check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Maria Thacker

Member since: 2005
Speaks: english

Autumn Retreat, Early Fall Colors - 1 Week Left , Thanksgiving Available

11 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Davis Cabin Rental Photos and Description

3 Beds/2 Baths, Sleeps 6, Private, Covered garage, hot tub, dock & boat, pets

Beautiful get-a-way. Come enjoy the seasons at Touchstone. Now with new interstate, it is under three hours from DC or Baltimore.

SKI: We are on the Valley floor so it is an easy quick two minute dash to the Timberline slopes .

Great place to spend your skiing holiday near the Timberline slopes. A serene, intimate, and beautifully furnished cabin in gated Old Timberline adjacent to its conservancy is nestled in Cannan Valley, WV. The secluded cabin, perfect for a honeymoon couple or those seeking refuge from the frantic pace of urban life is cool in the summer and has ample powder in the winter. Situated on five acres of wooded and open meadow lands with its own pond, the cabin has gorgeous sunset views over Spruce Island Lake and long views of the valley and the adjacent Cabin Mountain. Six miles of private trails at your doorstep, a short walk to Timberline Four Season slopes, ten minutes to Whitegrass Cross Country Center, or Cannan Valley Ski and Golf Resort. The cabin has been recently renovated, inside and out.

AUTUMN: When the leaves turn in the mountains it is a special time. Hiking is spectacular in Dolly Sods or around Timberline lakes. Refreshing! It is a good time

to bring the mountain bikes to take advantage of the many trails in the parks as well as the road bikes for broad expanses of The Valley. Autumn can renew everyone after the hot summer.

SUMMER: It is always a welcome break from the heat to come to Canaan Valley. Because of the altitude and the lay of the mountains, August days may break 80 with the nights cooler with a breeze. You will need blankets.

The house is adjacent to the Timberline Conservancy with the dock and boat racks of Spruce Island Lake within shouting distance. The catch and release restriction has been lifted from the lake so there is open fishing for the "big" ones. On five acres of flat valley land with pond. Autumn is spectacular with the turning of the hardwood trees which surround the property and cover the Valley.

HIKING: Because you are renting in Old Timberline you will have access to the top of the mountain trails into Dolly Sods and a Fish and Wildlife access trail. The six miles of well maintained trails inside Timberline can be accessed on the path from the house to Spruce Island Lake.

GOLF: The 18 hole championship course of The Canaan Valley Resort Park is ten minutes away. Frequent golf events are scheduled and open to the public. The course is set in the gentle rolling hills of Canaan Valley rimmed with mountains.

BIKING: Many off road trails in the area with organized week-end events all summer and fall out of the Davis area. This area is for lover of the outdoors.

ADDITIONAL SKIING: Canaan Valley is the most northern of the West Virginia ski resorts with three separate establishments - Canaan Valley Resort State Park, Timberline, and Whitegrass Cross County Ski Center. The Valley has been having record snowfalls.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Maria Thacker (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english

About Maria Thacker

We love getting away to the outdoors in any season. This truly is our 'touchstone'. We like to hike particularly in Dolly Sods, around Seneca Rocks and even the six miles of Old Timberline trails which is accessed off our front deck.

Maria Thacker purchased this cabin in 2002

Why Maria Thacker chose West Virginia

Touchstone is the best of both worlds. It is private and secluded yet close to 'civilization' , the slopes, and the front gate for supplies and emergencies.

What makes this cabin unique

Timberline ski slopes are two minutes away, the lake/dock is just beyond the front yard and the Timberline walking trail goes by our house.

Because of all the windows, you feel part of nature, no matter the season. We love seeing all the wildlife walking to and from the lake.

Guestbook comments from the owner

...We loved the way your house focuses on the out of doors with all the windows in the dinning and living

room. We had a happy and peaceful there and would love to return.
Sep 2010
  • 1 of 7

Reviews

4.9
based on 11 traveler reviews

Autumn Retreat, Early Fall Colors - 1 Week Left , Thanksgiving Available
average rating of 4.909091 based on 18 reviews
Not Specified
5

Guestbook Comment

  • 5 of 5

This is a great place to vacation with grandchildren. Surrounded by fields, woods, pond and lake. Very private, but convenient. Deer came right up to the back deck. Hot tub was great and one can use all the facilities at the lodge (pool etc). Very comfortable.

  • Submitted: May 15, 2006
  • Stayed: Apr 2006
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

We love this home in Canaan Valley

  • 5 of 5

We stayed over the 4th of July and had a blast. The home is clean and charming--lots of beautiful Japanese decorations and amenities. It's close to the trails around a small reservoir. And you can visit nearby towns for craft shopping or country style meals. It was a relaxing and natural setting--a perfect tonic for the weary traveler. The listing is accurate and I would recommend a stay here to both family members and friends.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

My favorite place in Canaan Valley

  • 5 of 5

I have stayed here many times before, alone and with others. It is consistently clean, well appointed, and well maintained. It's great in the winter, near the ski slopes; in the autumn the surroundings are a riot of color; in the spring wild flowers abound; and in the summer it's comfortably cool. I have even lit a fire in the stove in summer! I love this place and would not consider staying anywhere else in the area.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Went by too fast!

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful setting! Now that I'm back in the 'burbs, my eyes are longing for those expansive vistas! Thanks to the owners & Timberline Realty for attentive service. House is beautiful, clean and cozy. Hiked Dolly Sods, Black Water Falls, and Lindy Point (not to be missed!) We'll definitely come again!

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Riverview, Fl
5

As cozy as it gets!

  • 5 of 5

Included with our recent stay was plenty of snow, wildlife, peace and tranquility. This is a very clean rental with awesome views. The hot tub was exceptionally clean and warm. Thank you for opening up your house for us to experience. Would definitely consider renting again!

Thanks again!

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fayetteville, NC
5

Winter Haven

  • 5 of 5

A beautiful house in a beautiful setting. The house is clean, nicely maintained, and well-furnished with a wonderful wood-burning stove. The abundance of windows allows for great views from within the warmth of the house. The owner is very attentive and even called the evening we arrived to make sure everything was okay. The house is a short drive to Timberline ski resort (longer than a short walk, but the drive is quick). Other winter activities are also close by. We really enjoyed the horse-drawn sleigh ride at Timberline Stables. My family and I had a great trip and would love to go back!

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Within walking distance of Timberline Four Season Ski Slopes, the 500th National Wildlife Refuge, and the Dolly Sods Wilderness Area. The property is on the East side of Spruce Island Lake on the Valley floor inside Old Timberline's Gate. (The map often shows it outside the gate but it is behind the gate of Old Timberline)From deck view abundant wildlife such as deer, black bear, fox, turkey and various birds

and geese. Restaurants available within the valley from gourmet to country- family style fair. The Monongahela National Forest, Canaan Valley Resort State Park, and Blackwater State Park are just minutes away. The Timberline Nature Conservancy is adjacent to property, allowing direct access to six miles of private trails and the boat and fishing dock on Spruce Island Lake. A scenic adventurer's wonderland with all kinds of outdoor sports available. Spectacular Fall Foliage, Abundant Fresh Powder, Alpine Spring Flowers, Cool Mountain Breezes.

Other Activities: rock climbing, hiking

Ski: Timberline Four Seasons Resort within walking distance but just behind the gate in Old Timberline.

Check on line for length of runs, power conditions, and special week-end events.

Must do : Go to the top of Cabin Mt to be able to see 50 miles north, south, and west. Hike into Dolly Sods to Bear Rocks and

see 50 miles to the east.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Davis Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$259
 

Additional information about rental rates

admin $55 + Tax
hot tub $50 + Tax
security policy (optional) $39
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Please call 866-304-866-8680 ASK for THACKER PROPERTY CM02 Touchstone-on-the-Lake This booking agency has the final say on the total rates and for clarification and for booking. If you have questions about the house, call me at 941-350-4254.

Winter and Fall Mid week rates available. Call 304-866-8680 to ask for mid-week rates. Occasionally there are specials in place.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Davis Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Water View
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom - toilet , shower , new modern bathroom
  • Master Bedroom has a private bath Joint bath newly done over
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • The three bedrooms have recently all been updated. Good mattresses Newly painted. New windows New wall to wall carpet throughout
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Four wheel drive not required on the Valley floor, but always check weather forecast as it is a ski resort, 2 Queens, 2 Twin beds. Championship 18 Hole Golf Course, Boat at the dock, Furnished with Antique and Contemporary Japanese Artifacts. The unit has recently received a new stove, microwave washer, clothes dryer, and dishwasher.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties