Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront Cottage on East Sandwich Beach -

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 950 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms and one full bathroom

Ocean front cottage on private beach with large ocean side deck. Just steps to sandy beach. Warm outside shower to rinse off after a swim in the bay. Relax and soak up the sunshine or enjoy a view of the bay from almost every window in the cottage. Nothing beats having your morning coffee watching the fishing boats head out to their favorite spots, or viewing a beautiful sunset after a barbecue on the deck. On those clear summer nights enjoy a cook fire on the beach. This enchanting spot brings back memories and the charm

of simpler times on 'Old Cape Cod'.

Nearby attractions: Approximately 55 miles from Boston. Close to Plymouth Plantation, the Mayflower and other historic attractions. Local attractions include the Heritage Plantation, Sandwich Glass Museum, Old Sandwich Village, fishing, whale watching, Cape Cod Canal bike path, miniature golf, hiking in the dunes (Sandy Neck Beach), golf, antiquing, art galleries and gift shops. Relax on the private beach, soaking up the sun with your favorite book.

More Details

Owner
Elise Burden
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
30%
Calendar last updated:
April 24, 2017

About Elise Burden

I have been vacationing on this beach with my family since the 1950's.

It was my dream to one day own my own little slice of heaven for as long as I can remember. My husband Bill and I bought this cottage in the winter of 1999. We live close enough to maintain it and stay off season with family and friends. It is my hope that my 5 little grandchildren experience the ocean and all it's treasures like I did growing up.

Elise Burden purchased this cottage in 1999

Why Elise Burden chose Cape Cod

Location, location, location!!

Amenities

East Sandwich Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 950 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , one bath is full the other half.
  • There is a toilet with a sink on main level and a combination. A tub/shower upstairs and a sink, no toilet. There is also an outdoor shower with warm water as well for rinsing off.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Upstairs bedroom - 1 queen
    Downstairs bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Downstairs bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Gas grill, deck chairs, and picnic table on deck. Off street parking for 1 car. Some street parking. Most Interior newly renovated. Well equipped kitchen, with large pots for lobsters and steamers. Ice maker in fridge. Washer and dryer, iron and ironing board.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

Oceanfront Cottage on East Sandwich Beach -
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 9 reviews
5

Great Sea Cottage

  • 5 of 5

This great sea cottage is literally a sand dune from the water. Listening to the waves was wonderful! Morning walks on the beach and Afternoons on the deck were sublime! Loved our stay here!

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Such a beautiful spot on the beach!

  • 4 of 5

We loved our week at this cute cottage on the beach! This was our first time staying in Sandwich and it was a very convenient location. It was clean and a perfect size for me, my husband, and our 23 yr old daughter. Nothing better than hearing the waves while going to sleep and waking up to beautiful sunrises. We had a very hot week so didn't do much besides stay on the beach! Thankful for all the fans in the house, as we really needed them! My daughter liked that the downstairs bedroom was cooler. The only drawback was not having the outdoor shower enclosed and no toilet in the very small master bath upstairs. We only cooked dinner on the grill once and ate out the rest. Really loved the Italian food at Amari down on 6A, also enjoyed British Beer Company and Fathers, which were both close by. Ice cream at Twin Acres is a must, breakfast at Marshland and 6A Cafe were both great. Really enjoyed the scones and coffee at Beth's bakery & cafe in the downtown area!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We really don't consider the half bath on the third bedroom level a "master bath". Our cottage was built in 1950. Although completely updated we are under rigid restrictions from conservation and historical commissions that must approve changes. There are plenty of houses on the beach with all of the modern amenities for double and triple the rent that we get. What we do offer is unmatched access and views of the ocean, three comfortable bedrooms that can accomadate 6 adults, plenty of essentials to help you enjoy meals at the cottage and a large outside deck to sit and enjoy the sunsets. Close to perfect:).
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Simply Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Best vacation week ever! This cottage is simple perfection - everything we could have asked for. Private beach is huge and peaceful. Cottage is clean, updated, and has an awesome layout. Woke to gorgeous sunrises, spent days on the beach and in the water, went walking and looking for shells at low tide. Grilled up some dinner on the deck each evening, and then enjoyed sunsets and fires on the beach - simply magical. By day 2, my 2 teenagers were asking if we could rent it again next summer (can't wait!). Perfect location, amazing cottage, super nice owners... so lucky we found it!! Thank you for sharing your place with us, Elise & Bill! We will be back next year for sure!

Kathy, Emily & CJ

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

A dream cottage by the sea... loved it!!!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage with its amazing location right on the beach was just what we needed after a week of sightseeing in Philly and New York and what I had always dreamed of. Enjoying my morning coffee gazing at the sea was the perfect start to the day. The house was lovely and very comfortable and we appreciated all the little bits and bobs (olive oil, soap powder etc) that make staying in a rented house so much easier... Bill and Elise have thought of everything, thank you. We relaxed on the beautiful deserted sunny beach, cooked local lobster, played base ball on the beach, had BBQ's on the decking, camp fire on the beach at night in front of the house and went whale watching in Princeton Town.... awesome! We had a very special family time and didn't want to leave, thank you xx We hope to return one day in the spring... for a month or two!!

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
2

Beautiful beginning - Disappointing End

  • 2 of 5

The house is very charming and the sound of the waves almost constant - I really loved this house and my husband and I were thinking that we would love to come back. However, on Friday morning we woke to banging pipes and looking out towards the beach the neighboring renters (their cottage is 10' away) were putting up a 70' x 25' tent backed up to where the path from our rented cottage came out on the beach and porta potties were being placed on our side of the driveway 30 or so feet from the back deck. A wedding was planned for that weekend and Friday,

Saturday, and 1/2 of Sunday was a parade of deliveries or clean up. Up till this

point the owner's were great - I felt our complaint was minimized, we were never offered any compensation, and from what they told us. they knew on Monday and yet never informed us. There is more to this story but the gist is here and thus my

rating of 2 stars. Meg S.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have been renting our cottage for 13 years without ever having an event like this before on the beach. Unfortunately we did not find out about the neighbors plans until the day of check-in for our guests. Normally the beach is extremely quite and peaceful. We have many returning guests as a result of their positive experience. I am sorry that these guests did not have the best time as a result of conditions that were beyond our control.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 2
5

We had a wonderful time in this place!

  • 5 of 5

My husband my 1year old son had a wonderful time in this cottage! The owners are the nicest people and were very helpful to us from the early beginning when we were booking it. The cottage itself is perfect. The location could not be better. I think, you cannot help but to fall in love with Sandwich. It is an incredibly charming village! The views of the sunset, the water, the peacefulness, close proximity to wonderful restaurants is what we wanted and got only more than we expected by staying in this house. Just amazing! Who would not love waking up to the sound of the waves? It was our first trip to the Cape and we felt that by staying in this cottage we were able to have a true Cape experience, with fires on the beach, grilling wonderful seafood and watching our little one play in the sandbar and in the little splash pool we bought and had on the deck. We could not get enough of the beautiful views from the bedroom, kitchen, the living room and deck. In fact after seeing and dining in other place in the Cape we just wanted to come back home and enjoy the view from our deck. We wished that we stayed longer. Thank you Elise for a wonderful time in your place. We hope to return.

Angie, Shannon and Marcel.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Boston, MA. (Logan) & Providence, R.I.
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Hy Line Ferry
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Rt 6A
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

East Sandwich Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
early spring
Apr 8 2017 - Apr 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$185
$1,000
 
 
spring
Apr 29 2017 - May 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$195
$1,200
 
 
spring
May 13 2017 - May 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,400
 
 
spring
May 27 2017 - Jun 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,600
 
 
pre-season
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,800
 
 
pre-season
Jun 10 2017 - Jun 16 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,300
 
 
pre-season
Jun 17 2017 - Jun 23 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,600
 
 
prime season
Jun 24 2017 - Sep 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $350

900.00-2,800.00
$950/week-$2,800.00/week

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties