Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean Front / Beach Front Castle House at Stinson Beach

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

Enjoy FULL views of the sunrise and sunset from the dining room, living room and large deck. Step down from the deck to the beach for a leisurely walk or build your own sand castle at the foot of the 'Castle House.' Relax or BBQ at the large deck. Walk to the Stinson Village shops and restaurants and never get into your car until it is time to go home!

The Castle House has two bedrooms (with queen-size beds) and two baths. The bedrooms have views of the beach and the ocean and are located at the front and rear of the house. There is a fully equipped kitchen, a large deck and a large covered porch with outdoor furniture. It is a comfortable, well kept and very nicely furnished home. The living room has a turret (as in a castle!) with a circular sofa and embraces the complete view of the beach and ocean from the north end of Stinson-Bolinas to the southern tip. There is parking for two cars.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2007
Speaks: spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 16, 2017

Amenities

Stinson Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Contact the owner for Guest's Instructions.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
Ocean Front / Beach Front Castle House at Stinson Beach
average rating of 4.423077 based on 26 reviews
5

Fabulous location!

  • 5 of 5

My family had a fantastic week at the Castle House! We've rented other houses at Stinson in the past but the Castle House by far is the best house we've ever stayed at at Stinson. The location is perfect with views of the beach and ocean from almost every room in the house. We spent a lot of our time on the spacious deck which was just a few steps up from the sandy beach. The kitchen was well equipped which was great as we cooked almost all of our meals at the house. You won't want to leave the Castle House once you are there! Thank you Elida for sharing your Castle with the rest of us. Our family will remember our stay at your special home for years to come!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Amazing location - breathtaking views - a few other things to consider

  • 3 of 5

This is the most incredible location for your vacation on the beach. We had a ton of fun and really enjoyed the living space in the house - as well as playing on the beach, just steps away from the house. Also, down-town Stinson is a very short walk from the house - so easy to enjoy a lovely meal at the Parkside Cafe or browse at the charming local book store. Our favorite moments were either walking or frollicking on the beach OR sitting around the circular couch, admiring the view and playing board games by the pellet stove. For anyone with scent sensitivities - this, however, is not the place for you. Both bedrooms have a musty mold smell, so, keeping the doors open to air out the place was a must for us. We were a party of 5 and only 4 bath towels were provided. The house has cold stone/tile flooring - so, be sure to bring your slippers for the mornings and the evenings. We had a blast - and shortcomings aside, it was a lovely time!

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very sorry that you and your party did not appreciate the uniqueness of the Castle House beyond its amazing location. The Castle House was designed and built by the inventor of the popsicle. His wife loved castles. Wisely, he selected concrete and concrete blocks as building materials, which are unique in the area and give the house a very different feel than the usual wood frame building, commonly found at the coast. So, once inside the feel is different and it requires a different level of appreciation. My rentals are for 5 guests maximum and I provide linens for 5. I noticed that you did not used the 5th set of towels stored in the bedroom closet. If you would have called me, I would have been glad to guide you where to find them. About the sent that you mention: I was surprised when my cleaners complained that the house had an unpleasant odor in the bedrooms and bathrooms when they arrived, after your departure. When I checked the house prior to your arrival, there was no unpleasant odor and when I checked it again, after you left and it had been cleaned, there was no unpleasant odor either. The guests that follow after you, did not mention anything of the like. It was their 3rd visit at the Castle. I am sorry that what you mention as shortcomings did not make a perfect vacation. I'll keep a note in my files that the house is not the right fit for you. Best wishes, Elida
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Comfy House in a Royal Location

  • 5 of 5

We loved our mini-vacation close to home in this nice home. It is well furnished and easy to warm up at night with a pellet stove. The only problems were an erratic electric stove (maybe because we are used to gas) and it really needs some decent outdoor furniture instead of the broken down plastic pieces there presently. We have visited Stinson Beach every year for twenty years and staying at the castle was a dream of my kids. We especially loved the reading nook in the turret!

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad that you enjoyed you stay at the Castle House. I am sorry that you had difficulties operating the electric stove. The stove is new, it has a glass top and combination of regular and convection oven. I have a full gas stove at my Mill Valley home and it is different to cook with gas than electric. I like like both, and in particular, the convection oven at the beach. Gas is not an option at the Castle House, because the house is 100 % on the beach and a propane tank would not meet building code. The deck furniture is also new. It is Grossiflex, a high end resin furniture originally made in France, and now manufactured in the USA too. The only old piece is the Grossiflex porch grey lounge chair. It is in good condition but the color is different and it does not have the sheen of the new furniture. It has sentimental value for us. You may have noticed that the photo in the living room has one of the gray chairs in it. I've added a clarification at the website that the stove is electric but there is not much better I can do about new, high end, resin deck furniture.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Memorable Family Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful visit with our two young children at this beach house. The setting is superb, you could not get any closer to the beach than this charming spot. You literally just have to step off the deck and you've arrived. We all appreciated it's unique character and history and great views from the deck, living room and dining room. For guests with kids it is perfect. Clean house, well appointed kitchen, nice gathering spot for an evening fire with board games, and an amazing beach right outdoors. Now that I've come here I don't think i could do a beach trip any other way... the convenience of this spot is like no other property around there: beach right off the deck ...watch your kids play from the deck...no need to prepare or pack anything! Most of our days were spent having hours of fun on the beach, beach-combing walks, and family meals and games together. The nights were very quiet with only the sound of the ocean.

The host was responsive when we had questions and gave us great local recommendations.

I HIGHLY recommend this property for families and we are already looking forward to our next visit here.

  • Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous time on the beach

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed at this beautiful home for my birthday and it was everything we expected and more. The rental process was super fast and easy (I am a commercial property manager so I know 1st hand how things can take time lol). The home was nicely furnished, clean with lots of the "little things" we did not expect and very well set up. The couch was cozy and the beds were super soft; it was wonderful to hear the waves as I fell asleep and wake up to drink tea on the porch and watch the water in the morning. Literally three steps before my toes were in the sand and a five minute walk to the cute shops in town. Not to mention being able to stroll the beach and not have to worry about where we left our stuff; super relaxing. None of us wanted to leave. I hope we will be able to go back soon as we are in love with this home. :0)

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

3 Days Stolen From Paradise

  • 5 of 5

This was our third stay at The Castle House.

The first two times we were guests of friends who hosted us for a night each.

This time, we decided to try this beautiful place on a very short notice whim and, Elida, the owner, made it happen for us speedily and flawlessly.

This house is not only very charming --with craftman-era tiles incrusted all around the living area and with wrap around windows from which to watch the amazing sunsets and, at night, the lights of the fishermen boats operating off the shore -- but it has the best location on the beach (you walk off the very large deck directly onto the sand) which was particularly convenient for us to keep an eye on our small children.

The all white, very functional kitchen is very well stocked with every pot, pan, utensil and appliance you will ever need! The bedrooms are charming with great, comfortable mattresses and good quality (and plenty) bedding. It is clear that it is a well loved and taken care of house furnished with taste and casual elegance -- from the long, communal table to the throw pillows.

We definitely plan to come back to spend languid hours sunning on the deck's chairs or blowing soap bubbles with the kids...a great place to make new memories!

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $160
Pet Fee $60
Refundable damage deposit $700
Tax Rate 10.0%

Max 5 overnight guests
3-4 day guests upon request
7 day min stay during summer season (shorter stays if available between rentals)
3-4 min stay during Holidays
Weekly rental: Summer $3150. Holidays $3080. Off season $2680-$2960
2 night weekend rate $880
2 night week day rate $720 (M,T,W)
Over 1 week additional nights $420. $360 off season
Cleaning fee $160
Accommodation tax 10%
Pet policy: one small dog (30 lbs) with $200 security deposit (refundable) and $60 fee.
Cancellation policy: Prior 60 days, full refund, minus $45. After and if we are able to rent it, full refund minus $45.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties