information.

Tucked deeply within the fragrance, freshness, and beauty of 3 acres of majestic pines, Misty Chalet offers solitude of the soul. Our Big Sky, Mt vacation home has four bedrooms, three full bathrooms and two powder rooms, two full kitchens (one upstairs and one downstairs) and a large wood burning fireplace in the great room and a gas fireplace in the downstairs recreation room. Misty Chalet’s 3500 sq. ft. of custom designed living includes a large recreation room with full kitchen and pool table, two master bedroom suites, and a bunk room.

As you enter Misty Chalet's 3.3 acres, our 550-foot long driveway brings you into our world of mountain privacy, outstanding views, and total privacy. Our great room features wood vaulted ceilings, Montana style furnishings, a large wood-burning fireplace, and a large cozy loft with a big screen HDTV.

Location and Activities: Misty Chalet is a newly constructed Big Sky Mt vacation home positioned on a mountain overlooking Big Sky. Located just 10 minutes from the famous Big Sky Resort, 5 minutes from Gallatin River (where parts of a 'River Runs Through It' were filmed), and only 18 miles from Yellowstone National Park, Misty Chalet Vacation Rental offers year round access to winter and summer activities including skiing, snowmobiling, kayaking, rafting, fly-fishing, horseback riding, rock climbing, and hiking. Whether you are seeking peaceful rejuvenation or exciting exhilaration experience, it can be found during a Misty Chalet stay.

Amenities: Misty Chalet Vacation Rental is a 3500 sq. ft. of custom designed living includes the upstairs with our great room featuring wood vaulted ceilings, Big Sky Montana style furnishings, a large wood-burning fireplace, gourmet kitchen, master bedroom and bath, laundry room and a large cozy loft with a big screen HDTV. Downstairs, we have a large recreation room with full kitchen and dining area, pool table, two master bedroom suites, spa on the patio, and a bunkroom. Misty Chalet Vacation Rental will sleep sixteen and, with the optional one bedroom apartment above the garage, accommodate up to twenty guests.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
David (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About David

.Welcome to Misty Chalet! We love it here too!

David purchased this house in 2006

Why David chose Montana

Close to the best and biggest skiing in the United States, only 18 miles from the boundary of Yellowstone National Park, and the best fly-fishing in the world. This gives us plenty to do year-round!

Guestbook comments from the owner

"My family and I had a fabulous time in Big Sky and Misty Chalet was everyhing we were hoping for in location and amenities! You feel like you are on the mountain by yourself and I couldn't ask for a more peaceful, relaxing place to stay. The Chalet is well stocked with all of the comforts of home and we will definitely look forward to staying here again. To top everthing off, the owner of the home is responsive and wonderful to assist with questions and needs!"
Mar 2010
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.8
based on 44 traveler reviews

Misty Chalet at Big Sky MT and Yellowstone NP - Sleeps 16-20, Hot Tub, 2 Kitchen
average rating of 4.75 based on 45 reviews
4

Nice house. Very secluded.

  • 4 of 5

My only disappointment was the lack of patio furniture. We had 6 adults in our group and there was only 5 very cheap folding chairs.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great home for a great vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We rented Misty Chalet for a family vacation/reunion in early June and were pleasantly surprised when we first arrived to know the house was better than we expected! There were 9 people total ranging from great grandparents to toddlers. The owner, Dave, was extremely responsive to all our needs and questions. The caretaker Randy stopped by to visit and very friendly and helpful to anything we needed. Dave does a good job describing the house but it's still hard to fully imagine until you actually arrive.

The house has 3 levels; basement, main level and loft. The basement has a rec room/kitchen area with pool table & doors leading out to the hot tub. There are 2 bedrooms sharing a full bathroom (jack and jill). One room has 2 twin beds and the other a queen. There's an additional small room with 2 twin beds and also a half bath downstairs as well.

The main level has an open living room with 2 sets of French doors leading to a deck, kitchen, dining room, laundry room, 1/2 bath, bedroom w/ king bed and full bathroom (including a tub). The loft has a queen bed with a bathroom. We had plenty of space for all to comfortably sleep.

The house is fully stocked with the essentials and then some. There are some pantry items, I'm assuming left behind from past renters like we did. We had most of our meals at the house and pretty much just needed to bring food. The pots and pans could use a refresh but definitely served our purpose and we made do. The stove and fridge could also use a little work but nothing major at all.

The house sits at the top of a step little hill really secluded from the neighbors with all the trees. It was the perfect location for us, secluded yet close enough to town for groceries and shopping. We sat on the deck many of the nights watching the sunset and the view of the mountains in the background. Gorgeous! It's just a short drive to Big Sky ski area where we rode the ski lifts for a picture perfect view! We also went to West Yellowstone for a guided tour which was under a 1 hour drive from the house.

There is town center a couple miles from the house with a very nice park, several shops, couple grocery stores, post office, restaurants & hardware store.

We had a fantastic time and wouldn't hesitate renting this house again!

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. I hope you can come again sometime especially during the winter ski season. It's a totally different experience! Thanks again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful view and very roomy for our large group!

  • 4 of 5

This home was amazing! The moment we walked in the front doors we were in awe! We had 15 in our group and we all had a place to rest and sleep. The pullout sofa in gameroom was not very comfortable as the mattress was thin. It is best to have head at foot of bed due to angle of head of bed went downward. My 13 year old slept there but never complained. The home was very accommodating with the kitchen supplies to the laundry room. The decks had a gorgeous view and the deer were fun to watch. The hot tub out the back of gameroom was very relaxing! I would definitely go back and rent this property! We were only minutes away from Ousel Falls and near many other attractions. Thank you Dave and Virginia for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home away from home!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

This was a perfect place for our large family.

  • 3 of 5

Our adult children and grandchildren thoroughly enjoyed the stay. We were able to do some meals in the kitchen. We enjoyed the remoteness of the home. We were able to get away from the busyness of the area, and yet, in two minutes we could be at the shops and restaurants. The caregiver, Randy, was readily available when a question arose. For our large family, it was a comfortable fit. It is well worn, which worked for us. We would stay again.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kemmerer, WY
4

Gorgeous setting in the pines

  • 4 of 5

sometimes I get nervous renting a place sight unseen. Misty Chalet did not disappoint. Our group had 11 adults and 9 kids, so we rented the garage apartment to be sure everyone had some space of their own. That was a good decision. The place was well equipped, had all the necessary amenities, and the hot tub was a nice addition for evenings under the stars. The river was close enough to walk and was great,fishing. Our kids took advantage of the nearby attractions including Yellowstone. We enjoyed the wildlife...bring bear spray. We did not see a bear, but fresh scat was on the road. The ONLY reason I gave this four stars instead of five was the mattresses in the sofa beds really were in bad shape. From reading the reviews, we had brought an air mattress just in case, but ended up buying two more after the first night. We also washed the sheets as they were in need of a cleaning--again, just the,sofa sleepers. Very minor inconveniences. Any issues and concerns, I would email Dave and he would get right back with me. Would i recommend or stay again at Misty Chalet? Absolutely!!

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wow! What a great House in a Great Community!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here as a total of 12 people from 3 different extended families. Mostly adults with a couple of younger kids and a couple of teenagers. Everyone had a great time and there was plenty of space for us all to spread out and disappear if need be. Everything that you would ever need to cook, clean, and just have fun are found in this house. We made extensive use of the grill for dinners and was able to easily fix breakfast for all of us in both of the kitchens. The kids and adults loved the games including the pool table. And much time was spent by everyone using the hot tub just to sit out in the evenings and enjoy the calm and watch the millions of stars that you could see in the sky. Our trip was centered around visiting Yellowstone and this place fit the bill. It is about an hours drive each way to the park. The market located in Big Sky called Roxy's market worked out great for all those things that you realize later that you need. There are several restaurants in the town that we also visited. All of us loved this place and didn't want to leave but figured we should as the owner probably would not have liked that!! Hope to stay here again some day in the future!!

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the review. I hope you can return during the winter ski season where Big Sky has the Biggest Skiing in America and Yellowstone National Park provides a completely different winter experience!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Misty Chalet is a newly constructed vacation home positioned on a mountain overlooking Big Sky Meadow. Located just 10 minutes from famous Big Sky Resort, 5 minutes from Gallatin River, and only 18 miles from Yellowstone National Park, Misty Chalet offers year round access to winter and summer activities including skiing, snowmobiling, kayaking, rafting, fly-fishing, horseback riding, and hiking. Whether you are seeking peaceful rejuvenation or exciting exhilaration experience, it can be found during a Misty Chalet stay. Misty Chalet’s location also offers:

• Big Sky Ski Resort - only 7 miles up the mountain.

• Yellowstone National Park - just 18 miles to the border or 40 miles to the park entry in West Yellowstone.

• Big Sky Golf Course - which offers cross-country skiing in the winter.

• Shopping at the Meadow and Mountain Villages at Big Sky Resort.

• Fly Fishing - The best in the world (we also a fly fishing guide service) .

• Ousel Falls Hiking Trail - 2 miles west.

Other Activities: Fly fishing capital of the world

Golf: Golf is available only 2 miles from Misty Chalet at the Big Sky Golf Course designed by Arnold Palmer.

Ski: Misty Chalet is just a 10 minute drive from Big Sky Ski Resort. In fact, with the Big Sky Resort-Moonlight Basin interconnect and the Lone Peak Pass lift ticket, you can access 5,512 skiable acres and 4,350 feet of vertical drop, one of the largest interconnected ski areas in North America. Lone Peak's elevation of 11,166 feet provides runs up to six miles long and glades and bowls covered in 400-plus inches of annual snowfall per year.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Big Sky House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Aug 31 - Nov 20
3 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
Fall Ski Season
Nov 21 - Dec 18
3 night minimum stay
$425
 
 
Holiday Ski Season
Dec 19 - Dec 31
3 night minimum stay
$700
 
 
Winter Ski Season
Jan 1 - Mar 31
3 night minimum stay
$525
 
 
Spring Ski Rate
Apr 1 - Apr 14
3 night minimum stay
$425
 
 
Spring Rate
Apr 15 - Jun 14
3 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
Summer Rate
Jun 15 - Aug 30
3 night minimum stay
$425
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$325
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 10.0%

Contact owner regarding optional one bedroom apartment above garage for $100/night.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Big Sky House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Accommodation Type:
  • Guest House
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Macintosh Computer
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Main Level Master Bath - toilet , tub , shower , Main Level Master Bath
    Downstairs Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Downstairs Bath
    Loft - toilet , combination tub/shower , Loft Bath
    Main Level - toilet , Main Level
    Downstairs - toilet , Downstairs
    Optional Apartment - toilet , shower , Above Garage
  • The downstairs master suite shares a bathroom with the second bedroom. Separate doors can be locked.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Loft - 1 queen , Loft with Full Bath, Private Deck
    Master Bedroom - 1 king , On Main Level with Full Bath, Private Deck
    2nd Master Bedroom - 1 king , Downstairs
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Downstairs off Rec Room
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , Downstairs
    Detached Apartment - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1 BR Apartment w/ kitchen/bath/sleeps 4
    Rec Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen Sofa Bed
    Great Room - 2 sleep sofa /futon , Queen Sofa Beds
  • Queen size hide-a-beds are also located in the downstairs recreation room (1) and main level great room (2). The downstairs also has the recreation room with pool table, full kitchen, one full bath and one half bath. A separate one bedroom detached apartment is also available above the garage that sleeps four for additional charge.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Misty Chalet is designed to accommodate two groups with separate kitchens upstairs and downstairs. The downstairs has a gas remote control fireplace, pool table, and dining area next to the kitchen. Misty Chalet's greatest amenity is its location near Big Sky Ski Resort and just 18 miles to the boundary of Yellowstone National Park. The park entrance is in West Yellowstone about 45 miles to the south.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties