check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Brad Mai

Member since: 2005
Speaks: english

On the Water! Bayfront-No Traffic! Beautiful Quiet Broadkill!

18 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Broadkill Beach House Rental Photos and Description

3 BR, 1 1/2 BA+OD Shower, Sleeps 6 (8 w/sleeper sofa), Porch on beach!

Beautiful home directly on the beach. Florida porch with wrap-around deck. Grill steaks while taking in beautiful view and ocean breezes. Broadkill Beach is a quiet old fishing village that is entirely residential (all single family homes). and one quaint country store. The town is NW of Rehoboth/Lewes, close enough to hop in the car to hit the outlets, restaurants or the boardwalk, but far enough that you enjoy peace and quiet. Broadkill's sandy beach is great for sandcastles, kayaking, beach combing and the huge wildlife refuge (Primehook) is another attraction. A few miles inland is historic Milton, home of a huge collection of Victorian-era architecture, bookshop, antique shops, ice cream parlor, as well as being the home of a couple of Delaware's 19th century governors - their large homes are still there. More pictures on our website (contact us for link). Credit Cards via Paypal accepted.

Pets on a case by case basis only. Wireless Internet.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Brad Mai (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english

About Brad Mai

My family bought this beach house for a vacation getaway from busy Norfolk, VA and later Washington, D.C. We make it available to rent when we aren't using it to help cover the mortgage. I'm a career naval officer and hope to retire there someday! It is a labor of love to keep it in perfect condition and we make continual upgrades

Brad Mai purchased this house in 1998

Why Brad Mai chose Delaware

Broadkill Beach is truly a wonderful place and this house is the best of Broadkill. Directly on the water. Broadkill is sandwiched between the Primehook Wildlife Preserve and the Delaware Bay. This keeps is small and beautiful. The Broadkill General Store is the only commercial establishment! Bring bikes and it is a simple, short bike ride to get ice cream, lunch. fishing supplies or the basic necessities.

What makes this house unique

Waterfront, quite, your own house, new Florida Porch.

Reviews

4.8
based on 18 traveler reviews

On the Water! Bayfront-No Traffic! Beautiful Quiet Broadkill!
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 18 reviews
5

Great beach house !!!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I just returned from our vacation at Brads house on Broadkill beach. We had a great time. The house is clean, comfortable and very well supplied. Great sun room and deck. Awesome view of the ocean.

We really appreciate that Brad allows pets. We have a yellow lab that we wouldn't go on vacation without. He loved playing on the beach and napping in the sun room.

Brad is great to deal with. He made the entire rental process very easy.

Thanks for a great vacation !!!

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Brooklyn, New York
5

One of my favorite rentals so far

  • 5 of 5

This house has great energy, is cozy and is even better than described!

Perfect retreat if you are looking for some quality quiet time, walks on the beach, Waterfront BBQ or star gazing at night.

The owner is great to deal with!

Perfect for families or a romantic getaway or for anybody else for that matter.

Stop looking, this is a great house and it is fairly priced.

Thank you for a great stay!

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect Solitude

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect. Just the right size, everything we needed, incredible quiet location, beautiful dunes immediately outside, incredible view from the serene Florida room (as well as the deck) of the bay just beyond the dunes. Our doggie was in heaven, and so were we. We had the beach to ourselves, just a few other walkers but that was it. Enjoyed a fabulous campfire on the beach both nights too. Just a great weekend overall. Owner was very easy to work with and we can't wait to go back!!

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

Our family felt immediately at home as soon as we walked through the door. The house was quiet, cozy, clean and came with a fully equipped kitchen. There was enough room for a family of four to spread out and read, watch the sunset, listen to the birds, etc. We loved it so much we are hoping to make this property and Broadkill Beach our vacation spot from now on. Loved the bulletin board with recommendations from previous renters. Don't miss the hot donuts from the Broadkill General Store -- best to call ahead as they sell out very quickly. The store also helped us arrange a kayak for day use. Prices were super reasonable and even included pick-up and delivery. Also loved sitting on the beach and watching dolphins swim nearby. And, this is a dog-lovers paradise. The owner was a delight to work with and the entire rental process went smoothly. The only downside is the week flew by and we are impatient to visit again.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home and beach! House had it all!!!

  • 5 of 5

My family absolutely loved our vacation and have already asked for a week next year. The house was very clean and had everything we could ask for. The owner sent us additional pictures and videos that allowed us to know exactly what we were renting which helped ease our minds a lot. We loved the porch and my husband loved the BBQ on the wrap around deck! To get to the beach you had to walk through sand dunes so we found a wagon was very helpful but you certainly don't need one for sure. We loved the local general store and also spent one day and evening in Lewes. Loved the coffee shop! I really can't think of anything that could have made our stay better and completely recommend this home for young families or just a couple wanting a quiet stay at the beach!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Enjoyable beach weekend

  • 5 of 5

We spent a very happy family weekend in late March in this lovely and well kept cottage on the Delaware shore. We loved waking up and enjoying the sea views, n and taking windy walks along the beach with our dog. Also enjoyed great Spring bird watching in Prime Hook. Would recommend this cottage highly and hope to return again.

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Dover
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Cape May Lewes Ferry
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Rookery Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Hwy 1
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
Broadkill General Store
Nearest Beach
40 Metres
Broadkill Beach
Car: necessary

Broadkill Beach Delaware. Waterfront. Walk the sand dunes to the water. Only one commercial establishment....a quaint country store for ice cream, the necessities, and fishing advice!

Other Activities: bird watching. Nearby Lewes has wonderful restaurants, coffee shops, book stores and a marina. 12 miles away, Rehoboth Beach, has EVERYTHING! Take day trips there if you like and return to quiet and beautiful Broadkill.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Broadkill Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
late Sept
Sep 18 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$1,195
 
 
OCT-Thanksgiving
Oct 1 2016 - Nov 29 2016
2 night minimum stay
$155
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$160
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Pet Fee $100

I ask for a refundable Pet Deposit. Cleaning Fee and Taxes are included in the price.

Rates are subject to change until the rental dates are locked in. I ask for one-third payment to reserve the dates. The one-third payment is due within 10 days of receipt of the lease. The final two-thirds is due four weeks prior to the rental date. I accept checks. I also accept credit cards via paypal but ask for an additional service fee to cover the charge paypal applies.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Broadkill Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 930 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Beautiful!
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , small but nice!
    Outdoor - shower , Wonderful!
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 2 twin/ single , two twin beds. Attached, small, half bath.
    Bedroom - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , twin over full bunkbed set
  • Beds in bedrooms sleep 6. Fold out couch in living room increases to 8. Florida porch lets you enjoy your morning coffee while little ones stay asleep on fold-out!
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
1 BR with queen, 1 BR with set of twins, 1 BR with twin over full bunkbed. Living room with fold out sofa (queen). Outside shower.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers