check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Laura Watrous

Member since: 2005
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Riverside Luxury in the Blue Ridge Mountains

69 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Burnsville Cabin Rental Photos and Description

On the Cane River with 2 riverside parks: 2 bdrms + sleeper sofa, 2 bathrooms,

Spend your vacation days relaxing and enjoying the beautiful Blue Ridge mountains. At night, fall asleep on a luxurious queen size Simmons Beautyrest Healthsmart mattress while listening to the sound of the Cane River outside your open window.

We are located 45 minutes northeast of Asheville, NC in Yancey County, the gateway to Mount Mitchell. Our property is 6 miles south of Burnsville town square and includes 200 acres of private land with over a mile of crystal clear river frontage for fishing, tubing, swimming, and playing. Guest cabins are all located mountain side overlooking the river.

Each cabin features a private hot tub on the deck, vaulted ceilings, hardwood floors, wood burning fireplace, electric heat, AC, ceiling fans (3), telephone, wireless high speed internet, linens, cookware, and paper goods.

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Laura Watrous (Property Manager)
Member since: 2005
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Laura Watrous

I'm Laura Watrous. My husband and partner, Brett Watrous, are the owners of the two luxury vacation cabins that make up Riverwalk Vacation Rentals. We love our life in the mountains and find great joy sharing our special piece of the world with guests. Our cabins were originally designed with the kind of comfort and luxury we strive for when we vacation.

Laura Watrous purchased this cabin in 2005

Why Laura Watrous chose High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains

The saying goes: 'I wasn't born in Burnsville but I got here as quickly as I could' The climate is perfect with four different seasons: Beautiful cool Summers, colorful Falls, relatively mild Winters, and fresh colorful Springs. Morning Glory is in a perfect location to make the most of why a Blue Ridge Mountain vacation is great any time of the year.

What makes this cabin unique

Morning Glory cabin is private yet convenient to features not available anywhere else. This cabin sits just above the Cane River with a wide open view of the river. The sound of the river actually echos in the porch rafters. Guests of Riverwalk also have access to two privately owned riverside parks which cater to our guests. One with pool & playground, the other with picnic pavilion, river tubes, large fire pit and youth zip line. There are 200+ acres of hiking and exploring right on the Riverwalk property. Neighboring farm with people friendly horses, donkeys and a goat. Farm owner offers horse 'time' for a small fee. Riverwalk is close to Blue Ridge Parkway, Mount Mitchell and The Pisgah National Forest (pedestrian, bike, equestrian trails).

Guestbook comments from the manager

“Riverwalk: 5 stars *****” “We have been renting cabins for 10 years and this is the best. God willing, we will be back to enjoy the Ewing’s wonderful hospitality and cabins. (Texas)
Jun 2010
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.9
based on 69 traveler reviews

Riverside Luxury in the Blue Ridge Mountains
average rating of 4.942029 based on 71 reviews
Chicago, IL
5

What an Escape!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a superb time staying at RiverWalk in May, 2006. The amenities were impeccable, the hosts gracious and the scenery breathtaking. We highly recommend this getaway and will hopefully return soon!

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2006
  • Stayed: Apr 2006
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2
3

Beautiful cabin

  • 3 of 5

I wish my husband could have enjoyed more he uses a walker and cane and was unable to find anywhere accessible for him to fish, which we had been told there would be. Also paid $20 for pool access but after money was sent was unable to use on the one day available due to cloud overcast all day. I would still recommend the cabin to friends just not the cabin or area for someone disabled.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, Great Shape, Relaxing Location

  • 5 of 5

Our family stayed in Morning Glory for a few days in August. The cabin was absolutely perfect and kid-friendly. It is very well kept and clean. The view and sounds from the River were very relaxing. WIFI and plenty of TV channels - plus a few board games available for play. The kitchen had everything we needed for quick dine-in means. And the owner provided the little extras that you don't typically find at other VRBO properties.

The grounds where the cabin is located were fabulous. There was a zipline for the kids, an area to wade into the river, tubes for floating, hammocks, chairs and plenty of room for kids to run around. We met several friendly families in the communal area by the river. The "wedding" area was also nice.

The city of Burnsville was quaint with just enough restaurants, stores and things to do for our short vacation. The cabin was also convenient to Asheville although a bit confusing to locate upon our first arrival.

This property is exceptionally well-kept and well-managed.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic Cabin, great scenery, quiet and relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed the entire property; swimming/floating in the river, hiking the mountain behind the cabin, relaxing down by the pavilion area or just hanging out on the deck or in the cabin. Our two dogs seemed to enjoy it too. The lab would have staying in the water the whole time I think. Very peaceful and private. Drank morning coffee and ate most evening meals out on the deck. Watched beautiful sunsets from the hot tub. If you run out of something, Laura will bring it to you. The cabin has all the conveniences you need and with the washer/dryer there you can get by with packing a lot less too. Burnsville close enough for a quick run for anything you need. Great place to begin a mountain driving day; down to Mt Mitchel state park, Asheville, etc. Hope this place is available next year! Loved it!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Relaxation!

  • 5 of 5

Morning Glory cabin was exactly what we were looking for! Comfortable, clean, quiet and peaceful. The kitchen is well stocked with all pots, pans and cooking spices to make some really nice meals for your family. The cabin was very clean. All towels, sheets and rooms were spic and span upon arrival. We really enjoyed having our morning coffee on the front porch while listing to the babbling river below - a sound we will always remember. The view from the hot tub was equally amazing. We had one day of rain but the porch provided plenty of the coverage so you could enjoy hearing the storm. We barbequed on the gas grill - all grilling utensils provided plus propane. We also had the luxury to utilize one of the outdoor fire pits that was being stored at the cabin - oh was that lovely too! The internet was very reliable. If you are looking for a place to disconnect from the rat race, Morning Glory cabin is the place! We look forward to coming back.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic location, relaxing stay

  • 5 of 5

Visited with my wife, daughter (11) and son (7) over the Fourth of July weekend. Cabin is perfect - clean, big enough for the 4 of us, but cozy. River was too low for tubing, but because the water level was down the creek was gorgeous and we made a creek walk part of our daily routine. Also enjoyed the pool at Sunset Gatherings, a few hikes on the property, and lots of sitting around playing board games and doing jigsaw puzzles together. Great couple of days for my family, and the TV didn't go on a single time. Laura had everything we needed and was great. Would definitely return.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
Interstate 26
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Downtown Burnsville
Car: necessary

Located in Yancey County, NC, home to Mt Mitchell, highest mountain east of the Mississippi.

Other Activities: Trout fishing, large local craft population, motorcycle touring, blue ridge parkway, Grandfather Mountain

Photos

Rates & Availability

Burnsville Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Pre-Autumn
Sep 5 2016 - Oct 6 2016
2 night minimum stay
$135
From
$150
Fri,Sat
$775
$2,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
October Color
Oct 7 2016 - Oct 29 2016
2 night minimum stay
$155
From
$165
Fri,Sat
$900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Pre-Winter
Oct 30 2016 - Nov 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$135
$775
$2,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 26 2016
3 night minimum stay
$160
$900
$2,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter - 2
Nov 27 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$135
$775
$2,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas & New Years
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 31 2016
5 night minimum stay
$160
$925
$2,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter
Jan 2 2017 - Apr 6 2017
2 night minimum stay
$135
$775
$1,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring Break
Apr 7 2017 - Apr 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
$155
From
$165
Fri,Sat
$900
$1,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring
Apr 23 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$145
From
$155
Fri,Sat
$850
$2,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
$925
$2,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $90 + Tax
Pet Fee $0
Tax Rate 10.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Burnsville Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 950 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom - 1 queen
    Loft Bedroom - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , A king bed OR pair of twins
  • First floor bedroom has a queen size bed Loft area has either a kingsize bed or optionally two single beds Living area sofa is a fold out sleeper
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers