Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Large Quintessential Maine Cottage 6 bedrooms/6 baths booking Sunday to Sunday

Bedrooms 6
Space 4,500 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

6 Bedrooms 6 baths, Sleeps 12-15, Efficiency Apt available year round.

This over sized home is an elegant Maine Victorian Cottage in an estate setting, located in York Harbor, Maine. It is a perfect vacation address for a large family who wants to be together, but not on top of each other.

Recently re-decorated for casual living, the home includes 6 bedrooms, 6 baths including a studio apartment providing a first floor bedroom and private entrance.The efficiency apartment is also available separately for short term rentals year round.

The home is located on York Street between Long Sands Beach and The York Harbor Inn. You'll feel ocean breezes while you lounge on the huge 68-foot long porch, overlooking a circular driveway and beautiful grounds.

There is ample parking, comfortable beds, ceiling fans, a second floor porch, an open deck with a gas grill, two fireplaces, a soaking tub for two, two fully equipped kitchens, a separate laundry room, wireless DSL connectivity, a library of books and movies, and a component stereo system.

More Details


York Harbor Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Village ...
  • Family
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - tub , shower , soaking tub/oversz shower
    Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Piano
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
5 queen, 1 full, 1 twin, 1 sleep sofa. Ceiling fans, wireless DSL, garden, basketball net


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
Large Quintessential Maine Cottage 6 bedrooms/6 baths booking Sunday to Sunday
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews

Beautiful Property, but BAD Rental Experience

  • 2 of 5

Overall, I gave this rental only 2 stars. While the home itself is beautiful - and plenty large enough for 14 guests - it wasn't quite what we'd been expecting, based on the rental listing. Our experience was largely overshadowed by one very dogged and cash-poor rental owner whose ultimate goal was to scam us out of more money than we'd paid- and her scam involved us willfully committing fraud.

But first...a few other drawbacks to consider:

When we arrived in late August, part of the house was already being locally rented, and two of the available parking "spaces" were in use by said renter. (One of his vehicles was a boat.) We were not informed, either from the listing itself or by the property owners, that the house would be partially occupied during our stay. Notably, the renter himself was quiet as a mouse and equally inconspicuous throughout the week, but his presence was completely unexpected, and it should have been disclosed.

Although the house and its rooms were more or less as described on the VRBO/Homeaway listing - with more than enough room for four different families to comfortably bed down and seek privacy or rest, the kitchen appliances left a lot to be desired. Both the electric stove and the dishwasher were outdated, and worked well only some of the time. The second machine was leaky, so we washed all our dishes (party of 12) in the tiny sink by hand. Whether you're low maintenance or not when it comes to ammenties, for a relatively expensive rental property, it was very disappointing.

The biggest drawback of all, though? - the repeated (almost chronic) presence of the property owner, who, to my knowledge, stopped by or made contact with us no less than 3 times during a 7-day period to discuss our security deposit. Those three times don't even include the two instances in which she called us - via the person from our party who handled the rental process - in the week PRIOR to our arrival at the house, also to discuss the security deposit. The owner claimed we hadn't paid her, because she'd had the money "refunded." When we wouldn't cough it up (that money having never been refunded), she then told us to submit a claim with HomeAway, saying we'd damaged the house - which would give the owner access to a lump sum of money that wasn't hers. We refused and no further action was taken on the owner's part, but (understandably) it left us feeling creepy and violated... Renters, beware!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was a bad experience for us as well. The total rent was paid on line, but we refunded the whole payment (less the security deposit held by VRBO of $1,500) as we prefer to paid in cash or check, since we had lowered our rental fee once the site began charging a booking fee. We preferred not to pay credit card fees. We received a partial payment for the rent with the understanding the balance of $1500.00 would be paid upon arrival. Since the person we dealt with, was not arriving until later, we handed over our house to the group who arrived first. Trusting we would get the balance of our rent the next day. We did come back several times to try to resolve the balance and was told we refunded the wrong payment of $1500.00??, so therefore we would not get any more money from them. We contacted VRBO, who recommended we call the police and have you removed from our property, keeping the security deposit for the balance of the rent. AND block you from ever using this site. We chose not to do this, as we did not want to make the situation worse. This had nothing to do with being “cash poor”, but scared of what might happen to our house and belongings, with no security deposit. who was scamming who? Normally we chat on the phone with potential renters, before agreeing to rent our house to them, to make sure it is a good match. I then explain the layout and that we have a tenant in the back of the property, we apologize for the omission here. The boat and car belonging to us, but there was still ample parking for 10-14 cars on the property, no one has ever had a problem with this. Our appliance are not new, but have always functioned perfectly well. I did respond immediately when summons, to repair the leaking dishwasher, where I found clumps of soap in the corners, after cleaning it all out. I gave you towels should it leak again and asked you to use the dish soap provided by me, I never heard anything more. I also tighten the burner that had become loose when I was cleaning it. All the appliances were working perfectly when I returned, along with our 3 bay sink. In the 8 years we have rented our home, everyone has always left being grateful that we shared our home with them. Many returning again, again. This was a very disheartening situation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A Great Place For A Large Family To Stay

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a great stay at Whiting Cottage! The "cottage" was huge and had more than enough beds and bathrooms to accommodate the ten of us. Jeannie was very welcoming and showed us where everything was located in the house and she also recommended some fine restaurants. Having five full bathrooms and five showers made getting ready for the day very easy. The bedrooms were comfortable for sleeping even without air conditioning. Ceiling fans and cool night breezes from the nearby ocean worked very well for us. The house has a huge front porch where we spent a lot of time during early evening hours and most mornings before going to the beach. And the large yard provided plenty of room for the kids to play. Our family highly recommends a stay at Whiting Cottage.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed the house!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Spot for our extended Family

  • 5 of 5

A week in York Harbor with our extended family provided perfect weather and the perfect house for us! The popular long sands and short sands beaches are minutes away but we enjoyed the short walk along the cliff walk to York Harbor beach. It's a real hidden gem, just as nice as the other two without the crowds. The house with all it's bedrooms and bathrooms allowed everyone plenty of individual space and with the windows open and fans going at night we had very comfortable evenings. We had all our family time and meals on the amazing front porch. I can't imagine how the week would have been without our favorite gathering place. If you have a large group that is not looking to be right on the water, this house is the perfect alternative. No issues with the deposit refund, the house was clean and the kitchen and outdoor grill fit our needs for the week. The pictures on this site accurately portray the property and the large front and side yards allow for plenty of kid space. Thank you to Jeanne and David from our entire family group!!

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are always so happy to hear that you all enjoyed our home. We appreciate you taking the time to tell other. Hope you join us again! Jeanne and David
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Amazing house in an amazing location.

  • 5 of 5

My entire family- 10 adults, 3 teenagers and 4 kids under 6 stayed in this beautiful home for a week. One would think 17 people under one roof would be a bit overcrowded but this was not the case. There was ample sleeping space, eating space and relaxation space. The house had everything we needed and more. There were lots of extra touches like a garden, lawn games and videos for the entire family. We walked to York Harbor Beach every day (we put the little ones in a wagon although they could handle the walk as well) and drove to York Beach or the village. Rarely did we eat out because the kitchen and house were so nice that we all enjoyed having our meals at the house, usually on the porch. The bedrooms were all quiet and those who went to bed early were not kept up by the night owls. The owners were extremely helpful, friendly and welcoming and did a great job at making the house feel like our own. This house is beautiful and had everything we needed to make our extended family vacation extremely memorable. The porch alone makes renting the house worth it! We would go back every year if we could!

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: August 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect house for family summer vacation

  • 5 of 5

This house could not have been more perfect for my family's vacation. We were five adults and three kids (ages 9, 4, and 2) and had room to spare in this clean, homey, well-kept "cottage". Every detail was considered by the owner...well supplied kitchen, tissues in every bathroom, towels in abundance, immaculately clean, videos and indoor and outdoor games for the entire family. Ten minute walk to a beautiful beach that wasn't nearly as crowded as most of the other beaches we saw. Charming historic York right down the street. Big yard for the kids to run around in. The photos barely do it justice, the home is even more beautiful and spacious than the pictures can show and the owner was easy to get in touch with and work with. It was just perfect...thank you for a wonderful vacation!!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2013
  • Stayed: August 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Burlington, VT United States

Family Reunion, 13 of us! Fantastic rental.

  • 5 of 5

We had a glorious July week at this amazing home minutes from the beach in York Harbar. Ours is a family of serious cooks and we found the roomy kitchen perfectly appointed. The lawn is large enough for a long game of all-terrain bacci or cut-throat croquet, (both sets provided). Every room, bathroom, porch, nook and corner of this spacious house is deeply considered and beautifully decorated. The couple who own it are both friendly and gracious. It was a delight all the way around. Martha would give it a twinkling wink. I give it 5 stars.

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: July 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Jeanne Lombardi
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 23, 2017

Why Jeanne Lombardi chose York Harbor

This former B&B offers privacy for everyone. Built in 1886, it is spacious and comfortable with a feeling of yesterday, yet totally updated.

Feel the ocean breeze from this beautiful front porch, over 65 ft long, is filled with lots of rockers and wicker furniture, plus an oversized table to fit the whole family. Adorned with beautiful potted plants and window boxes. You'll never want to leave this spot.

What makes this cottage unique

Spacious Rooms, lots of Bathrooms and places to escape. A vegetable garden, and blueberry bushes to compliment your meals.

Plenty of parking, Walk across the street to the Cliff Walk. A beautiful setting, close to everything!


Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
York Harbor Inn, Stage Neck Inn, Sun and Surf
Car: necessary

Prestigious York Harbor is located in southern Maine, 70 miles north of Boston, 7 miles north of Portsmouth. Three international airports are within an hours drive. If you enjoy the ocean, you can walk to Long Sands Beach or Harbor Beach or stroll the Cliff Walk overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and York Harbor, one of the most beautiful and protected harbors on the East coast.

There is also a trolley stop across the street. Ride the Ferris Wheel at York Beach, take a boat tour out of Ogunquit, or visit the historic port of Portsmouth NH; there's something for everyone. You'll find shopping, antique shops; art galleries and boutiques all around The Yorks and the famous Kittery Outlet Malls are only six miles away.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 10.0%


Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties