Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Shore's Heaven - Third House from the Beach!

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms7
Half Baths1
Space 3,500 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

6 bedrooms, 7.5 bathrooms, sleeps 12-14

Looking for a relaxing place to spend with family and friends? Come and enjoy the OBX of yesteryear in the quiet and solitude of the Salvo beaches, while basking in the luxurious amenities of this upscale home. Linens (sheets & towels) are included, with beds made. Only beach towels will be needed.

This is the third house from the beach and only 100 feet to beach access.

Tired of starting your vacation in a rental company office or the grocery store instead of the beach? No problem. With our keyless entry, you go right to the house. Our concierge service (small fee) will do the food shopping for you and have it waiting in the refrigerators when you arrive. Let the elevator transport your things to the bedroom or kitchen. After that, all you need to do is go to the guest closet, pull out the beach chairs and head for the beach.

To add to your privacy, every bedroom has its own bathroom. This home includes a game room with a pool table, an elevator, and a theater room. The theater room has a 61” DLP TV with surround sound stereo and Play Station II. The six bedrooms each have a TV/DVD combo unit, with one of the bedrooms being handicap friendly. In addition, the master bedroom on the top floor has a Jacuzzi. High speed Internet access points exist in the den, theater room, and rec room. Just bring your own laptop. The Great Room has a TV with surround sound stereo. Enjoy the private pool and 6 person hot tub with pool side stereo speakers.

The Cleaning and Maintenance team is answerable to us. This means you can expect a very clean and well maintained house on your arrival versus what you will find with rental company managed properties. And, within 48 hours, they will call you to ensure your expectations are met.

Our Concierge Service (additional fee) is truly one of our unique features. Whether it's doing the food shopping, delivery a meal or whatever you might need to enhance your vacation, the Concierge team is here to help.

Amenities by Floor:

Level 1: 1 MBR Bedroom (Pyramid bed with trundle) with full bath and 20” TV/DVD combo, rec room, wet bar, refrigerator with ice maker, microwave, pool table, 27” TV, stereo, private pool with stereo sound controls, hot tub, park grill, cabana bathroom, enclosed outside shower, washer and dryer, outdoor storage with beach chairs, boogie boards, etc. Elevator goes to every floor of the house. Entry conveniently located in the garage area to bottom floor lending itself to easy access to the elevator.

Level 2: 4 MBR bedrooms (King, King, King – handicap friendly, 2 twins) each with private bath and 20” TV/DVD combo, theater room with 61” DLP TV and surround sound stereo, Play Station II, covered decks.

Level 3: MBR with Jacuzzi and private bath (King), full bath room, great room with surround sound CATV, DVD and stereo, gourmet kitchen with 2 dishwashers and refrigerator with ice maker, dining room, den with work area, high speed Internet, open decks. Rear decks have stereo control

More Details

Owner
Dan Spaventa
Member since: 2005
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 22, 2018

About Dan Spaventa

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to consider our home in Salvo, NC. We are from the Philadelphia, PA area and have been vacationing on the Outer Banks since 2002. No matter where they live, they always look forward to our time together on the Outer Banks.

Dan Spaventa purchased this house in 2006

Why Dan Spaventa chose Salvo

We've built and furnished this home with everything we wanted to find in our perfect vacation home. A short walk (100 feet) to the pristine beaches, where there is plenty of room to spread out and have some fun, Salvo was the perfect location.

We always wanted to start our vacation on the beach, not waiting for keys in a rental company office, or standing in line at the Food Lion, or wasting time making beds or lugging our things up the stairs. We've implemented keyless entry, so you will have your code before you even leave for OBX. No more fumbling around for keys. Our concierge service, for a small fee, will pick up your grocery order and stock the refrigerators for you. You will find the beds made and linens provided. And the house comes with child equipment like pack and plays and a high chair.

What makes this house unique

We have furnished the house to address your comfort needs, and with each bedroom having its own bathroom (plus 1.5 more bathrooms), there is never any waiting in line. Also, the private pool and hot tub, not to mention the volleyball court, is there for your use whenever a beach day isn't quite what you wish to do.

No need to pack those beach chairs, boogey boards and beach toys. The Guest Closet will have those things waiting for you when you arrive.

Being so close to the ocean and Sound, spectacular sunrises and sunsets are a daily experience.

Amenities

Salvo House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Min. age of primary renter: 24
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Top Floor Bdr Bath - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Mid Stair Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    SE Mid Bdr Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , Handicap Friendly
    NE Mid Bdr Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    NW Mid Bdr Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    SW Mid Bdr Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    1st Flr Bdr Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Cabana Bath - toilet , Access from Rec Room and Pool Area
    Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Top Floor - 1 king , w/ jacuzzi
    SE Mid Floor - 1 king , handicap friendly
    NE Mid Floor - 1 king
    NW Mid Floor - 2 twin/ single
    SW Mid Floor - 1 king
    First Floor - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , Pyramid bed with trundle
    Theater Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen Sleeper Sofa
  • 1 room with two single beds, 4 rooms with one king, 1 room with pyramid bed andf trundle (sleeps 4), theater room with queen sleeper sofa. All bedrooms have private bathroom
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Elevator available to all levels. Theater room includes 61' DLP, PlayStation II, and surround sound stereo with high speed Internet access. Recreation room includes pool table, 27' CATV, DVD, stereo and high speed Internet access. This stereo also has speaker controls by the pool and hot tub. The Great Room has a 32' CATV with surround sound stereo and DVD player. The rear upper floor deck has speaker controls available for the great room stereo. The loft/den has high speed Internet access. Wireless network access throughout the house.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

63% Complete
23% Complete
10% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Shore's Heaven - Third House from the Beach!
average rating of 4.4666667 based on 30 reviews
3

Disappointed with the cleanliness; floors and toilets were dirty. Pool was too hot to use.

  • 3 of 5

I won't be a repeat customer

  • Submitted: May 31, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Greg, I am surprised to hear of the cleanliness issue of the house. I will certainly bring this up to the management company, Shore Details. Shore Details prides itself on doing an excellent job in this area. We have noticed a big improvement in the cleanliness of our home since they took over. I will speak with them today to get this rectified. I am very sorry you had this experience. The reason for sharing Shore Details' phone number with the guest is that if they are unhappy or see anything not as expected, that they are available to address the issue. A lack of cleanliness would certainly have been rectified immediately. Nonetheless, I apologize for the state you found the house. I will speak with Shore Details to ensure this issue does not occur again. Regarding the pool, we spoke during your stay that there was an issue with the pool heater. The water temperature was 95 due to a faulty switch. It has since been repaired. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences during your stay. Kind regards, Dan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house, plenty of room, clean, owner is extremely helpful and would highly recommend.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time. The pool was key for all of our little ones as the ocean there is quite rough, the beach was extremely windy and the walk there with all of our stuff was a bit of a struggle (beach is close but you are not "on" the beach). However, we did find that across the street on the bay side, there is a little beach area with grills that was perfect for the kids. The house was clean, there was plenty of room, in a quite little neighborhood, close to the ocean and the owner was great to work with. My only complaints would be that they only provided each person with one bath towel for the week, there was no sponges, dish detergent, paper towels, laundry detergent, or trash bags, so we had to go back out to the store pretty soon upon arrival. I was hoping in a house rented for the week, most of this stuff would be available. But other than that, it was great. Would highly recommend! If you haven't been to Salvo, it's nice and quiet, don't expect Nag's Head because it's not. But there are plenty of nice places to go and groceries are a close 10 min drive, or for quick stuff, the Blue Whale is a 2 min care ride or 5 min bike ride.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful--Perfect for our stay!

  • 5 of 5

My Fiancé and I stayed here with several friend to celebrate are bachelor and bachelorette weekends together. The house fit us all perfectly, everything we needed was there. The pool and hot tub were perfect (we wished we could turn the heat in the pool down a bit just because the days got pretty hot) but at night it was just right! Thank you for letting us rent your beautiful home and look forward to staying again. The home owner was very helpful giving us all the information we needed before we arrived we would love to come again!

  • Submitted: May 13, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kori, Thank you for staying at Shore's Heaven. We greatly appreciate your kind words. Good luck with the wedding and Congratulations!! Dan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing, beautiful and fun

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at shores heaven. The whole extended family stayed. Including the little ones. They loved the house as well and want to go back!! My favorite part was how close it is to the beach and the views from the decks. The House was perfect for our stay.

Only updates I’d make is the pull out couch in media room. We weren’t able to get it to work. And having the hot tub serviced before each new renter.

Besides those two things Dan was great even from hundreds of miles away to help with any issues that occurred. OBX is now a family favorite. Thanks Dan!

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Elizabeth, Thank you for your kind words. I will have Shore Details look at the sleeper sofa to see what the issue is. They have been able to get it to work in the past when a guest had difficulty. The hot tub and pool are serviced twice a week, once before your stay and then mid-week. I will speak to them about this to ensure better execution. Thank you for staying at our home, and I hope you will visit us again! Kind regards, Dan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful vacation

  • 5 of 5

Spacious home with plenty of bedrooms for our whole large family.p

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Alison, Thank you for staying at Shore's Heaven. We hope you will return in the future. Dan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

very clean, well maintained property

  • 5 of 5

Great house in a great location

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Joseph, Thank you for your review. We hope you return in the future. Kind regards, Dan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Chicamacomico Life Saving Station Historic Site and museum
Lisa's Pizzeria
Cape Hatteras National Seashore
Oregon Inlet Fishing Center Inc
Cape Hatteras National Seashore
Mack Daddy's Seafood Grill-Raw -- CLOSED
Dolphin Den -- CLOSED
Cape Hatteras Light Station
Currituck Beach Light House Gift Shop
Jockey's Ridge State Park
Ocracoke Lighthouse
Ocracoke Island Ferry
Colington Cafe
By far our favorite restaurant. At least one night of our vacation is reserved for dinner at...
Jockey Ridge State Park
Crrrituck Club Golf Course & Clubhouse
The Sound
Wright Brothers National Memorial Park
Ocracoke
Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Norfolk, VA
Nearest Ferry
25 Miles
Hatteras Village to Ocracoke Island
Nearest Motorway
20 Miles
US 64 and Hwy 158
Nearest Beach
80 Metres
Salvo Beach (100 yds)

Salvo is a short drive from the four lighthouses in the area, the Wright Brothers Museum, the NC Aquarium, the Lost Colony, and other tourist attractions. Salvo is convenient to either Avon to the south, or Oregon’s Inlet to the north. Surrounded by Park Service Land to the south, you can expect a quite and peaceful vacation, with plenty of room on the beach to swim, fish, or do whatever you like.

Other Activities: Paddle Boats, Wave Runners, Go-Carting, Lighthouse Tours (4), NC Aquarium, Wrights Brother Museum, Jockey's

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Insurance $79

This house rents Sunday to Sunday

Pool heat $400 extra

Credit Cards accepted.

For rates on three or four day weekend stays in the Fall or Spring, please contact owner. Three night (minimum) stay is $999. Each additional night is prorated off of the weekly rate. Four or more nights, the weekly rate applies.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund