Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront Cottage on East Sandwich Beach -

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 950 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms and one full bathroom

Ocean front cottage on private beach with large ocean side deck. Just steps to sandy beach. Warm outside shower to rinse off after a swim in the bay. Relax and soak up the sunshine or enjoy a view of the bay from almost every window in the cottage. Nothing beats having your morning coffee watching the fishing boats head out to their favorite spots, or viewing a beautiful sunset after a barbecue on the deck. On those clear summer nights enjoy a cook fire on the beach. This enchanting spot brings back memories and the charm

of simpler times on 'Old Cape Cod'.

Nearby attractions: Approximately 55 miles from Boston. Close to Plymouth Plantation, the Mayflower and other historic attractions. Local attractions include the Heritage Plantation, Sandwich Glass Museum, Old Sandwich Village, fishing, whale watching, Cape Cod Canal bike path, miniature golf, hiking in the dunes (Sandy Neck Beach), golf, antiquing, art galleries and gift shops. Relax on the private beach, soaking up the sun with your favorite book.

More Details

Owner
Elise Burden
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
50%
Calendar last updated:
August 8, 2018

About Elise Burden

I have been vacationing on this beach with my family since the 1950's.

It was my dream to one day own my own little slice of heaven for as long as I can remember. My husband Bill and I bought this cottage in the winter of 1999. We live close enough to maintain it and stay off season with family and friends. It is my hope that my 5 little grandchildren experience the ocean and all it's treasures like I did growing up.

Elise Burden purchased this cottage in 1999

Why Elise Burden chose East Sandwich

Location, location, location!!

Amenities

East Sandwich Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 950 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , one bath is full the other half.
  • There is a toilet with a sink on main level and a combination. A tub/shower upstairs and a sink, no toilet. There is also an outdoor shower with warm water as well for rinsing off.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Upstairs bedroom - 1 queen
    Downstairs bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Downstairs bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Gas grill, deck chairs, and picnic table on deck. Off street parking for 1 car. Some street parking. Most Interior newly renovated. Well equipped kitchen, with large pots for lobsters and steamers. Ice maker in fridge. Washer and dryer, iron and ironing board.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

64% Complete
21% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
Oceanfront Cottage on East Sandwich Beach -
average rating of 4.285714 based on 14 reviews
4

A nice little beach cottage!

  • 4 of 5

The bathroom situation is a bit awkward, but otherwise it is a great place to unwind for a week. The view is phenomenal!

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

Clean,Clean,Clean.We loved the bright clean cottage and the setup is Awsome.Sunsets are made for this cottage.Appear to be great and friendly cottage owners.Views are terrific from all around especially from upstairs bedroom.I would definitely stay there again..

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Disappointing

  • 1 of 5

It saddens me to write a negative review, but I also feel I need to share a bit about the cottage so that families considering this property know some details. We were quite disappointed by the rental. When we arrived, we had to cut back the grasses on the pathway so we could get to the stairs leading to the beach. Then we were dealing an awful deck odor and we cleaned the grill because the tray was filled with a foul smelling sludge (the grill still needs a good cleaning--many flare ups that charred out meats so that we only grilled once). There was trash and debris under the deck that looks like it had been there for a while. We ended up cleaning the deck and removing a smelly tablecloth that was attached to the picnic table and cleaned the table. Also, we did not know that two of the bedrooms would be in a dank basement. My son now has a very bad cough, perhaps from sleeping down there. It was not clear from the description that two of the three bedrooms would be in a damp basement (and it's small, three-level cottage). Those were the main items I wanted to share...but there were other little things that made this an uncomfortable stay.

This was our weekly summer vacation and we felt frustrated and disappointed as we were hoping for a relaxing, enjoyable time--I would not recommend staying here.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have been renting our cottage for nearly 20 years. My husband Bill and I do our own cleanings because we want to insure that everything is up to our standards for our guests. This review does not reflect the experiences we've had with tenants at all. As I explained to this tenant we have no way of knowing why there was an odor outside the cottage and can confidently say that it was nothing we had control over. The items under the deck are sand toys and other items that we need to store. Not trash. The picnic table was brand new. We had just completed a remodel of the Kitchen and had new living rm couches.The walk out first floor where there are 2 bedrooms are not dank as stated and can be viewed on the website. Our neighbors had just built a beautiful new cottage next door. Our cottage dates back to the 1950's. It's charming, clean and modernized. It sits a top the dune overseeing the ocean. Most guests think it's wonderful, and many return year after year. Elise
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5

Was our third year here. Love this cute little town. Owners are very nice. Lots to do and restaurants are close.

  • Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Springfield, MA
5

bright little long-weekend-adventure cottage, even in rainy/cool Spring weather

  • 5 of 5

My husband & 3 kids and I completely enjoyed our stay - it was the perfect spot for our long weekend by the ocean. The house was the ideal combination of cottage-cozy and bright/open/airy thanks to the structural layout & interior decorating choices, with every bit of space being well-utilized and optimized for comfort. It was also very clean and everything felt new/updated. We had lots we wanted to do while visiting the Cape, but we also made sure to have a significant amount of time at our pretty cottage too, especially with its plentiful ocean views (the waves during/after the storm were mesmerizing). Even though the Spring weather was rainy/gray/cool, we had a wonderful weekend, largely due to our cozy and inviting accommodations.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Carbondale Colorado
5

Great Sea Cottage

  • 5 of 5

This great sea cottage is literally a sand dune from the water. Listening to the waves was wonderful! Morning walks on the beach and Afternoons on the deck were sublime! Loved our stay here!

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Boston, MA. (Logan) & Providence, R.I.
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Hy Line Ferry
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Rt 6A
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59

900.00-2,800.00
$950/week-$2,800.00/week

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties