check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Oceanfront Castle House at Stinson Beach

22 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


Minimum Stay
2 - 4 nights


Stinson Beach House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

Enjoy FULL views of the sunrise and sunset from the dining room, living room and large deck. Step down from the deck to the beach for a leisurely walk or build your own sand castle at the foot of the 'Castle House.' Relax or BBQ at the large deck. Walk to the Stinson Village shops and restaurants and never get into your car until it is time to go home!

The Castle House has two bedrooms (with queen-size beds) and two baths. The bedrooms have views of the beach and the ocean and are located at the front and rear of the house. There is a fully equipped kitchen, a large deck and a large covered porch with outdoor furniture. It is a comfortable, well kept and very nicely furnished home. The living room has a turret (as in a castle!) with a circular sofa and embraces the complete view of the beach and ocean from the north end of Stinson-Bolinas to the southern tip. There is parking for two cars.

Keywords: House

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Member since: 2007
Speaks: spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 13, 2016
Call Owner


based on 22 traveler reviews

Oceanfront Castle House at Stinson Beach
average rating of 4.409091 based on 22 reviews

Fabulous time on the beach

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed at this beautiful home for my birthday and it was everything we expected and more. The rental process was super fast and easy (I am a commercial property manager so I know 1st hand how things can take time lol). The home was nicely furnished, clean with lots of the "little things" we did not expect and very well set up. The couch was cozy and the beds were super soft; it was wonderful to hear the waves as I fell asleep and wake up to drink tea on the porch and watch the water in the morning. Literally three steps before my toes were in the sand and a five minute walk to the cute shops in town. Not to mention being able to stroll the beach and not have to worry about where we left our stuff; super relaxing. None of us wanted to leave. I hope we will be able to go back soon as we are in love with this home. :0)

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

3 Days Stolen From Paradise

  • 5 of 5

This was our third stay at The Castle House.

The first two times we were guests of friends who hosted us for a night each.

This time, we decided to try this beautiful place on a very short notice whim and, Elida, the owner, made it happen for us speedily and flawlessly.

This house is not only very charming --with craftman-era tiles incrusted all around the living area and with wrap around windows from which to watch the amazing sunsets and, at night, the lights of the fishermen boats operating off the shore -- but it has the best location on the beach (you walk off the very large deck directly onto the sand) which was particularly convenient for us to keep an eye on our small children.

The all white, very functional kitchen is very well stocked with every pot, pan, utensil and appliance you will ever need! The bedrooms are charming with great, comfortable mattresses and good quality (and plenty) bedding. It is clear that it is a well loved and taken care of house furnished with taste and casual elegance -- from the long, communal table to the throw pillows.

We definitely plan to come back to spend languid hours sunning on the deck's chairs or blowing soap bubbles with the kids...a great place to make new memories!

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mill Valley, CA

Terrible landlord

  • 1 of 5

I rented this property for 16 days for my 85 year old mother and 83 year old aunt. There was no maid service provided. The cabin also comes with 3 pages of ridiculous written rules. We visited regularly and stayed a few nights with them. Suffice it to say, it was very minimally used.

It was very rustic, dirty and dated. The garbage was piled high on the deck when we checked in.

The landlord is now refusing to refund my significant deposit due to vague complaints regarding a broken plastic deck chair (it was broken upon arrival), she stated the place was dirty when we checked out (I did everything on the extensive check list provided) and she complained about the amount of garbage left in the cans (the garbage was full when we checked in).

I would NOT recommend renting this property under any circumstances unless you are willing to give up your deposit.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: There is nothing vague about my complain on the condition on how you left the house at your departure. The housekeepers described it as chaotic and extremely dirty. It took them from 11 AM to 7 PM to bring the house close to a normal state and the cleaning had to continue the next day. Check in time for the next guests was 4 PM on the day of your departure. The 3 days prior to your arrival, I was at the house getting the usual mid-summer maintenance done: the carpets and upholstery were steam cleaned, windows washed, new drapery installed, kitchen covers and pots cleaned, the outdoor furniture and deck were washed and miscellaneous items tidy up. The garbage was picked up on Wednesday and when I left on Saturday, prior to your afternoon arrival, 10% of the containers were used. I know first hand the condition in which the house welcomed you because I was the last person there. I had to delay by one day the arrival of the next family to get the house ready, the way we always do. Fortunately, the next family was my own and I did not have to disappoint or inconvenience some one traveling afar. Many families have stayed in the last 12 years that I've owned the Castle House but never it has taken as much work and time to clean and re-organize the house as after your stay: the excess garbage had to be collected from the deck, packed and taken to a remote dumpster, dishes and utensils had to be soaked and wash, and same for pots and pans that had been stored away unwashed. Lots had been pulled out from storage and covers and left out. My rental agreement asks that guests would let me know if anything breaks or it's broken so that it can be replaced in time for the next guest's arrival. You never mentioned the chair that was broken or that you were displeased with the property and its condition during your 16 day stay. You rejected my offer of a mid stay complementary cleaning and said it was not necessary. The rental does not include daily maid service. But, definitely you need daily maid service!! I kept the cost of replacing the broken chair. The rest of the deposit was refunded to you. The Castle House is a home that grows into people's hearts. They make it their own for their brief stay and amazes me how fondly they take care of it. That fact and the notes of appreciation for their stay inspires me to make the house available part time through out the year. You were a dark cloud passing by in a wide and bright blue sky.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

The castle house was just wonderful ! It was a perfect place for two young children ages 18mos and 5 1/2.., the deck is beyond perfect and the proximity to the beach made the setting so surreal: The only complaint I had was that our stay was too short! Next year - 2 weeks! In addition the owner was quick to respond and everything was exactly as she said it would be.. We made great memories here!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco

Beach Goers Beware

  • 1 of 5

I recently planned a family vacation to Stinson Beach with my family. We were looking forward to our stay without question. Although the castle is clean in appearance and a great location, it lacks an comfortable inviting feeling as one would expect in a beach home. The home is very stark with no comfortable amenities.

There are rules and regulations in regards to H20 usage and how many people can enjoy the time at the house while you are on vacation (I understand we are in California and need to be cautious with how we use H20) .

In addition there is black mold growing behind the couch and in both bedrooms. It smells of mold as you walk into the house.

We moved out of the house after one night and on a positive note the owner did offer a refund of our stay and deposit.

There are so many cute homes in Stinson to enjoy, please do your research before booking.

  • Submitted: May 21, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very sorry that you were so unhappy with the choice you made for your vacation rental. I only rent to those who are happy and enjoy being at the house, so for that reason, I refunded your deposit and rent. The Castle House is a very special place. I’ve owned it for 12 years and I only rent it part time, mostly to repeat guests. They leave me sweet notes and they look forward to their next visit. The rest of the time I enjoy it with my family and friends. It is a peaceful, clean, tidy, unpretentious and happy house, with magnificent sunsets. It is well provided, comfortable and well taken care of: in the last 2 years the roof was replaced and last spring a thorough restoration, sealing and painting was done to the exterior concrete block walls. I have regulations for the use of the house. They reflect respect for the community and my immediate neighbors: 1) In Stinson Beach we are very proud of the water conservation that we have achieved. 2) I don’t allow gatherings in consideration to my neighbors. 3) We have assigned and limited parking on our street. I was surprised that you did not contact me first to discuss how unhappy you were at the house; instead you chose to contact VRBO first who could not really help since rental agreements are between guest and owner. I inspected the house the day after you left and before I had the cleaners arrive. The house did not smell of mold. No prior guests mention a smell of any mold and neither my family has. I wish you well.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The most unbelievable views and setting ever - a perfect and effortless getaway

  • 5 of 5

This "castle in the sand" has the best location and views at Stinson. When you walk into the house and look at out the deck, sand, ocean -- it's almost surreal. I have never stayed that close to the ocean before. Both bedrooms have views as well. We woke up one day to sunshine and a perfect view of the beach/tide, and we woke up the next day to fog and a perfect view of the beach/tide. It is incredibly peaceful. The house is also just a few steps from town (even though you'd never know it), so it's super easy to walk a few feet to town for coffee, lunch, dinner, supplies. But the real joy of this house is getting up in the morning and walking outside to the sand underfoot and the ocean tide a few steps away.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Stinson Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Nov 20 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
Christmas - New Year
Dec 21 2016 - Jan 2 2017
4 night minimum stay
Jan 17 2017 - Mar 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $700
Cleaning fee $160
Pet Fee $60
Tax Rate 10.0%

Max 5 overnight guests
3-4 day guests upon request
7 day min stay during summer season (shorter stays if available between rentals)
3-4 min stay during Holidays
Weekly rental: Summer $3150. Holidays $3080. Off season $2680-$2960
2 night weekend rate $880
2 night week day rate $720 (M,T,W)
Over 1 week additional nights $420. $360 off season
Cleaning fee $160
Accommodation tax 10%
Pet policy: one small dog (30 lbs) with $200 security deposit (refundable) and $60 fee.
Cancellation policy: Prior 60 days, full refund, minus $45. After and if we are able to rent it, full refund minus $45.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Stinson Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties