check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Suzanne

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english, chinese

up to 15% off - Sand Dollar - 2 private beaches - Rent Directly from Owner

79 Reviews
Sleeps24
Bedrooms 9
Bathrooms9
Half Baths3
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Peterborg Estate Rental Photos and Description

9 bedrooms, 9 full baths, 3 half baths, sleep 24 people

Sand Dollar is set above its own private white sand beaches on the shores of beautiful Magens Bay. Fully air-conditioned with contemporary island decor, Sand Dollar Estate has always delighted its guests, from celebrities to U.S. Presidents. The upper entry level opens to 2 spacious king bedrooms, each with its own bathroom, indoor and outdoor shower, and an alcove with sofa bed perfect for small children. A few steps below is the main level with a large open well equipped kitchen, formal dining room, sumptuous living room and third king bedroom with private bath. The main level opens to a short flight of stairs down to the pool level with three air-conditioned bedroom suites, one with queen size bed and two with king size bed. Each pool side bedroom has a separate bathroom and sitting area with sofa bed. They are connected by a large game room pool table,

cable TV and mini bar, overlooking the pool. Right off the pool deck is a separate recreation building with professional gym, spa massage room and rooftop sun deck.

The pool area features a 5,000 sq ft sun deck, tiled pool, gazebo, and an alfresco dining area with professional gas grill and sink. Off the pool area are stairs down to the magnificent, private white sand beach, the crown jewel of Sand Dollar. Swim, snorkel, sunbathe, and relax in privacy and solitude. Guaranteed to be the nicest beach you have ever set foot on!

Just next door is Little Sand Dollar, a 2300 square feet stone cottage, three bedroom suites (each with king size bed and full bath), stairway down to its own private beach, fully air-conditioned with a well-equipped kitchen, jacuzzi, a covered porch, and an open deck overlooking Magens Bay, it is perfect for newlyweds, teenagers or a small family. Very secluded and luxurious, Sand Dollar Estate is the luxury vacation of lifetime!

Jetski/watertoys can be delivered to private beach at extra cost.

Our fully equipped, newly completed gym features a full complement of Precor professional equipment including:

- Precord treadmill with heart rate monitor

- Precord recumbent bicycle with heart rate monitor

- Precor elliptical trainer

- Precor weight trainer

There is also a Bose audio/video system with cable TV and a Sony 32' LCD TV and iPOD dock. High Speed WIFI throughout the property. This fully air conditioned state of the art facility offers incredible down island views, as well as magnificent views of Magens Bay and our private beaches below. Enjoy the lovely deck outside before, during, or after your work out. Trainers are available with advance notice.

Our fully conditioned, Spa massage room features hydrotherapy tub, rain shower, make up station, massage table, manisure/pedicure area, cable TV and a Sony 32' LCD TV and iPOD dock. Ideal for Lady Spa Day or couple massage. Exclusively for our guest.

Right above this brand new pavillion, is our rooftop sundeck. Furnishs with oversized costumed settee and day bed, perfect for stars gazing at night or sunbathing during the day.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Suzanne (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks: english, chinese

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you again for a much needed and welcome retreat into your beautiful home in this wonderful place ********Bill Clinton, Hillary Rodham Clinton - Washington DC.



It was great, and needed. Thanks! ******* President Bill Clinton - Washington DC.



Thank you so much for a great Thanksgiving vacation! Your house is beautiful ******* Tipper Gore, Washington DC



This is a spectacular place. Thanks for your hospitality and for a great four days ******** Al Gore - Washington DC



This is a heavenly place to relax and enjoy. We loved it! **** The Lubsen family - Center Valley, PA



Loved gathering Sand Dollars on the beach. We'll be back! ****** The Dusses - Ypsilanti,MI



Had a great time with our baby! He loved the pool and bay. We'll be back again maybe with another little one ***** The Govans - St Peterburg, FL



What a wonderful 50th birthday present this was. As before everything was great. We'll be back for sure ******* The Rimmer family - Ft Worth, TX



It doesn't get much better. Thanks so much. We and Children had a great time ******* The Rose family - Manilus, NY



Back again & enjoyed it just as much as last time ***** The Liems - Hampstead, MD



We don't want to leave!! Sand Dollar beach THE most beautiful on the island! We'll be back with our whole town of friends ****** The Spenglers - Orefield, PA
Feb 2005
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

5
based on 79 traveler reviews

up to 15% off - Sand Dollar - 2 private beaches - Rent Directly from Owner
average rating of 5.0 based on 80 reviews
Epping
5

Amazing Wedding Week

  • 5 of 5

Words can't express how I blessed I feel to stay at Sand Dollar and have my wedding day there. From the moment I arrived, I knew it was going to be a week my friends, my family and I would NEVER forget. I actual cried when I got to the estate because I couldn't believe the my dreams of being there actually came true.

The views overlooking Magens Bay are gorgeous. It is so cool seeing all the fish, stingrays and sea turtle swimming around every morning. There is more than enough space for 21 of us to scatter and you don't feel crowded.

I planned my stay at Sand Dollar 2 years ago. From the moment I started working with Suzanne she was fantastic at answering all our questions and was quick to get back to me. Bob the property manager was such a nice guy. He helped us out any way he could and always had a permanent smile on his face. We had Monica cooked for us and the food was AMAZING. W also used Edmund to get us from place to place. Super friendly. Good driver.

Wedding day was amazing. Bob was there early to get things ready. Monic's brunch was delicious and all my vendors I worked with made sure everything perfect. I honestly didn't worry about a thing.

My hair and make up girls Julie and Ana from Artistry by Kristina were amazing. There are both super talented. Ali from East End Flower Shop was phenomenal. The flowers were absolutely stunning and EXACTLY what I had envisioned! Our officiant Stuart Scott was awesome! He personalized everything for us and everyone was raving about his ceremony. We used Passion Fruit Chefs for our catering and Laura was awesome. Her staff was fantastic as well. DJ Eric Snow was great. Everyone danced and sang and had a blast. Elisha Orin was our photographer. The photos came out amazing.

I can't say enough amazing thing about Sand Dollar and all our vendors. Everything from the Estate, the beach, the staff...EVERYTHING truly exceeded all my expectations. Planning a destination wedding can be tough but having it at Sand Dollar was really easy.

The only day we ever left the house was to go on a catamaran ride on Coconut. Really amazing day and amazing staff. We also had Gloriana come to the house for massages and everyone said it was the best.

I don't know how we can top a week like this. We already can't wait to come back someday!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Second Trip Back!

  • 5 of 5

In May 2016 my husband and I returned to the beautiful private beach on which we said "I do" just 4 years ago. Our first trip was a whirlwind, we were in shock with the beautiful view as you walk onto the main deck of the house. The pictures just don't do it justice. It's a view that cannot be topped. It was everything I dreamed of as a young girl for my wedding.

Suzanne (the home owner) was a dream to work with. She passed along names and contact information for all areas that I would need for the wedding from caterers, to photographers and options for a coordinator should I have wanted that.

The wedding was spectacular and I was SO thankful for Bob's help that week (he is the property manager). The man that can fix/help/prepare/coordinate/ you name it Bob can make it happen!

We talked about that trip for a couple of years after.... So much so, that I continue to check the availability of the house to see if a time slot would ever work with our crazy busy travel schedules. This past year, our anniversary week opened so we jumped on it. Again, Suzanne was so excited to hear from us and ready to help make it happen. We were thrilled to hear that Bob would once again be welcoming us. We were able to enjoy this trip much more, as the stress that comes along with the wedding was behind us and it was just time to relax and have fun.

We rented a boat this year and that was one of the highlights. We were able to go down to Magen's Bay for a little atmosphere change when wanted, and then out into the open ocean everyday. Found some great snorkel spots and some scary waves too.

The house had a few updates that were lovely. The master bath upgrades to the upper deck were a plus, as were the king size beds on the lower deck. We are a family into health and fitness so the gym comes in handy for us. We also found a quaint gym in town that was a good change up.

They offer to stock the house with groceries, we prefer to tag along to the store to do that on our own... Bob is always happily ready to take us.

It's a great house that can fit a lot of people and still not feel like it is crowded. Our first trip we took 16, the second only 6. We definitely love it and I am sure this trip won't be our last.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing backdrop for a special week

  • 5 of 5

My son rented the villa for his wedding and invited family and friends to share this amazing place. I cannot say enough wonderful things about it. The views were amazing. The house was top notch. The private beach was great. There were kayaks, paddle boards, and, rafts.. we wanted for nothing.... Bob, the property manager, was so nice and kept the villa very well maintained. We also hired a private chef Monica... her food was so tasty, with the flair of the islands. Needless to say it was a trip of a lifetime. I would recommend this estate to anyone who is thinking about a destination wedding or vacation in St. Thomas.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing Wedding Week

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely phenomenal. We were there in May. Had our welcome dinner and brunch at the Sand Dollar Estate. Our guests could not stop talking about the beauty of the property. Bob, the house manager is amazing. Incredibly laid back and happy to always lend a hand. Every time we had a question he was always there to answer. Suzanne and Steve (the owners) just seem like incredible people. Extremely friendly and helpful. We are so blown away by the hospitality and the beauty of our stay at the Sand Dollar Estate. We look forward to hopefully planning another trip there soon!!! Our week is a memory our guests will never forget!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best House/Location for Vacation and Wedding

  • 5 of 5

I cannot imagine a better place to get married. We had 22 people stay at the house. We stayed at both the Sand Dollar Estate and Little Sand Dollar. There were 20 adults and 2 children.

My now husband and I stayed at Little Sand Dollar. Not only do you get privacy from the "main group", you have your own little oasis. All of the bedrooms were truly perfect. They all have their own bathroom which is perfect for large groups, and no one ever felt on top of one another.

A few things that I learnt from other reviews as well as emailing with Suzanne, she is the best resource. As an owner, I don't know that you can get a better person. She was attentive and when I was having a few minor breakouts she calmed me down and reiterated that everything will be fine and work out and it did.

I would definitely hire Monica for the week to cook. She is very good. Dinner is usually always served over warmers which makes it easier for you to choose what time to eat. All the food was amazing.

I strongly recommend hiring Edmund. Edmund drives a 14 passengers van. It is cheaper to hire him than to pay for taxi's or getting a car.

Bob is really there for anything you need during the week. He ran errands and was so prompt and made everything perfect. He also always has a smile on his face that is contagious.

All in all my wedding was beautiful. Sand Dollar makes it that much better. All of my vendors knew exactly where the house was located and knew things about the house that were still new to myself and our guests. It is very hard to plan a wedding from Minnesota but every single thing exceeded my expectations. It is honestly hard to plan for 14 months and still have your expectations exceeded. While, many other locations can provide certain aspects, Sand Dollar is where it all comes together.

We will definitely be back for anniversaries and more!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Holiday of a life time & an unbelievable wedding!

  • 5 of 5

We had the most amazing week at Sand Dollar with close family and friends before getting married at the end of the week on the private beach at the estate and having our reception on the two huge decks of the house. It was by far the best times of our lives and we will remember the holiday and wedding forever! The setting was absolutely perfect and we would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to have a destination wedding.

The staff at the estate, Bob, Monica and Andrine were all amazing. Monica and Andrine prepared two meals a day for us which were a huge hit with everyone. Bob was there to help out with any of our needs during the week and was a complete rock star and always smiling.

There were 19 of us in total staying at the estate and every single guest has said how it was the most amazing holiday. The beach is the most beautiful beach ever and was perfect for relaxing with friends and family during the week and then accommodating 50 guests for the wedding.

The owner Suzanne was very prompt in responding to any questions we had before our stay there and was a pleasure to work with.

Only draw back... 1 week is not long enough to enjoy the whole estate!!!! My mission in life is now to make it back to Sand Dollar at least once more.

Thank you Bob, Monica, Andrine and Suzanne for helping to make this a vacation and wedding of a lifetime!

  • Submitted: May 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: recommended

Sand Dollar is situated right on the shores of Magens Bay, one of the ten best beaches in the world, according to National Geographic and the Travel Channel. Sand Dollar provides four 1-person kayaks, 2 paddle boards, beach lounge chairs and inflatable water toys. Activities such as private boat charter to nearby islands for fishing, snorkeling, island hoping or diving, can be arranged with advance notice. Call or email for fees and availability. Also inquire about massage, private yoga or pilates sessions inside the villa or right on the beach. Mahogany Run, the only Golf course in St Thomas is only 5 minutes away. 15 minutes to downtown Charlotte Amalie. Abundant duty-free shopping. Bob, your full-time manager, is available to assist you at anytime.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Peterborg Estate Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$13,999
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,000

SPECIAL RATE: September 17 to 30, 2016
---------------------------------------------------------
1-18 people ...main house & cottage....$13,000

JANUARY 2, 2016 TO APRIL 15, 2016
--------------------------------------------------------
1-12 people… main house…$18,750
1-18 people… main house & cottage …. $24,000

APRIL 16, 2016 TO DECEMBER 16, 2016
--------------------------------------------------------------
1-12 people… main house….$16,750
1-18 people… main house & cottage - $21,500

* 19 to 24 person - add $700 per person for a week year round

Thanksgiving: November 19, 2016 to November 26, 2016
1-24 people - main house & cottage ….. $24,000.00

X'mas / New Year: December 17, 2016 to December 31, 2016
1-24 people - main house & cottage - $27,000

50% - 7 days from invoice date
50% and $1,000 refundable damage deposit - 60 days from arrival day
Check or wire transfer

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Peterborg Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 9950 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Safe
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Sunbed
  • Telephone
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • fax
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 9 Bathrooms
  • 3 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , outdoor shower , hair dryer
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , outdoor shower , hair dryer
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , hair dryer
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , hair dryer
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower , hair dryer
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , shower , hair dryer
    Bathroom 7 (cottage) - toilet , shower , jetted tub , hair dryer
    Bathroom 8 (cottage) - toilet , shower , hair dryer
    Bathroom 9 - toilet , shower , hair dryer
    Bathroom 10 - toilet
    Bathroom 11 - toilet
    Bathroom 12 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 9 Bedrooms, Sleeps 24
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 2 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 6 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 8 (cottage) - 1 king
    Bedroom 9 (cottage) - 1 king
    Bedroom 7 (cottage) - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Gazebo
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Motorboat
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 24 garden chairs
  • 16 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • Whirlpool
  • jetted tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Housekeeper
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
8 kings, 1 queens, 1 twin, 7 sleep sofas. 3 Whirlpool tub; 1 desk top computer, 1 printer/scanner/copier, WIFI, 1 answering machines, cordless telephones, 2 cribs, 2 playpens, 2 highchairs; 4 kayak, 2 paddle boards; 2 generators; daily housekeeping service except Sunday, 1 full time manager, cook or chef service and activities available at additional cost.

Partner Offers