check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Pico Cavaco - a house on the hillside and stunning views

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview


Details
Property
villa
Sleeps
5
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
0
Minimum Stay
4 nights

Description

Azores Villa Rental Photos and Description

A 2 bedroom, 2 living rooms, bathroom, kitchen, terrace and garden

Located in the countryside, on the slope of a hill about 200 meters high, the "Pico Cavaco" offers its visitors a great privacy and tranquility environment, toasting them with breathtaking panoramas, always engaged by our immense sea . Here, visitors can feel in communion with nature, sharing its rhythms, sounds, colors, smells. Hundreds birds here have their habitat. In the summer and especially in spring toast us with true symphonies. In the garden of the tank (properly protected for children), small fish and frogs swimming in the middle of aquatic plants.

Children are welcome and we have a special corner for them.

It is an integrated home remodeling the original house, with over one hundred years. This remodeling, with a modern slant, preserved the initial design of the housing and, with torn spans, opened to residents the space horizon. It is surrounded by pastures and citrus farms.

It is a house of two floors.

At level 0 there is a large living room, equipped with TV and sound system, giving access to a covered terrace with outdoor furniture and 'barbecue'. It is in this room that can put an extra bed.

An interior staircase leads to the first floor where they are:

- 1 bed room with double bed and wardrobe.

- 1 bed room with 2 single beds and wardrobe.

- 1 bathroom with bath and shower, with hairdryer and towels.

- 1 living / dining room with wood burning stove

- 1 kitchen equipped with: gas cooker with oven and extractor, fridge, washing machine, microwave, electric kettle, coffee maker, toaster, crockery and cutlery for 6 persons and all necessary and appropriate utensils to a kitchen.

It has iron and its board.

The house has central heating and internet access.

It is properly adapted to young children taking the stairs and protected balcony.

On the outside there is a garden with lawn where you can play with balls, swings and house toys. There is also a porch equipped with outdoor furniture and "barbacue" (this space is to share with the owners).

Because the house is isolated, it is strongly advisable to have a car.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Ana e Carlos Teixeira da Silva
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, french, spanish, portuguese
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
December 8, 2016

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

Pico Cavaco - a house on the hillside and stunning views
average rating of 4.5 based on 12 reviews
4

Pleasant and enjoyable stay

  • 4 of 5

We just spent a week in the house on Pico do Cavaco.

It was a pleasant stay which we enjoyed a lot.

We appreciated the location of the house with a magnificent view over the area and the ocean. It is very well located in the middle of the island, which made it easy to discover all the different regions of Sao Miguel.

The house is well equipped and spacious. We could use the entire garden with a covered terrace, which definitely is a plus.

Ana and Carlos are fine and hospitable hosts. They addressed all of our needs by giving us advice on what to see, where to eat, and where to find the nicest beaches.

In regard to prior remarks in other reviews, there is indeed a scent of humidity, but nothing that cannot be solved by proper ventilation upon entering the house. This is caused by the air humidity in the Azores, which we experienced also when drying our cloths.

The house is situated upon a hill. This results in a lot of fauna, including many birds and frogs in the small pond of the house. This made it a bit challenging to sleep the first night, but after all, we chose the Azores as a holiday destination for its nature. …

Over all, we are satisfied with the rental house and we left with a good feeling about the accommodation as well as the destination.

Luc and Elly

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Pleasant and enjoyable stay

  • 4 of 5

We just spent a week in the house on Pico do Cavaco.

It was a pleasant stay which we enjoyed a lot.

We appreciated the location of the house with a magnificent view over the area and the ocean. It is very well located in the middle of the island, which made it easy to discover all the different regions of Sao Miguel.

The house is well equipped and spacious. We could use the entire garden with a covered terrace, which definitely is a plus.

Ana and Carlos are fine and hospitable hosts. They addressed all of our needs by giving us advice on what to see, where to eat, and where to find the nicest beaches.

In regard to prior remarks in other reviews, there is indeed a scent of humidity, but nothing that cannot be solved by proper ventilation upon entering the house. This is caused by the air humidity in the Azores, which we experienced also when drying our cloths.

The house is situated upon a hill. This results in a lot of fauna, including many birds and frogs in the small pond of the house. This made it a bit challenging to sleep the first night, but after all, we chose the Azores as a holiday destination for its nature. …

Over all, we are satisfied with the rental house and we left with a good feeling about the accommodation as well as the destination.

Luc and Elly

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Outside beautiful, inside -MOLD and bad mold smell

  • 1 of 5

Definitely not recommend!

House with mold and poor air!

Initially, I chose this house because: good rating (5 stars), good location and on the description was mentioned that the house is modern. Oustside its true - its modern!! Inside - NOT! I could not imagine that a modern house can be in that poor condition.

In the house all furniture is old - the feeling that the owners here have left yourself unneeded old items.

The first floor did not use at all, because the mold stench was not tolerated.

On the second floor, where the bedrooms - we clung windows open around the day to be ventilated space and reduce smell of mold!

Mold is everywhere - on the floor on the walls on the windowsills, kitchen, bedroom, and even on the windows and mirror !!!!!

Sound insulation very poor. In the Home roof live sparrows "colony" - the feeling that you are in the Zoo shop. They are singing in both day and night!

We were not able endure more than two days. We would have gone away faster, but we were unable to quickly find another house. WiFi works only by the window!

I think that this house is not worth that money, which we had to pay!

On the home owner I demanded repayment of the money. Owner deducted the money for 3 nights, although we stayed only two nights.

From the outside the hosts looked sweet and obliging people, but I did not see that they had regretted that damaged the health of my children.

Definitely I do not recommend, especially families with children. I am really surprised by other travelers 5 stars!

Total price& quality mismatch!!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We actually do regret your painful experience in our house, which although doesn´t match with the other previous guests's opinions. Happily for us and for them! We live in the Azores and the weather conditions are what they are. There's mold in every Azorean houses. Besides, our house is in the countryside, on a hill (+ 200 m high), surrounded by trees where hundreds of birds live. You were here in Spring - a rainy, foggy one) - when pollens are in the air. We had our house repainted just before you came. That may have worst the house conditions. As to the WIFI it depends on the devices. The furniture corresponds to what you should have seen in the pictures that are on the site. I should say it's ancient instead of old. Some furniture is even handmade. We like the vintage looking in contrast with the modern architecture in the inside. It seemed to us fair to charge for the 3 days instead of 2. Don't forget we went 4 times to and from airport. What else to say? Perhaps only that we assure you not to have ordered the previous excelent comments written by other guests about their staying with us. Ana and Carlos Teixeira da Silva
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
5

Amazing Birthday Trip!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

OMG! There is soooo much to say about this place and Ana and Carlos! This was the greatest trip ever! I will do point form cuz there are just so many great things:

They picked us up ALL SMILES (amd dancing) from the airport. They provided us with 2 rental cars. They were SO knowledgeable about what to do/where to go AND they were OVERFLOWING with great suggestions for us everyday! They were ALWAYS available IF we needed but NEVER intrusive! They had ALL SEVEN of us over for cake (baked by Ana), tea, wine and gospel music in celebration of my birthday. We sang together by the fireplace! THAT was above and beyond any expectations I had! Really made us feel like family. They attempted to fix even the most minor of "complaints" we had - they were never annoyed and forever willing to ensure we had the best time of our lives! And of course we did! The property was nice and accommodated our group well. One bathroom, 7 females and we had enough room to be alone or together etc...the property is high on a hill so the views (especially in the mornings) are breathtaking! There are two dogs that poop freely so watch your step...and wifi access was limited to certain areas of the house. What else? Oh, their son provided us withfresh produce (greens) from their farm (a few of us are vegan) - this complimented our homemade meals eexquisitely! The location is good - 5 mins to the grocery and 15 mimutes to the beach...it takes about 15 mimutes to get downtown Ponta Delgada by car which was super convenient! We were there everyday.

Honestly, this place had everything we needed and more. It is not a 5star hotel - it is SO MUCH BETTER! Linens, teas, pots, pans - everything! If you book here you will NOT be disappointed. I GUARANTEE!

This is a safe, clean, VERY affordable place to stay on Sau Miguel. The gates are kept locked and you have a security to enter/exit. You get way more than your money's worth for sure! I know I would go back and I recommend this place to anyone taking a trip to Azores!

WE LOVE ANA AND CARLOS!!! They are so genuine, so cute and so pleasant! We still keep in touch to this day!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Amazing Birthday Trip!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

OMG! There is soooo much to say about this place and Ana and Carlos! This was the greatest trip ever! I will do point form cuz there are just so many great things:

They picked us up ALL SMILES (amd dancing) from the airport. They provided us with 2 rental cars. They were SO knowledgeable about what to do/where to go AND they were OVERFLOWING with great suggestions for us everyday! They were ALWAYS available IF we needed but NEVER intrusive! They had ALL SEVEN of us over for cake (baked by Ana), tea, wine and gospel music in celebration of my birthday. We sang together by the fireplace! THAT was above and beyond any expectations I had! Really made us feel like family. They attempted to fix even the most minor of "complaints" we had - they were never annoyed and forever willing to ensure we had the best time of our lives! And of course we did! The property was nice and accommodated our group well. One bathroom, 7 females and we had enough room to be alone or together etc...the property is high on a hill so the views (especially in the mornings) are breathtaking! There are two dogs that poop freely so watch your step...and wifi access was limited to certain areas of the house. What else? Oh, their son provided us withfresh produce (greens) from their farm (a few of us are vegan) - this complimented our homemade meals eexquisitely! The location is good - 5 mins to the grocery and 15 mimutes to the beach...it takes about 15 mimutes to get downtown Ponta Delgada by car which was super convenient! We were there everyday.

Honestly, this place had everything we needed and more. It is not a 5star hotel - it is SO MUCH BETTER! Linens, teas, pots, pans - everything! If you book here you will NOT be disappointed. I GUARANTEE!

This is a safe, clean, VERY affordable place to stay on Sau Miguel. The gates are kept locked and you have a security to enter/exit. You get way more than your money's worth for sure! I know I would go back and I recommend this place to anyone taking a trip to Azores!

WE LOVE ANA AND CARLOS!!! They are so genuine, so cute and so pleasant! We still keep in touch to this day!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful coment! You made us feel proud and happy! Beijinhos Ana & Carlos
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Tolles gemütliches Ferienhaus

  • 5 of 5

Sehr freundliche Vermieter. Gemütliche Ferienwohnung mit einer traumhaften Aussicht.

Für eine Familie super geeignet, viel Platz.

Zudem eine geniale Lage auf der Insel.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your review. It's good to feel that you fully enjoyed your staying with us. It was very nice coming to know you. you´re a wonderful family. All the best for you all! Greetings Ana and Carlos
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
23 Kilometres
Aeroporto João Paulo II - Ponta Delgada
Nearest Barpub
5 Kilometres
TuKá -Tulá
Nearest Ferry
12 Kilometres
Portas do Mar - Ponta Delgada
Nearest Golf
8 Kilometres
Golfe da Batalha - 27 buracos
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
Ponta Delgada - Ribeira Grande
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
"Quinta dos Sabores "
Nearest Beach
3 Kilometres
Areais de Stª Bárbara - Ribeira Grande
Car: recommended

This house, located on the slopes of Cavaco Peak, 200 m above sea level, is part of the refurbishment of a 'Host Family' with over 100 years occurred from 2000 to 2002. Is integrated in a farm that today is forested. Engage in a property of 3 Ha where calm and silence are total and enjoys one of the most beautiful views of the north coast of the island of São Miguel. With the sea and its horizon as constant and close attendance, enjoys is a panoramic view of the Rabo de Peixe village and the city of Ribeira Grande, bounded by bays and promontories surrounded by green pastures and Thursdays. It can admire even the Barrosa Peak slopes where lies the wonderful and mysterious Lagoa do Fogo.

The location of this house can be considered privileged because it is in the central part of the island where, in less than 1 hour to reach beaches, mountains, dormant volcanoes, rivers and clear and attractive pools of water. About a 20 minute drive are the only European tea plantations.

They are near the fish restaurants and seafood the North Atlantic, as well as meat derived from cattle that populate the numerous pastures of green tinted and reassuring, that frame the volcanic nature of São Miguel.

You are a 10/15 minutes from the 3 cities of the island - Ponta Delgada, Ribeira Grande and Lagoa - where the built heritage from the Sec. XVII invites us to a peaceful and rewarding visit.

There are several museums and centers of interpretation and study of nature.

For a dynamic and active stay suggest walks through very attractive Pedestrians rails that the region offers, baths and underwater diving, boat trips for dolphin watching, sperm whales and whale watching, bird watching - is an important area for migratory birds - trips biking and horseback riding, fishing in its various forms and small game, themed walks to the discovery of volcanology and geology of the island.

Note that the accommodation is about 10 minutes from the main beach for surfing - the Areais of St Barbara in Ribeira Grande - which hosts events of national and international circuit. We leave to the end the reference to the existence of the Battle golf courses, a 27-hole, 8 km, and the mythical realm of Furnas, an 18 holes designed by the Scottish Arqtº Mc. Kenzie Ross, completed in 1939, about 20 Km. My wife and I, as players, we challenge right now, our visitors for a match.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Azores Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Baixa
Oct 1 2016 - Dec 31 2016
4 night minimum stay
$63
$443
$1,581
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

- O pagamento único poderá ser efectuado no acto do "check-in".
- O nº mínimo de noites de alojamento é de 4.
- Os valores indicados contemplam até 4 hóspedes.
- Pessoa/cama extra - 15,00 € /noite.
- Crianças até 3 anos - gratuito.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Azores Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 30000 m²
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Mountain
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
  • Town
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Farm Holidays
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties