Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

The Secret Garden in Santa Cruz -- Available all December through Jan 8

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

2 Bedrooms + Sofabed, 1 Bath, Sleeps 5-6

The Secret Garden is located in the historic Beach Hill neighborhood, the oldest neighborhood in Santa Cruz. You'll be surrounded by gracious Victorian homes, yet only two blocks from Main Beach. This quaint and unique home is a comfortable haven for your getaway. Sunny rooms, a beautiful garden and all the comforts of home await you. A short walk to downtown, this is the perfect place to drop anchor and explore beautiful Santa Cruz on foot.

Historic Beach Hill Secret Garden: Just a short walk to the Municipal Pier and the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, this charming home is just the place for a family vacation or a getaway for two couples. A completely enclosed English garden is perfect for relaxing after a day at the beach. Cowell's Beach offers surfing by board or body, and beautiful West Cliff Drive is a short walk up the hill. The home is a ten-minute walk to the heart of downtown, with shops, movie theaters, and nightlife. Just a short drive to the University campus for the world-class Shakespeare Santa Cruz, to Henry Cowell State Park with its majestic redwood trees, or to one of the many wineries in the area. Fully equipped with all the comforts of home; you won't want to leave!

More Details

Property Manager
Joan Colonna
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 7, 2016

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(39 traveler reviews)

The Secret Garden in Santa Cruz -- Available all December through Jan 8
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 39 reviews
5

Secret Garden

  • 5 of 5

We loved this house! Our family stayed here for our annual summer trip, and we'd love to stay again! The house is beautiful and perfectly maintained; it has that old-house charm that you get with pre-WWII houses, but with all the modern amenities - brand new dishwasher, washer/dryer, etc...and the yard is wonderful! Hidden behind a high hedge, you'd never guess that there is a large, sculpted English-style garden tucked away back there. Absolutely beautiful!

The property is an easy walk to the beach and Boardwalk; we walked there every day. We also walked into downtown Santa Cruz one day to do some shopping and visit our favorite cafe, Cafe Delmarette. The walk is a bit farther but still easily within walking distance.

We found the house very clean, and it was stocked with many useful things that other rental properties do not provide: bed linens, towels, condiments (mustard, ketchup, olive oil, etc.) Very helpful! The owner, Joan, was very helpful and thoughtful and made the whole experience easy and worry-free. She provided 2 sets of keys and 2 parking permits, which came in very handy, since our group was large enough to require two cars to transport us and all our stuff!

We have taken lots of family vacations, staying in rented houses and hotels, and this property is easily our all-time favorite! We found ourselves remarking to each other all week long, "Wouldn't it be great if this was our house and we lived here all year!" If you stay at the Secret Garden, you will feel the same way.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so pleased to know that everyone had a great time at the home. You took such good care of it...you are most definitely welcomed back next summer :) Thank you so very much!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

SF family

  • 4 of 5

Wonderful location for the boardwalk, West Cliff Dr. and downtown. Parking permit was a huge bonus for this neighborhood. The house is quaint and the backyard is perfect for outdoor eating. We left our daughter's pj's down there and Joan sent them up soon after!

Four stars because it can be a bit noisy on summer nights and the boardwalk is raging until 11. Also, it can be hot and stuffy in the upstairs bedrooms. This can be avoided simply by opening up the windows during the day.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco
4

Great Weekend Away

  • 4 of 5

There were 6 of us total and it fit us perfectly. The pull out is surprisingly very comfortable. We loved how it was literally "hidden" by the hedge that surrounds the whole yard. The shower head is a bit low, but we made due. The kitchen was stocked - dishes, pans, etc. There were hoses all around to remove unwanted sand and the back bbq area is divine. There was apparently cable, but we couldn't figure out the whole entertainment system - so we steered away from it. Overall, we had a great time!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review. Sorry you had trouble with the cable, but it sounds like you had a really good time anyway, and that's all that matters!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Santa Barbara
5

Retro classic.....great location

  • 5 of 5

Loved everything, a perfect fit for a long weekend. Once he car was parked, we walked everywhere, beach, Boardwalk, Trader Joe's,

Favorite restaurant 515 Kitchen and Cocktails.

Lovely home and garden. Hope to return!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Santa Barbara
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5

Great.....location, home character,

Able to walk everywhere and not worry

About parking! Awesome yard and front

Porch swing, we will be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! Glad you had a good stay. Joan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best. Vacation. Ever!

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful, memorable time my family had here. Celebrating my husband's 50th birthday with a stay at this lovely house was a perfect choice for my family. We have four pre-teen boys who loved the space and the huge yard not to mention the closeness to the "action" of the Boardwalk. We loved that it was quiet and secluded and felt like, well, a secret garden! The owner was a joy to work with. We all hope to return to this wonderful place again and again.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm so pleased to know that your family had a wonderful time at the Secret Garden, and that they will have fond memories of their time there.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
San Jose Airport
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Highway 1 and Highway 17
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Main Beach
Car: not necessary

The Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk is four blocks away. At the Municipal Wharf, enjoy fresh seafood, shop for souvenirs, or just take in the sights. Listen to the barking sea lions or watch the pelicans dive...plucking their dinner from the Monterey Bay. Four blocks away is Cowell's Beach -- learn to surf in one of the best spots in town...or in California, for that matter! Downtown Santa Cruz is just a ten-minute walk. Visit the beautiful shops and great restaurants for families or couples. Several movie theaters, museums and art galleries are downtown, too. Championship golf courses are just a short ride away. During the summer, one of the best ways to spend an evening is at Shakespeare Santa Cruz...outdoor theater among ancient redwoods!

Other Activities: Henry Cowell State Park, Wineries

Photos

Rates & Availability

Beach Hill / Beach Flats House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$220
From
$250
Fri,Sat
$1,650
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning fee $140 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Beach Hill / Beach Flats House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom - 1 double
  • Sleeper sofa (brand new 2015!) in living room sleeps one or two; Both bedrooms have full sized beds; one bedroom also has a single bed for extra guest
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Walking distance to downtown or beach, 2 double beds, 1 single bed, 1 child's futon, 1 sleeper sofa. Comcast cable, Wireless Internet access. Staples, including spices, sugar/flour, pancake mix and syrup, condiments, oils/vinegars and paper goods are supplied.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties