check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Owner

Member since: 2007
Speaks: spanish

Oceanfront Castle House at Stinson Beach

19 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

The Bay Area House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

Enjoy FULL views of the sunrise and sunset from the dining room, living room and large deck. Step down from the deck to the beach for a leisurely walk or build your own sand castle at the foot of the 'Castle House.' Relax or BBQ at the large deck. Walk to the Stinson Village shops and restaurants and never get into your car until it is time to go home!

The Castle House has two bedrooms (with queen-size beds) and two baths. The bedrooms have views of the beach and the ocean and are located at the front and rear of the house. There is a fully equipped kitchen, a large deck and a large covered porch with outdoor furniture. It is a comfortable, well kept and very nicely furnished home. The living room has a turret (as in a castle!) with a circular sofa and embraces the complete view of the beach and ocean from the north end of Stinson-Bolinas to the southern tip. There is parking for two cars.

Keywords: House

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Owner
Member since: 2007
Speaks: spanish

Reviews

4.5
based on 19 traveler reviews

Oceanfront Castle House at Stinson Beach
average rating of 4.5263157 based on 19 reviews
5

Perfect Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

The castle house was just wonderful ! It was a perfect place for two young children ages 18mos and 5 1/2.., the deck is beyond perfect and the proximity to the beach made the setting so surreal: The only complaint I had was that our stay was too short! Next year - 2 weeks! In addition the owner was quick to respond and everything was exactly as she said it would be.. We made great memories here!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco
1

Beach Goers Beware

  • 1 of 5

I recently planned a family vacation to Stinson Beach with my family. We were looking forward to our stay without question. Although the castle is clean in appearance and a great location, it lacks an comfortable inviting feeling as one would expect in a beach home. The home is very stark with no comfortable amenities.

There are rules and regulations in regards to H20 usage and how many people can enjoy the time at the house while you are on vacation (I understand we are in California and need to be cautious with how we use H20) .

In addition there is black mold growing behind the couch and in both bedrooms. It smells of mold as you walk into the house.

We moved out of the house after one night and on a positive note the owner did offer a refund of our stay and deposit.

There are so many cute homes in Stinson to enjoy, please do your research before booking.

  • Submitted: May 21, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very sorry that you were so unhappy with the choice you made for your vacation rental. I only rent to those who are happy and enjoy being at the house, so for that reason, I refunded your deposit and rent. The Castle House is a very special place. I’ve owned it for 12 years and I only rent it part time, mostly to repeat guests. They leave me sweet notes and they look forward to their next visit. The rest of the time I enjoy it with my family and friends. It is a peaceful, clean, tidy, unpretentious and happy house, with magnificent sunsets. It is well provided, comfortable and well taken care of: in the last 2 years the roof was replaced and last spring a thorough restoration, sealing and painting was done to the exterior concrete block walls. I have regulations for the use of the house. They reflect respect for the community and my immediate neighbors: 1) In Stinson Beach we are very proud of the water conservation that we have achieved. 2) I don’t allow gatherings in consideration to my neighbors. 3) We have assigned and limited parking on our street. I was surprised that you did not contact me first to discuss how unhappy you were at the house; instead you chose to contact VRBO first who could not really help since rental agreements are between guest and owner. I inspected the house the day after you left and before I had the cleaners arrive. The house did not smell of mold. No prior guests mention a smell of any mold and neither my family has. I wish you well.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The most unbelievable views and setting ever - a perfect and effortless getaway

  • 5 of 5

This "castle in the sand" has the best location and views at Stinson. When you walk into the house and look at out the deck, sand, ocean -- it's almost surreal. I have never stayed that close to the ocean before. Both bedrooms have views as well. We woke up one day to sunshine and a perfect view of the beach/tide, and we woke up the next day to fog and a perfect view of the beach/tide. It is incredibly peaceful. The house is also just a few steps from town (even though you'd never know it), so it's super easy to walk a few feet to town for coffee, lunch, dinner, supplies. But the real joy of this house is getting up in the morning and walking outside to the sand underfoot and the ocean tide a few steps away.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
United States
5

2nd Stay, Still Love It

  • 5 of 5

The view and location brought us back to this castle house on the beach. Thinking we should try someplace new we looked into dozens of options and realized we already had the best vacation spot. To be able to watch the sun rise and set and the spectacular ever changing scenery (and thrilling tide) is gold. Proximity to restaurants and Stinson bookstore and rewarding drives to Point Reyes, Bolinas, Mill Valley, Marin Headlands and other escapes make it a perfect spot although we spent a lot of time just enjoying the view from the house. One suggestion for winter guests is to bring thick socks or slippers for the main room.

The house had everything we needed. The owner is on top of things and was quite open to helping sort out logistics for a surprise package delivery for the holidays. Highly recommend this get-away experience!

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Couldn't have been more perfect!

  • 5 of 5

The castle house is the perfect beach house! Every detail is ideal for beach stay. With ocean views from every room you truly feel like you are on the beach. The front room is a rounder of windows and acts like a solarium, warm and sunny. The pictures do not show how roomy and spacious this home is. The owner has thought of everything and is thoughtful enough to provide instructions for all the electronics. Loved our time here. Would HIGHLY recommend it.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Orange County CA
5

Active 55+s

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay here at the oceanfront castle. The property has everything you need and nothing you don't. Besides being right on the sand it is very private and serene (although we were there midweek pre-summer). The weather was chilly but perfect for walking on the beach in a sweatshirt or sitting inside by the fire (a pellet stove which I've never seen and is fantastic). Easy walk to store and restaurants. Fabulous day trips and hikes nearby. The owner Elida was a pleasure to work with. I would highly recommend this house and will anxiously await my next stay there in Stinson.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Stinson Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 15 2016 - Sep 18 2016
7 night minimum stay
$3,150
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
$420
From
$440
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Christmas - New Year
Dec 21 2016 - Jan 2 2017
4 night minimum stay
$440
From
$440
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,080
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$400
From
$440
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $160
Pet Fee $60
Refundable damage deposit $700
Tax Rate 10.0%

Max 5 overnight guests
3-4 day guests upon request
7 day min stay during summer season (shorter stays if available between rentals)
3-4 min stay during Holidays
Weekly rental: Summer $3150. Holidays $3080. Off season $2680-$2960
2 night weekend rate $880
2 night week day rate $720 (M,T,W)
Over 1 week additional nights $420. $360 off season
Cleaning fee $160
Accommodation tax 10%
Pet policy: one small dog (30 lbs) with $200 security deposit (refundable) and $60 fee.
Cancellation policy: Prior 60 days, full refund, minus $45. After and if we are able to rent it, full refund minus $45.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

The Bay Area House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties