Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Waterfront Home on Locke Lake

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,447 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

- 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 7

3 Bedroom Raised Ranch, in the Locke Lake Association. 125' of frontage on Locke Lake. Deck, patio, screened sun porch. Open concept living area, family room. Sandy beach. Boat dock. Relax with a good book while the kids play in the family room downstairs, or enjoy playing one of the many available games as a family. Swim or nap on your private sandy beach.

a1: a2

b1: b2

c1: c2


Owner
Sue
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 16, 2017

Amenities

Barnstead House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1447 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Quiet time in the Association is 9PM to 9AM
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Bathroom - outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 double
    Bedroom - 1 twin/ single , and Bunk Bed
  • Pac-N-Play and bed rails available by request.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 3 beach chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
1 queen, 1 full, 1 twin, 1 bunk bed. Window air conditioner in living area. Two TVs w/VCR & DVD, small collection of children and family videos/DVDs. Game room with wood stove. Large deck with patio furniture, propane grill. Screened in sunroom overlooking the Lake, (furnished). Fire Pit. Washer and dryer in utility room as well as iron and ironing board. Toddler and Pre-School toys for your little ones to enjoy. One high chair, 2 booster seats, bed rails and one portable crib available on request. No phone. Two kayaks available for rent, $30 each for the duration of your stay.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Waterfront Home on Locke Lake
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 18 reviews
Arlington, MA
5

Great house and location for the price

  • 5 of 5

We've rented houses in Maine/NH in a similar or slightly higher price range the last few years and this one is the best we've seen. The house is in great condition and the home association has lots of amenities.

The house has a large living room upstairs with comfy couches and chairs, and a game room downstairs that got used by the kids. It has a nice kitchen, and a fairly new dishwasher and washer/dryer that were very convenient. Having two showers is also a plus. There's an additional play room for the kids, and also a screened in porch for lounging. The gas grill works great and there is one picnic table on the deck and another on the back lawn. Living room has AC is good working condition. We used both the fireplace and firepit, and there is a large stack of wood available so we didn't have to buy any.

The lake is long and a bit like a barbell because there are two open areas on each end and a narrow part in the middle. The house is in the narrow part where boats don't move quickly, so it's quieter than the other areas. We rented the kayaks from the owner and used them quite a bit. The beach front and dock are nice.

The only downsides we noticed were that the house is on an unpaved road (not really a big deal) and there are some weeds on the bottom of the lake, though you only notice those if you wade out beyond the sandy beach area. For floating, kayaking and boating you wouldn't even notice.

We also used a bunch of the amenities that are owned by the home association. We used the six-hole golf course a few times, which is fun to play on for amateurs. Also used the swimming pool and association beach on Half Moon Lake.

Definitely worth checking out.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great write up! Regarding the dirt road, this is an ongoing 3 year project to replace the water main. The road should be repaved, hopefully, by summer 2018.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect place on the lake. Family loved it.

  • 5 of 5

We spent a week there with other family members. There was plenty of room and games for the kids to do. The weather was perfect and the lake was beautiful. The house is located in a no wake zone which was perfect for the little one in the water. The fishing was great and the kayaks were awesome first thing in the morning. We saw a family of little ducks pretty much every day...the kids loved it. We had a question for Sue and she responded within a couple hours. Pleasure to work with.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Felt like home away from home.

  • 5 of 5

The pictures we saw online do not do this house justice.

We had a great visit. The porch full of toys was a hit, we brought my 6 and 1 1/2 year grandsons.

It was very peaceful and quiet.We lacked for nothing while we were here.

Thank you for the opportunity to enjoy your home.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great cottage in a beautiful place

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was very clean and spacious. Sue had thought of everything - well stocked with basics for indoor and outdoor living. The location is great for touring around the lakes region of NH.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect family vacation

  • 5 of 5

We felt so fortunate to spend Memorial Day weekend here. 4 adults and 3 kids, all cousins had a great time in this spacious, comfortable, well equipped lake house. We played games from when we were kids, did a puzzle, read, watched Star Wars, listened to song sparrows, and the water fowl, fished, and kayaked. The kids swam at the beach and pool. The is a 4.6 miles loop around the lake, great for a challenging run and hiking close by at Mt. Major. We found everything we needed to prepare and serve home-cooked meals, and had s'mores out at the fire pit. It's a prefect place to be as active as you like or to relax all day. Just lovely. Thanks. We hope to visit again!

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful week on Locke Lake

  • 5 of 5

Each summer my family rents a waterfront property in a new location. This house was one of our favorites with lots of room for six adults. The house was clean, well maintained and stocked with all the necessities for cooking our meals and doing laundry. The sandy beach with gradual entry and clean water for swimming was a delight. We saw lots of ducks, two herons and a mink that loved to swim across the lake. It was our first stay in an association property which had quiet hours that we appreciated and also a small golf course to practice our driving skills. It was not manicured to allow for accurate putting, but it provided an activity that we enjoyed.

I commend Sue for sharing her lovely property with us and seeing that all our needs were met. It is certainly a rental that we will recommend to friends in the future.

Shelby - Gorham, Maine

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Manchester, NH
Car: necessary

Do as much or as little as you want! The Association offers playgrounds, two swimming pools, 6 hole golf course, ball field, 2 tennis courts and Private Association Beaches on both Locke and Halfmoon Lakes. Just north, you can enjoy everything the New Hampshire Lakes Region has to offer. Boating on Lake Winnipesaukee, take a ride on the M/S Mount Washington, as well as an abundance of family activities. Apple picking and blueberry picking in season. Tax free outlet shopping in Tilton, NH. In the winter months snow mobile on the lake, ski or tube at Gunstock, just a 30 minute drive.

Other Activities: snow mobiling

Golf: golf

Ski: ski Gunstock Mountain, 30 minute drive, great family ski area!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit $300

$1350/week Peak Season
LOW SEASON: $1000/week, $350/weekend
SUMMER: $1350/week Saturday - Saturday
Kayaks (2) available for rent, $30 each for the duration of your stay.
$300 Security deposit
No cleaning fee

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.