Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

coming soon 25 foot shuffleboard!!!!

Bedrooms 5
Space 2,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

5 bedrooms, 3 full baths, Sleeps 16-18

Come visit our beautiful home in Brier Crest Woods! Only a stones throw away from The Pocono Raceway featuring 2 NASCAR events each summer! Only 2 miles away from Big Boulder & Jack Frost ski resorts. Camelback water park is only a 17 minute drive!

There's a beautiful lake, beach & fishing pier! You're more than welcome to bring your canoes, sailboats or electric motor boat to paddle or fish your summer days away! There's also a picnic area & tennis courts. Skirmish, paint ball, white water rafting! All w/in a few miles. Go antiquing in old historic Jim Thorpe!! Gorgeous starry nights await you!!!!

We have a 5 bedroom home that sleeps. 16-18 2 bedrooms w/ king beds.  1  queen room.  1 bedroom with queen/queen bunk  and a 6th  bedroom with a twin / twin bunk and a double/ double bunk bed. We also have a sofa bed.  We

have 3 full baths, 2 fireplaces and a great recroom. It has a 8Ft slate pool table and a real 25 foot longboard shuffle board table.   We also have a 52 inch streaming capable LED TV in the living room and 48’ LCD TVs in the rec room.  4 bedrooms are equipped with flat screen TV's that are Netflix and other streaming sources ready also.  If you have an account simply log in.

We have 4 other beautiful homes on Homeaway. #145767, #327072, #135003, 989609

Brier Crest Woods: : Located close to I-80 in the heart of the Poconos, Brier Crest Woods is a private community that offers a convenient location to shopping, skiing and major cities, while retaining it's quiet country setting. Private, well maintained roads allow for peaceful walking, bicycle riding or use of golf carts and other small vehicles. In addition, Brier Crest Woods offers: Tennis Courts; Bocce Court; Private lake and beach (with lifeguard); Play ground; Basketball and volleyball court.

Poconos Blues Festival: : The Pocono Blues Festival has been rated as one of the top Blues Festivals in The United States. The combination of a gorgeous setting, surrounded by mountains, lakes, and streams 2000 feet above sea level, makes this must-attend festival an event that attracts Blues' fans from more than 30 states and several countries. Pocono has featured at least 280 nationally and internationally renowned artists over the past 14 years. Lifetime Achievement Awards have been presented to Ruth Brown, Clarence Gatemouth Brown, Honeyboy Edwards, Robert Lockwood Jr, Pinetop Perkins, Son Seals, Snooky Pryor, Carey Bell, Lonnie Brooks, Buddy Guy, Willie Kent, and others. Pocono has the reputation of bringing in the best national artists, with a focus on contemporary and traditional acoustic or electric Blues, Southern Soul, and Sacred Steel Music.

Big Pocono State Park/Canoe Whitewater: : Big Pocono State Park is in Monroe County in northeastern Pennsylvania. The park consists of 1,306 acres of rugged terrain on the summit and slopes of Camelback Mountain. From the summit, visitors can enjoy a magnificent view of a vast portion of eastern Pennsylvania and portions of New Jersey and New York. Canoe or Raft through nature on the free flowing Delaware River with one of these exciting Pennsylvania Raft (or Canoe) Packages - Voted By Poconos Best as 'Best Rafting Package In Pennsylvania' - You'll spend a day canoeing (or Rafting) down the Pennsylvania Delaware River in your own canoe or raft. Experience Whitewater - Class 2 or 3 rapids ( Not scary - just thrilling) depending upon the time of year. But the most enjoyable of the trip is experiencing the solitude of the river. Drift among islands, peer down at fish, maybe see an eagle or osprey soar over head (lots of hawks), paddle down the same river as pioneering settlers, experience the Delaware Water Gap.

More Details

Property Manager
Michael Coombe
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

Our group of 14 stayed here over the xmas Holiday and couldn't have asked for a better experience. The house was amazing and Michael was great to work with. The house was in great condition and exactly as advertised. There was more than ample room for our group . and the wireless internet was fast and worry free. The location is fantastic and conveniently located near both Jake Frost and Big Boulder ski resorts. We would definitely recommend this property to anyone.
Dec 2012
  • 1 of 2


Blakeslee House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 18
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Mountain
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet ...
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 double , 2 twin/ single , full/full and twin/twin
    bedroom 5 - 2 queen , bunks
    rec room sofa bed - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Game Room ...
  • Pool Table
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Tennis Court
  • Wood Deck
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
coming soon 25 foot shuffleboard!!!!
average rating of 4.352941 based on 19 reviews

Great House!

  • 5 of 5

A group of us, friends and family, vacationed October 2008 and had a blast. Very clean, bigger than expected, close to grocery store, restaurants, and many other attractions and activities. The shuffleboard and pool tables were awesome. Owner was very professional and easy to deal with, always available for questions. Overall we had a great time and would love to stay again in the future.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We strive for 100% satisfaction in all our rentals. We are proud of our homes and work as hard as possible to make everyone's stay a memorable one.
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0

Winter Weekend

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here for 4 days/3 nights. Big, clean open house. Not a luxury house, but perfect for my group of guys. Everything as shown in the pics. It's close to the mountain (JFBB) and not a far ride from the casino/Camelback (25 mins). We all had a great weekend there. A big plus was that it's got some space between properties, so for a group of guys we could get loud without disrupting the neighbors. I rec'd my security deposit back in full within 6 weeks as stated. Honest guy, and would do business with him again. Thanks so much to Mike, the owner.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Awesome Pete! Glad we could have you! We do our best to keep things clean and looking great! Real glad you took the time to comment on it . Real nice of you! It shows our hard work pays off. Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great house= great time!

  • 5 of 5

Michael was helpful in accomodating our group of 20 people trying to find a house to rent in the Poconos MLK weekend. We got to the house and it was clean and just what we were hoping for. The new shuffleboard table that was just installed during the holidays was a huge hit! I got my security back within a month and a half or so and it only had a very minor deduction due to a whole in one of the sheets. But with 20 people in one house I feel that's fair and to be expected. We had a question on our last day of our visit and Michael responded to my text within minutes and was very helpful.

Overall, great experience and a truly great time had by all. Everyone kept telling me how much they liked the house and how much fun they had. With this large group of people to coordinate it really makes a difference that Michael was so helpful in accommodating all of us. Couldn't be happier and would recommend this house to anyone- all ages!

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Philadelphia PA

Great Location

  • 4 of 5

We were lucky to get some cold weather and the kids (16-20 years old) were able to snowboard and ski everyday. Big Boulder and Jack Frost are both 5 minutes away. This house was great for our situation. The kids had the basement that has three bedrooms, bathroom with shower. It also has a rec room with tv, pool table, and shuffleboard. The sliding glass doors lead right to the hot tub. It isn't great that the hot tub is in the front of the house, but we just pulled our cars in front of it. Upstairs the adults had three more bedrooms, living room, kitchen and 2 bathrooms. There were a few glitches, but Mike was quick to have someone come to the house to help. The house is not a luxury home. But for the price it is in a great location, very clean and has a ton of fun amenities. We all had a great time!

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Camden, NJ

Beware of Damage....and being charged for it!

  • 1 of 5

I guess 1st time shame on you, 2nd time, shame on me.

The first time at this property's owner's place, the place was accomidating. Having stayed in Poconos dozens of time, we always take the liberty of leaving the place spotless. We washed every dish and linen in an 8 BR cabin, cleaned every nook and cranny, because we believe in leaving a lasting impression. The security deposit took over 6 weeks to come back, and $40 was deducted for a bed sheet that was "faded during washing". Later I was told that there was no need to wash the sheets. Over $40 I didn't make much of an issue, but I thought it was very petty. I felt it was done to offset Paypal fees of my payment.

I saw the special this property owner was having, and decided to give one of his other places a try. First of all upon arrival, I immediately notice damage to walls, cabinets, fridge, carpet, hand rails, dressers, and more. I let the property owner know of the assessments of damage, things that weren't working, and he assured me he knew of all the damage. Fortunately we had a handyman in our bunch who was nice enough to fix the rack on the fridge, the handles on cabinets and bedroom doors, as well as the dressers at the property. We assessed the place and found 37 (yes this is not a typo) issues with the property at arrival and took pics of them. Everything from cracked chairs, to non working oven coils, light bulbs. leaking water hose (we fixed), loose bathroom caulking and too many other things to name. We were a bit leary wtih all the problems and told the owner we took pics of the problems so that he was aware. He told us not to worry.

This time upon checkout, we made sure to check everything top to bottom. We did not wash any linens. We left the place in better condition in than what we arrived. I texted owner (he doesn't want voicemail messages) of issues upon our departure. And once again I waited nearly 2 months for the security deposit to return. This time I was shocked to see I was shorted nearly $250 bucks! The details were scarce, but included amazingly I was charged $30 for not washing the bed sheets!

I guess that's how he makes up for his special low rates by finding something to charge in the security deposit to the renters. Never again will I stay with this property owner nor recommend him! I caution all renters to document any damage with any of his properties. Take pictures like we did so that you have evidence when this happens to you!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is a shame people are not stand up. This gentleman thanked me and even booked another house for around Christmas, then when he received charges he canceled and sent out this review. He was never charged for CLEANING sheets or any bed linens. We use a professional linen service and do not charge for the expense. He was charged for REPLACEMENT of sheet sets that were stained with kool aid or something like it. Linen charges are direct from the company. It is not money we keep for ourselves as they are not my sheets. They cooked something on our stove top that shorted out and MELTED ( fire maybe) a coil receptacle on our stove. It also left grease under all the burners that need to be hand scraped out by the cleaners. We had to call in a tech to fix our stove. He was charged for the service call. As far as the damage to everything else, the only thing i will agree with is the nicks in walls or possibly holes. We fix and paint quarterly or when we have open time but if one party checks out at noon and another checks in at three we simply don't have time to spackle and paint fist holes and the like. You would be surprised how many we get in all of our homes. We don't like it either and do our best to take car of them right away. imagine 25 people staying at your house for the weekend and another 25 coming in sunday afternoon. luggage , ski boots, skis all these things contribute to wall scrapes and nicks up and down hallways and stairwells. We have had a few people mention light bulbs to us. We have three 6 bulb ceiling fans in the great room and when all three are on 18 light bulbs is a bit overwhelming so we purposely keep 3 out of each fan. Our lease states that it can take up to six weeks for security deposit returns. We allow for movie rentals via our cable system. Being that there are no longer any blockbuster video stores around we do this as a courtesy in case of inclement weather. we verify via the cable bill The other items simply are not true and our other feedback for all of our homes show this. I could address others like the cabinet knobs. (Our cabinets dont have knobs so this is an ex ample of him making stuff up because he is sore}. but it is just silly to do so. We did 148 rentals in our homes last year and only have 2 bad reviews, both by folks that were charged accordingly for damage. We do not charge unnecessarily and have many repeat customers that come back each year
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1

Perfect House!

  • 5 of 5

After senior prom in May 2011, 15 of us stayed at this house. All of us had a great time and are extremely happy we chose to stay here after all of the searching. We could not have asked for better. The house was very CLEAN, COMFORTABLE, and SPACIOUS!

On top of the house being a great place to stay the owner is very easy to get in contact with, always with an immediate answer upcoming our stay at the house. He answered all of my questions and wanted everyone to have a great time. Most importantly, he was very understanding and negotiable which I found is not very common in most of the owners.

Although after the stay at the house I found it hard to get in contact with the owner regarding the security deposit. The contract said it will be returned within 6 weeks after leaving. We did receive it very shortly after the six weeks so I cannot complain much. I just expected my e-mails and phone calls answered as they were prior and during the stay.

Overall the stay was great and I would DEFINITELY recommend this house! It has everything you need and very CLEAN! The pictures and descriptions of the house are very accurate; even better in person. The owner clearly had good intent by doing everything to guarantee a fantastic stay!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so Much Katie!!! You are welcome back any time! She is right I was a bit unresponsive about the refund. Not an excuse but We had a small ,lingering family crisis that pulled me away. I did speak with her prior to her refund being sent but it should have been sooner. Everything is fine now and Looking forward to a great winter season!!! Thanks again Katie your group was wonderful!! Michael
Did you find this review helpful?
25 0


Car: necessary

Pocono Raceway, Jack Frost, Big boulder, Camelback are all nearby. White water rafting, paint ball, horseback riding, four wheeling, skirmish, water park, antiquing and a plethora of nightlife/clubs in the area.

Other Activities: rafting, water park

Ski: -Jack Frost & Big Boulder Poconos Resorts-Find seasonal paradise at Jack Frost & Big Boulder Poconos resorts, in the heart of Pennsylvania's scenic Poconos Mountains. Our Poconos resorts are the ideal destinations for your next vacation. You'll find the best skiing, snowboarding, snow tubing, and summer activities right here! Whether it's winter fun or fun in the sun, Jack Frost & Big Boulder Poconos resorts offer tons of activities for everyone. Jack Frost Mountain & Big Boulder Poconos Resorts have something for you all year long.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $245
Damage Deposit $500

We have very specific rates which do not always work in the quotable system. Please send an inquiry to get an exact quote, it could be LESS expensive than what the system gives you. We always have special mid-week deals and last minute discounts.
We apologize for the inconvenience. We do NOT offer Saturday check in nor Saturday check out. credit card payments incur a 3% convenience fee.
MLK and PRES equal to weekly rate

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties