check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Marina

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english, russian, polish

Affordable luxury at the beach, easy commute to Manhattan

42 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Arrochar Apartment Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms, sleeps 10

Luxurious 1,500 s.f. 3 bedroom duplex apartment with 1.5 bathrooms in the private house, across the street from the best NYC ocean beach with 3 miles ocean side promenade. Direct X-buses to Manhattan are just steps away from your door (25 min to Downtown Manhattan). 5 minutes drive or 7 min local bus ride will take you to Bay Ridge area of Brooklyn. 17 min local bus ride to FREE 24/7 Manhattan ferry. Quiet & safe residential area with everything you might need within 5-8 min walking distance: 5 restaurants (fancy, romantic Italian restaurant right at the ocean, Turkish, Chinese, Mexican and Russian), beach cafe with ice cream, hot dogs, etc, grocery stores, laundromats, etc. Local KeyFood supermarket in less than 5 min walk from home. Breath-taking ocean view from the master bedroom. Huge fully equipped kitchen, comfortable living room with a big TV, wireless Internet, central air conditioner. Two similar 3 bedroom units + 1 bedroom (property # 126072) available in the same house. All initial inquiries through the site please. No rate quotes over the phone. Check ins between 10 p.m. & 7 a.m. are subjects of additional fee and must be negotiated before booking.

Rates are based on up to 5 people stay. $25/night or $100/week surcharge for each additional guest.

25 % surcharge applies to Christmas, New Year, Memorial Day, 4th of July, Labor Day & Thanksgiving weeks.

Not a party place. All guests must be 21+ unless traveling with parent(s).

Transportation to Manhattan & Brooklyn:

To Manhattan:

X-buses: X-4,5,7,8, 20. 25 min to Downtown, 45 min to Midtown, last stop in Manhattan is Madison Ave & 57th St. View schedule at http://www.mta.info/nyct/service/bus/sisch.htm . Bus stop is across the street from home

OR

24/7 commute by local bus S51 (20 min) + Staten Island ferry (23 min, FREE)

To Brooklyn:

Local bus S53 (7 min) to subway station (R line) in Bay Ridge. Bus stop is in 10 min walk from home.

RESERVATION PROCEDURE: When you are ready to book,

1. Advise about preferred method of payment for your security deposit (credit card/PayPal) and for your stay (credit card/PayPal/cash at arrival.

2. Receive a leasing agreement with a 24 hours CONDITIONAL reservation.

3. Review, fill out , initial and sign all forms and e-mail/fax them within 24 hours upon receipt.

If a signed leasing agreement and security deposit are not received within 24 hours, the property will be returned to the rental market immediately.

You can also book through the site by clicking 'book it now' button and following instructions.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • non smoking only
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Marina (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english, russian, polish

About Marina

I live in New York for 25 years and truly live this city. My own apartment/office is in the same house, so I'm very reachable and always ready to help. Don't worry, I'm not intrusive at all and respect my guests' privacy. I'm an insurance broker, running my home based business.

Marina purchased this apartment in 2005

Why Marina chose Staten Island

This apartment allows you to combine visiting all New York attractions and enjoy the beach (in summer time) and/or ocean side park with 3 miles of ocean side promenade (all seasons) in one vacation.

What makes this apartment unique

Close to Manhattan, but very quiet & safe neighborhood. All modern furnishing and equipment, central AC, you regulate temperature for your own comfort. Supermarket, grocery stores, 6 restaurants within 5 minutes walk. All public transportation to Manhattan is across the street from home.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Very comfortable and clean apartment, was well equipped with everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable. Great location near a nice beach, whilst we all love Manhatten it was great to be able to get out of the city to a quieter and calmer location after a day of sightseeing. Express buses from outside the apartment excellent, a comfortable ride to and from various Manhatten locations - just need to plan your day if you want to use them as they are basically for commuters and don't run at weekends. Other easy 24 hr transport options from Staten Island to Brooklyn and Manhatten were reliable, great views from the ferry. Marina was incredibly helpful and very friendly, available if we needed her but otherwise left us to get on with our holiday undisturbed. Overall, the apartment was a very cost effective way to spend a week in New York, far cheaper and much more comfortable / sociable than spending 7 nights in hotel rooms. We would definately choose to stay in this apartment if we visit New York again. Thanks to Marina for helping us to have a great holiday.
Oct 2011
  • 1 of 27

Reviews

4.7
based on 42 traveler reviews

Affordable luxury at the beach, easy commute to Manhattan
average rating of 4.6904764 based on 69 reviews
Zurich, Switzerland
4

Unforgettable vacation in New York

  • 4 of 5

Nice place, located just near the coast of Staten Island , beside bus stop which is very convenient if you have no car. The house was clean and furnished ideally for 4-6 people, we were 8 people which made us feel a bit cramped, but otherwise we have no complaints. Our kids (all teenagers) loved the massive television !! Thanks for an unforgettable vacation in New York. We will return here again for our next vacation to NY, Thanks once again.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 1
Valley Forge, PA
5

Great Vacation ... Just What We Needed

  • 5 of 5

What a great find. We normally go to Delaware or Maryland for our family summer vacation but this year because of circumstances switched it up and we are glad we did. The property was comfortable for 6 people and great access to NYC. Marina provided us great information on public transportation, etc. Getting to and from NYC was a breeze great access to highways & public transporation. This property will definitely be in our rotation in the future!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Youngstown, NY
5

Weekend trip

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed at Marina's property for an extended weekend and found the accommodations to be perfect. Marina made sure we had everything we needed and tips regarding the surrounding area. We would not hesitate recommending her property to anyone visiting the area. It was close to the beach and Staten Island ferry for easy access to Manhattan.

Hoping to visit NYC again and staying at her property.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Experience!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I just stayed at this house last week for six days. We chose it because the price fit into our budget and the location allowed us to visit NYC but not have to stay in the city. The positives are the house itself and the owner Marina. The house was incredibly clean and spacious and Marina is a very pleasant and helpful hostess......and I loved her dog Monya. The master bed was very comfortable but the queen and two twin beds were incredibly firm. Perhaps taking a foam eggshell is advisable if you like a little more cushion or maybe a down filled mattress cover. The kitchen is well stocked.

The proximity to transportation is wonderful. Figuring out the bus schedule was easy, the subway took a bit.

The neighborhood is a little neglected as far as lawn maintenance but that didn't bother us because we weren't there to mow grass. :) The neighborhood seemed very safe, we were not afraid to be out after dark.

The only negative comment does not concern the rental itself but the beach area. We planned to spend several mornings on the beach but were so disappointed the first day with how dirty the beach was that we didn't go back. It wasn't even due to lack of cleaning on the city's part.........it was what was flowing in with the tide. There were a few items that I am glad my younger son didn't ask what they were. Perhaps this was unusual, I do not know.

We had a great time and would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear guys, It was pleasure accommodating your family. I'm really sorry the water was dirty during your stay. Usually the beach is very well maintained. Water is being tested daily and sometimes they just do not allow swimming if the water is not clean enough. I'm personally not a beach person, but this is first time somebody complained about beach cleanliness. Please come again, this situation with the water is not typical.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Convenient

  • 5 of 5

The unit is very nice and convenient to public transportation. We had 6 people and found the unit very comfortable with the three bedrooms and two comfortable futon sofa beds in the living room. Marina was very helpful with providing information and very kind. She was always available to us to answer questions or address any issues.HOWEVER, if you are in unit A, the living room is over Marina's bedroom and there isn't any carpet on the LR floor. We like to stay up late, so this was very noisy for her and very frustrating for us.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear guys, You were excellent guests and I will be happy to accommodate you again. I did put "no noise between 11 p.m. & 8 a.m" paragraph in the leasing agreement which you signed electronically at booking. If you are looking for a party place you should not rent NYC apartment and look instead for a private house outside of NYC 5 boroughs where NYC residential law is enforced. New Yorkers work hard and need their time for their night sleep.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location offers a variation of convenient travel options to explore several parts of New York

  • 5 of 5

Great location offers a variation of convenient travel options to explore several parts of New York during the same stay. Hostess offers a fast and professional response time on all communications any time. Newly, beautifully decorated and efficient home is very close to the beach with ocean views out of the master bedroom. Plenty of towels, blankets and pillows. Home and linens are so clean that you can smell it in the air, on the beds, and in the towels. Generous cable package offers something to watch for everyone during downtime. Great place to take a romantic walk on the pier or with family and friends. Hostess is kind, professional and does her absolute best to accommodate your needs without being pushy. Thank you so much, Marina, for making our stay comfortable and welcoming. We highly recommend this rental home to anyone choosing to explore New York City and its surrounding areas and look forward to returning soon.

  • Submitted: May 8, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
JFK, Newark, La Guardia
Nearest Train
3 Miles
95th Street in Brooklyn
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Car: not necessary

Across the street from all X-buses to Manhattan (25 min commute to Downtown) and local bus to FREE 24/7 Manhattan ferry (17 min). Local bus to Brooklyn in 7 min walk (7 min ride to the nearest subway station in Brooklyn). Ocean beach with 3 miles oceanside promenade right at your door.

4 Deli/grocery stores and 7 restaurants within 5-10 min walking distance: Italian (ocean front), Russian, Turkish, Chinese, Pizza, Subway & Ice-Cream cafe

Other Activities: All NYC attractions

Photos

Rates & Availability

Arrochar Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall
Sep 16 2016 - Nov 23 2016
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,200
$4,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving week
Nov 24 2016 - Nov 27 2016
4 night minimum stay
$250
From
$350
Thu,Fri,Sat
$1,500
$4,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 21 2016
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,200
$4,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter holidays
Dec 22 2016 - Jan 7 2017
5 night minimum stay
$250
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$1,500
$4,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter
Jan 8 2017 - Mar 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$1,000
$3,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring
Mar 16 2017 - May 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,200
$4,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
May 16 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$1,500
$5,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Memorial Day week
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
4 night minimum stay
$300
From
$400
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,875
$5,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
May 30 2017 - Jun 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$1,500
$5,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Independence Day
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 4 2017
4 night minimum stay
$300
From
$400
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,875
$5,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
Jul 5 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$1,500
$5,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
From
$400
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,875
$5,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
Sep 5 2017 - Sep 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$1,500
$5,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 8.88%

Two similar 3 bedroom apartments plus 1 bedroom apartment (see property # 126072) are available in the same house. If rented together, can accommodate up to 27 people.
Off street parking: $25/night/car or $100/week/car
Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year weeks are subjects of 25% holiday surcharge.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Arrochar Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Computer Available
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , foldout bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , foldout bed
  • 1 or 2 Sofa-beds in the living room
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • non smoking only
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties