Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean Front / Beach Front Castle House at Stinson Beach

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

Enjoy FULL views of the sunrise and sunset from the dining room, living room and large deck. Step down from the deck to the beach for a leisurely walk or build your own sand castle at the foot of the 'Castle House.' Relax or BBQ at the large deck. Walk to the Stinson Village shops and restaurants and never get into your car until it is time to go home!

The Castle House has two bedrooms (with queen-size beds) and two baths. The bedrooms have views of the beach and the ocean and are located at the front and rear of the house. There is a fully equipped kitchen, a large deck and a large covered porch with outdoor furniture. It is a comfortable, well kept and very nicely furnished home. The living room has a turret (as in a castle!) with a circular sofa and embraces the complete view of the beach and ocean from the north end of Stinson-Bolinas to the southern tip. There is parking for two cars.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2007
Speaks: spanish
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 9, 2017

Map

Amenities

Stinson Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Contact the owner for Guest's Instructions.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

79% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
13% Complete
Ocean Front / Beach Front Castle House at Stinson Beach
average rating of 4.3448277 based on 29 reviews
1

Home is falling apart

  • 1 of 5

The property is in poor repair. There was black mold in the family room, kitchen and bathrooms. There were broken palm limbs pilled in the back yard. The deck was broken and rotten in many areas. There were electrical wires run along the wall in a serious code violation. The homeowner showed up on our day to take the trash out. Actually I believe she showed up to make sure we only had 4 people at the house. We are requesting half our money back for a very disappointing vacation...we did not want to stay but with her no return policy we were stuck with a house that I was sold as a 5 by VRBO and it really is a 1 at the best.

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Today, five and a half weeks after your arrival, is the first time that I hear of you discontent with your stay at the house. I met you briefly at the property when I came by to see if the water district measuring gauge was obstructed by the bamboo leafs (I can check the gauge from outside of the fence without entering the house). I mentioned to you, that since I was there, I took the garbage out for pick up to save you the effort. At no time, I thought that I needed to check on how many guest you had staying at the house since you appeared to me, from our previous interactions, that you were a mature person. When I introduce myself, you should have pointed to me the items of discontent. But you did not. Why didn't you take the opportunity? I introduced myself but you chose not to say a word. I am a very approachable and friendly person. I find your accusations above are unfounded!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Our Girls Trip

  • 5 of 5

My daughter-in-law and my two granddaughters loved our stay at the Castle House. The house was clean and very comfortable. It is right on the beach. We enjoyed the view of the ocean from all the windows in the house, the walks on the beach every day and sitting outside on the deck. It is walking distance to the market, shopping and restaurants. We hope to someday come back and stay again. The owner Elida Doldan-Schujman was just wonderful with any questions we had.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Ramon, CA
5

Love the accommodations and location!

  • 5 of 5

The accommodations of the property were great and the location on the beach is the best! There is a roped off section in front where my two boys played in the sand and I could sit on the deck and observe them. It was also convenient to walk to the store if we needed any items. We will be coming back hopefully soon! Thank you Elida for allowing us to stay in "the castle".

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous location!

  • 5 of 5

My family had a fantastic week at the Castle House! We've rented other houses at Stinson in the past but the Castle House by far is the best house we've ever stayed at at Stinson. The location is perfect with views of the beach and ocean from almost every room in the house. We spent a lot of our time on the spacious deck which was just a few steps up from the sandy beach. The kitchen was well equipped which was great as we cooked almost all of our meals at the house. You won't want to leave the Castle House once you are there! Thank you Elida for sharing your Castle with the rest of us. Our family will remember our stay at your special home for years to come!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Amazing location - breathtaking views - a few other things to consider

  • 3 of 5

This is the most incredible location for your vacation on the beach. We had a ton of fun and really enjoyed the living space in the house - as well as playing on the beach, just steps away from the house. Also, down-town Stinson is a very short walk from the house - so easy to enjoy a lovely meal at the Parkside Cafe or browse at the charming local book store. Our favorite moments were either walking or frollicking on the beach OR sitting around the circular couch, admiring the view and playing board games by the pellet stove. For anyone with scent sensitivities - this, however, is not the place for you. Both bedrooms have a musty mold smell, so, keeping the doors open to air out the place was a must for us. We were a party of 5 and only 4 bath towels were provided. The house has cold stone/tile flooring - so, be sure to bring your slippers for the mornings and the evenings. We had a blast - and shortcomings aside, it was a lovely time!

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very sorry that you and your party did not appreciate the uniqueness of the Castle House beyond its amazing location. The Castle House was designed and built by the inventor of the popsicle. His wife loved castles. Wisely, he selected concrete and concrete blocks as building materials, which are unique in the area and give the house a very different feel than the usual wood frame building, commonly found at the coast. So, once inside the feel is different and it requires a different level of appreciation. My rentals are for 5 guests maximum and I provide linens for 5. I noticed that you did not used the 5th set of towels stored in the bedroom closet. If you would have called me, I would have been glad to guide you where to find them. About the sent that you mention: I was surprised when my cleaners complained that the house had an unpleasant odor in the bedrooms and bathrooms when they arrived, after your departure. When I checked the house prior to your arrival, there was no unpleasant odor and when I checked it again, after you left and it had been cleaned, there was no unpleasant odor either. The guests that follow after you, did not mention anything of the like. It was their 3rd visit at the Castle. I am sorry that what you mention as shortcomings did not make a perfect vacation. I'll keep a note in my files that the house is not the right fit for you. Best wishes, Elida
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A Comfy House in a Royal Location

  • 5 of 5

We loved our mini-vacation close to home in this nice home. It is well furnished and easy to warm up at night with a pellet stove. The only problems were an erratic electric stove (maybe because we are used to gas) and it really needs some decent outdoor furniture instead of the broken down plastic pieces there presently. We have visited Stinson Beach every year for twenty years and staying at the castle was a dream of my kids. We especially loved the reading nook in the turret!

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad that you enjoyed you stay at the Castle House. I am sorry that you had difficulties operating the electric stove. The stove is new, it has a glass top and combination of regular and convection oven. I have a full gas stove at my Mill Valley home and it is different to cook with gas than electric. I like like both, and in particular, the convection oven at the beach. Gas is not an option at the Castle House, because the house is 100 % on the beach and a propane tank would not meet building code. The deck furniture is also new. It is Grossiflex, a high end resin furniture originally made in France, and now manufactured in the USA too. The only old piece is the Grossiflex porch grey lounge chair. It is in good condition but the color is different and it does not have the sheen of the new furniture. It has sentimental value for us. You may have noticed that the photo in the living room has one of the gray chairs in it. I've added a clarification at the website that the stove is electric but there is not much better I can do about new, high end, resin deck furniture.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $165
Pet Fee $60
Damage Deposit $700

Max 5 overnight guests
3-4 day guests upon request
7 day min stay during summer season (shorter stays if available between rentals)
3-4 min stay during Holidays
Weekly rental: Summer $3150. Holidays $3080. Off season $2680-$2960
2 night weekend rate $880
2 night week day rate $720 (M,T,W)
Over 1 week additional nights $420. $360 off season
Cleaning fee $160
Accommodation tax 10%
Pet policy: one small dog (30 lbs) with $200 security deposit (refundable) and $60 fee.
Cancellation policy: Prior 60 days, full refund, minus $45. After and if we are able to rent it, full refund minus $45.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties