Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Country Cottage - Family- pet friendly Getaway!!! 1 800 824-6322

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 1,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms, 1 1/2 baths. Sleeps 2 - 6 + (King sofa bed if needed)

Located near Lake Almanor in historic lumber town of Westwood, California - home of Babe and his Blue OX. and the beginning of the Bizz Johnson trail.

The Country Cottage has been a favorite famiy vacation destination for many years and we are now able to share it with others who love the great Northern California landscape.

1 800 824 -6322

We are a fully and completely equipped home with a piano in the palor. Laundry room, full kitchen, large living room, TV's. VCR, DVD, Cassett player, movies and games

The home is in town on a large level fully fenced yard. Nearby is Mountain Meadows Reservior, Lake Almanor, Feather River, and Lassen Volcanic National Park. Lakes, streams, creeks, and rivers abound here .

The lofty and majestic pines, the mountains, and the clear night skys are a treat to experience. The stars are seen as brighter up here. The air is fresher and the environment is envigorating. Treat yourself and your family to a special area of California and explore this wonderland for your

some guest comments: Read what some of our guests have said:

'Love the place. Had a great stay in Westwood.' Thanx....Tim

'We enjoyed ourselves house to stay in, Westwood and surrounding area has been inspiring and restful for me and my family.' Kristina M.

'We had a great vacation here. The surroundings were spectacular. We enjoyed the Country Cottage - very comfortable accommodations for our family. We hope to come again.' Robert G.

'Thank you for giving us such a wonderful experience of staying in your Westwood house. We could enjoy a lot in Lassen Park and the beautiful surrounding places.' Jayanta D.

More Details

Property Manager
Carol or Boya Faust
Member since: 1996
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english, Chinese
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 22, 2018

About Carol or Boya Faust

This was our family vacation home and when my parents passed away we were already in the vacation rental business and wanted to share this special place with family friends and guests.

I have always thought of Westwood as a fishing dream destination as I have spent so many hours chasing the trout here.

Carol or Boya Faust purchased this house in 1952

Why Carol or Boya Faust chose Westwood

A Town is Born

Here in the heart of the wilderness

Where wildlife roamed at will

Amid primeval forest

Where even time stood still,

Where rushing rivers downward dashed

Through meadows green with waving grass

Snowy peaks towered to the skies

Amid smiling lakes that watched closeby.

Where the trees talked to the stars at night

And the moon looked down and smiled.

Where the breeze whispered secrets

And the lakes extend for miles.

Into this place of towering pines

Where natures voise excelled all chimes

Came man with ax and saw and blade

And out of this land so fair and free

a town was born for you and me.

In the heart of the Sierras

You will find it nestled there

The little town of Westwood

with traditions quaint and rare.

As years go by and times holds sway

its houses may fall into decay,

It's people may leave for parts unknown

The years and streets may be overgrown

Even the breeze may seem to sigh

with memories of the days gone by.

But in our hearts and in our minds

there will always be a Westwood

There among the pines.

By Ethel Hurd (recorded in 1949)

What makes this house unique

The Country Cottage is a very comfortable home that welcomes you to really relax, explore our town and the surrounding areas

I have placed a booklet in the home letting you in on some of our in town events, places to eat, and little known areas like the Subway Lave Caves to have to see to believe.

Everything is provided here. Just bring your toothbrush and clothes and food you want to eat unless you want to eat at our local restaurants. ( The Old Mill ( breakfast and lunch) Buffalo Chips ( PIzza +++) The Moonlight Cafe ( new dinner house)

snack shacks and taco stands too.

We also have Youngs Super Market that has been here since the early 50's and is a fixture in our town.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Bring waht food you care to and if you need a couple of tiems the country store is well stocked.

The town museum is professionally arranged and the tall Paul Bunyon and sculpture on the main drag lets you know that this was once the largerst lumber town west of the Rockies.

HIking trails, fishing streams and lakes give you rainbow trout fo ryour dinner or bass from the lakes.

Did anyone say that Westwood has the best pizza you have ever eaten at Buffalo Chips
Oct 2011
  • 1 of 2


Westwood House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • River ...
  • Rural
  • Town ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom - toilet
  • the front bathroom has tub/shower combination. toilet and sink The back one is a half bath, toilet and sink
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom - 1 double
    Bedroom - 1 double
    Bedroom - 2 twin/ single
  • Two of our bedroom have full size beds and the back bedroom has 2 twins. There are tv's in each bedroom. The living room is quite large if extra sleeping area is needed.and has king size sofa bed.
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 6 garden chairs
  • wheelchair accessible
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing


3.7/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

57% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
28% Complete
Country Cottage - Family- pet friendly Getaway!!! 1 800 824-6322
average rating of 3.7142856 based on 9 reviews
Palo Alto, CA

Lovely vacation

  • 5 of 5

This is a comfortable, clean, well equipped place for a few friends to stay for several days. My group fixed meals, toured historic Westwood, ate out at the two recommended nearby restaurants, and explored Westwood's surrounding areas. We all had a good time.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2014
  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to review the Country Cottage. we are here now and made the trek to Hamilton Branch to view and try to. catch the trout coming in from the Lake. Seeing some really big fish I the water was exciting.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Was clean, relaxing, and felt at home.

  • 5 of 5

The property was clean and in good condition. I liked it because it was like being at home. It wasn't so modern that you felt you might break something if you touched it. The owners were very nice and very good host. I would recommend it to anyone that wanted to relax, be comfortable, and enjoy the small town, their history and being only 2 hours from Reno, 1 hour from a National Park, and beautiful country side. Betty Jo Carden

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A cozy, small town experience in the mountains.

  • 5 of 5

We had a relaxing 5 day stay at numerous nearby sites , relaxing on the new spacious deck, and even got in a little target shooting at the gun range.

The small town environment is especially what we like when traveling. I like to cook, and the kitchen has all I needed.

We will definitely return!

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2018
  • Stayed: September 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very unsatisfactory.

  • 1 of 5

The house was a rickety with uneven floors and walls separating from the ceiling, but the worst was the smell. It was so musty and moldy smelling that I had an allergy attack and had to find other accommodations after the first night. The water heater (with the overflow draining into the floor) which was in my bedroom made noise all night long. Not a restful night.

The house is in dire need of repairs and upgrades if it is to be rented.

As far as I’m concerned it was totally unsatisfactory.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The country cottage has been offered to many many satisfied guests for the last 20 years Westwood is in historic logging town with homes built probably in the late 1930s early 40s so to my knowledge the Country Cottage is the only vacation rental that the town offers it's very surprising to get such a Negative review several weeks after a guest has left the property considering that you're in a historic Old Logging Town your review strikes me as unfair no one has referenced a any smell whatsoever so I'm not sure what that's about
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Disappointed in the rental

  • 1 of 5

The rental was satisfactory from a cleanliness standpoint. The lady next door, Diane, who is responsible for looking after the property was helpful also. HOWEVER, the password for the WiFi was not correct and we had to use the neighbors WiFi (using her password was our idea, not the owner's) which was a weak signal and very disruptive in the business that I had to conduct while I was there. Furthermore, after we left the property the key was not left in the lock box, which was our error. However, the neighbor , again , Diane , had a key and the problem was solved as the key we should have left in the box was inside the rental. The owner of the house charged me $30 for this issue, which I do not agree with at all. I guess I should have asked for credit on my rent since the WiFi password was not correct, but that is not my style. In any case, I will not be renting this property again. I was disappointed as stated above.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This very unfair, poor review is the direct result of the guest being charged $30 for not leaving the keys in the front door lock so the ext guests could gain access. My instructions explicity state that any failure to leave access for the next guests will result a charge. Although we did eventually get the new guests in it was a very stressful situation as we were traveling at the time. The wifi key he was given was the correct one and had been working all along. It was the same one the cable company had and when I paid for the technician to come out he didn't know why it failed either. He ended up bypassing it. The guest used the neighbors wifi ( til our was back up) and by his own admission made thousands of dollars doing so but begrudged me the $30 fee for failure to leave access for the next guests. Everything that could have been done was done My response was immediate so leaving me such a poor review is as I stated above unduly unfair. The personal items left in the home was carefully collected and held til another family member could retrieve some weeks later.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

a step back in time.

  • 4 of 5

Well, this place won't be everybody's favorite place. It's old. A little worn. It's in a tiny out of the way town and the railroad still runs through alive and well. The grocery store is sparse and closes by 6.

All that being said, I loved it. All of it. Buaetifuly furnished, an amazing wood stove and cable TV and wifi. Since I had been brought up in places like it myself I felt right athome. Visiting my grandparents again. Thanks Bob and Carol for letting us stay there for so long!

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2014
  • Stayed: September 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Lake Almanor
Nearest Motorway
0.05 Miles
Car: necessary

Located between Chester and Susanville this historic old lumber town has numerous places to explore both in town and surrounding area. The local museum, the loacl honey mead operation, the Bizz Johnson trail head, the layout of the streets each named after a tree type. fishing areas are all around you. HIking, and exploring the beautiful lakes, streams etc.

Other Activities: A day trip to Lassen Volcanic National Park is definitely reccommended.

There are some volcanic lava caves on the back side of the park.

A very interesting experience to walk through in total darkness.

Golf: located in and around Lake almanor..nearby

Ski: coppervale lovated just outside of Westwood. Family, small, resort


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $60
Refundable Damage Deposit $300

Normal cleaning is $50. However if a larger group of people or situation requires you will be charged the hourly rate I am charged.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties