Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean Front / Beach Front Castle House at Stinson Beach

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

Enjoy FULL views of the sunrise and sunset from the dining room, living room and large deck. Step down from the deck to the beach for a leisurely walk or build your own sand castle at the foot of the 'Castle House.' Relax or BBQ at the large deck. Walk to the Stinson Village shops and restaurants and never get into your car until it is time to go home!

The Castle House has two bedrooms (with queen-size beds) and two baths. The bedrooms have views of the beach and the ocean and are located at the front and rear of the house. There is a fully equipped kitchen, a large deck and a large covered porch with outdoor furniture. It is a comfortable, well kept and very nicely furnished home. The living room has a turret (as in a castle!) with a circular sofa and embraces the complete view of the beach and ocean from the north end of Stinson-Bolinas to the southern tip. There is parking for two cars.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2007
Speaks: spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 26, 2017

Amenities

Stinson Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Contact the owner for Guest's Instructions.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

Ocean Front / Beach Front Castle House at Stinson Beach
average rating of 4.4583335 based on 24 reviews
5

A Comfy House in a Royal Location

  • 5 of 5

We loved our mini-vacation close to home in this nice home. It is well furnished and easy to warm up at night with a pellet stove. The only problems were an erratic electric stove (maybe because we are used to gas) and it really needs some decent outdoor furniture instead of the broken down plastic pieces there presently. We have visited Stinson Beach every year for twenty years and staying at the castle was a dream of my kids. We especially loved the reading nook in the turret!

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad that you enjoyed you stay at the Castle House. I am sorry that you had difficulties operating the electric stove. The stove is new, it has a glass top and combination of regular and convection oven. I have a full gas stove at my Mill Valley home and it is different to cook with gas than electric. I like like both, and in particular, the convection oven at the beach. Gas is not an option at the Castle House, because the house is 100 % on the beach and a propane tank would not meet building code. The deck furniture is also new. It is Grossiflex, a high end resin furniture originally made in France, and now manufactured in the USA too. The only old piece is the Grossiflex porch grey lounge chair. It is in good condition but the color is different and it does not have the sheen of the new furniture. It has sentimental value for us. You may have noticed that the photo in the living room has one of the gray chairs in it. I've added a clarification at the website that the stove is electric but there is not much better I can do about new, high end, resin deck furniture.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Memorable Family Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful visit with our two young children at this beach house. The setting is superb, you could not get any closer to the beach than this charming spot. You literally just have to step off the deck and you've arrived. We all appreciated it's unique character and history and great views from the deck, living room and dining room. For guests with kids it is perfect. Clean house, well appointed kitchen, nice gathering spot for an evening fire with board games, and an amazing beach right outdoors. Now that I've come here I don't think i could do a beach trip any other way... the convenience of this spot is like no other property around there: beach right off the deck ...watch your kids play from the deck...no need to prepare or pack anything! Most of our days were spent having hours of fun on the beach, beach-combing walks, and family meals and games together. The nights were very quiet with only the sound of the ocean.

The host was responsive when we had questions and gave us great local recommendations.

I HIGHLY recommend this property for families and we are already looking forward to our next visit here.

  • Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous time on the beach

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed at this beautiful home for my birthday and it was everything we expected and more. The rental process was super fast and easy (I am a commercial property manager so I know 1st hand how things can take time lol). The home was nicely furnished, clean with lots of the "little things" we did not expect and very well set up. The couch was cozy and the beds were super soft; it was wonderful to hear the waves as I fell asleep and wake up to drink tea on the porch and watch the water in the morning. Literally three steps before my toes were in the sand and a five minute walk to the cute shops in town. Not to mention being able to stroll the beach and not have to worry about where we left our stuff; super relaxing. None of us wanted to leave. I hope we will be able to go back soon as we are in love with this home. :0)

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

3 Days Stolen From Paradise

  • 5 of 5

This was our third stay at The Castle House.

The first two times we were guests of friends who hosted us for a night each.

This time, we decided to try this beautiful place on a very short notice whim and, Elida, the owner, made it happen for us speedily and flawlessly.

This house is not only very charming --with craftman-era tiles incrusted all around the living area and with wrap around windows from which to watch the amazing sunsets and, at night, the lights of the fishermen boats operating off the shore -- but it has the best location on the beach (you walk off the very large deck directly onto the sand) which was particularly convenient for us to keep an eye on our small children.

The all white, very functional kitchen is very well stocked with every pot, pan, utensil and appliance you will ever need! The bedrooms are charming with great, comfortable mattresses and good quality (and plenty) bedding. It is clear that it is a well loved and taken care of house furnished with taste and casual elegance -- from the long, communal table to the throw pillows.

We definitely plan to come back to spend languid hours sunning on the deck's chairs or blowing soap bubbles with the kids...a great place to make new memories!

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mill Valley, CA
1

Terrible landlord

  • 1 of 5

I rented this property for 16 days for my 85 year old mother and 83 year old aunt. There was no maid service provided. The cabin also comes with 3 pages of ridiculous written rules. We visited regularly and stayed a few nights with them. Suffice it to say, it was very minimally used.

It was very rustic, dirty and dated. The garbage was piled high on the deck when we checked in.

The landlord is now refusing to refund my significant deposit due to vague complaints regarding a broken plastic deck chair (it was broken upon arrival), she stated the place was dirty when we checked out (I did everything on the extensive check list provided) and she complained about the amount of garbage left in the cans (the garbage was full when we checked in).

I would NOT recommend renting this property under any circumstances unless you are willing to give up your deposit.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: There is nothing vague about my complain on the condition on how you left the house at your departure. The housekeepers described it as chaotic and extremely dirty. It took them from 11 AM to 7 PM to bring the house close to a normal state and the cleaning had to continue the next day. Check in time for the next guests was 4 PM on the day of your departure. The 3 days prior to your arrival, I was at the house getting the usual mid-summer maintenance done: the carpets and upholstery were steam cleaned, windows washed, new drapery installed, kitchen covers and pots cleaned, the outdoor furniture and deck were washed and miscellaneous items tidy up. The garbage was picked up on Wednesday and when I left on Saturday, prior to your afternoon arrival, 10% of the containers were used. I know first hand the condition in which the house welcomed you because I was the last person there. I had to delay by one day the arrival of the next family to get the house ready, the way we always do. Fortunately, the next family was my own and I did not have to disappoint or inconvenience some one traveling afar. Many families have stayed in the last 12 years that I've owned the Castle House but never it has taken as much work and time to clean and re-organize the house as after your stay: the excess garbage had to be collected from the deck, packed and taken to a remote dumpster, dishes and utensils had to be soaked and wash, and same for pots and pans that had been stored away unwashed. Lots had been pulled out from storage and covers and left out. My rental agreement asks that guests would let me know if anything breaks or it's broken so that it can be replaced in time for the next guest's arrival. You never mentioned the chair that was broken or that you were displeased with the property and its condition during your 16 day stay. You rejected my offer of a mid stay complementary cleaning and said it was not necessary. The rental does not include daily maid service. But, definitely you need daily maid service!! I kept the cost of replacing the broken chair. The rest of the deposit was refunded to you. The Castle House is a home that grows into people's hearts. They make it their own for their brief stay and amazes me how fondly they take care of it. That fact and the notes of appreciation for their stay inspires me to make the house available part time through out the year. You were a dark cloud passing by in a wide and bright blue sky.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
5

Perfect Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

The castle house was just wonderful ! It was a perfect place for two young children ages 18mos and 5 1/2.., the deck is beyond perfect and the proximity to the beach made the setting so surreal: The only complaint I had was that our stay was too short! Next year - 2 weeks! In addition the owner was quick to respond and everything was exactly as she said it would be.. We made great memories here!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Stinson Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
July
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$460
 
 
August
Aug 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,220
 
 
September
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 18 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,220
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 23 2017 - Nov 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$460
From
$460
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Christmas - New Year
Dec 21 2017 - Jan 2 2018
4 night minimum stay
$460
From
$460
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,160
 
 
Winter
Jan 17 2018 - Mar 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
$385
From
$420
Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,860
 
 
Easter
Mar 16 2018 - Apr 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
$440
From
$460
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,160
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$420
From
$460
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,100
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $160
Pet Fee $60
Refundable damage deposit $700
Tax Rate 10.0%

Max 5 overnight guests
3-4 day guests upon request
7 day min stay during summer season (shorter stays if available between rentals)
3-4 min stay during Holidays
Weekly rental: Summer $3150. Holidays $3080. Off season $2680-$2960
2 night weekend rate $880
2 night week day rate $720 (M,T,W)
Over 1 week additional nights $420. $360 off season
Cleaning fee $160
Accommodation tax 10%
Pet policy: one small dog (30 lbs) with $200 security deposit (refundable) and $60 fee.
Cancellation policy: Prior 60 days, full refund, minus $45. After and if we are able to rent it, full refund minus $45.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties