Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Beach Cottage - Right on the Sand on Minot Beach!

Bedrooms 4
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

4 Bedrooms, 2 bathrooms with showers, sleeps 11

Rustic beach house, right on the beach! You walk through sand to get to the house. Children love it, and parents, too. Large deck, grill, large house size, rocks line the water's edge giving children hours and hours of endless fun. Large deck provides cooling shade. Dishwasher, cable, WiFi, parking for three cars (two railroad style) included with rent, additional parking may be available on a 'space available' basis. House has charcoal grill and outside shower with hot water. This is a family friendly basic cottage on one of the most scenic beaches on the Eastern Seaboard.

We rent on a weekly basis, from Saturday to Saturday. WE DO NOT RENT FOR WEEKENDS. This is a bare house rental. The LOCATION is Spectacular. Dishes are supplied along with mattress pad, pillow and summer blanket for beds. Guests must supply their own bed linens, towels and beach chairs, if desired.

Incoming guests arrive anytime after 2:00 pm in the afternoon on the arrival Saturday and departing guests are asked to be out by 11:00 am on the departure Saturday.

More Details

Property Manager
Jeremy Wye
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 3, 2017

About Jeremy Wye

We are the fourth generation to own and rent these cottages since 1902, when my great grandmother bought them.

Why Jeremy Wye chose South Shore Massachusetts

It is hard, if not impossible to find a more picturesque setting on the eastern seaboard to relax, and you avoid most of the Cape Traffic.


Scituate Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront ...
  • Village
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Exterior - outdoor shower , Outdoor shower has hot water
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom - 1 double
    Bedroom - 1 double
    Bedroom - 1 double
    Bedroom - 2 twin/ single
  • 3 rooms with one double or larger bed, 1 room with 2 twin beds
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
1 sleep sofa. One full sized futon bed in Master bedroom. WiFi.


4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
Beach Cottage - Right on the Sand on Minot Beach!
average rating of 4.0 based on 5 reviews

VERY Rustic Beach Front Beauty

  • 4 of 5

The beds are comfortable enough and communication with Jeremy was pleasant. This house is very rustic. It could use a deep clean and some minor touches to make it more comfortable. The windows are missing screens or don't open at all, so the ocean breeze you would get isn't totally available and comes with bugs. And, the bugs were plentiful! There were dead bugs lining the ceilings in the living room that looked like they'd been there for years. There were tons of flies. This house has not been cleaned well in a very long time.

But, once you step outside you're transported to ocean living and pure bliss. The porch is where you'll spend all your time and the woes of the house just melt away.

Anytime anyone said something negative, I would remind them to focus their attention to the porch and beach. That's really what you're there for.

100% worth it.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location location location

  • 5 of 5

I caught every sunrise but one. This actually isn't the cottage I rented I rented the one next door but for some reason this one is coming up. The beach was beautiful and it was easy to have dogs and children there. Scituate is beautiful with plenty to do. I would bring all my own bed linens including mattress pads and the living room furniture should be changed to more comfortable seating other than that the trip was excellent and we will be sure to return every chance we get

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

One of the Best Times of my Life

  • 5 of 5

For years I have walked my dogs passed this quaint cottage, dreaming of spending a week sitting on the porch with my extended family. This past week my dream came true! Our week long family gathering held at Oshers Cottage was one of the best times of my life and I can speak for many of my family members who feel the same way. The location of this wonderful beach cottage could not have been more perfect - smack dab on the beach with a view of Well Rock and Minot Light. From the porch we watched the tide come in and go out, the sun rise, storms pass, families picnicking, children frolicking, dogs playing, and boats sailing in and out of Boston Harbor. The location of the cottage also provided for many activities. We enjoyed swimming, snorkeling, canoeing, fishing, playing in the surf, beach combing, and building sand castles. There was plenty for the children in our group to do. The convenience and shade of the porch made it easy for the parents in our group to hang out with the adults while watching their children swim, play in the sand, and climb on Well Rock. The ample sleeping arrangements suited our needs well and the two bathrooms - one upstairs and one downstairs - made it easy to accommodate company. The house is filled with windows, making the living space bright, breezy, cheerful, and full of views of the ocean at every turn. Every night my family was lulled to sleep by the sounds of the ocean. We all felt welcomed and appreciated by our landlord. The house was clean upon arrival and was easy to keep clean throughout our stay due to its simplicity and durability. The kitchen was well stocked with kitchenware to make meal preparation convenient. Our hats are off to Oshers Cottage and we hope to return for many years to come. Thank you for one of the happiest weeks of my life. My only recommendation is for anyone who plans on using the pull out couch in the living room - bring an extra pad or air-mattress as the mattress on the pull out couch is rather thin. Other than that everything was wonderful!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Grand Island.NY

Awesome for families

  • 5 of 5

Your kindness and generosity made our vacation one of the most memorable stays we have experienced in a long time. I can't begin to tell you how much the grandchildren loved the ocean, In fact they still talk about it and want to return next year. The family believes the protected beach is perfect for the kids to have an eexciting adventure yet offer a great deal of security and safety.

Your comfortable and casual house brought us peace and joy. We loved the new floor and freshly painted walls. We took the downstairs bedroom next to the bathroom and allowed the kids to sleep in the upstairs rooms and have their own bathroom. I believe that the beach goers all envied us sitting on the back proch while watching the kids make sandcastles and play in the ocean. If your have very young kids bring a safety gate and if you have older kids bring pails,nets,and boogie boards.

We took two day trips to Boston and Plymouth.

Thanks for going out of your way to make our stay so pheasant.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

recent stay

  • 1 of 5

The beach was lovely and pets are allowed. Both bathrooms are in pretty good shape and there is plenty of room.

Sadly to access the cottage you must walk through a construction site filled with paint cans, cigarette butts, sawdust, wood pieces and the like. They are updating property within maybe 3 feet of the cottage and promptly at 9:00am sawing and hammering begin. The neighborhood access runs immediately beside the cottage and the beach is not private, (reminded me of the opening scene in "Jaws" it is so packed on weekend withing 10 feet of your steps), so all day you hear people coming and going plus the ice cream truck with it's lovely music arrives 2-3 times daily.

Probably the worst issue is parking. You are allowed 2 spaces both under trees filled with birds who's droppings drop on your car - not just a few droppings either - your car will be totally covered. The owners believe this is ok and looked at me funny when I complained and made no effort to switch their ';clean' spot with me.

The furnishings are below par. Many of the prices broken. The master bed closet had no door but it did have a piece of plywood and a single mattres leaning up against the wall.

I rent in different locations annually and I can assure you I will never rent here again nor recommend the cottage to a friend. Other cottages have been nicer, less expensive, the furniture newer and nicer, the beach private, no construction sites to navigate through to the door, no massive bird droppings, no sawing and hammering going on, no neighborhood kids screaming and crying on the beach - I had hoped for peace and quiet on a lovely private beach and was sadly disappointed.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It’s certainly frustrating to receive a review like this, because it’s our wish that everyone have a good time while vacationing here. But, we can't be responsible for unrealistic expectations. This guest’s final sentence says a lot about why she was unhappy "I had hoped for peace and quiet on a lovely private beach and was sadly disappointed." If she had ever said anything remotely like that in our exchanges, prior to booking, I would have steered her away. She asked few, if any questions. We can't diaper the birds, my brothers and my car were parked right beside hers. Neither my carpenter nor I smoke. Unhappily, we couldn’t control the starting time of an addition being framed across the street or work going on in the house behind us, but I can promise that my carpenter never started a saw, or swung a hammer prior to 10:00 am. In our welcome note we ask to be notified of anything found broken, or that breaks while they are there, this guest offered nothing while present. She would obviously have been happier in one of the many houses advertised with matching curtains, bedspreads and towels, and furniture bought in "bedroom sets". Our target market is a family or a couple of families together with a group of kids coming to play on the beach, outside, in the water on the rocks, wanting a relaxed atmosphere, not worrying about bathing suits on the deck furniture and sand in the house. Adult guests can sit in the shade of the porch watching their kids play on the beach all day if they like, one of our stronger drawing cards. Unlike many owners, we "almost" do not care how many are in the group as long as you are having a good time, creating fine family memories. This cottage, in our family since the turn of the last century, was a replacement for one that disappeared entirely in the Blizzard of 1978. Much of the furniture is older, slightly worn Victorian, bought new in our family a century or more ago. Some of the filagree might be missing after all this time, but we make sure every thing has legs and handles. This cottage is meant to be kid proof and distracted tenant proof, not a candidate for Better Homes and Gardens. It, and its predecessor, have been beach rentals for the past 90 years. My mother, now 85, sits out front on nice days is regularly visited by folks walking up off the beach to tell her about renting from my Grandfather, or Great Grandmother before her and sharing happy memories of vacations spent there.
Did you find this review helpful?
35 4


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Jamies Pub
Nearest Ferry
7 Miles
Nearest Train
2 Miles
North Scituate, MA
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
Rt. 128
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Cosmos Caffe
Nearest Beach
1 Metres
Out the front door
Car: necessary

Swim in the water, lie in the sun. Fish off the rocks for blues, striped bass. 1 hour drive North into Boston if you want to play tourist 45-55 minutes drive South to Plymouth Plantation and the Cape Cod Canal. Great area for kayaks or sailboards.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Summer $3,450.00/week-----
Mid Summer rentals are from Saturday to Saturday, one week minimum, at $3,450.00 per week.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties