Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Shore's Heaven - Third House from the Beach!

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms7
Half Baths2
Space 3,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

6 bedrooms, 7.5 bathrooms, sleeps 12-14

Looking for a relaxing place to spend with family and friends? Come and enjoy the OBX of yesteryear in the quiet and solitude of the Salvo beaches, while basking in the luxurious amenities of this upscale home. Linens (sheets & towels) are included, with beds made. Only beach towels will be needed.

This is the third house from the beach and only 100 feet to beach access.

Tired of starting your vacation in a rental company office or the grocery store instead of the beach? No problem. With our keyless entry, you go right to the house. Our concierge service (small fee) will do the food shopping for you and have it waiting in the refrigerators when you arrive. Let the elevator transport your things to the bedroom or kitchen. After that, all you need to do is go to the guest closet, pull out the beach chairs and head for the beach.

To add to your privacy, every bedroom has its own bathroom. This home includes a game room with a pool table, an elevator, and a theater room. The theater room has a 61” DLP TV with surround sound stereo and Play Station II. The six bedrooms each have a TV/DVD combo unit, with one of the bedrooms being handicap friendly. In addition, the master bedroom on the top floor has a Jacuzzi. High speed Internet access points exist in the den, theater room, and rec room. Just bring your own laptop. The Great Room has a TV with surround sound stereo. Enjoy the private pool and 6 person hot tub with pool side stereo speakers.

The Cleaning and Maintenance team is answerable to us. This means you can expect a very clean and well maintained house on your arrival versus what you will find with rental company managed properties. And, within 48 hours, they will call you to ensure your expectations are met.

Our Concierge Service (additional fee) is truly one of our unique features. Whether it's doing the food shopping, delivery a meal or whatever you might need to enhance your vacation, the Concierge team is here to help.

Amenities by Floor:

Level 1: 1 MBR Bedroom (Pyramid bed with trundle) with full bath and 20” TV/DVD combo, rec room, wet bar, refrigerator with ice maker, microwave, pool table, 27” TV, stereo, private pool with stereo sound controls, hot tub, park grill, cabana bathroom, enclosed outside shower, washer and dryer, outdoor storage with beach chairs, boogie boards, etc. Elevator goes to every floor of the house. Entry conveniently located in the garage area to bottom floor lending itself to easy access to the elevator.

Level 2: 4 MBR bedrooms (King, King, King – handicap friendly, 2 twins) each with private bath and 20” TV/DVD combo, theater room with 61” DLP TV and surround sound stereo, Play Station II, covered decks.

Level 3: MBR with Jacuzzi and private bath (King), full bath room, great room with surround sound CATV, DVD and stereo, gourmet kitchen with 2 dishwashers and refrigerator with ice maker, dining room, den with work area, high speed Internet, open decks. Rear decks have stereo control

More Details

Owner
Dan Spaventa
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
March 30, 2017

About Dan Spaventa

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to consider our home in Salvo, NC. We are from the Philadelphia, PA area and have been vacationing on the Outer Banks since 2002. No matter where they live, they always look forward to our time together on the Outer Banks.

Dan Spaventa purchased this house in 2006

Why Dan Spaventa chose Salvo

We've built and furnished this home with everything we wanted to find in our perfect vacation home. A short walk (100 feet) to the pristine beaches, where there is plenty of room to spread out and have some fun, Salvo was the perfect location.

We always wanted to start our vacation on the beach, not waiting for keys in a rental company office, or standing in line at the Food Lion, or wasting time making beds or lugging our things up the stairs. We've implemented keyless entry, so you will have your code before you even leave for OBX. No more fumbling around for keys. Our concierge service, for a small fee, will pick up your grocery order and stock the refrigerators for you. You will find the beds made and linens provided. And the house comes with child equipment like pack and plays and a high chair.

What makes this house unique

We have furnished the house to address your comfort needs, and with each bedroom having its own bathroom (plus 1.5 more bathrooms), there is never any waiting in line. Also, the private pool and hot tub, not to mention the volleyball court, is there for your use whenever a beach day isn't quite what you wish to do.

No need to pack those beach chairs, boogey boards and beach toys. The Guest Closet will have those things waiting for you when you arrive.

Being so close to the ocean and Sound, spectacular sunrises and sunsets are a daily experience.

Amenities

South Beach Park House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 14
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Top Floor Bdr Bath - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Mid Stair Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    SE Mid Bdr Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , Handicap Friendly
    NE Mid Bdr Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    NW Mid Bdr Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    SW Mid Bdr Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    1st Flr Bdr Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Cabana Bath - toilet , Access from Rec Room and Pool Area
    Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower
    Half Bathroom -
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Top Floor - 1 king , w/ jacuzzi
    SE Mid Floor - 1 king , handicap friendly
    NE Mid Floor - 1 king
    NW Mid Floor - 2 twin/ single
    SW Mid Floor - 1 king
    First Floor - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , Pyramid bed with trundle
    Theater Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen Sleeper Sofa
  • 1 room with two single beds, 4 rooms with one king, 1 room with pyramid bed andf trundle (sleeps 4), theater room with queen sleeper sofa. All bedrooms have private bathroom
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Elevator available to all levels. Theater room includes 61' DLP, PlayStation II, and surround sound stereo with high speed Internet access. Recreation room includes pool table, 27' CATV, DVD, stereo and high speed Internet access. This stereo also has speaker controls by the pool and hot tub. The Great Room has a 32' CATV with surround sound stereo and DVD player. The rear upper floor deck has speaker controls available for the great room stereo. The loft/den has high speed Internet access. Wireless network access throughout the house.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

Shore's Heaven - Third House from the Beach!
average rating of 4.5 based on 18 reviews
4

Relaxing Ocean Stay

  • 4 of 5

I came here with a group during off-season and the area and the home were perfect for what we were looking for. It felt like we had the whole island to ourselves and we loved watching the sun rise and set over the ocean from the top floor balconies every day. The ocean was a short dune walk away; the beach was pristine and never crowded. The house itself was well-furnished and spacious, with endless balconies, bathrooms, and entertainment. My group was never bored and the common areas were large enough to accommodate us all! Overall, the group had a wonderful time, and we will definitely come back to stay again if possible!

The only setbacks we encountered were infinitesimal. The house was flooded with sunlight which was beautiful for the most part, but some of the rooms did not have window treatments to block out the sun if needed. Also, if your party fills the occupancy of the house, I suggest bringing more towels, blankets, pillows and paper products. My group ran through towels and paper products quickly, especially considering the hot-tub/beach activities.

This is a beautiful and accommodating home minutes from the beach! I highly recommend to any visitor looking for a relaxed escape to the ocean.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Better than we expected!

  • 5 of 5

What better review can there be but to say that we came home and booked a week for next year! We are a large family and it has been many years since we had all been away together - Shore's Heaven was just what we needed. This home provided all we hoped for in its' size, accommodations, amenities, comfort and location - it is a very beautiful, relaxing spot away from our normal, way too busy lives. We thank you, Dan, for sharing your lovely home with us and for your personal attention to our inquiries, etc. God bless you!

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Denise, Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to you returning next year! Kind regards, Dan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautiful Home with Small Details Lacking

  • 3 of 5

The home itself is absolutely stunning and located on a cul- de -sac within a housing community within walking distance ro the beach. The home advertises a play station 2 but neglects to mention that ALL the games have "walked away" by previous guests and empty cases were left. I ended up buying my son games even though we don't own a playstation at home so he could use it. The one remote to control the entire house is a nightmare and took several attempts by Dan to fix the issue remotely with the help of my husband. Two out of four of the hot tub jets were fully pumping and functional with the foam headrests completely gone. The pool maintenence man was scheduled twice and only showed up once (the day before we were leaving) along with the maintenence man from Shore Details to replace 8 light bulbs that were blown out sometime before our arrival but was taken care of the day before we were leaving. He actually had to leave and come back cause he ran out of bulbs. There aren't any DVDS for movie night (we had a few nights of rain) cause they too grew legs and someone helped themselves prior to our arrival. We were looking forward to using the beach cart to haul chairs etc only to find out the tires were flat. One of two dishwashers is broke (we told the maintenence man who said they tend to go quickly due to use) with the utensil holder not shutting correctly and the top drawer not sitting correctly which was beyond normal repair. The day before we leave the ice maker stops making ice.... at one point during the stay I was interested in possibly rebooking for next year. However after all the minors not being addressed I can only wonder if it will happen again or was this just a fluke? Either way, our family should have an effortless vacation as so promoted... otherwise Dan is a nice guy just needs to start reinvesting a bit more on deposits so things don't walk off and can be enjoyed by all. He did offer to let us stay again next year for the same rate and as much as I appreciate the offer, I think we will be heading elsewhere.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Sarah, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on Shore's Heaven. We do take all comments seriously. As you know, we have a management company, Shore Details, that is very responsive to guest issues. We encourage our guest to take full advantage of their services to get things to where they need to be. Be it light bulbs, the appliances, or the beach cart, Shore Details is there to make it right. Should we be fortunate enough to have you reconsider and rent in the future, we would expect a better job with the details. There are actually two remotes that control the two main entertainment units in the house, in the Great Room and the Media Room. There are also televisions in each of the bedrooms and Game Room each wit their native remotes. From time to time, the Great Room system gets a little out of whack from tampering or even weather, and we do our best to get it fixed as quickly as possible. Again, it is meant to be a positive and not negative. For instance, the guest who came after you had an issue that turned out that the television in the Great Room had been switched from HDMI to another input. These things happen and we try to rectify as quickly as possible. With regard to the video games and movies, people unintentionally bring those home from time to time, and we do our best to ensure that what we advertise is in fact what people experience. It is hard, however, to catch these things and respond on a timely basis. Regarding the pool, Three Seas, our pool and hot tub people are at our home on Sunday and Wednesday. I have asked them to leave a receipt in the future of some sort as they typically come early on Wednesday so as not to disturb anyone. They informed me that the hot tub was fine, but that the diverter has been turned off for four of the jets. Again, these things happen, and I apologize for the inconvenience. Sarah, as we discussed upon your departure, I understand that things were not perfect, and I feel very bad that you did not have the typical Shore's Heaven vacation. Our goal is to ensure each of our guest have the most enjoyable vacation imaginable. I have spoken to each of the service providers about your concerns and we will be putting in place procedures to ensure that this is not repeated. Kind regards, Dan
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Had a wonderful time - the long drive from Florida was worth it

  • 3 of 5

We had a wonderful time at Shores Heaven. The house was beautiful and the property was well maintained and clean when we arrived. But, I have to say that we were a bit disappointed with the entertainment system. The TV had to be reset several times by Mr. Spaventa from a remote location and the DVD/VHS did not work at all. The music outside on the decks did not work either. While Mr. Spaventa was very apologetic, this was disappointing as this was the 20th Anniversary of our vacation group and everyone had plans to show movies from past vacations as memories to cherish!

While we had no children with us, any family who did would have been hard pressed to entertain the little ones with no TV or gaming system to use.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Liz, I again apologize for the difficulties you experienced with the video system in the great room. We did have our AV person come to address the issue. As you know, there are also DVD and VCR players in both the media and game room. The issue in the Great Room has since been addressed with a replacement DCD/VCR. We are gald you enjoyed the house overall and hope you might consider our home in the future. Kind regards, Dan
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Clean, beautiful and prices right

  • 4 of 5

This house was a great house for our party of 14. Each room was supplied with personal bathroom which was a major plus. Very clean and spacious. The pool and hot tub was fun for the kids and adults. Close to the beach, beautiful view of the night sky. Peaceful and quiet neighborhood. If there was any negatives about this house, they were very minor.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ryan, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Dan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great property, responsive owner

  • 4 of 5

We have rented many houses either from Homeaway or rental agencies, many of which are on OBX. We were pleased and pleasantly surprised with how responsive Dan was with regards to minor (no complementary TP/soap) and major (surround sound not functioning) hiccups. I would say the biggest downside of our stay was the pool heat that we paid $300 for. It was a cold week, and the pool heater pipes froze over and did not function except for 1 full day. When we requested a refund, Dan said that he would only apply $100 credit toward a future stay. We would have liked more consideration regarding this issue because the heated pool is why we booked this house. Otherwise, kudos to an attentive owner. It makes all the difference.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Guest, We do appreciate you staying at our home. As you might remember, we did say that if the nights went below 55 that the pool heat would not function until the temperature again pass that temperature. Early April is generally right on the border. The pool manager assured me that even with the cold nights, the water never went below 75. If you feel this is not correct, we should discuss. We also strive to be very fair and generally do come down on the side of the guest. I am happy to rectify the situation. Kind regards, Dan Spaventa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rates & Availability

South Beach Park House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
2017 Rates
Jan 8 2017 - Apr 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$333
$1,295
 
 
2017 Rates
Apr 16 2017 - May 6 2017
3 night minimum stay
$333
$1,395
 
 
2017 Rates
May 7 2017 - May 13 2017
3 night minimum stay
$333
$1,595
 
 
2017 Rates
May 14 2017 - May 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$333
$2,195
 
 
2017 Rates
May 21 2017 - May 27 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,795
 
 
2017 Rates
May 28 2017 - Jun 3 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,995
 
 
2017 Rates
Jun 4 2017 - Jun 10 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,495
 
 
2017 Rates
Jun 11 2017 - Jun 17 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,595
 
 
2017 Rates
Jun 18 2017 - Jun 24 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,895
 
 
2017 Rates
Jun 25 2017 - Jul 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,995
 
 
2017 Rates
Jul 2 2017 - Aug 5 2017
7 night minimum stay
$5,395
 
 
2017 Rates
Aug 6 2017 - Aug 12 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,295
 
 
2017 Rates
Aug 13 2017 - Aug 19 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,295
 
 
2017 Rates
Aug 20 2017 - Aug 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,495
 
 
2017 Rates
Aug 27 2017 - Sep 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$333
$1,995
 
 
2017 Rates
Sep 3 2017 - Sep 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
$333
$1,695
 
 
2017 Rates
Sep 10 2017 - Oct 21 2017
3 night minimum stay
$333
$1,495
 
 
2017 Rates
Oct 22 2017 - Nov 18 2017
3 night minimum stay
$333
$1,295
 
 
2017 Rates
Nov 19 2017 - Nov 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$333
$1,395
 
 
2017 Rates
Nov 26 2017 - Dec 23 2017
3 night minimum stay
$333
$1,295
 
 
2017 Rates
Dec 24 2017 - Jan 6 2018
3 night minimum stay
$333
$1,395
 
 
2018 Rates
Jan 7 2018 - Apr 21 2018
3 night minimum stay
$333
$1,295
 
 
2018 Rates
Apr 22 2018 - May 12 2018
3 night minimum stay
$333
$1,395
 
 
2018 Rates
May 13 2018 - May 19 2018
3 night minimum stay
$333
$1,595
 
 
2018 Rates
May 20 2018 - May 26 2018
3 night minimum stay
$366
$2,195
 
 
2018 Rates
May 27 2018 - Jun 2 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,995
 
 
2018 Rates
Jun 3 2018 - Jun 9 2018
7 night minimum stay
$3,495
 
 
2018 Rates
Jun 10 2018 - Jun 16 2018
7 night minimum stay
$4,595
 
 
2018 Rates
Jun 17 2018 - Jun 23 2018
7 night minimum stay
$4,895
 
 
2018 Rates
Jun 24 2018 - Aug 11 2018
7 night minimum stay
$5,395
 
 
2018 Rates
Aug 12 2018 - Aug 18 2018
7 night minimum stay
$4,295
 
 
2018 Rates
Aug 19 2018 - Aug 25 2018
7 night minimum stay
$3,295
 
 
2018 Rates
Aug 26 2018 - Sep 1 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,495
 
 
2018 Rates
Sep 2 2018 - Sep 8 2018
7 night minimum stay
$1,995
 
 
2018 Rates
Sep 9 2018 - Sep 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
$333
$1,695
 
 
2018 Rates
Sep 16 2018 - Oct 20 2018
3 night minimum stay
$333
$1,495
 
 
2018 Rates
Oct 21 2018 - Nov 17 2018
3 night minimum stay
$333
$1,295
 
 
2018 Rates
Nov 18 2018 - Nov 24 2018
3 night minimum stay
$333
$1,395
 
 
2018 Rates
Nov 25 2018 - Dec 22 2018
3 night minimum stay
$333
$1,295
 
 
2018 Rates
Dec 23 2018 - Jan 5 2019
3 night minimum stay
$333
$1,395
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$333
$1,295
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Tax Rate 12.75%

This house rents Sunday to Sunday

Pool heat $400 extra

Credit Cards accepted.

For rates on three or four day weekend stays in the Fall or Spring, please contact owner. Three night (minimum) stay is $995. Each additional night is prorated off of the weekly rate. Four or more nights, the weekly rate applies.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Map

Chicamacomico Life Saving Station Historic Site and museum
Lisa's Pizzeria
Cape Hatteras National Seashore
Oregon Inlet Fishing Center Inc
Cape Hatteras National Seashore
Mack Daddy's Seafood Grill-Raw
Dolphin Den -- CLOSED
Cape Hatteras Light Station
Currituck Beach Light House Gft
Jockey's Ridge State Park
Ocracoke Lighthouse
Ocracoke Island Ferry
Colington Cafe
"By far our favorite restaurant. At least one night of our vacation is reserved for dinner at..."
Jockey Ridge State Park
Crrrituck Club Golf Course & Clubhouse
The Sound
Wright Brothers National Memorial Park
Ocracoke
Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Norfolk, VA
Nearest Ferry
25 Miles
Hatteras Village to Ocracoke Island
Nearest Motorway
20 Miles
US 64 and Hwy 158
Nearest Beach
90 Metres
Salvo Beach (100 yds)

Salvo is a short drive from the four lighthouses in the area, the Wright Brothers Museum, the NC Aquarium, the Lost Colony, and other tourist attractions. Salvo is convenient to either Avon to the south, or Oregon’s Inlet to the north. Surrounded by Park Service Land to the south, you can expect a quite and peaceful vacation, with plenty of room on the beach to swim, fish, or do whatever you like.

Other Activities: Paddle Boats, Wave Runners, Go-Carting, Lighthouse Tours (4), NC Aquarium, Wrights Brother Museum, Jockey's

Photos

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties