Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Mountain Getaway, Very Private on 10 Acres with Panoramic View

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-7)

Right off the Blue Ridge Parkway, one of America's most beautiful scenic routes is your own private mountain getaway. Enjoy the spectacular view of the Blue Ridge mountains while relaxing in the 6 person hot tub on the deck (open year-round).

Tucked away in your own hollow of 10 acres, there is cleared land for badminton, volleyball, croquet, barbecue and hiking. And in the winter months, hot tubbing and riding a tube or sled down a hill in the snow. Of course there is nearby skiing (Banner Elk).

Fine dining is less than 1 mile away. The Biltmore House, America's premier castle is 40 minutes away in Asheville, NC. Linville Caverns are 30 minutes away via the Parkway. 2 hour drive from Charlotte and 40 minutes from Boone. Golfing and hiking easily accessible.

We call our mountain getaway in Little Switzerland the 'Rieke Retreat'. It has been in the family since 1970. It used to be an old homestead for the 'McKinney family' starting in the 1920's.

Starting Dec. 1st, we decorate the entire house with Christmas decorations including a Christmas tree with lights in the main room. Outside there is a live Blue Spruce Christmas tree below the deck which is strung with little white lights. You just plug in the outdoor extension cord, and the tree lights up. It can be seen from all over. Wreaths, bows, and lots of special effects for Christmas are yours and stay until mid-February. All you have to do is pray for snow and put another log on the fire.

What is 'LSD'? 'LSD' means Little Switzerland Downtown. It is only nine-tenths of a mile from our house. In the non-winter months, the New Book Exchange is the highlight. Here you can relax on a sofa in front of a big fireplace, sip coffee or wine and get lost in the book of your choice (I forgot the classical music in the background). Hungry? Go next door to the Little Switzerland Café and have the best Trout BLT in the world followed by apple pie and ice cream! Need a bottle of wine and some cheese for later on? Go through the doors to the Little Switzerland General store and they have quite a selection. You have entered another world. And you are not dreaming.

In the non-winter months, Grassy Creek Golf course is a public course only 10 minutes away in Spruce Pine. Mount Mitchell Golf Course is about 20 minutes away and is under the largest mountain East of the Mississippi River - Mt. Mitchell. It is well-established and famous for its layout and views.

In the winter months (Dec., Jan., Feb., March) there is great North Carolina skiing only 40 minutes away. Main resorts are Sugar Mountain, Beech Mountain and others near Blowing Rock and Banner Elk. Many people stay at our house to rest and hot tub after a long day day of skiing nearby. Keep in mind we are at 3500 elevation and it snows often. (Our driveway is not steep, don't worry).

Other Activities: Gem Mining

In the summer, the best organized whitewater rafting which is closest to the Rieke Retreat is the Nolichucky River about 45 minutes from the house in Erwin, Tennessee. Little Switzerland is the perfect place to train for bicycling. You can start at the Little Switzerland entrance to the Blue Ridge Parkway and try to 'Assault on Mt. Mitchell' which is about 33 miles.

More Details

Owner
Peter
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
July 23, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

We just returned from the Rieke Retreat. The rhododendrums were in full bloom - lavender and red colors! Hot tub was great. New rug in the den and the new oil mountain paintings in the living room really added a lot. Thanks for adding a DVD player.
May 2003
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Spruce Pine House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Master bedroom: Queen bed + large closet, TV Bedroom 2: double bed, chest of drawers, TV Den: 2 double futon beds, TV Living Room: Double Futon Bed, closet
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
BBQ pit, outdoor picnic area, badminton, horseshoes, radiant heat in floors, checkers, and games.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(62 traveler reviews)

91% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Mountain Getaway, Very Private on 10 Acres with Panoramic View
average rating of 4.822581 based on 63 reviews
Black Mountain, NC
5

Still One of the Best

  • 5 of 5

We've visited this wonderful hide-away many times since we honeymooned here in 1990. This was our first return since the kitchen/dining area remodel and gorgeous decor upgrade. Did not want to leave. If you love long range vistas, privacy, and easy access to mountain area attractions, this is your place. We reside in the Asheville area, but this is still one of our favorite "sneak away" places - all the amenities of home with none of the chores. Clean, beautiful mountain cabin decor. Great chicken salad at the LS Cafe and Dannys in Spruce Pine. The Blue Ridge Parkway drives and vistas change with every visit. Exceeded our expectations.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2008
  • Stayed: May 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 3
5

Timeless house on the top of the mountain

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed the serenity and nature and solitude at the house on the mountain. Nice library and awesome view.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
5

Perfect and special

  • 5 of 5

This house is perfectly located and feels really special. You won't feel like this in a hotel, here everything is personal, things have a soul and life. View is fantastic.

  • Submitted: May 9, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
Charlotte, NC
1

Unsafe and filthy- We booked for 3 nights and left after the first night.

  • 1 of 5

Pros- Secluded

The view is OK but, not as amazing as reviewed.

Cons- The house had not been cleaned when we arrived, dirty wet towels in the shower and beds unmade with trash on the floor, dirty dishes in the dishwasher, filthy oven with dirty broiling and baking pans. I called the Maid and she said she didn't know we were coming. I called Peter and he blamed the maid but, made no attempt to apologize or compensate us for the problem. The maid arrived about 5:00pm and was gone when we returned at 6:15pm.

She put the dirty pans back in the dirty oven without cleaning either of them. She did make up the beds with new sheets and provide clean towels.

The one smoke detector was broken and with the large amounts of dust under the beds, behind all the furniture and covering the overloaded electrical power strips this presents a fire hazard. Spider webs under the bed and in many other areas, which made my wife very uneasy. We booked for 3 night and left after the first night.

The TV is positioned so that you could not watch a movie comfortably.

With Peter's 13 pages of instructions and lists of items you will be fined for if violated, I requested a partial refund and of course did NOT receive.

  • Submitted: May 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We made a mistake and did not get the maid service in at the appropriate time. Therefore when the renter came the place was in the same state as when the last renter left. We did not have time to get it fully clean. If you look at our record we have never had a complaint. This is the first time. You'll always be someone who complains and they were extra picky. We did not have enough time to do the full three hour cleaning. One hour cleaning as well we had time for. And no one ever complains about the view. It is still stunning as ever. As proven by the guest comments online and off-line.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
5

Breathtaking views!

  • 5 of 5

We could not have asked for a more perfect weekend! The house was beautiful and so well equipped. We spent much of our time outdoors because the view was spectacular!! We watched the sunset from the hot tub each night and had coffee to the sunrise each morning! Peter was great to communicate with - he got back to us quickly about our reservation and any questions we had. The information about the house and the area was thorough and very helpful. We can't wait to come back and brings friends and family to share this great home with!

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 3
5

Peaceful

  • 5 of 5

Loved the home and yard! Wonderful place to stay. Not like the cabin rental places with cabins one on top of the other.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 3

Map

Switzerland Cafe and General Store
"Smoked Rainbow Trout BLT is best! "
Crabtree Falls
Blue Ridge Pkwy
Mountain View Restaurant
Switzerland Inn
Crabtree Meadows Coffee Shop
Emerald Village
Spruce Pine Gemstone Mine
Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Asheville, NC
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
MOuntainview Restaurant
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Grassy Creek Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Hwy 226
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Little Switzerland Inn
Nearest Ski
25 Miles
Beech Mountain, NC
Car: necessary

Badminton and square dancing on weekends in summer and fall

Photos

Rates & Availability

Spruce Pine House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
May 16 2017 - Sep 22 2017
2 night minimum stay
$140
$865
 
 
Fall
Sep 23 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$150
$950
 
 
Winter
Nov 1 2017 - Mar 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
$110
$605
 
 
Spring
Apr 1 2018 - May 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
$130
$705
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$130
$800
$3,300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $50
Cleaning Fee $75

$75.00 Required Maid fee. Maids come in at end of stay. $50 refundable deposit is returned within 3 weeks of your departure by mail, echeck, or bank to bank funds.

• Refunds are not made if you cancel less than 4 weeks prior to your confirmed arrival.
• Refund exceptions are: water or electricity not working more than 6 hours during your stay.
• No refunds for snow/ice. You should check weather before arrival and determine if you need to apply chains to your tires which should allow you to arrive in any conditions. If we determine travel to Rieke Retreat is unsafe the date of your arrival, we will let you know and give you full refund.
• All cancellations require a $50.00 cancellation fee (plus VRBO service fees) to cover administrative overhead.
Refund of $25/day if hot tub is not working.

Checkin is after 4pm. Checkout is noon.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties