check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Property Manager

Member since: 2002
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Kauhale Makai #632, Quiet Beach Front Property with Balcony Overlooking the Ocean

10 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 - 10 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kihei Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-6)

Kauhale Makai is Hawaiian for "Village by the Sea". Kauhale Makai is an oceanfront property located in North Kihei offering ocean and garden views. It consists of two six story buildings with elevators. The beach fronting the property is excellent for watching sunsets and is popular with windsurfers during the summer months. Kauhale Makai is a quiet family oriented property that offers central air conditioning, a nice pool area with Jacuzzi & children's wading pool, gas barbeques, saunas, putting green, shuffle board, laundry facilities and free parking. The interiors include fully equipped kitchens, cable television, free local phone service and private lanais.

TAT: W25788070-01

Property Manager (Property Manager)
Member since: 2002
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

“We had a great time in Maui and will recommend both your services and this unit! Thanks for everything!”
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.3
based on 10 traveler reviews

Kauhale Makai #632, Quiet Beach Front Property with Balcony Overlooking the Ocean
average rating of 4.3 based on 12 reviews
Bellingham, Washington
5

Nice place with a pride of ownership

  • 5 of 5

Even though the property is older, there is a nice feel to this place. Always someone maintaining the place daily. Our unit was very nice being on the corner and we were very comfortable sharing with another couple without it being intrusive.The unit also had plenty of ocean toys,chairs, umbrella, snorkel gear, but bring a blow dryer if you need one. Laundry facilities on every floor. I loved hearing the wind and ocean. And I found the pool right below to be very nice. I loved watching the different people and families having fun and the BBQ area was tidy and we had fun meeting people there while cooking. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for taking your time for the review. We really love to hear from our guests, and for that we really appreciate it. We hope you come back soon. If there is anything else we can do for you, do not hesitate to call us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely Condo, Fantastic management, wonderful stay!

  • 5 of 5

From Beginning to end our Condo Resort management company, 5star Maui Resorts, was wonderful with every detail in renting this lovely condo. We had to find a place quickly, to sadly arrive for a memorial service, which our agent, Mindy, was more than helpful with. She initially spoke with my niece, who's family lives in Maui; she was calm & pleasant with every question, to make sure we were comfortable, while another woman in the company, Sophia, did not hesitate to gather up some left behind clothes & send them back to us. Even the folks at the front office of the condo were wonderful. The condo was newly renovated, VERY clean, nicely designed & fully equipped with everything needed ,while away from home ( including the outdoor grill) . The view from the balcony, LR, & master suite , overlooking the beach, pool, & ocean was amazingly gorgeous, with the sunsets over the water each evening absolutely beautiful. Kauhale Makai was a perfect place for our family to gather with our Maui relatives, who lived close by, to reflect & celebrate our loved one, we lost...We would love to come back to Maui (& hopefully this condo), calling upon Mindy ,once again, for her help. We really appreciated this lovely condo & how smoothly our stay went ..it definitely put us at ease. Thank you to Mindy with 5Star Maui Resorts, for being sensitive to our situation, making a challenging week enjoyable. We are most grateful to you and will definitely be back to Maui's paradise!

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Colorado
5

Excellent management company

  • 5 of 5

This review is a little odd because we did not actually get to stay at the property. We spent a week in Kauai and planned to stay a week in Maui at the Kauhale Makai. As we were preparing to leave Kauai for Maui, we received notice that my brother was critically ill and was undergoing life-saving surgery. We thus booked a flight immediately back to Colorado and sadly missed the Maui part of our vacation. The managment of these units was fantatsic (we worked with Ken) in being compassionate about our circumstance and offering to do what they could to partially refund our money. In this day and age to have someone actually care about their customers is refreshing. We are very grateful to Ken for his help and will certainly stay with them next time we are in Maui. My brother is on the road to a full recovery, so we will bring him with us! Thanks so much Ken and 5 Star Maui Resorts!

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
4

Great value

  • 4 of 5

We have used vrbo for at least 10 different vacations, and at least six on Maui. The company that manages this unit is probably one of the best I have ever worked with. Good communication and easy to deal with. Very responsive.

The good...The unit is adorable and clean. It is newly upgraded in a well-maintained complex. There are beautiful views of the ocean and west Maui mountains. Fully stocked kitchen. Just fyi no condiments from previous guests are left in the fridge. Basic spices in the pantry-salt, pepper, garlic salt, oil and vinegar. Coffee filters. Enough to cook basic meals (most of the nonstick pots are pretty scratched up). Nice tv in living room which I enjoyed because the US Open was playing and I could watch tennis in the evening while cooking dinner and watching the ocean at the same time!

The not-so-good...

The unit is directly above the pool area. It can get LOUD. Think, "Marco Polo" loud, but even louder and more annoying (saying this as a child MP player and also a mom). During the afternoon it was not uncommon for the pool to be pretty full with families, which is expected and totally alright and mostly not a problem until you get the families that think it is perfectly ok to let their child shriek at the top of their lungs for 20 minutes on end. It was so bad one day the woman two floors below us yelled at someone to quiet down. Or the groups that settle in to the hot tub at night and get progressively louder until the pool closes at 10pm.

The linens (sheets and towels) really need to be replaced! I slept in the queen bed and the original sheets were thin and pilly. Prop mgr was great about dropping off a slightly-better replacement set, but I know that the Costco here sells nice quality sheets and towels for a very good price (my son is moving to Maui, so we bought some there for him). Towels were also very thin and worn, stained and smelled musty as if they weren't completely dry when put away. We did a wash mid week, tossed some in and the smell was gone. I know the linens get a lot of use, but that should be a priority replacement on a regular basis because, well, it is a little icky.

All in all though, this place is a great little bargain and we enjoyed our time here. Mahalo!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0
Washington, DC
5

Great Maui Vacation Base

  • 5 of 5

I have been to this complex once before and the convenience to everything on the island drew me back – that and the lovely ocean views, swimming pool, hot tub, and outdoor grill. The Kihei area is one of the more vibrant areas in Maui, and its central location is convenient to anyplace you want to go on the island, including Napili, Kaanapali, Kahului, Haleakala, or south to the beaches of Makena. We hardly used the free wifi because we were so busy on the beach, and touring the restaurants and bars that are only a short drive down the road. The condo was clean, modern and airy, and is stocked with all the beach gear and kitchen supplies you will need. There is a beach directly in front of the building (without crossing a road), and we were able to observe windsurfers, and at another beach, whale sightings. Since the balcony has a view of the pool and hot tub, it is easy to decide when you want to go for a dip in either of them. I would definitely return to this condo and recommend it.

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Denver, Colorado
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

We just returned home after spending 10 nights in this gorgeous unit!

It was better than we could have ever imagined! We had everything we needed and it felt just like home!

The view from the lanai is incredible and we were able to get great sunset pics.

We will definitely plan on returning again in the future!

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • $152-$257/nt
  • US Dollars
  • PLEASE CALL (800) 994-6944 FOR OUR 'LAST MINUTE' SPECIALS
  • ** 10% to 35% Discounts depending on month and length of stay! **
  • Hawaiian Registration I.D. #W56362684-01
  • Low Season: Apr 16-Dec 14 * $152/night + tax * Hawaii Tax - 13.42%
  • High Season: Dec 15-March 31 * $257 /night + tax *NO FEES* for Credit Cards!
  • 3 night minimum stay except for Holidays
  • 14 Night Minimum Stay during the Hoiday Season (12/18 -1/6) unless approved
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Floor Area:
  • 745 sq. ft.
General:
  • Internet ...
  • Parking ...
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Sleeper Sofa or Futons (1) in some living rooms
Notes:
Central Air conditioning! Very rare in Kihei!

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties