check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Becky N

Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Tropical Living, Hawaiian-Style Home. 1 Mile from Kona Town.

9 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 15 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kailua-Kona House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

The Hula Hut is really much more than a hut. It's a private, 3 bedroom, 2 bath home located exactly 1-mile south of Kailua-Kona town. Decorated in a fun, relaxed, island-style funkiness, this home comfortably accommodates up to 6 people in a tropical living style. It's an easy walk to town where you can enjoy your morning coffee or a sunset cocktail at Huggo's on the Rocks or shop at the open-air farmer's market in downtown Kona.

Enjoy the spectacular sunsets or explore the many tidepools on the lava shelf landing at the end of our private street. Commercial dive boats are often spotted here, rumor has it that some of the best diving on the island is right here! Relax by your own private pool and swim with the turtles! Take in the ocean view while lounging on the large lanai, cooled by the trade breezes.

The house is situated on one level, has 3 bedrooms, each with a Queen-sized bed and air-conditioning, and a full-size futon on the expansive wrap-around lanai (complete with beautiful ocean view!,) 2 bathrooms, each with a tub-shower. Hardwood floors throughout and ceiling fans in the common living spaces. High Speed wireless internet access. Fully equipped kitchen, linens provided. Pick your own mangos for your breakfast or a tropical cocktail, from our 2 Huge Hayden mango trees.

The perfect place to watch your tri-athlete run by!

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Becky N (Owner)
Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.8
based on 9 traveler reviews

Tropical Living, Hawaiian-Style Home. 1 Mile from Kona Town.
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 9 reviews
5

It was all we hoped to experience.

  • 5 of 5

The description of this home was spot on. The décor was delightful; the beds were comfortable; it was clean. The stroll down to the ocean was a real plus. The kitchen was complete and the Weber grill was available. The pool was the best! Not much of a breeze through the house which was an issue in that heat. We arrived between hurricanes and the owner responded quickly to my questions and concerns about how to care for the house during a hurricane. I was even told there was a local person I could call if there was an emergency. The hurricanes passed to the north and south and this house is in the lee of the island, so no issues at all. Besides, they were right, it is a well built sturdy home. I can see why they love it. I would stay there again. On a "needs improvement" note: the owner has reassured us they will put house numbers on the house in the driveway. And, trash really needs to go out Sunday evening as that pick up is way early on Monday morning.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We love guests like you, who appreciate the little slice of heaven that we are so lucky to be able to share! Mahalo to you, and a hui hou! Jill
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

NIce Home with great location! Responsive owners

  • 5 of 5

The house was as advertized. Great location close to town and close to beautiful blue waters of the Pacific. We were able watch the 4th of July fireworks from the beach access right down the street. The home was very comfortable and spacious. The a/c boxes in the bedrooms were certainly needed at this time of year so we were glad the house had them. The pool was well maintained and was a nice place to relax. The owner responded very quickly to couple small concerns we had which was great. We fell in love with the Big Island! It's such a wonderful place with so much to see and do. We can't wait to get back! We would recommend the Hula Hut for a great spot close to the center of Kona. We are Homeaway/VRBO owners ourselves and expect a certain amount of amenities and the Hula Hut delivered.

Thanks Becky!!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many Mahalos for your thoughtful review! You guys were amazing guests, and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Hula Hut. I hope that you will visit the Big Island again, and that you choose to stay at the Hut again! Thank you so much! The Fusari, Nutt, Walsh family
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location, cozy home, super equipped, close to town, would stay again!!

  • 4 of 5

We spent a week at the Hula Hut and loved it! The home was clean and the accommodations were really cozy, like in a homey kind of way. There was plenty of seating in the living room and dining room. The decorations were kitschy and cute. The kitchen was very well equipped not only with pots, pans, etc but also with spices. The bedrooms were all decorated and really comfortable. Each bedroom had an a/c unit and they worked great! There were coolers of different sizes to borrow as well as beach gear down by the pool. The pool was clean (but cold!!). I loved the openness of the floorplan inside, it would be great for a larger group (we were a group of 5 and never felt on top of each other). There is a peek-a-boo view of the ocean from the dining room table, which I very much enjoyed each morning with my cup of coffee.

If you are a finicky traveler, be prepared for an older home. There were some things that could be improved. The refrigerator was rusting on the outside and the water/ice dispenser didn't work. The master bath was worn, but still functional. The bedrooms could benefit from some overhead fans, which would eliminate some of the need for the a/c. The pool was great, but a solar cover would have been nice, just to take the edge off a bit. None of this would be enough to stop me from renting it again.

It's about a 1 mile walk back to the South end of Kona, we walked it a few times. It's about a 15 minute drive to Captain Cook.

The caretakers were super nice and very responsive. We uncovered a slow leak under the kitchen sink. We called to let them know and they handled it right away.

Overall, it's a great place to stay in Kona and I can't wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful house in Hawaii

  • 5 of 5

Owners are wonderful to work with. House is very nice with everything you need is all ready there. Cool breeze during the day blowing through the open windows and window ac units in bedroom at night. Great location. Nice clean pool!!! You couldn't go wrong with this house ;) Aloha

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo! We love guests like you guys! Thanks for leaving the Hut in such great shape! We hope you will visit again, soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at the house! Perfect location, equipped with everything you'll need for fun and relaxation. The pool was awesome to have too.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ohhh, thanks! We are so happy when our guests enjoy our little slice of heaven as much as we do! Come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5

Hula hut was an excellent home for a Kona vacation.

  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Keahole International
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Magic Sands
Car: recommended

Enjoy the spectacular sunsets or explore the many tide pools on the lava shelf landing at the end of our private street. Commercial dive boats are often spotted here, rumor has it that some of the best SCUBA diving on the island is right here! Relax by your own private pool and swim with the turtles! Take in the ocean view while lounging on the large lanai, cooled by the trade breezes.

The house is situated on one level, has 3 bedrooms, each with a Queen-sized bed and air-conditioning, and a full-size futon on the expansive wrap-around lanai (complete with beautiful ocean view!), 2 bathrooms, each with a tub-shower. Hardwood floors throughout and ceiling fans in the common living spaces. High Speed wireless internet access. Fully equipped kitchen, linens provided. Pick your own mangoes for your breakfast or a tropical cocktail, from our 2 huge Hayden mango trees.

The perfect place to watch your triathlete run by!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Ironman
Oct 8 2016 - Oct 22 2016
15 night minimum stay
$5,000
Flat fee
 
 
Christmas
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$1,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 11.42%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua-Kona House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (3)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Walkway to Water
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties