Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Windsong By The Sea Home in Crystal Beach Destin, Private Pool & Wi-Fi

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 8

This charming home is in the quaint neighborhood of Crystal Beach, known for its seaside-styled cottages and white picket fences, and has the look and feel of the sea. Arrive in the cozy family room with vaulted ceilings, and settle in. This seaside cottage has 3 bedrooms and 2 baths to accommodate all your happy campers. At your fingertips are the most beautiful beaches in the world, by way of the beach access that is only two short blocks away.

After a day soaking in the sun at the beach, celebrate your vacation with a few cannon balls into your heated private pool, before firing up the grill. Close amenities include the renowned Destin Commons, with its 75 plus stores, including the new 55,000 square foot Bass Pro Shop, Ann Taylor, Abercrombie, Hard Rock Cafe, the Rave Motion Picture theater, and the Publix grocery store, to name but a few. The Destin Commons has received over 19 million visitors so far in 2013! If golfing is your 'bag', treat yourself to any of the 15 finest, world-class golf courses available, such as Kelly Plantation, Regatta Bay, 4 courses in SanDestin, and Camp Creek.

The Destin Harbor is minutes away for deep sea fishing, snorkeling, boating and jet-skiing. The harbor is your gateway to the emerald green waters of the Gulf of Mexico! And how about the many fine eateries serving up their fresh catch of the day (many are within walking distance from Windsong by the Sea). Close by are Big Kahuna's Waterpark, Silver Sands Outlet Mall, The Track, and the Gulfarium. Good times will be had by the whole family, but make time for each other once the kids are tucked in, enjoying a glass of wine while relaxing on the front porch while breathing in the sea breezes.

Feel free to use the included wireless high-speed internet to email your boss: You’ll be staying a while longer ?, because this lifestyle is addictive!

Need directions? I can help as I lived in Destin for many years.

More Details

Owner
Terri Julian
Member since: 2000
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
40%
Calendar last updated:
July 23, 2017

About Terri Julian

Hi, I'm Terri Julian. I first purchased Windsong in 2005 with dreams of owning my own little piece of paradise in Destin, FL. I lived in my dream home for three wonderful years before moving back to my home town of Little Rock, AR. I couldn't bear the thought of selling the home, and since it is only 2 blocks from the beach, I installed a pool on my lot, and I began renting Windsong By The Sea out on a short-term basis back in 2004. I travel to back to Destin on a 4 or 5 times a year, and the minute I walk through the front door my heart stirs with nostalgia and affection. I love this home, and I continue to pour sweat and love into it in hopes that it just as charming to you as it is to me.

Terri Julian purchased this house in 2005

Why Terri Julian chose Emerald Coast-Destin Area

Unbeknownst to me when I purchased this home, which only had one other owner previously, the location of Windsong is ideal. It is strategically located within a 2 block radius of so many wonderful amenities, including of course, the beautiful beach and a dedicated Crystal Beach beach access, to the Destin Commons Open Air Mall with its famous 49-head 'pop-up' fountain and outdoor playground, to over 30 restaurants, and a Publix GROCERY store!

What makes this house unique

Windsong By The Sea offers a wonderful front porch experience, as you relax and watch the world go by. Interesting people from states near and far, as well as from other countries(!), stroll by on the sidewalks of the seaside neighborhood of Crystal Beach. Many have their canine companions out with them so all can stretch their legs in the gulf breeze. It is such a magical place and you just want time to stand still!

Windsong also offers a private pool and complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a great time at Windsong! We went shopping, ate at great restaurants, and fished. Your beach home was warm and cozy, and we didn't want to go home! Thank you Terri!
Mar 2010
  • 1 of 6

Amenities

Crystal Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom - outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Queen Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , King Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , 1 baby crib , Bunk Room
  • 2 rooms with one single bed, 1 room with 4 children's beds. Master bedroom has king-sized bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Small Cooler
  • 18 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There is a king-sized bed in the master bedroom and a queen-sized bed in the 3rd bedroom. There is a bunk bed in the 2nd bedroom that consists of a twin on the top; a full-sized bed on the bottom with a twin bed trundle underneath the full bed(sleeps 4). Windsong is two short blocks from the beach and beach access. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything that you need if you were at your home. All you have to bring is food! You have your own private pool and wireless, high-speed (7 'Meg') Internet access!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
5% Complete
Windsong By The Sea Home in Crystal Beach Destin, Private Pool & Wi-Fi
average rating of 4.529412 based on 40 reviews
5

Great Place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We all enjoyed Windsong by the Sea. The location was great ! The beach was an easy walk. The home was very comfortable and had was stock with all that we needed. All of us agreed that we made a good choice by staying here. Thanks Terri for the use of your vacation home. Hope to come back again.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
4

Close to perfect beach cottage

  • 4 of 5

The house was great, clean, and adorable! Def has a beach vibe. Only downsides were: With a baby the walk to the beach was a little to far and by the end of the week the pool was not very clean..

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, comfortable, well stocked beach house with yard, and private pool. Excellent location.

  • 5 of 5

A true beach house experience, in a "Florida" feeling kind of neighborhood, close to the beach and any kind of shopping and resturants you could imagine. The house was spacious, clean, comfortable, and well equipped. The outdoor pool was wonderful, the perfect size, great after a day at the beach. The kids enjoyed the playing in the yard, catching lizards and toads. The furniture and beds were comfortable, the kitchen made preparing meals and eating in, very easy. The owner was helpful and responded quickly when we had a question. This is a very family friendly, kid friendly home. For our family, Windsong by the Sea was the perfect vacation home. I would certainly stay there again...

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Horrible stay

  • 1 of 5

House dirty, no bedding prepared, no lock box instructions or code for wifi; could not reach owner by phone. Description of property false. Pool heater broken, "fireplace" is small plastic space heater. Black electrical tape over one outlet. Vacation ruined.

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Worst renter EVER!!! Do not rent to this lady. She has lied about everything. Her dog diarrhea crapped all over one of my bedroom carpets, and then it tried to dig its way out if the closed door, making a hole in my carpet. I filed a claim because the carpet has to be replaced. Meanwhile, my new and future renters are unhappy with the trashed carpet. Screen your renters carefully my friends. I've had my share of really deceptive renters as of late. She was wacko!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

Very Disappointed!!!

  • 2 of 5

I was already feeling uneasy about arrival because I had tried to contact Terri several times before check in. She never responded to voicemail (Her phone got wet apparently.) and emails were undeliverable (The email listed is incorrect apparently.). She finally emailed me from a different email the day before arrival and said to call the home phone of the house we were staying in if we needed to contact her. My husband called a few times before reaching her (We wanted the pool heated.) During the conversation she seemed to be avoiding the request for the pool to be heated and said we could not check in until 4 (It was listed as 3 pm check in). Upon further requests for the pool to be heated she said "I gotta go. I gotta go." and hung up. We arrived at 4:45pm and she was there with boxes of stuff all over the porch and said to come back in 5 minutes. We drove around the block and said we needed to get our groceries put away and my husband offered to help her finish moving the boxes to her truck. She said no. She also had two large dogs with her. My husband proceeded to put the groceries away anyway. The house was in no shape for us to stay there. The kitchen sink drain was clogged with dog hair, it looked like maybe from dumping mop water in the sink. The closets were all full of stuff. The pool is not in great shape. As I was heading to her truck to discuss the password for the internet and how to get ahold of her, if we needed her, my husband found that there was no gas grill as advertised. My husband asks her about the grill and I let her know that we are disappointed in the pool and cleanliness she says "I gotta go. I gotta go." Shuts her truck door and backs out!!! She did end up coming back and worked in the yard for about 4 hours but did not speak to us. We never heard from her again. During our stay I had to attach the chain to the toilet handle almost every time it was used. There were many things I had to clean prior to use and dog hair everywhere. The pool heater did not work. All of the patio chairs are practically broken or rusted so bad they will break when you sit in them. We had to go purchase a grill since my husband enjoys grilling fresh seafood on vacation. Like I said we never heard from her again.... very disappointed. I think I am most disappointed in her lack of communication and willingness to make things right. Also, the picture of the pool is very outdated!

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great house! Great neighborhood!

  • 5 of 5

We usually stay east of Destin and found the Crystal Beach neighborhood to be quaint & friendly - exceeded our expectations. Windsong by the Sea was also the perfect space for us. Our fur babies especially enjoyed being welcomed into Terri's home. Highly recommend this vacation rental!

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Destin Commons
Pompano Joe's
Camille's
Harborwalk Village
Silver Sands Premium Outlets
Bonefish Grill
Bass Pro Shops
AMC Destin Commons 14
790 On The Gulf
Whale's Tail At Seascape
Ciao Bella Pizza Da Guglielmo
Ocean Club Restaurant
Pompano Joe's
The Village of Baytowne Wharf
McGuire's Irish Pub & Brewery
Car: recommended

All at your fingertips are the Gulf of Mexico, Deep sea fishing, Wildlife viewing (dolphins!), Golf (any of the finest 15 are available), Tennis, Shopping and more shopping (Destin Commons, the Outlet Mall, Sandestin), Swimming and sunning, Basking by the pool, Snorkeling and Diving, Water skiing, Boating, Surfing, Sailing, Para sailing, Gulfarium, Jet-skiing, Airplane rides, Dining at the finest restaurants, and the Rave Theater!

Other Activities: dolphin watching, shopping and more shopping, fine dining

Photos

Rates & Availability

Crystal Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer 2017
May 20 2017 - Aug 11 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,475
 
 
Late Summer 2017
Aug 12 2017 - Sep 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,600
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,775
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Optional pool heat $150 + Tax
Pet Fee $125 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

Rental Rates for cottage/beach home in Florida Panhandle, Destin
Add 11% Florida State Taxes to rates. Saturday to Saturday, with approved exceptions.$125 Pet Fee--non-refundable, 1st pet; 2nd pet is $75. I Pay Housekeeping before and after your stay!
Nightly (4 day min.) may be available with additional cleaning fee of $100.

Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable